Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

Over the years, the most common feedback we've received from female anglers is that we haven't offered any women's chest waders that were truly designed with women in mind. Until now. Introducing our new women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders. After taking input and suggestions from a large number of female anglers, we started over from scratch and designed a wader built specifically for women. We tested them on a wide variety of body types, made tweaks and adjustments, and we think the results speak for themselves. Never again will you have to borrow a pair of waders. We have your size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
63 of 64(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fit,
February 25, 2013
By: AlbertaGuide
from Alberta, CN
"The waders are an amazing fit... I haven't had a pair of waders fit me in the 16 years I've been fly fishing and these are absolutely perfect."
Review 2 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
August 26, 2014
By: pete41
from La Junta, CO
"Silver Sonics have proven to be a great gift for the wife. They fit in all critical measurement points and offer dry feet and a lot more comfort than her previous pair. She says the put the fun back in fishing.
The support provided by Customer Service in selecting the right size was invaluable.
"
Review 3 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable waders!!,
August 26, 2014
By: GRmom
from northern Wisconsin
"Very happy with these waders.
I am 5'2" and 115 pounds with
longer legs and shorter torso.
Although the small petite fit better
around my torso, the shorter inseam
would not work when I am in the
squatting position so I opted for the
regular small. Very comfortable,
I like the convertible option. The neoprene socks have seams on the the sidesand do not rub. (The first
waders I received had the left foot
sewn incorrectly and was narrowed at the toe. I called and a new pair was sent out that day with overnight
shipping.) The waterproof pocket
is okay--a little bulky and difficult
to open (particularly if you're trying
to answer your phone, but is
waterproof). Overall, I like these
waders very much and they are a
significant improvement over my
previous men's shaped waders.
"
Review 4 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
meets a tough challenge,
August 13, 2014
By: marfishes
from syracuse, ny
"I'm a regular size 5'5" 125lb with big feet - 9 1/2 and the only way I could get stocking feet big enough was to order med tall. I spent long time with "Buck" on chat on-line who re-assured me that this combo would work - and it does. They're beautiful waders, way better than my nascent flyfishing skills but I hope I grow to deserve them. Thanks, Buck!"
Review 5 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Women's Silver Sonic Waders,
August 9, 2014
By: ReggieB
"Just got back from 2 weeks of fly fishing in Colorado. I loved my new waders."
Review 6 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waders,
August 6, 2014
By: Geek
from Michigan
"I have worn the waders twice since I received them. They have kept me dry and are very flexible. Fit is perfect for a 5'2" woman."
Review 7 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too short waisted,
July 25, 2014
By: Tibet
from Northern New Mexico
"My only gripe is that I'm amazed that amongst the many women that participated in the creation of these waders there wasn't a long-waisted woman in the group?!?!? The simple addition of a second set of belt loops would have addressed this issue. I can't use the existing loops - too low.
I haven't yet water-tested these but I'm sure they will be fine. Lovely, really. (5'7"; 145; Med fits great)
"
Review 8 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Sonic fabulous!,
July 20, 2014
By: Idaprefertobefishing
from Lubbock, Tx.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have always used hip waders that feel sluggish and wear me down so my husband purchased the Silver Sonic chest waders for me as a gift. I'm 5'4" tall so he purchased a petite length. We easily exchanged them for a regular length and they fit perfectly. They feel wonderful and appear to be of excellent quality. I love the shoulder strap adjustments and the bib zipper pocket. I didn't use the removable waterproof pouch.
I paired the Silver Sonic chest waders with the very light weight Orvis Encounter men's boots. I love the combination. I may never wear my heavy hip waders again. I was able to spend six full days in a row walking in the river and up and down muddy mountains. I can't wait to go again. If you order the Encounter men's boots with the chest waders, order a half size larger in men's then you normally wear in a women's walking shoe and they will fit perfectly with a thick pair of socks. I love, love, love this combination!"
Review 9 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible fit!,
July 19, 2014
By: NCFishinChic
from Western NC
"I am 5.2 105 lbs and you can imagine how ridiculous I looked in traditional waders. The fit of the xs petite is just right., like it was made for me. It fits in exactly the right places. I had to try a small in the store and the difference between this and the small (which I was drowning in) is significant. The measurements are very precise so be sure to check before ordering."
Review 10 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waders for a Woman,
July 15, 2014
By: FishingInCbus22
from Columbus, OH
"Love these waders! Took them out for the first time a few days ago and they worked wonderful. They were breathable, easy to move in and the convertible-top is very nice. I was worried about the fit since I am a bit curvy but there was no issue. The only downside is that being busty I am not able to use both the chest pocket and removable water pouch as it makes the front bulky."
Review 11 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love these Waders,
July 15, 2014
By: Ricochet4Nancy
from Baton Rouge, LA
"We have a store here in Baton Rouge. The lady helped measure me and we also spoke to the company to make sure I was getting the right size. Shipped to my home. Near Perfect fit. The booties are not too big and the adjustable straps are great. Only problem I have is locking the water-tight pocket."
Review 12 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Pair of Waders,
June 29, 2014
By: CentralCoastTroutBUM
from San Luis Obispo, CA
"They fit a bit more on the slim/snug side. Great interior dry bag pocket hold anything from keys to a camera."
Review 13 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I can say is WOW.,
June 7, 2014
By: MsMoss
from Los Gatos, CA
"i am 4'11. I never thought I would find waders that fit, never mind be unbelievably comfortable. I bought some waders about 6 years ago, from a pretty good company, but the legs were long to the point of silliness. I used them to help the forest service count trout at a local stream. And it took all my powers of balance and determination to maintain a stable position. The Orvis silver sonic womens waders in a petitle medium are just a little long, but not at all uncomfortable. They feel light and soft on the skin, and they go over my fleece tights just fine. They are roomy, but I feel quite svelte in these. I can put all my energy into fishing, and clamming. Yea!"
Review 14 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Waders,
May 21, 2014
By: ladyflyfisher
from Eastern Idaho
"I've never been able to wear women's waders before because I'm 5'10", 150 lbs. with a 33" inseam and a size 9 foot. I've settled for large feet in men's waders for over 20 years and been very uncomfortable. So when I saw the sizing for the new Silver Sonic waders and the price I had to try them. I struggled over which size to order, Med. Tall or Large Tall. I decided on the large to be sure I'd have room for layers. The large is big, but I think the med. would be too small. The feet are perfect and the length is good with some adjusting of the suspenders. I needed an extra inch, even with the tall length. You can also adjust the chest to make it smaller. The material is comfortable. I fish a lot, so I'll know how well they are going to wear by the end of the summer. I'm so happy to see Orvis making women's tall waders."
Review 15 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
May 1, 2014
By: GrandRiverCharlie
from Grand River, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Purchased these for my girlfriend and she absolutely LOVED them! Caught her first Steelhead (and 4 more after that one) in 38 degree water with compression thermals and fleece pants and she was comfortable for 7 hours of fishing. They are light, easy to walk in and she had no trouble stooping down in the water for pictures! If you have an Orvis store nearby, be sure to try them on as they are available in all sizes and "heights". The store we went to didn't have her exact size (she needed a "tall"), but by trying on what they did have she was able to order exactly what she needed (Thank you Jim L.). They arrived perfect in less than a week. I can't say enough about the service from Orvis, don't bother going anywhere else."
Review 16 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with Purchase,
April 30, 2014
By: Outpost
"I'm happy with my purchase. Sizing was as expected (I'm short so I fully expected some excess material in the legs). I was concerned at first about the foot because there seemed to be excess material but once I got my boots on and walked around, they fit fine. I bought the boots according to the size chart (I was afraid I would need to increase by one size to account for the excess material in the boot foot), and they fit just fine. I love the extra waterproof pockets and the ability to lower the top on hot days."
Review 17 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits perfectly!,
April 7, 2014
By: Cathiefly
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"These waders fit just right! They are very comfortable standing or sitting down. Love the cut for the " bib" section. Really nice waders!"
Review 18 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Waders,
April 6, 2014
By: Erin8
from Wyoming
"These waders are fantastic!
I am 5' 6" and 130 lbs. the medium regulars fit great. I can fit warm layers underneath, but they are not at all baggy. Thank you!
"
Review 19 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
April 3, 2014
By: PAFishermanWife
from St Marys PA
"I am 5'4", 125 lbs. Usually wear a size 6/8 pants. Ordered the medium regular length size waders and they fit perfectly. I am happy I did not order the petite or smaller size. They easily fit over yoga pants and a sweatshirt. I would rather have the room to move around than something too tight. Also when in the water it is nice to have something loose so I can move around easily."
Review 20 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Women's Waders!,
March 31, 2014
By: LilWood
from Philadelphia, PA
"I wanted a great pair of women's waders. After researching online I decided I wanted to try these on. I used the sizing table online and sized myself and wrote down a few sizes closest to mine. I called my local Orvis and I asked if I could come in and try some on. They happily got the sizes in I wanted to try on, actually I think they already had them in stock in women's which was great. I went in and tried on my first pair and it was an amazing fit. I am 5'4' about 155- athletic build and the Large Petite was the size for me. I love the option to pull down the top half to your waist- I am assuming that will help a lot once it gets warmer out! The build in chest pockets are very convenient for putting my car key, phone, and license.It came with patch essentials and instructions for care. As for wading boots- I saw an online deal for the MENS River Guard™ Clearwater II. I asked my local Orvis Fishing Manager Tom if these would work for me. He said if they had the men's size I convert to online, get them, they are a great boot. I am women's size 8.5 and I got a men's size 7 boot. Fits great. A little stiff at first, but my 2nd time in the creek they got more pliable. I am overall extremely satisfied with my Orvis experience. I would recommend these to any women."