Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

Over the years, the most common feedback we've received from female anglers is that we haven't offered any women's chest waders that were truly designed with women in mind. Until now. Introducing our new women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders. After taking input and suggestions from a large number of female anglers, we started over from scratch and designed a wader built specifically for women. We tested them on a wide variety of body types, made tweaks and adjustments, and we think the results speak for themselves. Never again will you have to borrow a pair of waders. We have your size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.829 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
75 of 76(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fit,
February 25, 2013
By: AlbertaGuide
from Alberta, CN
"The waders are an amazing fit... I haven't had a pair of waders fit me in the 16 years I've been fly fishing and these are absolutely perfect."
Review 2 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good- with some resevations,
January 15, 2015
By: cinciliz
"Received these as a gift and haven't used them yet, but they appear very well made. Had to order the Medium Tall because of my large feet (size 10), which is giving me a little extra length. Neoprene feet don't seem to be made for a woman's foot as they are rather wide and a little sloppy."
Review 3 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excited,
December 27, 2014
By: Mardoc
from Montgomery, AL
"Bought these waders for my wife who always has to use rentals. Ordered online. True to form, Orvis has developed a great wader fitting for a women. She loves them and they fit her well, true to the size chart. It will be awhile for her to really break them in but they appear to be well made."
Review 4 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase, great product!!!,
December 25, 2014
By: BENflyfishing
from Lac-Megantic, Qc
"I have purchased a pair of weather for woman, the quality of the product is incredible, and the service from the company is awesome."
Review 5 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
December 20, 2014
By: ozzybren
from Australia
"I've been fly fishing for over 15 yrs and this is the first wader I have had that fit. I am over 50 and not slim and terrific. It's nice to have a product that doesn't have a tiny waist and a huge butt. That is a problem I find a lot with women's clothing in general. I don't have a high waist so the pettite is great. If I get any heavier though I would need a 1x so I hope they make them for the ladies that are in the future.
I haven't had them in the field yet but I will assume that they are a tough and reliable product as all ORVIS gear. If not I will let you all know. I'm pretty hard on waders.
Finally, They only issue I have is shoe size. It seems that no one thinks women have large feet. My toes are actually rubbing on the ends and I hope they don't wear a hole in my toe or vice versa.
Great Job Orvis! Thanks for taking we women anglers into serious consideration!"
Review 6 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good waders,
December 17, 2014
By: retiredtroutbum
from Arkansas
"I've had 3 pair other expensive waders. All leaked, all saturated over time. Yeah can treat with tech wash and revivex but never the same.
These silver sonics fit great, don't leak at all, and are warm enough with proper layering. Time will tell on the saturating, but at this price point, I can afford to replace. I wade 300 days / year. I'm an orvis fan now.
Good value, and awesome fit. I'm 5'2, 118 lbs, athletic. Smalls are perfect. Room for layers but not poofy or too baggy. Love the color. Love the length. Enough fabric to bend down on knee. Not too much, just right.
Wish I had a hand warmer pocket. Don't care about the summer feature of dropping top down,"
Review 7 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders,
November 11, 2014
By: Fishingchick
"Highly recommend! Keep you totally dry, and easy to layer underneath. Love all the pockets.
They are a little pricey, but totally worth the money!
"
Review 8 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Waders,
November 3, 2014
By: RiverwalkerWA
from Seattle, WA
"The best thing about the women's Silver Sonic Waders is the fit. They are perfect. I followed the size guide that Orvis provides. They are so very well made and comfortable. I'm glad I didn't waste time and money on cheaper waders or waders made for men. I expect years of service from these waders and if I wear them out, I'll buy another pair!"
Review 9 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sexy waders,
October 23, 2014
By: BetsyH
from Los Angeles CA
"How can waders look and feel so good. Not that I am vain, but I do like to look good even when fishing. The new Silver Sonics not only feel good, but also look good. I can't wait to wear them on my upcoming Chile fishing excursion."
Review 10 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Decision,
October 4, 2014
By: ErnieDianeO
from Memphis, TN
"New to fly fishing this year, I had a lot of gear to purchase. The Orvis Women's Silver Sonic Waders was one of the best decisions. Sturdy, well made, and a perfect fit... A stocking foot without all the excess....Now my feet fit nicely inside my boots. And I love that I can drop the bib so easily and stay cooler if I need to."
Review 11 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders!,
September 17, 2014
By: Pofish
from Washington, DC
"Orvis is kidding when they claim they designed waders especially for women. These waders fit me better than any I've ever worn -- they actually look awesome. Great features, too, especially the waterproof inside pouch."
Review 12 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
September 17, 2014
By: Gittels
"These waders did exactly as described. Fit was good, they were comfortable and most of all they kept me dry!"
Review 13 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product - Worth the Buy,
September 7, 2014
By: pete6186
from North Idaho
"I did much research before buying waders and purchased the Silver Sonic late spring this year. (I wanted to wear them enough before writing a review too). For those that have doubts like I did on sizing, it was worth it to go into an Orvis endorsed store and try a pair on. I've worn my Sonics so far in Alaska, Idaho and Oregon and am rather impressed with this product. Whether it's getting in and out of a boat, plane, or climbing over rocks to get to a fishing hole, the Sonics just WORK. They still look brand new with as much use as I've put them through.
My size is 5' 4" / 145 / size 7.5 narrow feet and the Mediums fit well. After enough wear I do notice they are slightly long for me in the leg and torso, so I think a petite M size would have worked fine too. There is plenty of room/adjustability for layering and they are quick to get into - the elastic bands located under the armpit are a perfect thought to the design. The pockets are great and the waterproof pouch is tough, seals quickly, stays sealed yet remains easy to open. The drop down half works great in hot weather. These waders are very breathable / dry fast.
Don't waste your time on buying another brand of waders."
Review 14 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
August 26, 2014
By: pete41
from La Junta, CO
"Silver Sonics have proven to be a great gift for the wife. They fit in all critical measurement points and offer dry feet and a lot more comfort than her previous pair. She says the put the fun back in fishing.
The support provided by Customer Service in selecting the right size was invaluable.
"
Review 15 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable waders!!,
August 26, 2014
By: GRmom
from northern Wisconsin
"Very happy with these waders.
I am 5'2" and 115 pounds with
longer legs and shorter torso.
Although the small petite fit better
around my torso, the shorter inseam
would not work when I am in the
squatting position so I opted for the
regular small. Very comfortable,
I like the convertible option. The neoprene socks have seams on the the sidesand do not rub. (The first
waders I received had the left foot
sewn incorrectly and was narrowed at the toe. I called and a new pair was sent out that day with overnight
shipping.) The waterproof pocket
is okay--a little bulky and difficult
to open (particularly if you're trying
to answer your phone, but is
waterproof). Overall, I like these
waders very much and they are a
significant improvement over my
previous men's shaped waders.
"
Review 16 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
meets a tough challenge,
August 13, 2014
By: marfishes
from syracuse, ny
"I'm a regular size 5'5" 125lb with big feet - 9 1/2 and the only way I could get stocking feet big enough was to order med tall. I spent long time with "Buck" on chat on-line who re-assured me that this combo would work - and it does. They're beautiful waders, way better than my nascent flyfishing skills but I hope I grow to deserve them. Thanks, Buck!"
Review 17 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Women's Silver Sonic Waders,
August 9, 2014
By: ReggieB
"Just got back from 2 weeks of fly fishing in Colorado. I loved my new waders."
Review 18 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waders,
August 6, 2014
By: Geek
from Michigan
"I have worn the waders twice since I received them. They have kept me dry and are very flexible. Fit is perfect for a 5'2" woman."
Review 19 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too short waisted,
July 25, 2014
By: Tibet
from Northern New Mexico
"My only gripe is that I'm amazed that amongst the many women that participated in the creation of these waders there wasn't a long-waisted woman in the group?!?!? The simple addition of a second set of belt loops would have addressed this issue. I can't use the existing loops - too low.
I haven't yet water-tested these but I'm sure they will be fine. Lovely, really. (5'7"; 145; Med fits great)
"
Review 20 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Sonic fabulous!,
July 20, 2014
By: Idaprefertobefishing
from Lubbock, Tx.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have always used hip waders that feel sluggish and wear me down so my husband purchased the Silver Sonic chest waders for me as a gift. I'm 5'4" tall so he purchased a petite length. We easily exchanged them for a regular length and they fit perfectly. They feel wonderful and appear to be of excellent quality. I love the shoulder strap adjustments and the bib zipper pocket. I didn't use the removable waterproof pouch.
I paired the Silver Sonic chest waders with the very light weight Orvis Encounter men's boots. I love the combination. I may never wear my heavy hip waders again. I was able to spend six full days in a row walking in the river and up and down muddy mountains. I can't wait to go again. If you order the Encounter men's boots with the chest waders, order a half size larger in men's then you normally wear in a women's walking shoe and they will fit perfectly with a thick pair of socks. I love, love, love this combination!"