Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat

The approach to creating our signature Highland Tweed was simple: Create a versatile fabric with a timeless color palette that fends off autumn and winter chills without feeling heavy on the shoulders. Woven by a small, family-owned tweed weaver in Scotland, Orvis Highland Tweed delivers on these criteria—try on one of these sport coats and you'll immediately agree. The patterns and colors are traditional in style yet quintessentially American, pairing handsomely with everything from cords and a wool sweater to your favorite Oxford and well-worn jeans. You'll also notice that it's significantly lighter than tweeds you may have worn in the past, yet the warmth it offers is comparable, if not better. The easy-to-wear three-button, single-vented style features two flap-over patch pockets on the outside and five interior pockets: one on the inside right chest with zipper closure for security, a left interior chest pocket with a button flap, two lower interior button flapped pockets, and a convenient interior pen pocket. Fully lined with an invisible, built-in bi-swing, which eliminates binding when sitting or reaching. Pure wool tweed. Dry clean. Imported.Regular sizes 38-48. About 31⅝" long in size 44 regular. Long sizes 40-48. 1½" longer in body, ½" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.288 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
3
43 of 52(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Review 1 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
March 12, 2014
By: ThomasNM
from New Mexico
"Recieved the Highland Tweed Sport Jacket as a gift in dark brown. The fit, color, and quality of the tweed was better than expected. I liked the jacket so much I ordered a 2nd one (gray/blue) to complete my wardrobe. Becare when ordering as the sholders are roomy!"
Review 2 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sport coat,
March 1, 2014
By: toughlady
"my husband has this coat in another color but the blue-grey is perfect for his eyes. Very tweedy, well made, well appointed in lining and inner pockets.
True to size.
He loves it!
"
Review 3 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sport Coat Needs Help,
February 28, 2014
By: ColdinWisconsin
"Ordered this in a 46L for my husband. Sleeves were no longer than a regular length would have been--at best. He has had Orvis Harris Tweeds from 20 years ago. Wore like iron, great fabric. This fabric rough and scratchy in the extreme. Also covered with lint, threads and other miscellany. Now have paid for shipping 2 times for a coat that doesn't come close to being right. Disappointing."
Review 4 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Typical Orvis Fit,
February 24, 2014
By: fordmgmt
"I try really hard to buy from Orvis because I like their styles, but the fit seems to be for more "portly" men. This particular jacket fits like a box, according to my wife. Quality is OK, but I didn't like the shoulder pads. Basically it's a Harris Tweed wannabe, but it falls short."
Review 5 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
warning,
February 19, 2014
By: Amusa
from New York NY
"I got one of these tweed jackets two weeks ago. It is a fine garment but it is NOT a lightweight tweed as your catalog copy says it is. I weighed it
against a Harris Tweed I got from you 8 years ago and they weigh the same.
It is a shame you do not hyave a true lightweight tweed. It wd be invaluable in the Spring and Fall"
Review 6 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Sport Jacket,
February 17, 2014
By: judylynn
from Palo Alto, CA
"My husband is very particular about his sport jackets and he was very pleased with this jacket. The wool is first class and the jacket fit according to size. He is very happy with this purchase."
Review 7 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ugh,
February 15, 2014
By: Swack
"The coat is barely satisfactory. It is warm but baggy with too much space in the shoulders."
Review 8 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made,
February 12, 2014
By: knobgoose
from Lees Summit, MO
"The construction of the jacket was very good. Extra touches made to the entire jacket."
Review 9 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Sportscoat,
February 4, 2014
By: Nilknarf
from Raleigh, NC
"Very attractive. Great quality, as with all Orvis products. It also meets my criteria for matching many different pieces of clothing and can be for dress or casual."
Review 10 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great classic,
January 18, 2014
By: chvall
from Cherry Valley, NY
"When we were first married I gave my husband an Orvis tweed sport coat. It was one of his favorites- after several years it finally had to be retired. Imagine my surprise when I discovered 30 years later that Orvis still carried this beautiful classic coat. He was thrilled to get it as a Christmas present and I must say the cut of the coat is very flattering, the tweed is lovely and it is just the right weight. Nice to see that the Orvis quality standards have not changed. Now my sons want Orvis coats!"
Review 11 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well made as descibed,
January 16, 2014
By: jhzup1
from houston tx.
"despite slower than expected and paid for delivery. the Tweed sport coat was as advertised well made . tailoring is required but was expected."
Review 12 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fit and feel,
January 15, 2014
By: tim3
from Pittsburgh,PA
"The fit and feel of the coat just not as good as I would have expected - not soft - harsh and scratchy"
Review 13 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Handsome Jacket,
January 15, 2014
By: CandySay
from Limerick PA
"I was somewhat disappointed with the overall quality of tailoring and
fabric with this jacket. It is a tweed and I guess I expected more of the softer Harris Tweed. It just doesn't hang right. For the price I really expected more.
"
Review 14 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country Gentleman,
January 5, 2014
By: Tozl
"Nice wool for better than casual, classic great looks, but never dated. Well-made."
Review 15 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive!,
January 4, 2014
By: AZEsq
from Arizona
"I was looking for an all around, go to sport coat, and this seems to fit the bill exactly! Great weight, lots of well designed interior pockets, and the swing back makes for ample freedom of movement. Fit is perfect for this 6'1" 240 lb. ex college linebacker and crossfitter...little to no tailoring needed, and plenty of room in the arms and shoulders, where I've had problems finding jackets that fit before.
Looks like another one in a different color is on the order list!"
Review 16 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sports coat!,
December 19, 2013
By: Demeter
from Boston MA
"I gaev this coat to my husband as a gift. He has one in brown that he loves. Now he loves both of them."
Review 17 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tweed coat,
December 11, 2013
By: treebird
"I bought this coat for my husband for Christmas, so I don't know yet if it will fit him. It is well constructed, but I do have a few complaints. First of all the website description says it is made in Scotland, which is one of the reasons I bought it. Actually the coat label says that it is made in Portugal.
Secondly, I got the dark brown tweed, and it is absolutely covered with fuzz, strings and lint. I have never seen tweed that looked like this. I will need to take a lint brush and completely clean the coat before I gift wrap it. I hope the lint brush does the trick, or the coat will be sent back to Orvis.
This is a lot of money for me to spend, so I am disappointed that Orvis sent me the coat in this condition.
I am recommending the coat with reservations.
"
Review 18 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once we got the right size.....terrific,
December 6, 2013
By: CandySay
"Happily once we got the right size, it is perfect. Just the right wool weight and color combination"
Review 19 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delighted,
December 6, 2013
By: MicMac
"Beautifully tailored with quality fabrics. Comparable to jackets at more than twice the price."
Review 20 for Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome,
December 2, 2013
By: 356tub
"This is a handsome, well made jacket that fits perfectly! Well worth the price"