Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Encounter Wading Jacket

Take on unexpected weather with confidence. Lightweight, packable, breathable, and waterproof, the Encounter Wading Jacket is designed to pack easily. A large, single patch pocket on the left chest holds fly boxes or other accessories. Elastic cuffs with easy adjuster and a drawcord around the waist provide a snug, comfortable fit. Easily packable in a vest or pack when not in use. In two-tone sage. 100% nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 27(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Encounter Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
August 7, 2014
By: Oxford07863
"Lightweight. Packs great. True fit. Great for on the go and all day trips."
Review 2 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 major issue,
June 28, 2014
By: rugby134
"Wore this on the Rapid River in Maine, and it kept me very dry during an all day rain. The one problem is that it is not equipped with a D-ring for a net to be attached. How a jacket marketed as a wading jacket does not have this is perplexing. Sizing is spot on, but it was impossible to fully zip it over my Wasatch vest/pack. 1/2 size fuller cut would probably do it. I'll be keeping the jacket as it is easily packed in a day pack and does keep you dry. I just wish the web description/ photo would have clarified no d-ring attached."
Review 3 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
May 20, 2014
By: cdwest68
from Asheville, NC
"It's hard to find a light, rugged but affordable rain jacket to fish in and this one fits the bill perfectly. Nice attention to detail for such a simple jacket."
Review 4 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Jacket,
May 7, 2014
By: Irsno1
from East Moline IL
"I had reservations about the quality of the material and the zippers before I placed the order for this jacket.
I took a chance and ordered it. When I opened the box after it arrived, I was very happy to find the quality exceeded my expectations. The fabric looks to be very durable and the zippers are "welded" to the fabric. The tags used to pull the zippers are very robust and should last a long time. I've not used this jacket yet but will soon. I feel this is a great value for the price.
"
Review 5 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"in a pinch",
April 18, 2014
By: Firecarpenter
"I was headed to the two-day flyfishing at Millbrook, NY. RAIN! for the second day. I needed raingear and purchased the Encounter Wading Jacket (I could not pass on the great price). Almost waist deep in the stream, in torrents of rain. Bottom line, I'm 100% satisfied with the purchase. After the two day course I purchased Silver Sonic waders..........Quality pays."
Review 6 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Wading Jacket,
April 8, 2014
By: PeterFai
"Great jacket for teh money. Polartec in the collar is a nice addition. Also like the separation of the hood when fully zipped up (it does not get in teh way if the hood is not up) Jacket needs side pockets."
Review 7 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice,
March 14, 2014
By: Blackrockminerson
"Nice quality, good fit, works well. Would buy again"
Review 8 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable Rainwear,
February 21, 2014
By: William0847
"Purchased for grandsons as standby rain protection on the stream. Seems well made, generous cut. Good workmanship. Good value."
Review 9 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Encounter Wading Jacket,
February 3, 2014
By: Boelie
from Johannesburg, South Africa
"Best light weight waterproof jacket I ever had. It never rains in Africa but it poars down!!! With all our thunderstorms down here in South Africa, this jacket keeps me dry and comfy to fish that extra 2 "wet" hours in the rain. Packs perfectly in my vest and fits like a glove Excelent YKK zips and adjustment cords are very well made and designed. Collar very comfy. This is a true value for money waterproof light weight jacket that "breathes" perfectly. For the serious fly fisherman!!!"
Review 10 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Jacket - terrific!,
January 27, 2014
By: JSH1119
from Houston, TX
"Received my wading jacket. It is a quality product just like I would expect from Orvis!"
Review 11 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!,
January 18, 2014
By: Ksflyguy
"For the money, this is a great fitting jacket. It is made as well as more expensive jackets from other manufactures and has the good name of Orvis to back it up!"
Review 12 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightest shell ever seen,
January 16, 2014
By: FranzUA
from Kiev, Ukraine
"Very light and can be easily packed. Really thin fabric, ideal for shell clothing. Certainly best 'value for money' proposition to date."
Review 13 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket,
January 15, 2014
By: Edge07920
from Basking Ridge, NJ
"Very good light jacket. Easy to store if not used. Nice design, good quality and good value."
Review 14 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
January 7, 2014
By: flyFisher13
from Atlanta GA
"The jacket is worth every penny. The features are exactly what I needed and the quality is excellent. A comfortable adjusted wrist closure and originally thought the large size would be too big, but the adjustable strings to tighten around my hips and hood make a perfect fit. Highly recommend."
Review 15 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great outer layer,
January 4, 2014
By: Baycolony
from Massachusetts
"I'm tall with long arms and the jacket fits me perfect (XL). The hood also feels comfortable over the head & neck. It lacks side exterior pockets... The jacket is light and great for any wet condition."
Review 16 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product, Great Fit,
December 28, 2013
By: zas94
from Virginia
"This was a great item. It fit very well and looked great. Anyone that was skeptical about whether this jacket is worth it, believe me, it is great."
Review 17 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
November 25, 2013
By: JansenB
from Kansas City, MO
"Very versatile jacket, light weight, can layer up under on cold days."
Review 18 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
November 1, 2013
By: SultanofSOHO
from Clemson, S.C.
"I bought this jacket two weeks ago and have worn it during two days of heavy rain. The waterproof breathable fabric did a great job repelling the rain. The hood/ collar combination is the best fitting of any rain jacket I've had. And the felt lining on the collar is a great addition. I kind of wish it had hand pockets but I'll get over it. Great product at a great price."
Review 19 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket, Great Price,
October 28, 2013
By: FlyingT
from Monroe, WA
"I love this jacket so far. It's comfortable, packs light, and looks great. I traveled to Cape Cod with it in the fall and it kept the wind out quite well. Funny thing since I've had the jacket, I haven't had any rain to test it in, and I live in the Pacific Northwest!! I'm tempted to get out the hose. I do wish it had a couple more pockets. Order a size larger than you think, the cut is short and you need to leave room to layer and cast."
Review 20 for Encounter Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 16, 2013
By: STLAngler
from St. Louis, MO
"Wore the jacket for the first time last week on a trip to NM. It did an excellent job of keeping me dry and breathed well. Given that I dunked myself in the river and then spent the afternoon fishing in pouring rain, hail, and snow I couldn't have asked for better performance.
Packs down well and fits perfectly in my Safe Passage Sling Pack with room left over for a small fly box or two."