Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Spirit Vintage Leather Vest

With its rugged good looks and handsome patina, this leather vest could very well have been your trusted travel companion for decades. Constructed of genuine, distressed cow leather, it's detailed with contrast stitching and trimmed with a soft fleece removable collar, making it ideal for three-season wear. Storage is ample, with two lower front patch pockets with side-entry handwarmers, an upper chest zip security pocket, and two interior pockets. Light khaki twill lining, rib-knit waist. Leather vest for men in brown. Genuine cowhide shell, pure cotton lining. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 27½" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Review 1 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look Great, Feel Great, Be Great,
May 28, 2014
By: Skibum52
from Redondo Beach, CA
"After many years as an eager customer, I have reached the "Orvis Pinnacle." This vest, with its buttery leather, removable collar, liner with "just right" weight/warmth, and pockets where you want them, achieves Vest Greatness. Likely, you will never find a vest that hangs as well, nor is as comfortable as is this one."
Review 2 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Vest Is The Best,
March 10, 2014
By: TruTester
from Pittsburgh
"I have worn this vest every single day since it arrived. All day. Every day. It is warmer than I expected. More comfortable than I expected. More practical than I expected. And certainly more enjoyed than I ever would have dreamed or expected. Right now, if I had choose my most favorite article of clothing, this gorgeous vest would be the clear winner. I never thought I would dread the days of warmer weather!"
Review 3 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect in every way.,
March 2, 2014
By: beamcorp
from Los Angeles
"This is perfect in price, looks, comfort, and quality. For a leather vest it is also quite light. The leather is very soft . Removable shearling collar is great.
I have many items from Orvis but this one is outstanding for the price.
"
Review 4 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
February 15, 2014
By: MAVBackpacker
from Western NY
"I found the vest good against the wind and the collar warm. The large front pockets can fit a galaxy note. I wear a XL size and found that I had plenty of room while wearing a sweater. The YKK zipper also works very well. I like this vest so well I plan to order a second one."
Review 5 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Leather Vest,
February 14, 2014
By: Jim92008
from Carlsbad, CA
"This vest is even more awesome than the advertisement. I ordered the Large size for my 42" chest, and it fit perfectly (I am 5'10" and 190 lbs). Even though it is hardly ever cold here in Southern California, it is quite a "statement" piece of clothing and I would highly recommend it for its looks, fit, and feel. This is my second leather piece that I have purchased from Orvis, and I could not be happier. You have a customer for life."
Review 6 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest!,
February 6, 2014
By: Hick64
from queensbury,new york
"My new leather vest is very comfortable and sporty.It fits perfectly,has great pockets,good quality leather,a good three season vest to wear"
Review 7 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking,
January 29, 2014
By: Fresca
"Looks as good as in the magazine and fits perfectly. My husband loves it!"
Review 8 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great accessory , on a cool evening ...,
January 28, 2014
By: GenJD
from Memphis, Tn.
"This vest is great worn alone or with an overcoat . Very stylish with a vintage look and feel, plenty of pockets inside and out.
This is now one of my favorite additions to my vest collection.
"
Review 9 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The envy of his frineds!,
January 16, 2014
By: emmas
from Durango, CO
"Purchased this as a gift for my husband. He loved it! and he never loves what I get him. This was both practical and stylish and he has received more compliments from his buddies who all want one. The quality being excellent, he'll have this vest forever... and it will only get better with age (like him!)."
Review 10 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Product,
January 15, 2014
By: 1911Guy
"This is a really nice vest with a good vintage look to it. I have been very happy with it. One suggestion is to remember that this is a vest, and if you want it to fit like a vest should, consider ordering one size smaller than your coat size."
Review 11 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 14, 2014
By: Slinshot
from Gilmer,TX
"This vest is perfect. Everything they said about it is true. It is the most comfortable I have ever had. Believe me when I say that!! I have eight vests which of, are leather. Thanks Orvis"
Review 12 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
January 14, 2014
By: wendelyn
from Rochester, NY
"This Vintage Leather Vest is fantastic.
Well made, rugged looking, and very comfortable. He loves the collar and the pockets and it fits comfortably. He can wear a heavy sweater underneath and still able to move freely. Bought it for my husband for Christmas through our local Orvis store and he loves it.
"
Review 13 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for 3 seasons,
January 13, 2014
By: DKT1
from Atlanta, GA
"This vest is the ideal weight for three season wear or milder regions of the country. The leather is soft and has a gently broken in look and feel. I am 5'11" 185 (41-42 coat) and the medium fits great. A cotton twill lining is in perfect keeping with the style - ideal for layering with sweaters or a plaid shirt. Typical Orvis quality. I will enjoy this one for years to come. Thank you Orvis."
Review 14 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality and Price,
January 7, 2014
By: pracd
from Nevada City, CA
"I search for the perfect vest that did not costs an arm and leg and was hoping that Orvis still continued to carry quality items. They do! My husband loves the vest and its nice that the collar is removable. The only negative is the collar since it does not sit perfectly on the vest, but no one would notice. Love the quality. Warm but not hot, casual and dressy in one vest."
Review 15 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Really Nice Vest!,
December 30, 2013
By: Steve800
from Pennsylvania
"Last year I tried to order this same vest from Orvis and found that it was not available at that time. I located a comparable vest at a similar store and order their product instead. This year when I saw the Orvis vest listed again, it was quickly ordered and received. I now have both examples and can make a sound judgement. Really no comparison ...... From the minute I opened the box I was pleased with the Orvis vest and it's broken in appearance. Better fit, more comfortable, soft leather and the pocket design is more practical for today's needs. I am not sold on the fur collar but the ability to remove the collar and wear it as a leather collar is nice. Great Vest! and the price is reasonable as well.
Thanks Orvis
Steve"
Review 16 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever Impulse Buy,
December 27, 2013
By: NashvilleRed
from Nashville, TN
"My husband pulled this out of the box on Christmas morning and was absolutely delighted. The vest is obviously made extremely well. The leather is a beautiful color, and it feels soft. The collar is easily removed for warmer weather. The vest fits true to size. It looks like it came straight off the set of Indiana Jones----gorgeous!"
Review 17 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
December 25, 2013
By: Fourleggedfriend
from France
"Perfect Christmas present for my husband today. He loves it!"
Review 18 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unique,
December 21, 2013
By: RES1951
from Long Island, NY
"I was lloking for a leather vest to wear over sweaters in the winter. This is a good quality sharp looking and fitting vest. Orvis quality. Only negatives for me is that I would have preferred a little more insulation ( I would describe this as medium weight) and I wish it was a little longer in the tail. Otherwise I am satisfied"
Review 19 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Vest,
December 15, 2013
By: Chikago
"I have been looking for a leather vest that would fit well and be light-weight. This vest caught my attention because of the style and description. I usually wear a large, but found the medium to be the right fit. The vest is well made and for leather is fairly light weight and comfortable."
Review 20 for Spirit Vintage Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT VEST,
December 10, 2013
By: greenwood
from Houghton Lake, Michigan
"GREAT LOOKING, well made vest . i get alot of compliments on it. i ordered x-large and it fit excellent."