Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat

The approach to creating our signature Highland Tweed was simple: Create a versatile fabric with a timeless color palette that fends off autumn and winter chills without feeling heavy on the shoulders. Woven by a small, family-owned tweed weaver in Scotland, Orvis Highland Tweed delivers on these criteria—try on one of these sport coats and you'll immediately agree. The patterns and colors are traditional in style yet quintessentially American, pairing handsomely with everything from cords and a wool sweater to your favorite Oxford and well-worn jeans. You'll also notice that it's significantly lighter than tweeds you may have worn in the past, yet the warmth it offers is comparable, if not better. The easy-to-wear three-button, single-vented style features two flap-over patch pockets on the outside and five interior pockets: one on the inside right chest with zipper closure for security, a left interior chest pocket with a button flap, two lower interior button flapped pockets, and a convenient interior pen pocket. Fully lined with an invisible, built-in bi-swing, which eliminates binding when sitting or reaching. Pure wool tweed. Dry clean. Imported.Regular sizes 38-48. About 31⅝" long in size 44 regular. Long sizes 40-48. 1½" longer in body, ½" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.291 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
68 of 79(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Review 1 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket,
March 10, 2015
By: RickRM
from Chicago, IL
"I had been looking for a nice tweed jacket for some time. When I saw this in the Orvis catalog, it was just what I had in mind. Fit is great, although the sleeves are a tad long compared to the way a 42 normally fits me. Everything else seems true to size."
Review 2 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Winter Travel essential,
March 5, 2015
By: Fredy2607
from Madrid, Spain
"Pouches galore and confort, great for winter travel!"
Review 3 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sorry, but...,
March 3, 2015
By: TheHumbleTraveller
from "Deep-Freeze", Michigan
"I am a long-time Orvis customer. This jacket does not live up to the normal high quality, value and utility of their other products.
As another writer notes, the lining is "baggy" and does not seem to fit the jacket. The cut of the jacket seems to be suited for a person that is shaped like a ball too, as the waist area is way too large. The lapels were creased so that the top button is actually under it and facing backward!. This causes the lapel to turn inside-out when you button it. Overall, the jacket looks shabby and cheap.
I'm sorry that I have to rate this jacket as low as I am (1 star), but Orvis will never know how their products are perceived if I don't.
I am a long-time wearer of their Hopsack Blazer and was expecting a new jacket that would live up to that experience. I am sorry that it didn't.
Regards"
Review 4 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific jacket--just right,
February 25, 2015
By: Denys1471
"This sports jacket is excellent--just what one would expect and more from the advertisement in the catalog. The weight is perfect: substantial but light, not so bulky as many warm tweed coats are. The style and cut are excellent, and the features (lapels, pockets) are generously and carefully done. In sum, a very fine coat for the price."
Review 5 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice coat,
February 10, 2015
By: Slava
"Great sportcoat. Just wish that the shoulders were less padded. Otherwise, beautiful material and lots of functionality."
Review 6 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tweed coat,
February 5, 2015
By: WGB4855
from Bossier City, LA
"Outstanding material and fit. A great sports coat that can be worn with jeans or dress trousers. I like the weight of it as it has a little heft to it. I was surprised with the fit as I normally take a 43 long and this 44 long was an excellent fit right out of the box."
Review 7 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful coat.,
February 3, 2015
By: Hawkeye45
"Beautiful coat but inside tacking(liner) is too loose. Great weight for fall through early spring."
Review 8 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectation,
January 28, 2015
By: Mickey07
from Denver, CO
"Perfect fit for me (42R). Exactly fits the need for a cool weather sporting, classic tweed both in- and out-doors."
Review 9 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A really superb purchase,
January 24, 2015
By: Mrpusscat
from Solihull
"The lightweight highland tweed sports coat far and away exceeded expectations and is a joy to wear."
Review 10 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality sport coat,
December 3, 2014
By: DBS57
from Austin, TX
"The tweed pattern is a subtle blue/gray and looks good with dress slacks, as well as jeans. The description says "lightweight," but we here in Texas consider it at least mid weight, if not more. Lining is very comfortable, seams well finished. Expect it to wear for a good many years"
Review 11 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Itchy,
November 24, 2014
By: richap
from Boston, MA
"Call me a rookie - but I've never owned a tweed jacket. I bought this tweed sport coat from the website without feeling the fabric. It's REALLY itchy. If that doesn't bother you, it's a great sport coat."
Review 12 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Tweed Sport Coat for Fall/Winter,
November 24, 2014
By: Pietro2013
from Alexandria, VA
"I have always wanted a great looking English Tweed Jacket for Fall/Winter use. A coat that can be worn up or down. Orvis delivered. I was a little dispappointed that I could not see at the store and was a little apprehensive about ordering online. Jacket came within a few days. Construction superb and as expected. Only negative was a little tight at the armpit, but that is due to the material. Otherwise a fantastic jacket. I am a 42 Reg and no alterations needed."
Review 13 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
November 10, 2014
By: StewXX55Y
from Pennsylvania
"This tweed jacket fit me perfectly with no need for alterations. I take a long size and this is a true long. The dark brown is a nice tic weave with muted lines of color woven into the pattern. I was pleasantly surprised and would not hesitate to order a second jacket in this group."
Review 14 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket,
November 10, 2014
By: klunk
from Richmond VA
"Nice looking jacket. Had the sides taken in slightly but overall a good fit. Material was a little heavier than I was expecting but it will be great in the fall/winter. Already had several compliments on it. Happy I bought it."
Review 15 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket but not very "lightweight",
November 5, 2014
By: bburke4371
from Massachusetts
"The jacket is high quality and attractive. I am an off the rack 42 Reg and it fit me fine. The tweed is fairly substantial, I think the lightweight descriptions not very apt, but doesn't take away from the fact that it is a solid, good looking well made sport coat for Fall in New England. The buttoned and zipper interior pockets are a nice plus."
Review 16 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction to the Nth Degree,
November 5, 2014
By: DuckyTNUH
from Georgia
"I was excited when I opened the package and saw the tweed jacket. It was a good-looking jacket! But when I tried it on, what a perfect fit and feel! I love the color and texture. The jacket is so well made with many useful pockets. I couldn't be more pleased as I usually am with Orvis products. Besides the impeccable quality of the jacket, I was impressed with the packaging that brought the jacket to me ready to wear! I have absolutely NO negative remarks."
Review 17 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great winter jacket,
November 3, 2014
By: Gordon1
from Bellevue, WA
"The lightweight highland tweed sport coat isn't as light as I expected, but will keep me toasty warm on chilly winter days. It is attractive, has lots of handy pockets and looks/feels like it will wear forever."
Review 18 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
October 21, 2014
By: VirgilCalhoun
from SC
"The fit is perfect, I'm a 46/48 jacket and I order the 46. I'll use it for a light jacket/coat for fall and through the winter in SC. Inside pockets are perfect. Highly recommend."
Review 19 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Look at a Good Value,
October 21, 2014
By: Reynard
from Potomac, MD
"The jacket is well cut and fit with a minor alteration to shorten sleeve length. Unlike most Harris Tweed wools, this woven-in-Scotland material is lighter weight. Color is rich looking. Guaranteed to make you look like a Scottish lord of the manor. Works well with jeans of khakis or more formal trousers."
Review 20 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket,
October 21, 2014
By: Denys1471
"I am very satisfied with the style, workmanship, weight and cut of this tweed jacket; it may be the best product that I have bought from Orvis, and I have bought many."