Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket

Soft and timeless boiled wool is shaped with overlapping seams for a unique and flattering look. Distinctively styled with a stand collar, self-covered buttons, and a curved front hem. Grosgrain-ribbon trim. Wool jacket for women in black, red. 100% wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 26" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
8
24 of 39(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Review 1 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
November 21, 2014
By: Monn
"This jacket looked great in the picture but the quality of the material was not up to the price (even reduced in the sale!) I am a pretty standard size but, although the front was nicely cut in a flattering style, the cut of the back was very poor as the jacket bagged under the shoulder blades. Maybe it was designed for someone longer in the body. Such a bad fit, I had to return it."
Review 2 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 21, 2014
By: Hepzibah
from Timonium, Md.
"This is a very comfortable jacket. The fit is like a sweater."
Review 3 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
November 13, 2014
By: Deee
from Kent
"I loved the look of this jacket but when it came I was really disappointed, the material is very thin so not much more than a cardigan really and it just didn't hang right so I returned it."
Review 4 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miraculus,
November 3, 2014
By: Maybe2
from Bellevue, WA
"After thinking about this jacket since October, 2013. I casually mentioned this to my sales lady in late October of this year. When she brought it out to me (I think it was ready to be sent to the outlet store) and in my size, I was thrilled. And, just before the holiday season! Thank you!"
Review 5 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Orvis quality,
August 8, 2014
By: Jane626
from Northeast Michigan
"The fabric is very thin on this jacket. The style was not flattering and did not drape well on my frame. The only redeeming factor was its true red color. I returned the item."
Review 6 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
winter jacket with flair,
March 17, 2014
By: mtntraveler
from NC mountains
"I saw this jacket earlier in the year and liked it. When I saw it on sale, I decided to buy. I am not sorry I did. Light enough for fall and early spring but warm enough for winter with a turtle neck."
Review 7 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Flattering,
February 24, 2014
By: Kinder
from Kitzingen, Germany
"This jacket is lighter weight than I expected. I was hoping to wear it as an early spring/late fall jacket, but it is too light for our weather at these times. I like the fit and the compliments that come with the distinctive style of the jacket."
Review 8 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Red Jacket!!,
February 17, 2014
By: BJ2544
from Fayetteville, georgia
"When I opened the box, my first impression was WOW! What a lovely red jacket. I tried it on and it was perfect. The material and trim are both lovely. The large buttons give it so much more character. Needless to say, I love my red jacket! Looking forward to many years of wear."
Review 9 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
useful jacket,
February 11, 2014
By: seagirl
from Cape Cod, MA
"I admired this in past catalogs and jumped on it when it went on sale. I think it will be very useful. The fabric is very thin though so don't count on wearing it in the cold weather. I was surprised that the initial price was so high as it is not very good fabric.Dissapointing that way."
Review 10 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My happy jacket,
February 10, 2014
By: Tiris
from New York, N.Y.
"One of my best purchases in the last few years. Perfect sizing, slimmer look, and very smart...not least cheerful. A winner for me."
Review 11 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
my second one,
February 10, 2014
By: Cairowes
from Ossining, NY
"My daughter-in-law and I bought this jacket in Jan.2013 in AZ in black. When I saw it on sale in red in January, I bought another. I have not worn it yet, it seems a bit smaller than the black, but I have received compliments on the black one and expect the same for the red. It is comfortable and can be dressed up or down. Although not a "tailored" look, I think it is a modern one. I don't remember being warned about not steaming the one purchased last year."
Review 12 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
February 4, 2014
By: Melonia
from Bloomfield, MI
"I love the bright color - it is very flattering, beautifully styled.
Would have got 5 stars if the fabric had been thicker
"
Review 13 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Find,
January 30, 2014
By: girlG
from Prospect, KY
"Browsing through Orvis site after holidays…really just cleaning Inbox. Found this great jacket. Love red. Clearance Sale. Only 1 left…MY SIZE! Just received it. LOVE IT! Color is great. Fit is great. Win-Win! True Orvis quality and great customer service. Thank you Orvis for saving this for me :-)"
Review 14 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flattering Favorite,
January 25, 2014
By: Sarahrose1
from Modesto, CA
"I love this jacket. It is easy to toss on, light weight yet warm. My go to cover up now for cool mornings. I love the simplicity combined with the stylish flattering cut. Great over jeans or slacks...I am considering ordering a backup!"
Review 15 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
January 23, 2014
By: Grizzlygirl
from Banff, Canada
"Wow - this is not at all the quality that I normally see from Orvis. I absolutely love the colour and the assymetry, but it will take a large amount of tailoring and alteration and the addition of a lining to make it work as a jacket. The material is very flimsy -- like a light cardigan. The curved seams are actually curved raw edges of fabric sticking out. The edges that appear to be bound by grosgrain are not actually bound -- they have ribbon stitched along them with -- once again -- raw edges showing. There is no hidden closure to make the underneath side of the jacket stay in place. The arms are extraordinarily long. The armpits are baggy. Love the style idea, disappointed in the execution. Please, Orvis, try again with this great idea for a boiled wool jacket."
Review 16 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
night and day this is the jacket,
January 21, 2014
By: elmfarm
from Francestown, NH
"The assemetrical closure is flattering to all figures and it goes well in the evening with silks as well as day time use with woolen attire."
Review 17 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sending it back,
January 17, 2014
By: 1Nashvillegal
"I loved this design BUT found that it is the most ill fitting jacket I've ever received from Orvis. It's very tight across the bust (I'm small), but baggy across the back & under the arms. I considered moving the buttons but it's still baggy across the back and under the arm pits. I considered getting a larger size but thought the bagginess would be way too much. I'm sending it back. Darn, I really liked the look of a boiled wool with some classy design."
Review 18 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
easy look with style,
January 9, 2014
By: Gunney
"a coat that has a sophisticated style but leaves you with a comfortable feel. Can be worn with jeans of course but more with slacks or a skirt. You will be complimented on it's appearance but more as to where you found it."
Review 19 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautifully styled; a classic,
November 11, 2013
By: Analiz
"I looked at this jacket several times in the catalog and then just had to have it. It was not as heavy as I expected, but is a perfect weight to wear in the office. The fit was good; sleeves a little long; would have preferred to have it available in petite size, but only for sleeve length."
Review 20 for Boiled Wool Three-Button Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic with comfort.,
October 31, 2013
By: Puffinonymous
from Canada
"The dichotomy is yours to discover. Thin enough to wear under a coat but dense enough to repel the wind.
The boiled wool three-button jacket can be dressed up or down but compliments will flourish whatever the function.
"