Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat

From classic coatmaker Larry Levine, this luscious wool-and-camel-hair coat is flattering and timeless for years of wear. Spread collar. Front and back yokes and front princess seaming for shape. Back belt detail. On-seam pockets. Silky poly-satin lining. Women's dress coat in camel. Shell: wool/camel hair/nylon. Lining: polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: 4-16; about 35" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.609 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
14 of 23(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Review 1 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Such a shame,
November 26, 2014
By: abracadabra
from Hampshire
"Superb product but much too small. I have never had a problem with Orvis sizing before."
Review 2 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice looking Dress Coat,
November 3, 2014
By: CindyofNC
from NC
"This coat is beautiful and very appropriate for dressing up or just casual. Light and roomy and good looks too."
Review 3 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Fitted,
September 11, 2014
By: BGLuLu
from Austin, TX
"I* loved the coat, but it was too fitted. I will be returning it, the size was off by at least one size. The size 12 would fit a normal size 10."
Review 4 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fit is not a standard pattern,
February 10, 2014
By: PrairieChickie
from Prairie Village, Kansas
"I'm 5 ft. 6 in. and weigh 155 lbs. I read the reviews about the fit and the snug sleeves and decided to take a chance. I ordered my usual size 14--the size 16 was sold out.
BELIEVE THE REVIEWS (as other people have also said). The body fit was "ok" if you didn't wear anything too bulky, but the sleeves were just too skinny to really be practical and it was too snugly fit under the arms. The coat was fine if you were just standing still but to get in and out of a car I was sure it wouldn't be long before I ripped out the arm seams. Beautiful fabric. Too bad this coat really doesn't follow a standard size 14 pattern. Returned the coat at the local Orvis store--which is really a convenient return policy.
"
Review 5 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Coat,
February 10, 2014
By: Jakasen
from Ohio
"Worst item I have ever purchased
From orvis. Bought 1 size larger and still too small. Quality
Questionable? Did nit like and return.
"
Review 6 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Camel Hair Coat,
February 4, 2014
By: 3DogsMom
"This coat has great fabric & is very stylish and warm. It does, however, run small especially in the shoulders & sleeves. I usually wear a 6/8 & I ordered a 10 which fits great."
Review 7 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
very disappointed,
January 29, 2014
By: GranmaEllen
from Long Island, NY
"it looked so nice & cozy in the picture - but the fabric was stiff not soft as I remembered my first camel coat. .Usually a Larry Levine product is first rate."
Review 8 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the usual quality,
January 23, 2014
By: Sheafish
from Massachusetts
"This was no the usual Orvis quality. I returned it. The belt, not shown in the picture takes away the slimming appearance."
Review 9 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great warmth for winte,
January 20, 2014
By: OrvisLover10
from Tennessee
"I just bought this coat and already I love it. It is so classy looking and will be a versatile addition to my wardrobe."
Review 10 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Besr Dress Coat Ever,
January 13, 2014
By: Lucy65
from Dallas, Texas
"Love the fit (true to size), love the color, love the coat!"
Review 11 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My cuddly coat,
January 13, 2014
By: Lizbet
from Baker city, OR
"I am so happy with my new coat. It keeps me warm in our below freezing weather but is light weight to wear. My husband bought it for me for our 60th wedding anniversary Jan. 15th and We both believe I look good in it."
Review 12 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really a sharp looking coat,
December 30, 2013
By: Colombe
from Flossmoor, IL
"The coat is for my 40 year old daughter. She has wanted a camel hair coat for several years, and I have been searching for a really good looking one for her for a long time. .
So, when I opened the Orvis catalogue last Fall, "Voila," there is was, just waiting for her..
So finally after 4 years, Santa brought it to her, and she is thrilled.
"
Review 13 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 17, 2013
By: Luvsingin
"Only problem....it seems to run small. I normally wear a six and the eight is snug."
Review 14 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome dress coat,
December 10, 2013
By: Steven2008
from Geogia
"It drapes beautifully and its not so long as to make it awkward to get in and out of the car. Well made and designed."
Review 15 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
December 6, 2013
By: Pick2
"This coat runs very small across the shoulders and underarm holes are too little. I exchanged the size for one larger, and it still does not fit right. Also, there is a tag sewn on top of one of the sleeves that was very difficult to remove."
Review 16 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fits funny,
February 25, 2013
By: PrairieChickie
from Kansas City
"I returned it because of its odd fit. This coat has really nice fabric and style. I should have listened to what the other reviewers said--but you know, hope springs eternal. I also thought that the Larry Levine label would make the difference since most size 14 coats this manufacturer makes fit me. The body of this one, though, was more like a size 12. It was too snug to go over a sweater or jacket and the arms were VERY small in diameter--maybe they'd fit a size 6 woman--but then she wouldn't want the size 12 body in a size 14 coat. I was disappointed at the lack of an overall standardized size pattern in the manufacture. I mail ordered this coat but returned it to the local store, and the clerk there said it was the second return of this item she had processed. I hope Orvis corrects this pattern issue. I'd love to have a true made-in-USA size and quality!"
Review 17 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Coat,
February 13, 2013
By: TickleMonster
from Wilkes-Barre, PA
"Lovely coat and seems very warm -- exactly what I was looking for, actually. However, it runs VERY small especially in the arms -- I bought a size up based on other reviewers and am still pretty sure it will only fit over evening wear or a blouse -- definitely NOT over a sweater."
Review 18 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So disappointed,
February 5, 2013
By: KRae
"The coat was beautiful and well made but the sleeves were just to tight. I had read that on other reviews so I ordered a size larger and it was still so tight that I couldn't get it over a sweater without the sleeves bunching up. So sad that I had to return it."
Review 19 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
December 29, 2012
By: hiker68
"I don't usually buy coats through the mail but am very pleased with this order. The coat was a good fit and is a great feel and weight."
Review 20 for Camel-Hair-Blend Dress Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camel Hair Coat,
December 28, 2012
By: Chistine
from Wilmington NC
"looking a long time for a coat like this, I love it , great customer service doing business with you"