Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Spirit Vintage Leather Vest

With its rugged good looks and handsome patina, this leather vest could very well have been your trusted travel companion for decades. Constructed of genuine, distressed cow leather, it's detailed with contrast stitching and trimmed with a soft fleece removable collar, making it ideal for three-season wear. Storage is ample, with two lower front patch pockets with side-entry handwarmers, an upper chest zip security pocket, and two interior pockets. Light khaki twill lining, rib-knit waist. Leather vest for men in brown. Genuine cowhide shell, pure cotton lining. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 27½" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
53 of 57(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Review 1 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking and comfortable,
July 27, 2015
By: smokey2
from Maryland Mounains
"This vest is exactly as I wished. It is comfortable, durable and ruggedly stylish. I live in vests in the autumn and winter and often go out with only a vest unless it is snowing. The collar on this one is very warm and will suit me well. AND, the pockets are plentiful and several are secured for carrying wallet, passport, etc. A perfect addition to my collection of vests!"
Review 2 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bomber leather vest,
July 22, 2015
By: grayfeather
from California
"This vest fits me very well ,and I am very impressed with the feel of the soft leather . This is a great looking vest ,and the size was right on .I wish that I had bought it a lot sooner ,very happy with this leather vest !"
Review 3 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold nights,
June 29, 2015
By: KATESOWNER
from WALBERG, TX
"Great value. Great quality.. waiting for the cold..."
Review 4 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
June 28, 2015
By: Curly29
from Mich U.P.
"Great material. Great fit. Very attractive piece of outerwear."
Review 5 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than I Expected!,
June 27, 2015
By: Kin10
from Murrells Inlet, S.C.
"This is a rich looking high quality product. Glad I made the purchase. I began wearing vests years ago and this is my most significant vest purchase thus far. Looking forward to Fall.!"
Review 6 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality,
June 11, 2015
By: LeeC2
from Kenner, Louisiana
"This is one great vest. It is much better than I thought it would be. The weight is just right. Now all I have to do is wait for winter, and I will be ready to go."
Review 7 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond expectations,
June 9, 2015
By: RCC3
from Dayton, Oh.
"The photograph of the vest does not convey the quality of the product. I can only say that leather is the finest texture I have ever felt. And the construction of the vest is flawless. I look forward to passing it on to my grandchildren."
Review 8 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
May 5, 2015
By: ncradio
from Asheville, NC
"This vest is not only well designed, the fit is perfect...and as is the case with all Orvis products, the quality is exemplary."
Review 9 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality purchase,
February 25, 2015
By: GMix
from Brookings, SD
"I am very pleased with this vest . My only concern is the interior cotton lining and how long it will hold up. Time will tell. I do like the vest enough that I may order its full jacket counterpart at some point in the future"
Review 10 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 16, 2015
By: waterbiz
"Great fit, great service, outstanding quality. All I had hoped for and more!"
Review 11 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Vest!,
February 13, 2015
By: DrBurl
from Fort Worth, TX
"This vest was my first purchase from Orvis. It won't be my last! The vest is luxurious feeling with magnificently soft leather. The removable fleece collar gives it cold and warmer weather flexibility. The vest is windproof, and especially warm in cooler weather when zipped up. No wind gets into this vest and it keeps one's trunk very warm. I also love its looks."
Review 12 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sprirt Leather Vest,
February 5, 2015
By: CMCASE
from Hudson, WI
"This product exceeded my expectations. I have received many complements on it. It is both functional and attractive. GREAT!!"
Review 13 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesomse vest!,
February 4, 2015
By: djsmooth
from houston , tx
"this vest is well made and looks great! i recommend it to any man who wants to look great!"
Review 14 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spirit Vintage Leather Vest,
January 26, 2015
By: WBinPDX
from Oregon
"I don't need much to stay warm even in the winter and I was tired of the soft-shell look. This leather vest suits the purpose perfectly with nice supple feel and weight. I'm not a furry collar type so I removed it to reveal a clean, classic looking leather collar.
SIZING INFO: I am 6'1" 205 and originally ordered and XL that was way too big around with huge arm hole cut almost down to my waist. An easy exchange to a Large was perfect! Roomy enough for over a sweater/hoody but trim enough not to look like I'm sporting a big ol' pub tummy.
Overall I can see little room for improvement other than the chest pocket being made larger to accommodate a phone."
Review 15 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality And Great Onsale Pricing,
January 20, 2015
By: Jnparke
from Suwanee, GA
"I wanted to try this vest on when I saw it on sale online. My two local Orvis stores did not have in stock but a salesperson helped me order it online at one of the stores. An added bonus was free shipping on that day. So it was a great purchase. I agree with some of the comments about the collar size and material. Improve them and put in two way zipper and you will have a real winner. I am a vest person and it is a great addition to my collection for those cold southern days."
Review 16 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Vest!,
December 31, 2014
By: CherriW
"This vest is gorgeous! Very well made. The fur collar is detachable, which increases its versatility. My husband was extremely pleased with this gift."
Review 17 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
All You Need to Know,
December 31, 2014
By: RevDrBob
from Ohio
"The collar is quite substantial and warm for the neck when raised. It is also nicely soft - in contrast to another reviewer's comment.
That big warm collar is disproportional for the thin leather and thin lining of the vest. I wear XL in everything but bought this in XXL to wear over a rugged, heavy gray zippered Irish sweater. That combo works as the thin vest adds a little extra torso warmth but provides the heavy sweater with an appropriately warm collar. The combo works to keep me warm outdoors in freezing temps. Essentially a heavy sweater add-on.
The thin vest with huge collar does not make sense if used as a vest over just a shirt. I think it would not only look ridiculous but your neck would get too hot.
In freezing wind I add a heavy, oversized denim jacket and then I really appreciate that big, tall collar - it covers my ears!
There is the thin leather, a thin cotton lining, and some soft and thin inner material. Overall its a supple, soft, thin, comfortable construction.
The distressing is almost convincing as natural, but just almost. The leather appears to be surface colored (painted) as is furniture leather rather than vat dyed. Where the color is worn off for fake distressing the exposed leather is light pink.
I fear the thin leather will tear easily if caught on something.
The big front flap pockets and the hand warmer pockets right behind add up to a lot of puffy material at the belly so it will increase your already big belly and make your head look small sitting there in that huge nest of a collar.
The hand warmer pockets are great. The exterior breast cell phone pocket is a nice feature and it fits my uncased iPhone snugly - it would stay there even if I did not close the zipper. It may be too tight for a phone with a back cover or other casing.
If you take off the removable fake fleece collar you will have a large pointy leather collar that looks 1960's disco in style.
The vest care instructions state "Specialist Dry Clean Only." When I received this vest I donned it to check for fit, then put it in the washing machine on warm for a full cycle followed by tumble dry on medium - just to see what would happen. It came out unchanged. I would wash it again.
I like this vest only as an add-on to a heavy sweater where it provides additional torso warmth and a warm collar for the sweater."
Review 18 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fashion-grade leather,
December 30, 2014
By: TravisT
from Sunnyvale, CA
"I bought this particular vest last winter. I really like the color, style and fit. It looks really nice, and I have received lots of compliments.
I usually wear a large, and I ordered this vest in large. It is true to size (for me, anyway).
I would give this vest 5 stars except for two things which bother me: the leather is really thin, like something you'd find on a designer leather jacket, and the process used to give the leather its vintage appearance looks unnatural and contrived in places.
I would recommend this vest for casual applications, and I would avoid extremely rugged use. If you like the idea of this vest to begin with, you'll probably love it once you wear it!"
Review 19 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Brand Name Speaks 4 Itself.,
November 28, 2014
By: AKAY
from Raleigh, NC
"This vest is without a doubt "The Best" one I own yet. Very comfortable, warm, superbly crafted, and just outright worth every penny. I would not want to go elsewhere to purchase one like it. The pockets, zipper, snaps, and the removable collar are "awesome". The lining is so warm and comfy that it makes me want to keep it on all day and all night."
Review 20 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too Bad,
November 25, 2014
By: AustinWeather
from TX
"My excitement of opening the jacket quickly turned to laughter when I put on the vest. I knew the collar was "faux" sheep skin but I didn't think it would like like a hunk of cheap carpet attached. I thought I would just take off the carpet as it is removable. But the jacket still looks "faux". It is disappointing when the pictures on the site look nothing like the actual product. Very disappointed."