Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels

The ease of a duffle with convenient wheels and a retractable handle makes your packing and travels a cinch. Canvas-and-leather bottom protected by rugged rail system. Curved zipper for easy packing. Protective storm flap. Solid brass hardware. Brass roller-buckle closures. Handy zip pocket on gusset end. Shoulder strap and leather luggage tag included. Orvis signature full-grain leather handles and trim. In green/brown. 14"H x 29"W x 13"D; 5,278 cu. in. Weighs 13.6 lbs. Personalize with engraving on a brass plate, up to six letters; the brass plate is placed above the leather Orvis logo patch on the duffle's front. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
18 of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Review 1 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice bag,
October 2, 2014
By: Bob321
from Prospect, KY
"I have several pieces of your battenkil luggage.
This is my favorite!"
Review 2 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost perfect,
August 20, 2014
By: Birddog2014
from Livermore, CA
"I have always wanted a larger duffle to match my small Battenkill duffle that I've had for more than 20 years; finally got it. The quality, construction and appearance I think are first class. It worked perfectly on a trip to Hawaii recently. If I could change anything, I would add the 'D' shaped zipper to make it easier to pack and perhaps some additional end support to allow it to remain standing while on end with the handle out. But after all, it is a duffle. It's a great bag, very happy with it."
Review 3 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It Smells,
July 5, 2014
By: DDG17
"This product I have not use yet. Have been airing it out outside to try to get rid of a heavy petroleum-based (I think) smell. Never had this problem with other Orvis luggage."
Review 4 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this luggage,
May 14, 2014
By: Potter1
"This is a piece of luggage that will last for a very long time. Good construction, material, color and holds a lot of cloths."
Review 5 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always finest quality,
March 18, 2014
By: Kacky
"This is the forth piece I have purchased for my son. Always looks new and truly has been abused at airports with his many travels both abroad and at home"
Review 6 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Duffle Redux,
January 15, 2014
By: ColoradoTroutSeeker
from Barrington IL
"My wife surprised me with this wheeled duffle as a Christmas present, and what a special present it is! Materials and workmanship exude quality, and the handle and rollers will make getting through airports a breeze. The toiletry bag is a nice touch. We travel frequently to a second home in CO, and this bag will be a real pleasure to use."
Review 7 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 2, 2014
By: tabletop
"I was delighted with the Battenkill duffle on wheels for my grandson; he was elated. Far nicer than I anticipated. And the delivery was fantastic."
Review 8 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag,
December 31, 2013
By: Longfellow
"This the perfect size bag for a long weekend or extended trip."
Review 9 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please Do Not "Gift" This Bag..,
November 11, 2013
By: nycity
from New York, NY
"It's simply not good enough for a bag to "look" great I have sadly discovered. I was looking forward to using this bag on one of our frequent trips to Europe recently. After searching various options online I chose this bag on the Orvis site as I had purchased a leather piece of luggage for my husband last year and he loved his bag and the reviews were pretty positive. I will attempt to not bore anyone with the details that simply just don't work with this bag but will say it is the worst piece of luggage we have had the occasion to use. From a functional design aspect one word:horrible. Due to the top zipper design the bag is terribly hard to pack and unpack. Why there isn't a zipper flap type opening is beyond me. As far as capacity is concerned I would say not functional for a long trip nor as a weekender bag. I received compliments from friends and family on the look of the bag but I told them to not consider purchasing this duffle. Unfortunately I'll be online once again trying to find luggage for our next trip. Disappointing as I was looking forward to the usual Orvis quality of design."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bag this bag while you can!!,
August 29, 2013
By: cdnrunner4ever
from Halifax, NS, Canada
"This bag is these best thing on 2 wheels!!
I get so many compliments on this bag. It is highly attractive, versatile and functional.
Second to none in all categories....in a class all by itself!!
Orvus has a winner with this one. Order it while you can."
Review 11 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
June 13, 2013
By: catscats
"I have ordered this product before. I liked it enough to order another one. It holds up well with travel and retains its look. I really love how sophisticated it looks.vs most other luggage. It is easy to find also as it is so different from all others."
Review 12 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Faulty Material,
June 1, 2013
By: bvd95
from Melbourne, Fl.
"Purchased this item for overseas travel. Worked fine the first two times and on the third, the canvas had a tear in it. No longer usable.
Looks great, but not rough enough for airline handlers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy again,
April 24, 2013
By: Fishyfriend
"Having had all my luggage stolen whilst on holiday in October, at last I have replaced my Battenkill Duffle on Wheels which arrived the day before I flew to NY last week. Apart from the wife, the best travel companion ever!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bag EVER!,
March 11, 2013
By: ItsAllEnergy
from Green Bay, WI
"I'm a frequent air traveller - two weeks out, two weeks home. I've burned through many bags in the last few years, courtesy of airline baggage handling - corners worn completely threadbare and fabric torn after only a couple of trips.
I've switched to this duffel because it's a softer form, eliminating most of the vulnerable wear points found on hard frame rolling bags. After being handled roughly on over fifty flights, this duffel looks nearly new!
Lots of airline employees have asked me where they can get this bag. I happily tell them that Orvis is the only place I'll buy my luggage!"
Review 15 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Heavy and long,
January 1, 2013
By: JKearns
"Product appears to be well constructed as one expects from Orvis. Two major issues: 1st it is unusually heavy. When carrying a duffel one doesn't want the extra weight. 2nd the length. A duffel should fit into an overhead luggage compartment on a plane. It has none of the advantages of a duffel bag. Why not just buy a suitcase."
Review 16 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
December 30, 2012
By: Hurry
from Clayton, NM
"New item for Orvis. Extemely versatile and able to withstand heavy loads with high mobility"
Review 17 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband's new butler!,
December 29, 2012
By: Tabby
from Port Clinton, Ohio
"I purchased my husband's first Battenkill duffle bag in the early 1980's. He loves the bag, and it's the only one he travels with. The bag is still in great condition,handles are as sturdy as when purchased. The only thing that has aged is my husband. I felt guilty watching him have to lift the bag, so this Christmas Santa brought him the same classic duffle but on wheels.I see more travels in the future now that he has a personal butler!"
Review 18 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Duffel,
December 29, 2012
By: skinnyminny
from Howell, MI
"The quality of this bag is excellent. The ability to carry or pull the piece is a big advantage. All of the compartments help in the packing process."
Review 19 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Quality Bag,
December 27, 2012
By: UncleJon
from North Carolina
"Right away I new this was a good bag by the quality heavy brass zipper. The bag is the perfect size for packing full and still being under the 50 lbs weight restriction for flying. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the main top zipper only went straight from side to side which limited the opening somewhat but otherwise a great quality bag."
Review 20 for Battenkill® Classic Duffle On Wheels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Duffle for a lifetime,
September 26, 2012
By: Lips
from Minneapolis, MN
"This is a high quality piece that will last a lifetime. No one else makes them like this anymore! Heavy duty fabric, very elegant leather trim, brass buckles, very nice. I received as a gift- very lucky!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.