Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels

Our best-selling Safe Passage Rolling Duffle now offered in Battenkill canvas and leather. This large rolling duffle bag holds all the gear necessary for a fishing or hunting trip. Drop bottom holds gun case or rods as well as waders and other gear. Smooth, quiet wheels and retractable handle make it a breeze to pull through airports. Reinforced bottom keeps the rolling duffle bag upright when standing alone. Personalize with engraving on a brass plate, up to six letters; the brass plate is placed below the leather Orvis logo patch on the duffle's front. Imported.16"H x 31½"W x 15½"D. 7800 cu. in. Weighs 16.28 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels
Review 1 for Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size & appearance very good,
August 20, 2014
By: Molecule
from Grants Pass, Or.
"If it is very durable over years, it will have been a very good purchase."
Review 2 for Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally - I Found What I Want!,
July 24, 2014
By: duffleman
from San Antonio, TX
"Received my wheeled duffle bag after returning two to another company. I can't wait to use it for the next Adventure to Alaska! The size for a hiker/fly fisherman on the move is perfect! The bottom section is what I need for my hiking boots/wet clothing and the top compartment is perfect for dry folded clothing. The outside material looks very durable. The wheels seem to be of high quality; however, I have not actually used the bag yet, so will have to give it a rating of Good. Once I see how the wheels perform, I may change it to excellent! It was a little more than I wanted to pay for a bag, but well worth it now that I have seen the actual design and construction of the bag. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 3 for Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Piece of Luggage,
July 16, 2014
By: rhv1
from Boston
"I purchased the Battenkill Duffle on Wheels back in 2000 at the Orvis store in Chicago. This bag has traveled hundreds-of-thousands of miles throughout NA and Europe both in plane and auto and I have tell you it still looks new with just a few scrapes in battles with luggage crews at airports and doormen. I have no question my kids will be not only be taking this bag to college but inheriting it as well. Again great piece of luggage, well done Orvis!"
Review 4 for Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still had room for my stuff,
July 15, 2014
By: Bella17
from Skidaway Island, Georgia
"Took my new bride to Montana for our honeymoon, already had an Orvis suitcase on wheels, but decide to buy the duffle on wheels. Sure glad I did, it held everything including my stuff. Super construction, very durable. I'll probably be buried in it!"
Review 5 for Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Duffle,
July 2, 2014
By: adnezaf
from Milton, New Youk
"Went down to Brasil with this duffle and it served me well. When I needed more room I used the top duffle for gifts and things and the bottom for my clothes so they would not wrinkle. When I did not need as much room for things the top part collapsed to give me more room to fit it in the trunk of a car when on the back roads traveling Very happy with it ."
Review 6 for Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis only for me for over 25 years,
June 14, 2014
By: Oogie
from Sun Lakes, Az
"My Orvis bag went around the world in 5 days with me. Minneapolis, New York, Amsterdam, Narita[Tokyo]L.A., DesMoines. This is my 6th Orvis, my new Orvis will leave with me June 30th and accompany me to Buda Pest, then to Amsterdam by riverboat then back to my home in Arizona. I can't bring myself to part with my Orvis bags, so my family and friends have their travel bags available at my home. Orvis never wears out, they are easily distingishable,and keep your clothes much less wrinkled than traditional stand-up bags.My new Orvis on wheels seems to be improved over past Orvis bags however I can;t imagine how that could be.Thank You Orvis for being my travel companion for the past 25 years and Orvis will be with me for the remainder of my travel years. One question however, your bags are so indestructable your sales would be much higher if this were not so.The availability of your retail stores is a real convenience now that I live in a more metropolitian area and I will recommend to all that the Orvis retail stores are a great place to visit prior to your next travel experience or while you are shopping. I was truely suprised when I first visited an Orvis retail store when I saw the wide range of Orvis products.Of course, any one viewing my statement about Orvis products can easily ascertain that I recommend only Orvis bags for your travel needs."
Review 7 for Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Luggage Purchase,
June 13, 2014
By: Mustang1968
from Melbourne, Florida
"This Duffle is tough on the outside with nice organized dividers/pockets on the inside for keeping your clothes and accessories organized..The handles are very sturdy and the zippers are large brass designed and easy to operate."
Review 8 for Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent travel bag,
November 20, 2013
By: Jimmer86
"I bought this bag for my trip to Illinois to hunt pheasant and quail. worked great. 2 compartments works great for me as we were in tight quarters and I lived out of my bag. Held a lot of cold weather hunting gear. Wheels are solid and I love the bag."