Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Spirit Vintage Leather Vest

With its rugged good looks and handsome patina, this leather vest could very well have been your trusted travel companion for decades. Constructed of genuine, distressed cow leather, it's detailed with contrast stitching and trimmed with a soft fleece removable collar, making it ideal for three-season wear. Storage is ample, with two lower front patch pockets with side-entry handwarmers, an upper chest zip security pocket, and two interior pockets. Light khaki twill lining, rib-knit waist. Leather vest for men in brown. Genuine cowhide shell, pure cotton lining. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 27½" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
59 of 63(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Review 1 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent vest,
August 28, 2015
By: MAVB
"The vest is well-constructed and appealing in appearance. My only caveat is that the sizing seems to run rather big. I bought the vest intending to wear it with a sweater or a pullover and so I ordered a size up. As it turns out, this was unnecessary as my normal size was already plenty roomy. Overall, I am well-pleased."
Review 2 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks/feels great!!,
August 23, 2015
By: catchnofishAl
from Oriental, NC
"While it's still hot in these parts, I've not actually worn the vest yet, but it is of excellent quality and fit, and I look forward to wearing it! I would definitely buy it again!"
Review 3 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest for cool weather,
August 22, 2015
By: Photo48
from Las Vegas Nevada
"Excellent quality and good fit. This will last a lifetime. Leather is soft and looks great."
Review 4 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No regret purchase,
August 13, 2015
By: Texaztwister
from San Antonio,Tx.
"I made this purchase after a long period of looking and thought .
I was worried that the size would be tight for my 6ft:1 frame and I would have to go through the inconvenience of returning the item .
Not so, the fit was perfect with enough room for layers or just a proper shirt .
The Orvis presentation was great the vest came with its own garment bag and wood hangar
I need only to wait for the fall temperatures to roll in to field test this fine garment"
Review 5 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking and comfortable,
July 27, 2015
By: smokey2
from Maryland Mounains
"This vest is exactly as I wished. It is comfortable, durable and ruggedly stylish. I live in vests in the autumn and winter and often go out with only a vest unless it is snowing. The collar on this one is very warm and will suit me well. AND, the pockets are plentiful and several are secured for carrying wallet, passport, etc. A perfect addition to my collection of vests!"
Review 6 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bomber leather vest,
July 22, 2015
By: grayfeather
from California
"This vest fits me very well ,and I am very impressed with the feel of the soft leather . This is a great looking vest ,and the size was right on .I wish that I had bought it a lot sooner ,very happy with this leather vest !"
Review 7 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold nights,
June 29, 2015
By: KATESOWNER
from WALBERG, TX
"Great value. Great quality.. waiting for the cold..."
Review 8 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
June 28, 2015
By: Curly29
from Mich U.P.
"Great material. Great fit. Very attractive piece of outerwear."
Review 9 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than I Expected!,
June 27, 2015
By: Kin10
from Murrells Inlet, S.C.
"This is a rich looking high quality product. Glad I made the purchase. I began wearing vests years ago and this is my most significant vest purchase thus far. Looking forward to Fall.!"
Review 10 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality,
June 11, 2015
By: LeeC2
from Kenner, Louisiana
"This is one great vest. It is much better than I thought it would be. The weight is just right. Now all I have to do is wait for winter, and I will be ready to go."
Review 11 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond expectations,
June 9, 2015
By: RCC3
from Dayton, Oh.
"The photograph of the vest does not convey the quality of the product. I can only say that leather is the finest texture I have ever felt. And the construction of the vest is flawless. I look forward to passing it on to my grandchildren."
Review 12 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
May 5, 2015
By: ncradio
from Asheville, NC
"This vest is not only well designed, the fit is perfect...and as is the case with all Orvis products, the quality is exemplary."
Review 13 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality purchase,
February 25, 2015
By: GMix
from Brookings, SD
"I am very pleased with this vest . My only concern is the interior cotton lining and how long it will hold up. Time will tell. I do like the vest enough that I may order its full jacket counterpart at some point in the future"
Review 14 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 16, 2015
By: waterbiz
"Great fit, great service, outstanding quality. All I had hoped for and more!"
Review 15 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Vest!,
February 13, 2015
By: DrBurl
from Fort Worth, TX
"This vest was my first purchase from Orvis. It won't be my last! The vest is luxurious feeling with magnificently soft leather. The removable fleece collar gives it cold and warmer weather flexibility. The vest is windproof, and especially warm in cooler weather when zipped up. No wind gets into this vest and it keeps one's trunk very warm. I also love its looks."
Review 16 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sprirt Leather Vest,
February 5, 2015
By: CMCASE
from Hudson, WI
"This product exceeded my expectations. I have received many complements on it. It is both functional and attractive. GREAT!!"
Review 17 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesomse vest!,
February 4, 2015
By: djsmooth
from houston , tx
"this vest is well made and looks great! i recommend it to any man who wants to look great!"
Review 18 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spirit Vintage Leather Vest,
January 26, 2015
By: WBinPDX
from Oregon
"I don't need much to stay warm even in the winter and I was tired of the soft-shell look. This leather vest suits the purpose perfectly with nice supple feel and weight. I'm not a furry collar type so I removed it to reveal a clean, classic looking leather collar.
SIZING INFO: I am 6'1" 205 and originally ordered and XL that was way too big around with huge arm hole cut almost down to my waist. An easy exchange to a Large was perfect! Roomy enough for over a sweater/hoody but trim enough not to look like I'm sporting a big ol' pub tummy.
Overall I can see little room for improvement other than the chest pocket being made larger to accommodate a phone."
Review 19 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality And Great Onsale Pricing,
January 20, 2015
By: Jnparke
from Suwanee, GA
"I wanted to try this vest on when I saw it on sale online. My two local Orvis stores did not have in stock but a salesperson helped me order it online at one of the stores. An added bonus was free shipping on that day. So it was a great purchase. I agree with some of the comments about the collar size and material. Improve them and put in two way zipper and you will have a real winner. I am a vest person and it is a great addition to my collection for those cold southern days."
Review 20 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Vest!,
December 31, 2014
By: CherriW
"This vest is gorgeous! Very well made. The fur collar is detachable, which increases its versatility. My husband was extremely pleased with this gift."