Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

High Country Jacket

A quilted down jacket with horizontal baffles throughout the body and diamond quilted baffles on the shoulder yoke. Vislon zippers throughout, and contrast zip at chest pocket. Two lower, fleece lined handwarmer pockets and one upper chest pocket, all with zip closures. Wind flap behind center front closure keeps the wind out. Contrast bar tacks at zipper ends for added color. Elastic binding at cuffs keeps the wind out as does drawcord at waist. One interior pocket for storing wallet, cell phone, etc. Nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes L(42-44).
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for High Country Jacket
Review 1 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would call it a windbreaker,
October 8, 2013
By: Andycanon
from Moscow
"I believed this will be a real warm jacket, I mean mid weight outerwear for cold weather. What I have received is a very lightweight and thin garment, I think "windbreaker" the best word to describe it: I've tried it at +5C with wool sweater underneath and felt myself rather cold. I've tried it at +8-10C and I think that it the most appropriate temperature range for this "jacket". At least for me. It is not bad as a windbreaker but I would never buy it if I had a chance to try it before purchasing. Also, the sleeve length is not enough for me though the chest width is OK. And I really do not think it worth its full price."
Review 2 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The dog loves it...,
September 19, 2013
By: nrjo
from NY
"Well - he loves being walked, and this is plenty warm enough for those cold morning walks - even with just a t-shirt underneath.
We were also up in the Adirondacks last week with the temperature below freezing - and it was perfect for staying snug around camp"
Review 3 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great light winter coat,
July 22, 2013
By: CountryGent
from Illinois
"Price has to be considered in every purchase rating and when this came on clearance it became a real 5 star value. Yes the blue is vibrant and fits more in line with a Vale ski resort but its not so obnoxious that you won't wear it in public. Excellent pocket locations. On the thin side for a winter coat but I prefer my casual coats not to be bulky. I think it will look nice with light blue denim jeans. Excellent value when on sale."
Review 4 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ripper cool,
July 15, 2013
By: HappyTrailsJim
"Impressive Power Hound Aprés Ski
Down Jacket. Perfect fit-quality look.
"
Review 5 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not as advertised,
July 4, 2013
By: hard2please
"This is not a down jacket. Is a duck down with feathers mixed in. I am tremendously disappointed. There is a big difference between a down jacket, as this is billed, and a jacket that has feathers in it. I will be sending this back. I am also disappointed that Orvis rejected my first negative review of this coat. I did not violate any guidelines, I simply said that this coat was not as advertised. Had I known that this was not a pure down coat, I would not have ordered it."
Review 6 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 5, 2013
By: MMMN
"Have not used as of yet as it is approaching summer, but fit as usual is great with Orvis products"
Review 7 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great 3-season jacket,
May 29, 2013
By: LandRover
from Toronto
"This is an excellent value at the sale price, well-made, not bulky and with a handy extra interior pocket. Fits very true to similar Orvis jackets. I would have preferred a black one but they were all gone. The blue is a little vivid but certainly not garish. Too warm for it right now but I would say it will be the perfect weight for fall-winter-spring."
Review 8 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
April 4, 2013
By: Soldat15
from Denver, CO
"Had this jacket for a couple of months now, and I love it. It's very warm and comfortable. It's held up better than similar jackets in the wash. If its really cold it's a great outer layer piece. It's not overly bulky and is easy to cast in. I use it not only on the river, but when I'm out and about too. Couldn't be happier with this jacket."
Review 9 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy,
March 11, 2013
By: Donji
from Ontario, Canada
"Once again Orvis lives up to its fine reputation....this best is warm and light, as advertised!"
Review 10 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
February 27, 2013
By: 55er
from Cincinnati
"The Down Jacket is the very best I have ever owned - warm and cozy, not bulky (can be worn driving).
Light weight. Trim looking (not
dumpy), bright blue color.
Priced right. Well designed and well constructed. Easy on and
easy off.
"
Review 11 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So glad I got this coat!,
February 26, 2013
By: TroutBumm
from Cleveland, OH
"I am so glad I got this coat! Had for about two weeks now and loving it. Very warm even when in the teens! I wear this coat when I know it will be cold. Just bought a lined leather coat as well, but I prefer to wear the High Country.
Light and comfortable, and I get a smile everytime I put my cold hands in those warm soft pockets. Ahhh. :-)
"
Review 12 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
January 19, 2013
By: SeanD
from columbus, oh
"Got the blue as the black was out of stock in the store. I'm glad - the blue looks sharp. This jacket is the perfect weight and comfort for various types of days/conditions/temperatures. Really like the look and feel coupled with all the pockets. Inside pocket could be a big larger or vertical. Looking forward to many seasons of wear."
Review 13 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket,
January 14, 2013
By: cmiddaugh
from Indiana
"Got the black jacket, looks good, lightweight and warm. Only draw back is the front bellows out to let in cold air. You can use the draw string to tighten it, but then it shortens it too. But all in all very pleased with my purchase."
Review 14 for High Country Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
January 1, 2013
By: Iliv2teach
"Excellent quality, lightweight and quieter than most down coats."
Ratings-Only Reviews for High Country Jacket
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2