Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access Switch Line

Specifically designed and perfectly balanced for use with Orvis Access Switch rods, this versatile switch fly line allows casters to perform traditional overhand, double-hand, and a variety of Spey casts. Built around an Orvis-exclusive taper, a 34' head with moderate-length front taper combine with a compact back taper to maximize performance. A color change running the entire length of the back taper helps casters determine the sweet spot for optimal casts. Bright yellow head with easy-tracking red back taper and running line. Overall length is 125'. Available in WF5F (300 grains), WF6F (340 grains), WF7F (380 grains), and WF8F (420 grains).
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access Switch Line
Review 1 for Access Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbiased Opinion,
November 18, 2014
By: JackLN
from Avon CT
"I bought this line to pair with an Access 6 wt. Switch rod and a Clearwater IV reel. I paid for some two handed casting instruction and was happy with the results. The instructor was impressed with the combo and commented favorably on the balance of the outfit and the slickness of the running line. I have a lot of practice ahead of me , but I'm confident that my equipment is solid.
Jack
"
Review 2 for Access Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still learning how to use it!,
November 14, 2014
By: SalmotruttaFario
from Wellesley MA
"Got this to use with my Access 5wt switch rod. As others have said the line is pretty "fat" so if you are using a large arbour reel you will need a 6wt - 7wt if you are going to use any backing. For normal over the shoulder casts this line goes for miles - certainly further than a normal 5wt floater that I tried on it (which it cast pretty well too). However I need a lesson on spey / switch casting as it's clear that it really goes when cast two-handed but my timing and style are terrible!"
Review 3 for Access Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than competitors line,
March 30, 2014
By: Darterr
from Sparks, NV
"I originally purchased a competitors switch line and was told to order two weights heavier. The line still didn't perform all that well, so I luckily was able to sell it. I then purchased the Orvis 5wt for my 5wt switch rod and it was just the ticket. It is easy casting and does the job it's supposed to do and it runs true to the rod weight. I'm looking for another heavier switch rod now and will certainly buy the Orvis line again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Access Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Power of switch,
November 5, 2013
By: ZAV60
from PA
"What for is the switch line...
Allowing to fish with longer leader, more weight, and better line control. Allowing to cast farther. Another words - switch line is a very effective tool. So... if you looking for Switch Line, without a doubt, stop here and buy Access Switch Line!!!
Good quality, nice price, amazing service!!! Plus one more... small secret, if you have $25 off coupon, you will beat all competitors!!!
"
Review 5 for Access Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Switch Line,
May 22, 2013
By: flyfisherbob123
from Phoenix, AZ
"Got this line with the Access Switch rod outfit. I was able to start throwing some double speys and snap-t's with this line on my first day casting with it. Considering the fact that it's not a scandi or skagit head, it still casts fairly well with spey casts. I got the switch line more for fishing the top and then nymphing with an indicator. This line has plenty of power to send good size flies. Definitely a great line to have on your switch rod."
Review 6 for Access Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works beautifully.,
May 17, 2013
By: heo9542
from San Diego, CA
"This line comes out of the rod like a bullet. It works well for both overt had and spey casts. The price is right and it works great, what else could you ask for?"
Review 7 for Access Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
December 18, 2012
By: Soldat15
from Denver, CO
"Most the switch lines out there are pretty pricey, and none seem to be for the beginner switch angler. This line was very reasonable, and it casts great! I don't think I have ever casted a fly line as far as this. I actually found it fun to cast even in the wind. I highly recommend this line."
Review 8 for Access Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfied,
November 11, 2012
By: Giff
from Aurora, In
"Used this line this past week on my switch rod while steelhead fishing on Steelhead Alley in northern Ohio. My thought was to use my switch rod the first day out then switch to my 10 foot rod for the rest of the trip. I was amazed at how easy my switch rod performed with this line not only as a two handed rod but also as a single handed rod . It cast so easily that I continued to use it as a single handed rod for the rest of the trip."
Review 9 for Access Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
August 20, 2012
By: Midnightmouser
from Michigan
"I bought the 7weight line to use on my Access Switch 7 weight 11' rod. It casts very nicely, both 2 and 1 handed. However Orvis needs to offer a sinking line option for its switch rods. To obtain this I a skagit switch shooting head from another manufacturer.."