Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter Wading Jacket

Take on unexpected weather with confidence. Lightweight, packable, breathable, and waterproof, the Encounter Wading Jacket is designed to pack easily. A large, single patch pocket on the left chest holds fly boxes or other accessories. Elastic cuffs with easy adjuster and a drawcord around the waist provide a snug, comfortable fit. Easily packable in a vest or pack when not in use. In two-tone sage. 100% nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.623 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
57 of 61(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very light and nice jacket,
April 21, 2015
By: Vadims
from East Sussex
"Bought this wading jacket from uttings, light, comfortable, great jacket for late spring and early summer months, will recommend for people's who like traveling. This jacket definitely best purchase for active fisherman's."
Review 2 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good Jacket,
April 14, 2015
By: Irsissz
"Great jacket, It does pack very easily but I used this jacket the first time out fishing It kept me dry as advertised. Very light and breathable. It doesn't have a Goretex liner but it definitely keeps you dry."
Review 3 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome jacket,
April 8, 2015
By: RadarDrew
from Rapid City, SD
"Color is great and it kept me dry during a hard rain. Can't wait to fish in the rain again!"
Review 4 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Solution,
March 25, 2015
By: Bootheman
from Nashville, TN
"I wanted a 100% waterproof, ultra light weight jacket for use during my work travels as well as for on the river... This product answered both of my desires perfectly. The ability to stuff it into my fishing vest or briefcase without taking up valuable space is paramount... Great jacket"
Review 5 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading jacket,
March 24, 2015
By: Derek41384
from Redding, CA
"Great jacket when you want to get out no matter what the weather is like."
Review 6 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money,
February 13, 2015
By: Marck77
from Denmark
"Superlight and size fits perfect being af regular XL this was perfect even with an extra layer under. Yet to experience hard rain - but it seems good."
Review 7 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
January 28, 2015
By: Arakoub
from San Diego, CA, USA
"I received this jacket as a gift and rally liked it. Enough that I bought one for my son as well. Very light and practical to carry in your fishing pack."
Review 8 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
January 17, 2015
By: William0847
"Have purchased this rain jacket in three different sizes for my three grandchildren. It has been very effective on summer Montana rainstorms. It is well made and a good value. As they grow older in age and stabilize in size, I will invest in higher end technical rain gear for them."
Review 9 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Pleased,
January 4, 2015
By: TexasNana
from Dallas, Texas
"This was a Christmas present for my husband, and he was so pleased. It was true to size and very well made. I highly recommend this product if you are looking for good quality at a reasonable price."
Review 10 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Orvis,
January 2, 2015
By: Elli2
"Bought rain jacket for grandson - freshman in college - he loved it! And his friends loved it!"
Review 11 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid built,
January 2, 2015
By: MaciekP
"I have not had a chance to try it out in the field yet, but it looks very well manufactured and fits well. Sizining chart that Orvis has is very accurate.
Looking forward to testing it out.
"
Review 12 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket,
December 29, 2014
By: brownpoundr
from modesto,ca.
"Just purchased for christmas.very light and comfortable,and keeps you dry.Perfect!"
Review 13 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor sizing,
December 15, 2014
By: Bears13
"ordered a xxl to fit over sweater. it fit my size 12 wife!
not the kind of quality control i expect from orvis.
now its backordered. merry christmas!
"
Review 14 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value,
December 8, 2014
By: Jpink
from Okla. City, OK
"Purchased this for my son who on occasions will travel with me on flyfishing trips. This is the perfect jacket for the few trips that include a rain storm or cooler weather. Basic product but good value for the money."
Review 15 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Met Reasonably Set Expectations Very Well,
November 26, 2014
By: AnonymousAnadromous
from Ithaca, NY
"If you're in the market for a simple wading jacket, and don't need all of the bells and whistles that other jackets may have, this is a good option. I was looking for a simple waterproof shell, and this was a relatively
inexpensive, solid option. The seams are constructed well, the actual feel of the jacket is sort of soft and supple, but still durable, and the product overall seems to be very quality. It's also just an overall good looking garment aesthetically. The absence of a back net D-ring is a little disappointing, as others mentioned, but I knew that going in. Also don't expect handwarmer pockets, as this jacket only has the breast pocket. The only suggestion I'd have, if feasible to keep the jacket'a cost down at the same time, would be to make the cuffs more waterproof and the cuff straps slightly more snag less when shooting fly line. The jacket fits true to size. I'm a L-XL with most shirts and hoodies, and the L in this jacket was a perfect fit
"
Review 16 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Returned this jacket.,
November 21, 2014
By: Seabass
from Northern California
"I wore this jacket only a couple times and the inside liner started flaking apart and deteriorating on me. Also no pockets? Big disappointment with that. Did like the how light-weight and packable the jacket is, and the cuffs were nice. I checked out the new Sonic jacket from Orvis at the nearby store. Might be a better idea to spend a bit more for a more substantial wading jacket."
Review 17 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
November 19, 2014
By: weelinksman
from Boston, MA
"Have been looking for a waterproof packable jacket for quite awhile. Have tried (and returned) other vendors jackets as for me, waterproof means waterproof! This jacket does it. I'm between an M and L size; bought the L and it's perfect for layering something underneath as the weather turns cold. Very nice product...!"
Review 18 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect!!,
November 14, 2014
By: frogspawn
from Bolton. Lancashire. U.K.
"Totally waterproof, light and packs down to nothing. Just the thing for a day on the river."
Review 19 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
November 14, 2014
By: flyfish42
from West Yortkshire
"Extremely useful jacket. Very lightweight but completely waterproof . So light it can be carried or worn in warm and dry conditions but I have found it great for use when it is windy, wet and cold. Can be worn comfortably under a wading vest or used with a chest or shoulder pack. One of my better buys."
Review 20 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very well constructed jacket,
November 7, 2014
By: John56
from Winchester, VA.
"This is the second light weight packable jacket that I have purchased from this outfitter. After ten years of constant use for every day living and the occasional fishing excursion the first one is starting to show it's age. Thought I would grab another one while these were available. There are a few options that are not included on this version that I will miss such as two front pockets, being able to hide the hood and the dolphin wrist bands, but overall this is a great value. If you don't mind fishing in the rain, this jacket will keep you dry and is an excellent wind breaker."