Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Safe Passage System Pack

Smaller version fishing backpack is perfect for those who want the convenience of a pack system without the size and weight of a standard backpack. Conveniently carry just what you need for a few hours on the river, be it raingear, lunch, or layering. Large main compartment holds extra gear. Easy-access side mesh pocket for extra fly boxes. Compatible with Micro Chest Pack (3H6X), Vertical Chest Pack (3H6Y), and Standard Chest Pack (3H60). Chest packs can be attached to front shoulder for fishing or attached to the back of pack while walking in. In digital camo. Fishing backpack dimensions: 16½"H x 10"W x 6"D. Capacity: 990 cu. in. Weighs 1.1 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage System Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sized small pack,
February 27, 2015
By: Exumablue
from Vero Beach, Florida
"My fishing partner wanted a durable washable pack as she runs on the beach with a fly box and a fly rod and once in a while takes a pompano in the process,. She can carry a nu ice in the pack and come home with dinner if she gets lucky. Perfect size to do this and very durable construction,"
Review 2 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little pack,
February 10, 2015
By: GarthR
from Nashville, Tn
"Perfect for carrying lunch,water, ect.
Would need a little larger pack if you are hiking in a few miles.
"
Review 3 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect light daypack for any needs.,
February 9, 2015
By: SlipperyPete
"Personally this pack offers everything I am looking for in a light backpack for an easy day on the trout stream. It's is comfortable and not restrictive to movements while hiking or casting. Definitely recommended."
Review 4 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back pack for Bolivia,
January 28, 2015
By: FPDP
from Stonington, Connecticut
"Bought this to take to Bolivia when river fishing for Golden Dorado. Pack is light and just the right size to take enough gear needed in the jungle plus a camera. I wear it on my back and have no problem putting the flies where I want them."
Review 5 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Efficient fishing pack,
January 27, 2015
By: ChazB322
from Petersburg, KY
"This thing is both light, and contains a lot of storage space. Perfect for a morning on the creek."
Review 6 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just Right,
January 26, 2015
By: markel
from Texas
"This pack is just the right size, between ones I have that are too big and too small. Very well constructed. Simple no frills design was just what I wanted."
Review 7 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pack,
January 24, 2015
By: ToddMR
from Smithfield, Virginia
"I received my safe passage pack and can't believe the quality for its size. easy to carry and lightweight."
Review 8 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Pack,
January 24, 2015
By: tws138
"This pack is perfect for hiking into an area. It is light weight and carries everything I need. I wear it as a backpack going in and then I have turned it around to the front while I am fishing. I have also kept it on my back and with the connectors and loops, my equipment that I need is available by reading around my side."
Review 9 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
small pack,
January 9, 2015
By: TroutCommanderX
from Denver, CO
"the pack is slightly smaller than anticipated. Build quality looks acceptable."
Review 10 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Safe passage backpack,
December 6, 2014
By: Rattailfishing
from Midwest
"Awesone quality as with most Orvis products. However, i had to return this item because of its small size. Without the addition of the safe passage chest pack, this bag doesnt offer much gear storage. Ill stick with my lanyard and snowboarding backpack for now!"
Review 11 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Orvis Quality,
October 31, 2014
By: BH4Buffs
from Broomfield, CO
"Although small. this pack is a perfect accompaniment to the chest pack. Allows for fly boxes, lunch, water, net, and rain gear to be carried easily for a full day of fishing."
Review 12 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compact carryall,
September 28, 2014
By: Grayzie1
from Sydney, Australia
"I purchased this along with a Safe Passage Vertical Chest Pack, this pack is absolutely the best pack I've owned for s day on the creek. It is quite small but fits a gore tex wading jacket, a small butane burner and cartridge, 2 full size stainless mugs as well as a small kettle plus coffee and sugar containers, what more do you need? Looks great, is very comfortable and attaches quickly and easily to the chest pack. The build quality looks the goods,I suppose only time will tell. Love your work Orvis!!!"
Review 13 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small Backpack,
September 16, 2014
By: Techdiver
from Wisconsin
"I was looking for a small backpack for my next trip fly fishing out west. This safe passage pack fit the bill exactly. Only down fall is that it is hard to get on and off because of it's size. Other than that, wore it all day fishing, to carry water and cameras and extra fly box and power bars.
Excellent choice!!! Very pleased I purchased it, usual Orvis quality!
"
Review 14 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bag,
April 30, 2014
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"I read the reviews and even compaired the cubic inches to other bags so I was ready for it to be small. Its not huge but it isn't a fanny pack either....I matched it up to my chest pack and it works great. It has a zip pocket inside that can hold some small items... The pocket outside is great for a water bottle...I like it and combined with a chest pack it is a great small creek system!"
Review 15 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Traveling and Parks,
March 12, 2014
By: BethK678
from Mokena, Il
"This is the perfect size for day trips. Perfect for day gear and lunch/snacks"
Review 16 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
November 7, 2013
By: Redenstein
from Seaforth, Ontario
"This is a a nice little backpack that will fit your jacket and a couple of fly boxes and your chest pack will clip right on it is nice and light and comfortable to wear"
Review 17 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Safe Passage System Pack,
September 18, 2013
By: Shoestring
from Louisiana
"This small pack is perfect for a morning or afternoon trip. It's just big enough for a light jacket, or rain gear. Also you can add a light snack with bottled water and a medium dry box for things that must stay dry. It's also great for a carry on or just a pack for daily essentials. All in all not bad."
Review 18 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just a back pack,
August 6, 2013
By: Jking
from Atlanta, GA
"I would only recomend this pack if you are purchasing the chest pack to go with it. If not, its not worth the money, as it only has one large compartment and a water bottle holder on the side. However if you do get the chest pack, this is a great add on. Especially for all day fishing to have room to pack a lunch and wading jacket."
Review 19 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not what was expected,
May 13, 2013
By: pittmarj
"The pack was smaller than what the catalog suggested."
Review 20 for Safe Passage System Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
back pack,
April 15, 2013
By: shamar
from Darnestown, Maryland
"very nice back pack which is well made. it didn't fit my needs so I reordered a new one that is larger. I am sure that for the person who wants this type of pack it is a great pack"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.