Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter Wading Jacket

Take on unexpected weather with confidence. Lightweight, packable, and waterproof, the Encounter jacket is designed to fit easily into a waistcoat or kit bag. Constructed of breathable, 2.5-layer fabric that provides excellent protection from wind and water. Features a fully adjustable hood and YKK waterproof zips. A large, single patch pocket on the left chest holds fly boxes or other accessories. Elasticated cuffs with easy adjuster and a draw cord around the waist provide a snug, comfortable fit. In two-tone sage. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.627 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
63 of 67(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Jacket,
June 22, 2015
By: Carter96281
from Vernon, CT
"I purchased this jacket last month, it came just in time. I was caught in a freak rain storm a threw it on. Kept me dry, fit is perfect and drys quick with a few shakes. It packs really well. Once the rain stopped I folded it up and put it back in the large pocket on my Ovis sling pack."
Review 2 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid product,
June 11, 2015
By: TBrooks892
"Good light weight jacket. Not tried yet in a downpour but worked well in slow rain. Would buy again. Good value for the price."
Review 3 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice little rain jacket,
June 2, 2015
By: FlyFishNoob
"I was worried that the jacket would be too hot during the summer, but it was nice and light to wear! The material states it is breathable, but i haven't had time to test how breathable it is. My only drawback is that this jacket does not have many pockets."
Review 4 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome jacket,
May 27, 2015
By: DavePZebramidge
from great falls, MT
"Just used this jacket last weekend in an all day downpour. Worked flawless. Didn't get wet at all! Impressed by the weight and packability. Looks great off the river also. Love the jacket!"
Review 5 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
May 12, 2015
By: Kris420
from East Yorkshire
"Lightweight and feels robust and well made. Packs away small enough to be no hinderance. Just what I neded for the occasional downpour or a light wind proof layer.
Two of my pals have bought the same after seeing it and they are just as impressed. Good value too when you compare it to other brands.
"
Review 6 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality and Good Value for Money,
May 7, 2015
By: eye12345
"High quality, light weight, very comfortable jacket. Perfect for wet and windy fly fishing conditions. Good sized pocket for fly box etc. Smart overall appearance. Order was delivered within 24 hours."
Review 7 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very light and nice jacket,
April 21, 2015
By: Vadims
from East Sussex
"Bought this wading jacket from uttings, light, comfortable, great jacket for late spring and early summer months, will recommend for people's who like traveling. This jacket definitely best purchase for active fisherman's."
Review 8 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good Jacket,
April 14, 2015
By: Irsissz
"Great jacket, It does pack very easily but I used this jacket the first time out fishing It kept me dry as advertised. Very light and breathable. It doesn't have a Goretex liner but it definitely keeps you dry."
Review 9 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome jacket,
April 8, 2015
By: RadarDrew
from Rapid City, SD
"Color is great and it kept me dry during a hard rain. Can't wait to fish in the rain again!"
Review 10 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Solution,
March 25, 2015
By: Bootheman
from Nashville, TN
"I wanted a 100% waterproof, ultra light weight jacket for use during my work travels as well as for on the river... This product answered both of my desires perfectly. The ability to stuff it into my fishing vest or briefcase without taking up valuable space is paramount... Great jacket"
Review 11 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading jacket,
March 24, 2015
By: Derek41384
from Redding, CA
"Great jacket when you want to get out no matter what the weather is like."
Review 12 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money,
February 13, 2015
By: Marck77
from Denmark
"Superlight and size fits perfect being af regular XL this was perfect even with an extra layer under. Yet to experience hard rain - but it seems good."
Review 13 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
January 28, 2015
By: Arakoub
from San Diego, CA, USA
"I received this jacket as a gift and rally liked it. Enough that I bought one for my son as well. Very light and practical to carry in your fishing pack."
Review 14 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
January 17, 2015
By: William0847
"Have purchased this rain jacket in three different sizes for my three grandchildren. It has been very effective on summer Montana rainstorms. It is well made and a good value. As they grow older in age and stabilize in size, I will invest in higher end technical rain gear for them."
Review 15 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Pleased,
January 4, 2015
By: TexasNana
from Dallas, Texas
"This was a Christmas present for my husband, and he was so pleased. It was true to size and very well made. I highly recommend this product if you are looking for good quality at a reasonable price."
Review 16 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Orvis,
January 2, 2015
By: Elli2
"Bought rain jacket for grandson - freshman in college - he loved it! And his friends loved it!"
Review 17 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid built,
January 2, 2015
By: MaciekP
"I have not had a chance to try it out in the field yet, but it looks very well manufactured and fits well. Sizining chart that Orvis has is very accurate.
Looking forward to testing it out.
"
Review 18 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket,
December 29, 2014
By: brownpoundr
from modesto,ca.
"Just purchased for christmas.very light and comfortable,and keeps you dry.Perfect!"
Review 19 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor sizing,
December 15, 2014
By: Bears13
"ordered a xxl to fit over sweater. it fit my size 12 wife!
not the kind of quality control i expect from orvis.
now its backordered. merry christmas!
"
Review 20 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value,
December 8, 2014
By: Jpink
from Okla. City, OK
"Purchased this for my son who on occasions will travel with me on flyfishing trips. This is the perfect jacket for the few trips that include a rain storm or cooler weather. Basic product but good value for the money."