Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Spirit Vintage Leather Vest

With its rugged good looks and handsome patina, this leather vest could very well have been your trusted travel companion for decades. Constructed of genuine, distressed cow leather, it's detailed with contrast stitching and trimmed with a soft fleece removable collar, making it ideal for three-season wear. Storage is ample, with two lower front patch pockets with side-entry handwarmers, an upper chest zip security pocket, and two interior pockets. Light khaki twill lining, rib-knit waist. Leather vest for men in brown. Genuine cowhide shell, pure cotton lining. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 27½" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
38 of 42(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Review 1 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality And Great Onsale Pricing,
January 20, 2015
By: Jnparke
from Suwanee, GA
"I wanted to try this vest on when I saw it on sale online. My two local Orvis stores did not have in stock but a salesperson helped me order it online at one of the stores. An added bonus was free shipping on that day. So it was a great purchase. I agree with some of the comments about the collar size and material. Improve them and put in two way zipper and you will have a real winner. I am a vest person and it is a great addition to my collection for those cold southern days."
Review 2 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Vest!,
December 31, 2014
By: CherriW
"This vest is gorgeous! Very well made. The fur collar is detachable, which increases its versatility. My husband was extremely pleased with this gift."
Review 3 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
All You Need to Know,
December 31, 2014
By: RevDrBob
from Ohio
"The collar is quite substantial and warm for the neck when raised. It is also nicely soft - in contrast to another reviewer's comment.
That big warm collar is disproportional for the thin leather and thin lining of the vest. I wear XL in everything but bought this in XXL to wear over a rugged, heavy gray zippered Irish sweater. That combo works as the thin vest adds a little extra torso warmth but provides the heavy sweater with an appropriately warm collar. The combo works to keep me warm outdoors in freezing temps. Essentially a heavy sweater add-on.
The thin vest with huge collar does not make sense if used as a vest over just a shirt. I think it would not only look ridiculous but your neck would get too hot.
In freezing wind I add a heavy, oversized denim jacket and then I really appreciate that big, tall collar - it covers my ears!
There is the thin leather, a thin cotton lining, and some soft and thin inner material. Overall its a supple, soft, thin, comfortable construction.
The distressing is almost convincing as natural, but just almost. The leather appears to be surface colored (painted) as is furniture leather rather than vat dyed. Where the color is worn off for fake distressing the exposed leather is light pink.
I fear the thin leather will tear easily if caught on something.
The big front flap pockets and the hand warmer pockets right behind add up to a lot of puffy material at the belly so it will increase your already big belly and make your head look small sitting there in that huge nest of a collar.
The hand warmer pockets are great. The exterior breast cell phone pocket is a nice feature and it fits my uncased iPhone snugly - it would stay there even if I did not close the zipper. It may be too tight for a phone with a back cover or other casing.
If you take off the removable fake fleece collar you will have a large pointy leather collar that looks 1960's disco in style.
The vest care instructions state "Specialist Dry Clean Only." When I received this vest I donned it to check for fit, then put it in the washing machine on warm for a full cycle followed by tumble dry on medium - just to see what would happen. It came out unchanged. I would wash it again.
I like this vest only as an add-on to a heavy sweater where it provides additional torso warmth and a warm collar for the sweater."
Review 4 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fashion-grade leather,
December 30, 2014
By: TravisT
from Sunnyvale, CA
"I bought this particular vest last winter. I really like the color, style and fit. It looks really nice, and I have received lots of compliments.
I usually wear a large, and I ordered this vest in large. It is true to size (for me, anyway).
I would give this vest 5 stars except for two things which bother me: the leather is really thin, like something you'd find on a designer leather jacket, and the process used to give the leather its vintage appearance looks unnatural and contrived in places.
I would recommend this vest for casual applications, and I would avoid extremely rugged use. If you like the idea of this vest to begin with, you'll probably love it once you wear it!"
Review 5 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Brand Name Speaks 4 Itself.,
November 28, 2014
By: AKAY
from Raleigh, NC
"This vest is without a doubt "The Best" one I own yet. Very comfortable, warm, superbly crafted, and just outright worth every penny. I would not want to go elsewhere to purchase one like it. The pockets, zipper, snaps, and the removable collar are "awesome". The lining is so warm and comfy that it makes me want to keep it on all day and all night."
Review 6 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too Bad,
November 25, 2014
By: AustinWeather
from TX
"My excitement of opening the jacket quickly turned to laughter when I put on the vest. I knew the collar was "faux" sheep skin but I didn't think it would like like a hunk of cheap carpet attached. I thought I would just take off the carpet as it is removable. But the jacket still looks "faux". It is disappointing when the pictures on the site look nothing like the actual product. Very disappointed."
Review 7 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Oris vest!,
November 11, 2014
By: OrvisStuffAddict
from NY
"This makes number six! Oris seems to have found the right "vest formula," certainly for me. With the right sizing this is perfect over a heavy sweater. I had a lot of sizing help from these folks, so I'll share what I can: I'm 5'6", 170 lbs., 42" chest, good-sized arms. As you might figure, I'm between Medium and Large. I had to take the Large to have room for a cable knit, etc. The vest is very, very comfy, quite warm over a decent shirt. Plenty of pocket space (a major + for me). Three tiny gripes: no two-way zipper, no full-closure collar button, outer breastfeeding pocket small for a notepad. These are NOT deal-breakers."
Review 8 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 9, 2014
By: jhonboy
"One if not the best product I have purchased from Orvis---
Feels like an old friend out of the box.
Highly recommend and the price is not a consideration for this quality.
"
Review 9 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
November 8, 2014
By: SamC14
"I recently purchased a leather vest from Orvis. Great quality, great value,lightweight and unique but keeps you warm. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary, this is it."
Review 10 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
wow disapointment,
November 6, 2014
By: watcher0820
from west new field me.
"maybe i was expecting to much ? the fit was good but thats the only positive thing i have to say. over all quality was ok but the leather was so unappealing and the white stitching on what to me was ugliest color brown, yuck! i didnt even want to wear it out of the house! sent it back!"
Review 11 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best vest ever,
October 28, 2014
By: danielman
from Tn.
"This vest will be a life time vest. I love it! I will say I normally wear a large but when looking at measurements I ordered a medium and it fits perfect."
Review 12 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Near perfect,
October 13, 2014
By: Sudz
"Had this a couple of weeks and it is already an old friend. The only disappointment is the synthetic "faux sheepskin" removable collar- genuine shearling would have provided the 5th star.
The leather has a great "worn" look."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A grower,
September 30, 2014
By: eube
from Southampton, UK
"It took a 2 month wait but worth it. Fit is bigger (balloon) than image might suggest. However, after letting it drop and wearing the fit is now perfect. Shame no popper to fasten the collar under the chin. Apart from that, bring on the cold weather!"
Review 14 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Odd man out.,
September 22, 2014
By: micah4m
"The reviews for this vest seem to be overwhelmingly positive, but I have to disagree.
Several reviews suggested that the vest runs large, so I ordered it in Medium, even though I usually wear a Large. Didn't work. Still too big, and the proportions were way off.
The chest was OK, but the bottom hem was down by my finger tips, and the stiff, scratchy collar was up by my ears. In addition, the waist would easily accommodate a big belly, which I don't possess.
The vest looks great in the photo, but even if it came in a smaller size, I wouldn't have been tempted to exchange it. I sent it back this morning for a refund."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look Great, Feel Great, Be Great,
May 28, 2014
By: Skibum52
from Redondo Beach, CA
"After many years as an eager customer, I have reached the "Orvis Pinnacle." This vest, with its buttery leather, removable collar, liner with "just right" weight/warmth, and pockets where you want them, achieves Vest Greatness. Likely, you will never find a vest that hangs as well, nor is as comfortable as is this one."
Review 16 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Vest Is The Best,
March 10, 2014
By: TruTester
from Pittsburgh
"I have worn this vest every single day since it arrived. All day. Every day. It is warmer than I expected. More comfortable than I expected. More practical than I expected. And certainly more enjoyed than I ever would have dreamed or expected. Right now, if I had choose my most favorite article of clothing, this gorgeous vest would be the clear winner. I never thought I would dread the days of warmer weather!"
Review 17 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect in every way.,
March 2, 2014
By: beamcorp
from Los Angeles
"This is perfect in price, looks, comfort, and quality. For a leather vest it is also quite light. The leather is very soft . Removable shearling collar is great.
I have many items from Orvis but this one is outstanding for the price.
"
Review 18 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
February 15, 2014
By: MAVBackpacker
from Western NY
"I found the vest good against the wind and the collar warm. The large front pockets can fit a galaxy note. I wear a XL size and found that I had plenty of room while wearing a sweater. The YKK zipper also works very well. I like this vest so well I plan to order a second one."
Review 19 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Leather Vest,
February 14, 2014
By: Jim92008
from Carlsbad, CA
"This vest is even more awesome than the advertisement. I ordered the Large size for my 42" chest, and it fit perfectly (I am 5'10" and 190 lbs). Even though it is hardly ever cold here in Southern California, it is quite a "statement" piece of clothing and I would highly recommend it for its looks, fit, and feel. This is my second leather piece that I have purchased from Orvis, and I could not be happier. You have a customer for life."
Review 20 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest!,
February 6, 2014
By: Hick64
from queensbury,new york
"My new leather vest is very comfortable and sporty.It fits perfectly,has great pockets,good quality leather,a good three season vest to wear"