Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

Over the years, the most common feedback we've received from female anglers is that we haven't offered any women's chest waders that were truly designed with women in mind. Until now. Introducing our new women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders. After taking input and suggestions from a large number of female anglers, we started over from scratch and designed a wader built specifically for women. We tested them on a wide variety of body types, made tweaks and adjustments, and we think the results speak for themselves. Never again will you have to borrow a pair of waders. We have your size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
47 of 48(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fit,
February 25, 2013
By: AlbertaGuide
from Alberta, CN
"The waders are an amazing fit... I haven't had a pair of waders fit me in the 16 years I've been fly fishing and these are absolutely perfect."
Review 2 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits perfectly!,
April 7, 2014
By: Cathiefly
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"These waders fit just right! They are very comfortable standing or sitting down. Love the cut for the " bib" section. Really nice waders!"
Review 3 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Waders,
April 6, 2014
By: Erin8
from Wyoming
"These waders are fantastic!
I am 5' 6" and 130 lbs. the medium regulars fit great. I can fit warm layers underneath, but they are not at all baggy. Thank you!
"
Review 4 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
April 3, 2014
By: PAFishermanWife
from St Marys PA
"I am 5'4", 125 lbs. Usually wear a size 6/8 pants. Ordered the medium regular length size waders and they fit perfectly. I am happy I did not order the petite or smaller size. They easily fit over yoga pants and a sweatshirt. I would rather have the room to move around than something too tight. Also when in the water it is nice to have something loose so I can move around easily."
Review 5 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Women's Waders!,
March 31, 2014
By: LilWood
from Philadelphia, PA
"I wanted a great pair of women's waders. After researching online I decided I wanted to try these on. I used the sizing table online and sized myself and wrote down a few sizes closest to mine. I called my local Orvis and I asked if I could come in and try some on. They happily got the sizes in I wanted to try on, actually I think they already had them in stock in women's which was great. I went in and tried on my first pair and it was an amazing fit. I am 5'4' about 155- athletic build and the Large Petite was the size for me. I love the option to pull down the top half to your waist- I am assuming that will help a lot once it gets warmer out! The build in chest pockets are very convenient for putting my car key, phone, and license.It came with patch essentials and instructions for care. As for wading boots- I saw an online deal for the MENS River Guard™ Clearwater II. I asked my local Orvis Fishing Manager Tom if these would work for me. He said if they had the men's size I convert to online, get them, they are a great boot. I am women's size 8.5 and I got a men's size 7 boot. Fits great. A little stiff at first, but my 2nd time in the creek they got more pliable. I am overall extremely satisfied with my Orvis experience. I would recommend these to any women."
Review 6 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good fit for a woman's body,
March 14, 2014
By: MaryH
from Texas
"I highly recommend that you go to an Orvis store if you have one near you. I did this and found out that I needed the Tall in a large. Waders need to fit and it is so good to find that Orvis has several sizes for the woman's body. This fits my body just great and allows me to bend down or sit when I need to. It comes with two widths of suspenders so you can choose the wide or the narrow. The only thing I wish they had was a hand warmer pocket in the front and a way to get out easily from the waders when nature calls. Other than that, the quality of the waders is excellent. Glad I spent a little more money to get waders that fit me."
Review 7 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!,
March 1, 2014
By: moochkc
from Kansas City, Missouri
"My wife deserved a pair of QUALITY waders ... introduced her to fly fishing about six years ago ... she wants to go again and again ... as much as I do! These waders have NO SEWN SEAM to leak from extended usage! You cannot go wrong with ORVIS!!!!!"
Review 8 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At last,
February 25, 2014
By: Lovefishing
from Oregon
"I have been looking for waders to fit a woman with curves and small feet. This wader fits perfectly. At last I am comfortable while fishing. These waders allow for easy movement and excellent coverage."
Review 9 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Didn't work for me, satisfaction not achieved,
February 21, 2014
By: AUnicorn
from Santa Cruz, California and Smithers, BC
"I'm 5'5", 135 lbs. Shoe size 7.5-8. Average build. I do not possess model-long legs. I do fish hard, and I'm willing to work for it. Long walks along the railroad tracks on the Upper Sacramento. Down to the Conservancy waters on the McCloud and on the Wigwam outside of Fernie, BC. I climb over boulders and logs and stuff.
The mediums were too short in the legs. They bound in the crotch crossing fences and like that. The medium talls (or longs-or whatever) I got after that were way too big in the foot. I couldn't even fit them in my boots.
The guy I talked to (of course, it was a guy) said that the foot size for medium tall waders is size 10. Great, I'm size 8. Average for my height and weight. Foot size, gentlemen, is one of the specifications you should let people know before they buy.
He also said I'd had them too long and there was nothing he could do.
Really, nothing? How about, when you revisit the sizing issue you'll let me know?
So thanks for trying to make waders specifically for women. I really do appreciate the effort, and other women anglers will too, But you might have to check in with a few more size women before you declare victory. I'm guessing some women reviewers are being nice just because you tried."
Review 10 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit for women,
February 21, 2014
By: SandraW
from Morgantown, WV
"Finally, I found waders that are actually designed to fit women perfectly."
Review 11 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit for women,
January 28, 2014
By: SBellePepper
from Jackson, MS
"Thank you, Orvis, for taking the time to make a product that fits women. I could feel the difference in fit as soon as I pulled them on. Lots of room for layers, adjustments are easy, and the fabric is really nice. I'm a full figured southern woman and the XLReg Silver Sonic was perfect."
Review 12 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
January 14, 2014
By: HotMom
from Holly Springs, NC
"I received these as a Christmas gift from my wonderful husband & absolutely love them. I can't wait to try them out, they fit great, did have to go to the petite size because I'm short, and they fit much better. Made for girls, so they fit much better a generic wader. Makes you feel like a fly fisher-woman fashionista for sure!"
Review 13 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders,
January 6, 2014
By: az2caironheader
from Arizona
"You can go cheaper but even for a beginner, these waders are the way to go. My previous pair lasted 15 years and with the new construction, I expect these to do even better."
Review 14 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Christmas gift for wife,
January 3, 2014
By: Reedrub
from Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
"I purchased new waders for my wife and they fit so well she wants to go fishing immediately. This is a win/win."
Review 15 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fine waders!,
December 24, 2013
By: bigbookben
from slc, Utah
"Christmas gift, 2013. She has tried them on and loves them, says they fit just right. I like the fact that these waders will be several noches above her old ones, and she will look like a lady in them. Have not tried them in the water yet but expect they will be as water tight as the male version I purchased 6 months ago!"
Review 16 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders,
December 17, 2013
By: Harpo123
from Seattle, Wa
"Bought these for my wife for Christmas. After looking, trying several brands, found the Orvis waders to be superior in all aspects.
Fit is exceptional and from previous experience, I know these will be durable and last a long time. Foot fit is right on and makes fitting boots an easy task. The convertible feature is excellent for her not needing two pairs.
"
Review 17 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sonic waders,
October 3, 2013
By: caranu
"They look great - haven't tried them yet for various reasons.
Question. What does the bag with LPET on the front do?
Gail
"
Review 18 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still love my Silver Sonics,
September 23, 2013
By: utahtroutchick
from Cache Valley, Utah
"Several months and many rivers into my Silver Sonics and I am still in love. The convertible feature has been great in the heat and for overall comfort.
If I could make a wish for your next version of women's Silver Sonics it would be a fleece pocket on the front. It is the one thing I am missing as fall settles in.
Thanks!"
Review 19 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly Tested and A+,
August 18, 2013
By: AKFlyOut
"Let me start by saying that I am a small framed gal who has NEVER been comfortable in my waders. I usually ended up with massive amounts of fabric bunched around my waist and huge wrinkles in by boots. Well, no more! I spent 5 weeks in Alaska during the King Salmon season and wore them literally everyday, We had a mix of hot and cold weather and they were great for both conditions. They are lightweight and SO easy to move in, thus no more bending down and getting wedgies! They move with you not against you. I wondered about durability because of their streamlined construction, but they really held up! I put them to the test during those 5 weeks bushwhacking, in and out of planes and boats, kneeling constantly (operating a camera), and hiking across tundra. The pocket system is nice with a fair amount of space, and I love being able to quickly turn them into waist style waders. Really the only thing I would like to see would be a hand warmer space behind the chest pocket; it would have been nice on those cold days. I would not hesitate for a second recommending these to the ladies out there no matter your frame or size! Best and most comfortable waders I have ever owned. . . EVER."
Review 20 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First time buying waders.,
July 31, 2013
By: crazyolfishergal
from Yakima, WA
"Waders fit great, booties too big hard fit in boot"