Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee

Ideal for early-morning risers or post-fishing campfires, the Heavyweight drirelease® will become one of your most trusted fishing—and living—companions. The super-soft, breezy drirelease® fabric dries four times faster than cotton and wicks moisture from your skin. This heavier-weight fabric also incorporates spandex for added comfort. Odor inhibitor FreshGuard® for odor resistance. Raglan sleeve construction with shaped side panels. Contrast stitching throughout. Long-sleeve casting tee shirt available in quarter-zip mockneck. Polyester/cotton/spandex blend. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.649 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
93 of 97(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Review 1 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Quarter Zip,
December 18, 2014
By: NorthAtlanticFisherman
from Hoboken, NJ
"Easily one of the best quarter zip shirts I've ever bought. Super comfortable, very warm in cold weather and surprisingly stylish. I don't ordinarily post product reviews but this shirt is definitely worth buying."
Review 2 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Product,
December 16, 2014
By: Garibaldi1
from Minnesota
"Great fit, great look, great feel. Another Orvis winner."
Review 3 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Find,
December 14, 2014
By: FlyFishVA
from Washington, DC
"Perfect winter shirt. Looks sharp and feels great. I wear mine for around town. Really enjoy it and am glad I purchased it."
Review 4 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not as advertised,
December 6, 2014
By: larry6
from TX
"I expected a heavy shirt instead of this light weight tee shirt, not as advertised, I needed it for cold weather - returning."
Review 5 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking shirt and fit!,
November 28, 2014
By: VirginiaWahoo94
from Fairfax, VA
"This is a handsome shirt for the active man, and I bought two for myself, and one for my son. I am 6'3" and 218 lbs, with a fairly athletic build. Normally I shop for XL sizes, but the size large fits perfectly with a short-sleeve tee underneath."
Review 6 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thick & comfly,
November 25, 2014
By: woodwriter
from Manitowoc, WI
"Lushly comfortable as either outer- or inner-wear, and handsome to match. After I bought my first one I liked it so well that I bought 3 more colors."
Review 7 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good autumn / winter shirt,
November 25, 2014
By: pheasanttail2
from north west UK
"This shirt is very generously sized. It is acyually the same size as the standard weight Drirelease but fells bigger. Maybe in one size smaller the elastane would come into play.
That said it is warm and comfortable as a base layer but smart enough for the pub.
"
Review 8 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Odd Proportions,
November 24, 2014
By: Ctay
from Olypen, Washington
"I own several of these types of layers and I can say that the neck zips unusually tight and the sleeves are disproportionately long on this model. I had to return it for another model."
Review 9 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight but warm,
November 21, 2014
By: jwesmc
"This pullover is the perfect blend of light weight and warmth. It is great cool weather without being too warm. Yet, when the temperature drops lower it keeps you from getting cold. After wearing a few weeks I ordered a second one in another color."
Review 10 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful Mid Layer,
November 18, 2014
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I use this shirt as a mid layer over my base layer for winter fishing. Super comfy and adds a nice bit of insulation without adding girth. The Trout Bum collection fits slimmer than the rest of the Orvis collection. I am 5'7", 190lb. and I wear a large in this. The issue I have with it is the sleeves seem disproportionally long for the body length."
Review 11 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Slim Fit Only,
November 13, 2014
By: Matson
from Fairview Park, Ohio
"I ordered size large as I wear 42 regular but found shirt unusually tight, suited only for very slim frame. Material good, flexible, but skin tight fit uncomfortable. Returned it."
Review 12 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding fishing shirt,
November 8, 2014
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"The only problem is: I cannot stop wearing it. (Will get a few more at my local Orvis shop in Avon.)
I would recommend this shirt to any fly fisher for physically active adventures. It packs easily for travel, and seems to launder well. This is exactly what you want for good looks and comfort!"
Review 13 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
November 3, 2014
By: TheDogPad
"Perfect for cooler temps and can be layered as well. Had to order up a size to ensure sleeves long enough but tail of shirt still too short (I'm 6'6'). Wish Orvis had a bigger selection for Tall."
Review 14 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good buy,
October 16, 2014
By: wildcat23
from pittsburgh pa
"this is comfortable and smart looking, although the L size I got does bunch a little bit in the shoulders. (I am 5'11" and 205 lbs)
I think its a great intermediate weight , and at the sale price a very good value.
"
Review 15 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
October 14, 2014
By: Flyingfinnmn
from Minneapolis
"Best travel jersey ever
Very easy to layer for various weather
"
Review 16 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very comfortable,
October 14, 2014
By: JamaicaJake
from Umbagog NH
"This is a well made, comfortable shirt for early spring and fall use. Only thing better would be a tall size but the regular still works."
Review 17 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Favorite,
October 6, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"I can't stop wearing this shirt. This casting tee is perfect for fall days here in the CO mtns. The comfort and fit are amazing and it looks nice too. So far I am refusing to wear anything else and I haven't even been fishing in it yet."
Review 18 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm and heavy duty,
September 24, 2014
By: txoutdoorsman
from Plano, TX
"I have several of these shirts for cooler weather fishing. Like the lighter weight casting tee, extremely comfortable, generously sized for ease of movement."
Review 19 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All around great product,
September 24, 2014
By: JHGuster
from Lancaster, PA
"I just purchased my second heavyweight drirelease casting tee and cannot say enough good things about this product. It works perfectly when I fish cool days in the fall and early spring, and serves as an even better, breathable base layer when I ski in the winter. Well done, Orvis!!!"
Review 20 for Heavyweight drirelease® Casting Tee
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Drirelease is aptly titled,
August 28, 2014
By: MKEKeith
"Using this tee for a key layer in hunting and fishing activities, so it needed to be comfortable and durable. Exceeded expectations on both counts. Also appreciate the wicking feature of the tee that makes it comfortable for longer periods under heavy exertion."