Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter Wading Jacket

Take on unexpected weather with confidence. Lightweight, packable, breathable, and waterproof, the Encounter Wading Jacket is designed to pack easily. A large, single patch pocket on the left chest holds fly boxes or other accessories. Elastic cuffs with easy adjuster and a drawcord around the waist provide a snug, comfortable fit. Easily packable in a vest or pack when not in use. In two-tone sage. 100% nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
34 of 36(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rain Jacket,
October 22, 2014
By: Flyhunter
from Central, PA
"I ordered this jacket for Fly fishing in the elements. I have worn this Jacket the last couple of days, fall weather can be unpredictable. The first day it rained and the temperature was about 55 degrees. The jacket keep me dry and I wasn't sweated up like most rain wear. The next day it was 47 degrees, raining and windy. The jacket kept the wind from going through and kept me dry and warm.I really like the hood, it keeps the rain off and you can still see what your doing. The jacket is really comfortable and fits well. On the colder day all I had on underneath was a T shirt and a fleece sweatshirt. I ordered an XL and I am 6 foot, 210lbs and it fit me well. Thanks Orvis for making such wonderful products!"
Review 2 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 22, 2014
By: ARtroutbum
"I am very pleased with the Encounter wading jacket. It is light weight enough to were in warm weather or wear over a sweater without getting too bulky. Nice breast pocket is just right for a small fly box. Only thing I would add would be a net ring on the back. Love that it rolls up into its own hood for packing."
Review 3 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Was expecting more,
October 13, 2014
By: PRJ1971
from Wisconsin
"This jacket is described as a packable wading jacket. I'm disappointed that it didn't come with a D-ring for the net and that it didn't come with a bag to pack it in.
Fail on Orvis's part in my opinion
"
Review 4 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Value,
October 9, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"I own several serious FF jackets.. Simms, Cabela's, ect. This Orvis jacket stands out a just a darn good value. It is simple yet effective, light weight and nice looking. Yes, it could have a few more features but then it would sell for more ( I kept wanting to put my hands in the side pocket - none). I don't think that this is the right jacket for winter fishing on the Big Horn river. But, I wore it out in a driving Colorado fall downpour today and stayed dry and happy. This jacket packs easy and fits well ( i'm an Orvis Med ). Thanks Orvis this jacket is a lot of bang for the buck."
Review 5 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Wading Jacket,
September 17, 2014
By: lcmidon
from Brasil
"I really like this jacket, great for my protection: Sun, rain and cold.
She is very light and practice to be guarded. Thank you
"
Review 6 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading jackets to end all wading jackets,
September 16, 2014
By: mikefromsf
from San Francisco, CA
"Beautifully light... enough room to layer under--no pockets to get caught on. Packable when the time is right.
Hood covers it all-- yet is out of the way when you want to show off that back hand move. Who says fish don't care what you wear?
"
Review 7 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's just a jacket,
August 26, 2014
By: Lossop
"As a jacket it's fine, but without a D-ring for a net that's all it is - a jacket.
The word 'wading' just doesn't apply."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome wading jacket,
August 25, 2014
By: William19
"This is a great Jacket for the money! Easy to store and pack up for trips, very lightweight and durable. Also love the color!"
Review 9 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
August 7, 2014
By: Oxford07863
"Lightweight. Packs great. True fit. Great for on the go and all day trips."
Review 10 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 major issue,
June 28, 2014
By: rugby134
"Wore this on the Rapid River in Maine, and it kept me very dry during an all day rain. The one problem is that it is not equipped with a D-ring for a net to be attached. How a jacket marketed as a wading jacket does not have this is perplexing. Sizing is spot on, but it was impossible to fully zip it over my Wasatch vest/pack. 1/2 size fuller cut would probably do it. I'll be keeping the jacket as it is easily packed in a day pack and does keep you dry. I just wish the web description/ photo would have clarified no d-ring attached."
Review 11 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
May 20, 2014
By: cdwest68
from Asheville, NC
"It's hard to find a light, rugged but affordable rain jacket to fish in and this one fits the bill perfectly. Nice attention to detail for such a simple jacket."
Review 12 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Jacket,
May 7, 2014
By: Irsno1
from East Moline IL
"I had reservations about the quality of the material and the zippers before I placed the order for this jacket.
I took a chance and ordered it. When I opened the box after it arrived, I was very happy to find the quality exceeded my expectations. The fabric looks to be very durable and the zippers are "welded" to the fabric. The tags used to pull the zippers are very robust and should last a long time. I've not used this jacket yet but will soon. I feel this is a great value for the price.
"
Review 13 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"in a pinch",
April 18, 2014
By: Firecarpenter
"I was headed to the two-day flyfishing at Millbrook, NY. RAIN! for the second day. I needed raingear and purchased the Encounter Wading Jacket (I could not pass on the great price). Almost waist deep in the stream, in torrents of rain. Bottom line, I'm 100% satisfied with the purchase. After the two day course I purchased Silver Sonic waders..........Quality pays."
Review 14 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Wading Jacket,
April 8, 2014
By: PeterFai
"Great jacket for teh money. Polartec in the collar is a nice addition. Also like the separation of the hood when fully zipped up (it does not get in teh way if the hood is not up) Jacket needs side pockets."
Review 15 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice,
March 14, 2014
By: Blackrockminerson
"Nice quality, good fit, works well. Would buy again"
Review 16 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable Rainwear,
February 21, 2014
By: William0847
"Purchased for grandsons as standby rain protection on the stream. Seems well made, generous cut. Good workmanship. Good value."
Review 17 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Wading Jacket,
February 3, 2014
By: Boelie
from Johannesburg, South Africa
"Best light weight waterproof jacket I ever had. It never rains in Africa but it poars down!!! With all our thunderstorms down here in South Africa, this jacket keeps me dry and comfy to fish that extra 2 "wet" hours in the rain. Packs perfectly in my vest and fits like a glove Excelent YKK zips and adjustment cords are very well made and designed. Collar very comfy. This is a true value for money waterproof light weight jacket that "breathes" perfectly. For the serious fly fisherman!!!"
Review 18 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Jacket - terrific!,
January 27, 2014
By: JSH1119
from Houston, TX
"Received my wading jacket. It is a quality product just like I would expect from Orvis!"
Review 19 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!,
January 18, 2014
By: Ksflyguy
"For the money, this is a great fitting jacket. It is made as well as more expensive jackets from other manufactures and has the good name of Orvis to back it up!"
Review 20 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightest shell ever seen,
January 16, 2014
By: FranzUA
from Kiev, Ukraine
"Very light and can be easily packed. Really thin fabric, ideal for shell clothing. Certainly best 'value for money' proposition to date."