Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™

Get more than 850 extra cubic inches of packing space. A special runaround-zip feature increases the depth of the case by 2". Perfect for increased room for items you pick up on your travels. One side works like a suitcase; the other side works like a garment bag. Retractable handle operates with a single hand. Three exterior pockets. Large main compartment with removable divider. Suit carrier panel keeps jackets crease free. Detachable cargo strap. Leather luggage tag. Ball-bearing wheels. Expandable suitcase in green/brown. 25"H x 17"W x 10"D; 4,250 cu. in. (5,100 cu. in. expanded). Personalize with engraving on a brass plate above the front pocket, up to 6 letters. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
32 of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Review 1 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Suitcase,
April 26, 2015
By: MLLTravelin
from Jacksonville, FL
"I have a room full of old luggage including small, ridiculously large, square, duffle, valice, garment bag, haversack, satchel, ad nauseam. With our heavy lifting years behind us, my wife needed a rolling "something" that held a moderate amount of all her things for a few days, including those not accustomed to being folded, that held up to airline abuse, was not a throwaway if it were to be injured (Orvis stands behind these Battenkill items), and would be easily identifiable at the inevitable post-flight "lineup of luggage" (but would also fit in the overhead compartment). Turns out, after literally thousands of dollars spent, THIS WAS IT! Affordable, simple, well crafted, tough and attractive! It worked so well for my wife, I just bought one for myself which I carry with Orvis' Businessman's backpack. Perfect."
Review 2 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another excellant buy,
April 6, 2015
By: Steveo525
from Fargo ND
"I previously purchased the carry on piece of this luggage and have used it many times.. The larger size is great for a longer trip. Well built, handsome and very durable. This piece is already a favorite."
Review 3 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great suite case,
March 23, 2015
By: Catfisher
from Jackson MS
"This is a great suite case that will go anywhere and every where. The tough material ang great wheels are the desl"
Review 4 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First purchase of Orvis Luggage,
March 5, 2015
By: genhawk
from Corpus Christi, TX
"Luggage was a Christmas gift. Excellent quality, made to last, very attractive, light weight for it's size. I will be buying different sizes within the canvass line.
Strongly recommend this product to anyone considering quality long lasting luggage."
Review 5 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy,
December 28, 2014
By: traveler123
from VA
"If this sturdy and attractive suitcase is anything like the matching Orvis duffel and hanging bags we already own, we are certain it will provide a lifetime of use."
Review 6 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to use it!,
December 22, 2014
By: 999999999
from Storrs, CT
"It just arrived. It looks great. intend to use it for a trip in early January."
Review 7 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent air/auto travel bag,
October 3, 2014
By: RWBauer
from Cincinnati, OH
"I have a few Battenkil bags, but this one sees the most airline use (and abuse). I have owned this bag since 2007, putting dozens of airline baggage system/handlers abuse skills to the test. The bag has held up very well with regular travel. The garment folder insert is handy when you need it, but removes easily to provide extra space. The external compartments are handy for easy access to items needed without fully opening the bag.
The perfect carry on companion to this bag is the Battenkill wide mouth duffel, which is sadly no longer produced."
Review 8 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great case,
September 22, 2014
By: TommyJo
from Missouri
"I LOVE this suitcase I am very into the nostalgia items Orvis has. I can be old fashioned and like the inside flannel look of this bag I have used it only once so far but will post any updates of use as time goes on. This bag seems to be well built and has lots of space ,only concern is plastic zippers but we'll see if they can hold up to airline abuse ."
Review 9 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
suitcase,
September 15, 2014
By: Hencor
from greenwich, ct
"Perfect size, love the color and the fact its on wheels"
Review 10 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish yet practical,
August 29, 2014
By: Bushwise
"This Battenkill case is well made luggage that defines who I am. Extremely practical and functional with a subdued sense of outdoor style. From the green canvas and leather exterior to the well thought out plaid interior, this piece is quickly becoming a "go to" piece on my travels... both domestic and international. As appropriate on safari as downtown Manhattan!"
Review 11 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best luggage to buy,
July 28, 2014
By: NoahG
from New Braunfels, Texas
"I've worn out lots of luggage traveling back and forth to India and beyond... except Orvis. The Battenkill is a better design than Filson and others. If you want premium luggage for regular travel and need a bag that will last and last, you can't go wrong with any of the Battenkill."
Review 12 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The luggage I have been looking for...,
July 28, 2014
By: Bdrakeford
from Dallas TX
"This is the ultimate in refined travel. I can now pack two coats and all the other things needed for a good two week trip."
Review 13 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best upgrade,
July 16, 2014
By: MLW21
"I just purchased this suitcase for my husband who travels frequently. It was long overdue and a perfect upgrade in every way.
Great quality and nice details to make the life of any traveler easier. Not to mention it looks super sharp and the color is very nice.
"
Review 14 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
oops!,
June 12, 2014
By: raddoc65
from TX
"The hanging bag portion of the case is weird and awkward to use and unnecessarily creased my clothes.
The outside scuffs easily (as on my first flight).
Attached bags in the case are also somewhat disconcerting and don't fit with my packing routine.
The wheels don't roll as well as my old case."
Review 15 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great suitcase,
June 12, 2014
By: pompom
"just the size I need for my 2 week European trip. The separate hanging section will be perfect for my dressy clothes."
Review 16 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality beyond compare!,
June 7, 2014
By: traveler23456
from Central California
"Our purchase of luggage was the best decision we have made. Durable, packing was made easy with all the compartments available. We travel often and use the luggage extensively. We will be back for more."
Review 17 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Set completion,
May 28, 2014
By: Rbbr9876
from Loleta, CA
"This completes a set that has traveled the world and survived the luggage handlers, couldn't find a better product"
Review 18 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
as advertised,
April 29, 2014
By: JCC3
from VA
"The case is exactly as described i the website. Not a carryon as the chat person said it could be used as in the US not even in US had to have it checked.
Much bigger than it appears in picture on site, but good quality."
Review 19 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE!!,
January 15, 2014
By: Gabri
from CT
"This is the 5th piece we've added to our Battenkill collection and love the look and quality. We add to our collection every year. love the fact Orvis stands behind their product And will replace anything if it gets damaged. Price is steep but quality is exceptional and you get what you pay for...we are very pleased!!"
Review 20 for Battenkill® Expandable Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A "Must Have" Piece of Luggage,
December 19, 2013
By: Headhunter9701
from Ohio
"I purchased this piece of luggage 2 years ago to go with my other Orvis luggage. Since then its become my favorite piece of luggage. Durable, rolls easily, sturdy handle that can hold your other Orvis bags by their handles, large enough to hold an entire weeks worth of business cloths and shoes. Loved it so much I just bought it for my Nephew in Medical School for travel back and forth over breaks."