Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter Wading Jacket

Take on unexpected weather with confidence. Lightweight, packable, breathable, and waterproof, the Encounter Wading Jacket is designed to pack easily. A large, single patch pocket on the left chest holds fly boxes or other accessories. Elastic cuffs with easy adjuster and a drawcord around the waist provide a snug, comfortable fit. Easily packable in a vest or pack when not in use. In two-tone sage. 100% nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
44 of 48(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor sizing,
December 15, 2014
By: Bears13
"ordered a xxl to fit over sweater. it fit my size 12 wife!
not the kind of quality control i expect from orvis.
now its backordered. merry christmas!
"
Review 2 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value,
December 8, 2014
By: Jpink
from Okla. City, OK
"Purchased this for my son who on occasions will travel with me on flyfishing trips. This is the perfect jacket for the few trips that include a rain storm or cooler weather. Basic product but good value for the money."
Review 3 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Met Reasonably Set Expectations Very Well,
November 26, 2014
By: AnonymousAnadromous
from Ithaca, NY
"If you're in the market for a simple wading jacket, and don't need all of the bells and whistles that other jackets may have, this is a good option. I was looking for a simple waterproof shell, and this was a relatively
inexpensive, solid option. The seams are constructed well, the actual feel of the jacket is sort of soft and supple, but still durable, and the product overall seems to be very quality. It's also just an overall good looking garment aesthetically. The absence of a back net D-ring is a little disappointing, as others mentioned, but I knew that going in. Also don't expect handwarmer pockets, as this jacket only has the breast pocket. The only suggestion I'd have, if feasible to keep the jacket'a cost down at the same time, would be to make the cuffs more waterproof and the cuff straps slightly more snag less when shooting fly line. The jacket fits true to size. I'm a L-XL with most shirts and hoodies, and the L in this jacket was a perfect fit
"
Review 4 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Returned this jacket.,
November 21, 2014
By: Seabass
from Northern California
"I wore this jacket only a couple times and the inside liner started flaking apart and deteriorating on me. Also no pockets? Big disappointment with that. Did like the how light-weight and packable the jacket is, and the cuffs were nice. I checked out the new Sonic jacket from Orvis at the nearby store. Might be a better idea to spend a bit more for a more substantial wading jacket."
Review 5 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
November 19, 2014
By: weelinksman
from Boston, MA
"Have been looking for a waterproof packable jacket for quite awhile. Have tried (and returned) other vendors jackets as for me, waterproof means waterproof! This jacket does it. I'm between an M and L size; bought the L and it's perfect for layering something underneath as the weather turns cold. Very nice product...!"
Review 6 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect!!,
November 14, 2014
By: frogspawn
from Bolton. Lancashire. U.K.
"Totally waterproof, light and packs down to nothing. Just the thing for a day on the river."
Review 7 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
November 14, 2014
By: flyfish42
from West Yortkshire
"Extremely useful jacket. Very lightweight but completely waterproof . So light it can be carried or worn in warm and dry conditions but I have found it great for use when it is windy, wet and cold. Can be worn comfortably under a wading vest or used with a chest or shoulder pack. One of my better buys."
Review 8 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very well constructed jacket,
November 7, 2014
By: John56
from Winchester, VA.
"This is the second light weight packable jacket that I have purchased from this outfitter. After ten years of constant use for every day living and the occasional fishing excursion the first one is starting to show it's age. Thought I would grab another one while these were available. There are a few options that are not included on this version that I will miss such as two front pockets, being able to hide the hood and the dolphin wrist bands, but overall this is a great value. If you don't mind fishing in the rain, this jacket will keep you dry and is an excellent wind breaker."
Review 9 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing & everyday jacket,
November 5, 2014
By: westcoast11
from Vancouver, Canada
"Great jacket. Have only had it on the water once but it kept me warm and dry. Plenty of range of motion so does not impede your cast. Hood is a bit big but it can be adjusted to pull it back and give you greater vision. Have worn it out and about and to take the dog out many many times and it is perfect for this as well. Neutral colours and no D-Ring (as other reviewers have also noted) makes it not stand out at all in a city setting. Looks like any other rain jacket. Also throwing a ball for the dog isn't too far off a casting motion so it performs beautifully at this as well!"
Review 10 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 5, 2014
By: FishingTim
from Renton, WA
"This jacket was great in the water where weather can't make up its mind. Very comfortable while not too warm."
Review 11 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rain Jacket,
October 22, 2014
By: Flyhunter
from Central, PA
"I ordered this jacket for Fly fishing in the elements. I have worn this Jacket the last couple of days, fall weather can be unpredictable. The first day it rained and the temperature was about 55 degrees. The jacket keep me dry and I wasn't sweated up like most rain wear. The next day it was 47 degrees, raining and windy. The jacket kept the wind from going through and kept me dry and warm.I really like the hood, it keeps the rain off and you can still see what your doing. The jacket is really comfortable and fits well. On the colder day all I had on underneath was a T shirt and a fleece sweatshirt. I ordered an XL and I am 6 foot, 210lbs and it fit me well. Thanks Orvis for making such wonderful products!"
Review 12 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 22, 2014
By: ARtroutbum
"I am very pleased with the Encounter wading jacket. It is light weight enough to were in warm weather or wear over a sweater without getting too bulky. Nice breast pocket is just right for a small fly box. Only thing I would add would be a net ring on the back. Love that it rolls up into its own hood for packing."
Review 13 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Was expecting more,
October 13, 2014
By: PRJ1971
from Wisconsin
"This jacket is described as a packable wading jacket. I'm disappointed that it didn't come with a D-ring for the net and that it didn't come with a bag to pack it in.
Fail on Orvis's part in my opinion
"
Review 14 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Value,
October 9, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"I own several serious FF jackets.. Simms, Cabela's, ect. This Orvis jacket stands out a just a darn good value. It is simple yet effective, light weight and nice looking. Yes, it could have a few more features but then it would sell for more ( I kept wanting to put my hands in the side pocket - none). I don't think that this is the right jacket for winter fishing on the Big Horn river. But, I wore it out in a driving Colorado fall downpour today and stayed dry and happy. This jacket packs easy and fits well ( i'm an Orvis Med ). Thanks Orvis this jacket is a lot of bang for the buck."
Review 15 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Wading Jacket,
September 17, 2014
By: lcmidon
from Brasil
"I really like this jacket, great for my protection: Sun, rain and cold.
She is very light and practice to be guarded. Thank you
"
Review 16 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading jackets to end all wading jackets,
September 16, 2014
By: mikefromsf
from San Francisco, CA
"Beautifully light... enough room to layer under--no pockets to get caught on. Packable when the time is right.
Hood covers it all-- yet is out of the way when you want to show off that back hand move. Who says fish don't care what you wear?
"
Review 17 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's just a jacket,
August 26, 2014
By: Lossop
"As a jacket it's fine, but without a D-ring for a net that's all it is - a jacket.
The word 'wading' just doesn't apply."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome wading jacket,
August 25, 2014
By: William19
"This is a great Jacket for the money! Easy to store and pack up for trips, very lightweight and durable. Also love the color!"
Review 19 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
August 7, 2014
By: Oxford07863
"Lightweight. Packs great. True fit. Great for on the go and all day trips."
Review 20 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 major issue,
June 28, 2014
By: rugby134
"Wore this on the Rapid River in Maine, and it kept me very dry during an all day rain. The one problem is that it is not equipped with a D-ring for a net to be attached. How a jacket marketed as a wading jacket does not have this is perplexing. Sizing is spot on, but it was impossible to fully zip it over my Wasatch vest/pack. 1/2 size fuller cut would probably do it. I'll be keeping the jacket as it is easily packed in a day pack and does keep you dry. I just wish the web description/ photo would have clarified no d-ring attached."