Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Spirit Vintage Leather Vest

With its rugged good looks and handsome patina, this leather vest could very well have been your trusted travel companion for decades. Constructed of genuine, distressed cow leather, it's detailed with contrast stitching and trimmed with a soft fleece removable collar, making it ideal for three-season wear. Storage is ample, with two lower front patch pockets with side-entry handwarmers, an upper chest zip security pocket, and two interior pockets. Light khaki twill lining, rib-knit waist. Leather vest for men in brown. Genuine cowhide shell, pure cotton lining. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 27½" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
33 of 36(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Review 1 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Oris vest!,
November 11, 2014
By: OrvisStuffAddict
from NY
"This makes number six! Oris seems to have found the right "vest formula," certainly for me. With the right sizing this is perfect over a heavy sweater. I had a lot of sizing help from these folks, so I'll share what I can: I'm 5'6", 170 lbs., 42" chest, good-sized arms. As you might figure, I'm between Medium and Large. I had to take the Large to have room for a cable knit, etc. The vest is very, very comfy, quite warm over a decent shirt. Plenty of pocket space (a major + for me). Three tiny gripes: no two-way zipper, no full-closure collar button, outer breastfeeding pocket small for a notepad. These are NOT deal-breakers."
Review 2 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 9, 2014
By: jhonboy
"One if not the best product I have purchased from Orvis---
Feels like an old friend out of the box.
Highly recommend and the price is not a consideration for this quality.
"
Review 3 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
November 8, 2014
By: SamC14
"I recently purchased a leather vest from Orvis. Great quality, great value,lightweight and unique but keeps you warm. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary, this is it."
Review 4 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
wow disapointment,
November 6, 2014
By: watcher0820
from west new field me.
"maybe i was expecting to much ? the fit was good but thats the only positive thing i have to say. over all quality was ok but the leather was so unappealing and the white stitching on what to me was ugliest color brown, yuck! i didnt even want to wear it out of the house! sent it back!"
Review 5 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best vest ever,
October 28, 2014
By: danielman
from Tn.
"This vest will be a life time vest. I love it! I will say I normally wear a large but when looking at measurements I ordered a medium and it fits perfect."
Review 6 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Near perfect,
October 13, 2014
By: Sudz
"Had this a couple of weeks and it is already an old friend. The only disappointment is the synthetic "faux sheepskin" removable collar- genuine shearling would have provided the 5th star.
The leather has a great "worn" look."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A grower,
September 30, 2014
By: eube
from Southampton, UK
"It took a 2 month wait but worth it. Fit is bigger (balloon) than image might suggest. However, after letting it drop and wearing the fit is now perfect. Shame no popper to fasten the collar under the chin. Apart from that, bring on the cold weather!"
Review 8 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Odd man out.,
September 22, 2014
By: micah4m
"The reviews for this vest seem to be overwhelmingly positive, but I have to disagree.
Several reviews suggested that the vest runs large, so I ordered it in Medium, even though I usually wear a Large. Didn't work. Still too big, and the proportions were way off.
The chest was OK, but the bottom hem was down by my finger tips, and the stiff, scratchy collar was up by my ears. In addition, the waist would easily accommodate a big belly, which I don't possess.
The vest looks great in the photo, but even if it came in a smaller size, I wouldn't have been tempted to exchange it. I sent it back this morning for a refund."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look Great, Feel Great, Be Great,
May 28, 2014
By: Skibum52
from Redondo Beach, CA
"After many years as an eager customer, I have reached the "Orvis Pinnacle." This vest, with its buttery leather, removable collar, liner with "just right" weight/warmth, and pockets where you want them, achieves Vest Greatness. Likely, you will never find a vest that hangs as well, nor is as comfortable as is this one."
Review 10 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Vest Is The Best,
March 10, 2014
By: TruTester
from Pittsburgh
"I have worn this vest every single day since it arrived. All day. Every day. It is warmer than I expected. More comfortable than I expected. More practical than I expected. And certainly more enjoyed than I ever would have dreamed or expected. Right now, if I had choose my most favorite article of clothing, this gorgeous vest would be the clear winner. I never thought I would dread the days of warmer weather!"
Review 11 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect in every way.,
March 2, 2014
By: beamcorp
from Los Angeles
"This is perfect in price, looks, comfort, and quality. For a leather vest it is also quite light. The leather is very soft . Removable shearling collar is great.
I have many items from Orvis but this one is outstanding for the price.
"
Review 12 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
February 15, 2014
By: MAVBackpacker
from Western NY
"I found the vest good against the wind and the collar warm. The large front pockets can fit a galaxy note. I wear a XL size and found that I had plenty of room while wearing a sweater. The YKK zipper also works very well. I like this vest so well I plan to order a second one."
Review 13 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Leather Vest,
February 14, 2014
By: Jim92008
from Carlsbad, CA
"This vest is even more awesome than the advertisement. I ordered the Large size for my 42" chest, and it fit perfectly (I am 5'10" and 190 lbs). Even though it is hardly ever cold here in Southern California, it is quite a "statement" piece of clothing and I would highly recommend it for its looks, fit, and feel. This is my second leather piece that I have purchased from Orvis, and I could not be happier. You have a customer for life."
Review 14 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest!,
February 6, 2014
By: Hick64
from queensbury,new york
"My new leather vest is very comfortable and sporty.It fits perfectly,has great pockets,good quality leather,a good three season vest to wear"
Review 15 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking,
January 29, 2014
By: Fresca
"Looks as good as in the magazine and fits perfectly. My husband loves it!"
Review 16 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great accessory , on a cool evening ...,
January 28, 2014
By: GenJD
from Memphis, Tn.
"This vest is great worn alone or with an overcoat . Very stylish with a vintage look and feel, plenty of pockets inside and out.
This is now one of my favorite additions to my vest collection.
"
Review 17 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The envy of his frineds!,
January 16, 2014
By: emmas
from Durango, CO
"Purchased this as a gift for my husband. He loved it! and he never loves what I get him. This was both practical and stylish and he has received more compliments from his buddies who all want one. The quality being excellent, he'll have this vest forever... and it will only get better with age (like him!)."
Review 18 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Product,
January 15, 2014
By: 1911Guy
"This is a really nice vest with a good vintage look to it. I have been very happy with it. One suggestion is to remember that this is a vest, and if you want it to fit like a vest should, consider ordering one size smaller than your coat size."
Review 19 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 14, 2014
By: Slinshot
from Gilmer,TX
"This vest is perfect. Everything they said about it is true. It is the most comfortable I have ever had. Believe me when I say that!! I have eight vests which of, are leather. Thanks Orvis"
Review 20 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
January 14, 2014
By: wendelyn
from Rochester, NY
"This Vintage Leather Vest is fantastic.
Well made, rugged looking, and very comfortable. He loves the collar and the pockets and it fits comfortably. He can wear a heavy sweater underneath and still able to move freely. Bought it for my husband for Christmas through our local Orvis store and he loves it.
"