Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros 3D Switch Line

We've added our 3D microtexture to a great performing switch fly line designed for our Helios Switch rods. This will give the caster the ability to cast overhand, single or double hand, and perform a variety of Spey casts. Built around an Orvis-exclusive taper, this fly line features a 34' head with a moderate length front taper and a compact back taper. Color change along the entire back taper to aid the angler in determining the "sweet spot" for a particular cast. In light yellow/salmon. Sizes: 5(300 grains), 6(340 grains), 7(380 grains), 8(420 grains), 9(520 grains), 10(580 grains). Length 125'.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Review 1 for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome line,
November 21, 2014
By: Jmmck
"This was my first experience with a switch rod. I bought the Orvis Access Switch 5 Weight & paired it with the Hydros 3D Switch line. I couldn't be happier. I did my homework with comparisons and reviews, and after casting it reaffirmed what we all know to be true: you get what you pay for and this line is worth every last cent!"
Review 2 for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For Long OH Casts,
October 19, 2014
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I use this with my H2 7-weight switch from the beach. Use it primarily for overhead casts and roll casts.
It's an amazing line that casts easily. Its texture is a bit rougher than others but that may help reduce friction with the guides.
I do like the colors. The head is easy to see on cloudy days or in twilight and the color break between head and running line makes it easy to find the right overhand point.
Well done again, Orvis."
Review 3 for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works Fine,
April 30, 2014
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"I put this on a Helios ZG 6wt switch and it works fine but is much better for OH casting than anchored casts. It does okay throwing Scandi style, but it definitely leans toward OH on the switch spectrum. That said, great line for fishing from a low position like in a kayak or float tube - similar to a SH line but built for longer rods."
Review 4 for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my second one,
November 9, 2013
By: Falaises
from Essex
"I recently purchased the 8W and liked it so much that I have also just bought a second line, the 7W. Really fine casting lines for switch rods."
Review 5 for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use,
October 29, 2013
By: flymarcy
"This line, is great! I mean, I used several switch line, but the feel and the power you may produce is incredible. And 3d technology...I love this series. I used also in normal wf floating series on a helios 2 9foot and is the best combo!!!"
Review 6 for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Noisy line,
October 8, 2013
By: Cledwyn748
from River Wye England
"Like all Orvis products this is very good quality and very well made - beautifully made loops and printing on the line. The line has a rough feel to it and floats very high on the water. That roughness is the 3D design but does have an unfortunate side effect, it makes a noisy rasp on both the retrieve and cast strokes. The line is so noisy I wonder if it sends vibrations into the water? I tried it on three rods and the noise is always there. On my switch rod (Orvis ) it casts well in the short and medium range but does not shoot as well at longer range, I wonder if this is the rough line creating friction and slowing the shoot? Other slick lines shoot really well but don't float as well! In rough broken water it floats like no other line! Colour is good and easily tracked as it moves across the flow without being too garish. This is a specialist line that suits some casting styles better than others. If you can try before you buy! If you want a super floating line that's good for rougher water at medium range then this is the best of lines, for others it may be an expensive mistake! I tried it for an hour or so and it didn't suit me or my fishing so returned it to Orvis"
Review 7 for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Casting,
September 11, 2013
By: Falaises
from Essex
"I have several switch lines and having tried it out this week for the first time it really does live up to its advertised advantages, and is the best I have. I also find the running line is less liable to tangle than the other lines I have. Very pleased with it."
Review 8 for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good line bad color,
May 3, 2013
By: SuperiorX
from Duluth MN
"I tried the 7 wt Hydros switch line the other day. It cast very well both single-handed and two-handed spey style. However, it was obvious that the color was spooking steelhead. I would rather see a line made with a subdued color head. If a contrast is desired the running could be brighter. It would have a five star rating except for the color. What is the point in a great casting line if you can't catch fish with it."
Review 9 for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros 3D Switch Line WF8,
October 21, 2012
By: solidgibson
from Tokyo, JAPAN
"I use this 8 weight line on my Helios 137-4 spey rod. It floats high all day and makes long distance cast with ease. This is the best Scandinavian-style integrated fly line ever had."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Switch Line,
August 29, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I use this line on my Access 5-wt. switch rod and it is a real nice line. The color gradiant makes it very easy to see where the head is in relation to the running line, even in low-light conditions. The 3D technology makes this line cast and mend like a dream; it also makes it easier to grip the thinner running line. I wish Orvis would make the belly a little shorter."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hydros 3D Switch Line
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1