Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater

Using fine merino wool, blended with ultrasoft cashmere, we've created a luxurious version of one of our best-selling pullover sweaters. Warm and comfortable, this sweater's versatile half-cardigan stitch ensures handsome looks with jeans or chinos; the woven-wool-lined shawl collar hugs your neck, repelling cold breezes. Rib-knit trim at the hem, cuffs, and neck. Men's pullover sweater in navy. Dry clean. Imported. Sizes M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Review 1 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So so,
March 30, 2014
By: AliceMaureen
from York Pennsylvania.
"This sweater is a bit stiff, it is excellent quality and very warm, but not as comfortable as the Linen Shawl collared sweater that I also ordered."
Review 2 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanic's Sweater,
February 17, 2014
By: Donf1950
from Fort Mill, SC
"This is the third Mechanic's Sweater I have purchased and all three have been awesome.
I receive a compliment every time I wear one.
They look great dressed up or down. A nice pair of slacks or jeans look great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great looking sweater,
February 16, 2014
By: PondHouse
from Ranger, GA
"As handsome as this sweater looks in the catalog illustration it looks even better on my husband! The mid-wieght knit is very soft to hand. The sweater has a slightly relaxed but not sloppy fit. And the collar detail isn't scratchy (per him), just good looking (per me)! A great sweater for a day of lunching and running errands."
Review 4 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The Sweater that comes up short,
February 2, 2014
By: RedDogAlpha
from DFW, TX
"Let's face it ! This beauty, a Wool / Cashmere WWII Mechanics Sweater lists @ $198 and it has not lived up to my expectations at all. At first look out of the box ! Gorgeous ! Wear-ability is something completely else. The material is very very stretchy, especially around the wrist and it is pilling up only after the first wear. Not my expectation of quality from Orvis. So since I wanted to wear this one during the winter a lot I will have to juggle between that and the additional cost beyond that of the sweater in order to pay for "Dry Cleaning""
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sweater,
February 1, 2014
By: flik108
from midwestern USA
"Merino wool and Cashmere. Zowie! This sweater is a little decadent by my normal standards, but I wanted something softer than the raw wool sweaters that I normally wear. I've always liked the look of the traditional mechanic's sweater and thought this was a nice take on that. It's comfortable and warm enough (I'd put its functional range between 70-40F), the elbow patches are fine (more for looks than function), the neck trim is a little precious, but it makes the sweater a little more passable for business casual. I wavered on size because I'm semi-tall (6'1") but semi-thin (176#). I got a large which is a little blousy in the body and arms, but the right length--goes to waist exactly and lifts up as I lift my arms. I could recommend this to anyone who already has some bang-around sweaters that they can wear on supercold days and needs something a little more fine and indoorsy. It's rugged looking, but not that rugged. I've already put some obvious mileage on it in just over two weeks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
He liked it!,
December 29, 2013
By: Tavkomet
from Chicago, IL
"This is a nice sweater and my husband liked it very much. I thought it was a bit short on his 6 foot frame but it wasn't too bad. I was disappointed that after paying a dollar to have a gift box included in the order that there was none included. I expect better service from Orvis. At their prices, I do not expect to pay for a cardboard box, either."
Review 7 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Sweater,
December 25, 2013
By: Mrsgroves
from San Jose, CA
"Great sweater. Husband has worn the cotton sweater so this year I purchased the cashmere. He loves it!"
Review 8 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good not great,
December 24, 2013
By: LittleCornball
from Wisconsin
"I purchased this sweater fall 2013, and have worn it several times. the collar flaps and buttons are more style than function, and the sweaters weave should be tighter. overall a good product but not great. looks good and is warm enough for city wear."
Review 9 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 for 1,
October 24, 2013
By: CharminCharlie
from Michigan
"I purchased this sweater for our son's birthday and the XL was too small. He's 6'4". I ordered an XXL and before I sent the first back I thought I'd try it on. Well that's all it took. The XXL fit him perfectly and the XL is now on my top shelf. Very high quality and a distinctive look. Worth every dollar."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Unusual poor quality,
April 15, 2013
By: Cpmod
from Holden, ME
"Quality of product was lacking. Not typical of Orvis fit or attention to detail. I really like Orvis products but this one did not fit well nor was it up to its usual standards. Collar appeared pinched and poorly affixed to the wool fabrics. Return was easy and credit was handled promptly."
Review 11 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it.. Soft. My favorite,
April 10, 2013
By: Kolakowj
from Monmouth county, NJ
"So very soft.
No itch.
Size is generous cut.
I have washed several times since January purchase. Use woolite (must use PH neutral shampoo or woolite on woolens), cold water wash and rinse, and wool cycle on my front loading washer. NO DRYER. Sweater was even softer after the first wash."
Review 12 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handsome Mechanic's Sweater,
March 12, 2013
By: RockyMtnJohn
from New London, NH
"I own a number of Mechanics sweaters, at least three of which are made by Orvis. This one is pure wool blended with 10% cashmere. I believe that to an extent this was an experimental sweater by Orvis, but one that, on the whole, was successful!
What impresses immediately upon wearing is the quality of the wool - you can feel the difference, the added softness of the cashmere. And the heathered grey colour is a superb choice, as this is neutral and will go with many different colours, and types, of pants. Additionally, the choice of high quality wool, colour, and styling, lends an air of formality to this sweater not typically present in mechanic sweaters. Very handsome.
Now I have read some other reviews, complaining of the darker shawl area (with the buttons at the top) as not being properly, nor as tightly, attached to the body of the sweater as it should be. And that it gets to a point that even that little "tents" of air pockets are so formed when wearing. And I find this criticism to be accurate. However... one can view the cardigan half top really as non-functional, and just for looks. Further, though the critique is correct, I still feel that it is acceptable, that is, one can wear and not really be bothered by it. Supplementaly, possibly with wear, the 'tents', or air pockets, will compress and dissipate. (...) Also one must view other details of this sweater which *are finished well*. Such as the elbow patches, the hemming detail at the bottom, and the rib-knit around the neck.
Overall, I still rank this sweater 5 stars, largely on the grounds that it is so innovative, and classy. Given the material, the formal design, and the subtle, neutral colour, this helps transform what used to be a rather utilitarian article into a beautiful, and stately sweater! This half-cardigan goes well beyond a pairing with chinos or jeans, rather, one can wear this with wool pants, and so around town, at informal parties, or at college. Do not let a little detail work around the chest hold you back from purchasing, now nearly just $100, a very beautiful, and unique sweater! But we hope that... in future additions of this C. A. Orvis signature article, they will attend to this 'attachment issue', which is the only mistake in what really is a very pleasant, and intriguing, sweater."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
attention to detail,
January 17, 2013
By: LVmywool
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Great wool blend, decent weight and overall awesome sweater. HOWEVER. For the $$ I expect a little more attention to details. POOR attachment/alignment of material comprising of the button holes and buttons to the knitted sweater. This creates two little "tents" at the bottom corners of the horizontal border of the sweater and this material. Considering fixing or returning..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 29, 2012
By: Sufcity911
from Nj
"Great fit nice look everyone at christmas party loved it"
Review 15 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
December 12, 2012
By: Spenc
"For the price, the quality was very poor. The collar was not sewn correctly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CFO Collection Merino/Cashmere Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
November 27, 2012
By: Booman
from Shreveport< La.
"This sweater is the bomb! I absolutely love it. I love the weight and the fit particulary. Got a lot of compliments on the styling."