Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cowlneck Tank

A refreshed version of our most popular mockneck tank, revised with a flattering cowlneck for easy layering. Soft and slightly stretchy in our favorite cotton/poly interlock. Offered in our gently shaped, slightly more contemporary Favorite Fit. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cowlneck Tank
Review 1 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as versatile as previous design,
November 14, 2014
By: Maro
"Preferred a previous style that had small sleeves which disguised by fat arms but this almost works as well. Goes well with jacket or cardigan"
Review 2 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
November 10, 2014
By: hphp
from southern CA
"I wanted/needed a T-shirt that was sleeveless as I like to layer and the undersleeves often bunch up when I add a light weight sweater or jacket. This answers my needs perfectly."
Review 3 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size is off,
October 23, 2014
By: Ashtabula
from Ashtabula, OH
"Was not happy with this tank. Nice looking cowl neck but the size (slightly small) and length (slightly short) were different from my other similar tanks in this fabric. I even ordered a second one hoping it would fit but no luck. This was unfortunate because I like the style and hoped to keep it."
Review 4 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wardrobe staple,
September 1, 2014
By: Isabelle1967
from Greenfield, ma
"These cowl neck tops are the perfect wardrobe staple. I am size 12-14 and I ordered a large and it fit nicely. These are very professional and always look perfect. I highly recommend for teaching. This top and a wrap of some kind gives you the flexibility to adjust if you get hot or cold."
Review 5 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great with one exception,
August 29, 2014
By: Dufferette
from Missouri
"Bought this sleeveless cowlneck top in all colors available because I know I will get a lot of wear from them. The feel of the fabric is excellent and the collar is great. The only problem is that the arm holes are too big, causing a gap right at the breast/bra . Have taken them to be fitted. Too-big armholes are almost always a problem because manufacturers haven't learned not to make them that way."
Review 6 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice addition,
August 18, 2014
By: sallie360
from Vancouver. WA
"Very nice quality in true Orvis fashion. After trying it on, I immediately checked to see what other colors I could order, but it is only white, black and beige. I don't wear black or white, so I will enjoy the beige which will be a nice basic piece for my wardrobe."
Review 7 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just perfect!,
August 18, 2014
By: Bartam
"This tank is soft and very comfortable, not too fitted but still giving nice lines to the body. I love it!"
Review 8 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
versatile,
March 4, 2014
By: paws99
from Hamden, CT
"Great jersey. Beautiful fabric. Sleeveless so fits nicely under sweaters and jackets. Good any season."
Review 9 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Short,
January 16, 2014
By: abkb
from California
"Even though I said "no" to would I recommend this product to a friend, I would recommend if they were very short waisted. The top fits well and I really like the cowl but it is too short for me. It works well under sweaters but I can't wear it alone. I am keeping the top because under closed sweaters and jackets."
Review 10 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great under tops,
December 26, 2013
By: upstater
from upstate NY
"Title basically says it all. This sleeveless cowl is great under tops of all sorts--very versatile. I have it in black and white so all occasions are covered."
Review 11 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cowl Neck Top,
November 14, 2013
By: Jenifer
from London
"I Love this top. So useful when you want to wear it under a jacket or cardigan but don't want too many layers. Great wardrobe staple."
Review 12 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted,
October 30, 2013
By: llou
"This cowlneck tank is exactly what I hoped it would be when I ordered it. It ran true to size and has held up well after wearing and washing it a few times. The fabric is soft, making it comfortable to wear. It looks good under a cardigan. I am definitely happy with my purchase and would recommend it."
Review 13 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
akward neckline,
October 30, 2013
By: 234poip
"the neck wouldn't fall like in the picture .... wasn't an attractive look...fabric felt great, though"
Review 14 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
neck drape not good,
October 29, 2013
By: 234poip
from raleigh, nc
"the color is good and the fabric very nice; however, i could not get the neckline to drape attractively."
Review 15 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So practical,
October 23, 2013
By: Ladycat
from London
"Very versatile for many situations, this is a classic layering piece and yet beautiful on its own too"
Review 16 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful under a sweater,
October 2, 2013
By: bsg80302
from Boulder CO
"this cowl neck tank frames your face and is charming."
Review 17 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy going, versatile top,
December 8, 2012
By: cakissed
from TX
"I bought 2 colors of this item; black & white to have the basics. They are great, easy fitting but not too loose. wash & wear great. These tops are awesome to wear underneath cardis or jackets. They can also be worn alone but I am waiting until my arms get in better shape - maybe next summer, lol -but seriously want to be able to wear them alone when it gets warm."
Review 18 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
different but ok,
December 4, 2012
By: egypt
"The cowl collar was much floppier and larger than I expected from the picture and although I shall wear it I don't find it as useful as i had hoped to wear with an ordinary jersey round neck . the fabric is good."
Review 19 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
December 4, 2012
By: Hett
from Willsboro, NY
"I recently ordered and have worn this wonderful top and would very much like to have it in black as well as a variety of color choices beyond
ivory and white.
The fit and fabric make this a great match with a jacket or sweater. It
is very comfortable and will
especially be a must when travelling!
"
Review 20 for Cowlneck Tank
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit,
November 29, 2012
By: sandiatk
from Nashville, TN
"Not only a great fit but the material is super...so soft and good quality. The cowlneck collar hangs just right."