Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders

Over the years, the most common feedback we've received from female anglers is that we haven't offered any women's chest waders that were truly designed with women in mind. Until now. Introducing our new women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders. After taking input and suggestions from a large number of female anglers, we started over from scratch and designed a wader built specifically for women. We tested them on a wide variety of body types, made tweaks and adjustments, and we think the results speak for themselves. Never again will you have to borrow a pair of waders. We have your size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
86 of 87(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Review 1 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fit,
February 25, 2013
By: AlbertaGuide
from Alberta, CN
"The waders are an amazing fit... I haven't had a pair of waders fit me in the 16 years I've been fly fishing and these are absolutely perfect."
Review 2 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond awesome product!,
July 19, 2015
By: MaddogFishers
from Wyoming
"Bought my Wife the Silver Sonic waders for our Anniversary... I know, how romantic! We just returned from a guided trip to the Dream Stream on the South Platte. Besides catching the biggest trout or our lives, the Silver Sonic Waders were amazing! Comfortable, light weight, and the convertible option was great once it warmed up.Best of all for my Wife who is tall and slender, she looked great in them and not like a man!
Before these waders she would always have to settle for a Men's medium tall and they never did fit right and were bulky and uncomfortable.
Orvis... we have some great shots of us in the SS waders on our trip if you would like to see them..."
Review 3 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New women's waders are great!,
June 17, 2015
By: fishingklu
from San Francisco, CA
"Dear Orvis, Thanks so much for taking care of us women fly fishers. It is so difficult to get a good fit with waders, and you have hit it out of the ballpark with this model. The fit is great for those of us a little more robust, and I am looking forward to wearing these new waders next week in Montana."
Review 4 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally, a fit,
May 18, 2015
By: tallulah51
from Minneapolis, MN
"after ordering many different manufacturers and size options, even those that claim they have every women's figure figured out, I found the 'almost perfect' fit with Orvis Sonic. While I am usually a medium I found the small tall to be a better match all around. Most mediums were too big on top. I fish almost every weekend. Ease of movement without the bulk is key for me. While I would have loved a chest hand warmer I'll do without. After a year of frustration because most shops do not inventory women's waders, the 'fit' not the extras are what matter in the end. These are well made and I appreciate the value. Well priced."
Review 5 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Booties finally fit,
May 6, 2015
By: girlslove2fish
"Love the way the waders are built for a womans figure. The booties also fit great."
Review 6 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made, check sizing if you petite,
May 4, 2015
By: Aussiegal
from Australia
"I have not had a chance to test the waders yet but there is no doubt these are extremely well made.
Sizing - I am 5'3" and 125lbs, size 8 womens shoe, inseam 29.5". I ordered a small petite. The sizing was chosen both on the size chart and with the help of the LiveChat.
Minor quibbles:
the neoprene bootie is both too wide and a bit too short making it bunch a bit in the shoe and also pull on the top of the big toe. I am at the upper limit of what is recommended for this size (size 8 womens). I am hoping that my toes don't get sore! I have a very wide foot so thought that it would not be possible for the bootie to be too wide.
Inseam length seems quite short - I made a point of checking the leg length with the LiveChat representative as I was very concerned that I wouldn't be able to bend and kneel comfortably and was assured that "we don't expect you to stand still". I wanted to check the actual garment inseam length to check that there was enough length there but the LiveChat representative didn't have that information. Now that the waders have arrived I regret getting the petite as they are definitely too short and I won't be able to actually hike or climb stairs in them. I am worried about kneeling down too. Unfortunately it will be pricey to send them back as I am in Australia and shipping is extremely costly. This makes them a bit of an expensive purchase for me given they are not really as fit for purpose as I thought (hiking, kneeling, climbing stairs and over logs). I guess this is one of the problems with buying on the internet. Sizing is tricky, and ymmv.
The length of the bib is actually a bit short too, and the bib doesn't reach up above the height of my bust.
All that being said, I have worn them around the house and they are very breathable and undoubtedly very well made.
I think with correct sizing they are a great purchase and product."
Review 7 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these waders more than husband,
May 4, 2015
By: Fishon106
from Raleigh, NC
"These waders I'm so in love with. Fits my curves and 5'2" height. Got the large Petite size. So comfortable. Buy these waders"
Review 8 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders,
April 13, 2015
By: FlyFan44
from Richmond VA
"They work! Comfortable and warm! Love the convertible feature when hot flashes hit. Buy them - You will love them!"
Review 9 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid set of waders,
April 6, 2015
By: Ithaca
from Plano, TX
"This is my first pair of waders, so I don't have much to compare them with. I've done both spring and winter fishing in them, and they breathe well. I've been happy with the fit; I'm petite, so I really appreciate the range of sizes these waders are available in.
This was a solid purchase -and much thanks to the guys in Plano, Texas!
"
Review 10 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent waders,
March 31, 2015
By: kervin
from Memphis, TN
"I've had waders of less quality for higher price. Very pleased."
Review 11 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
waders as good as men's,
March 29, 2015
By: adfriedman2
"great to have one for us ladies without having to settle for a man's and I am usually a 2xP and this fit well..in fact seemed to give a little by end of day no issue getting off and on. not sure they need the waste belt.. more like my hips and with the carry bag can go light without a backpack.. wonderful"
Review 12 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for woman.,
March 27, 2015
By: bbdurepos
from New Brunswick Canada
"This is the best waders that any woman should have. Why I was wearing ugly, bulky man's waders? They fit just right, the measures are good, except for the waist (my waist is 4 inch bigger than the chart) I ordered the size that I taught, according to the rest of the measurement. Of course I was afraid that it would be to tight on my waist line, but no, THEY FIT PERFECT. It took a while to receive them, so do not wait this summer to order. I FEEL SEXY IN THOSE WADERS, BELEIVE IT OR NOT. Can't wait to go fishing!"
Review 13 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good- with some resevations,
January 15, 2015
By: cinciliz
"Received these as a gift and haven't used them yet, but they appear very well made. Had to order the Medium Tall because of my large feet (size 10), which is giving me a little extra length. Neoprene feet don't seem to be made for a woman's foot as they are rather wide and a little sloppy."
Review 14 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excited,
December 27, 2014
By: Mardoc
from Montgomery, AL
"Bought these waders for my wife who always has to use rentals. Ordered online. True to form, Orvis has developed a great wader fitting for a women. She loves them and they fit her well, true to the size chart. It will be awhile for her to really break them in but they appear to be well made."
Review 15 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase, great product!!!,
December 25, 2014
By: BENflyfishing
from Lac-Megantic, Qc
"I have purchased a pair of weather for woman, the quality of the product is incredible, and the service from the company is awesome."
Review 16 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
December 20, 2014
By: ozzybren
from Australia
"I've been fly fishing for over 15 yrs and this is the first wader I have had that fit. I am over 50 and not slim and terrific. It's nice to have a product that doesn't have a tiny waist and a huge butt. That is a problem I find a lot with women's clothing in general. I don't have a high waist so the pettite is great. If I get any heavier though I would need a 1x so I hope they make them for the ladies that are in the future.
I haven't had them in the field yet but I will assume that they are a tough and reliable product as all ORVIS gear. If not I will let you all know. I'm pretty hard on waders.
Finally, They only issue I have is shoe size. It seems that no one thinks women have large feet. My toes are actually rubbing on the ends and I hope they don't wear a hole in my toe or vice versa.
Great Job Orvis! Thanks for taking we women anglers into serious consideration!"
Review 17 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good waders,
December 17, 2014
By: retiredtroutbum
from Arkansas
"I've had 3 pair other expensive waders. All leaked, all saturated over time. Yeah can treat with tech wash and revivex but never the same.
These silver sonics fit great, don't leak at all, and are warm enough with proper layering. Time will tell on the saturating, but at this price point, I can afford to replace. I wade 300 days / year. I'm an orvis fan now.
Good value, and awesome fit. I'm 5'2, 118 lbs, athletic. Smalls are perfect. Room for layers but not poofy or too baggy. Love the color. Love the length. Enough fabric to bend down on knee. Not too much, just right.
Wish I had a hand warmer pocket. Don't care about the summer feature of dropping top down,"
Review 18 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders,
November 11, 2014
By: Fishingchick
"Highly recommend! Keep you totally dry, and easy to layer underneath. Love all the pockets.
They are a little pricey, but totally worth the money!
"
Review 19 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Waders,
November 3, 2014
By: RiverwalkerWA
from Seattle, WA
"The best thing about the women's Silver Sonic Waders is the fit. They are perfect. I followed the size guide that Orvis provides. They are so very well made and comfortable. I'm glad I didn't waste time and money on cheaper waders or waders made for men. I expect years of service from these waders and if I wear them out, I'll buy another pair!"
Review 20 for Women's Silver Sonic Convertible-Top Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sexy waders,
October 23, 2014
By: BetsyH
from Los Angeles CA
"How can waders look and feel so good. Not that I am vain, but I do like to look good even when fishing. The new Silver Sonics not only feel good, but also look good. I can't wait to wear them on my upcoming Chile fishing excursion."