Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat

The legendary fit and comfort of our popular Heritage Field Coat imbued with authentic Southwest flavor. Fully lined for added warmth, our fleece coat is trimmed with black corduroy along the upper handwarmer pockets, and two lower patch pockets. Fleece jacket for men in red multi. Polyester/acrylic shell. Pure cotton trim. Polyester lining. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44); about 30½" long in size medium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.564 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
50 of 55(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Review 1 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat,
March 24, 2014
By: Yusuf
from Bellevue, WA
"This is a polar fleece jacket. Ordinarily I don't much care for polar fleece because it pills so readily and looks bad very quickly. Using a depilator can cure this problem, and can be purchased at any fabric store. This polar fleece is very unusual in that it looks woven, not spun. It is thick and very warm, for spring or autumn days. The pattern is bold and beautiful...taken from some Native American design. It is lined with something like acetate or satin, so it slips on easily, and doesn't snag on your clothes underneath. I have many polar fleece jackets, and I can say without hesitation this is my favorite. Orvis consistently comes up with slightly unusual garments that are extremely well made."
Review 2 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Aztec coat,
March 22, 2014
By: DLOB
from Findlay, Ohio
"I have looked @ this coat for a while on -line and finally ordered it....good looking,warm and brings many complements"
Review 3 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique style,
March 13, 2014
By: Stan44
from Westfield,indiana
"This coat is essential for the fashionable. Great style and fit. Lightweight yet extremly warm. Coat has a silky interior lining which makes for ease of removing."
Review 4 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Western Look, Orvis Modern,
March 2, 2014
By: Georgy
from Naperville, IL
"I liked this beautiful men's jacket that I bought one for my Father and for my Husband. Neither one of them would have ordered it for themselves but they love the design, quality, and warmth of the Orvis brand."
Review 5 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
March 1, 2014
By: rattlesnake
from pa. bmt.
"Like the looks of the jacket but the fit just does not feel right. Plain and simple it makes you look heavy."
Review 6 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not quite what I was expecting,
February 25, 2014
By: pjlwa
from Seattle area
"The actual product wasn't the same color as the one in the photo. Too bad - I really liked the one in the picture so I'm going to return it. The coat itself is great-just not the color I was expecting. Bummer"
Review 7 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bell tent,
February 25, 2014
By: ab100
"Fits like a bell tent. It hangs out badly in the back! the random pattern is nothing like the ad. The front is all red and blue."
Review 8 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
February 13, 2014
By: deano123
from Cary, NC
"Nice coat, it fits well with plenty of room to be comfortable but not too big, I would call it accurately sized. the pattern is just good looking in my opinion. Warm and comfortable to wear while not bulky, it should be my cold weather go to for years to come. Only negative is that there is no inside pocket where I like to keep my phone. The hand warmer pockets are placed just right."
Review 9 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Field Coat,
February 11, 2014
By: Matteo1992
from Richmond, VA
"Great jacket, plenty warm and easy to layer, not to mention the santa fe print that makes the jacket something special."
Review 10 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great knock-around coat,
February 11, 2014
By: carpevino
from Hendersonville, Tn
"Love this stylish coat. It is not only incredibly comfortable but it will keep you warm and toasty without excess bulk and weight. Feels light as a feather, and the smooth lining makes on and off a breeze when you are layering in the cold weather, ie no snagging on sweaters or sweatshirts that seem to bind up on shoulders and upper arms in so many coats. This coat is a great value at this low price, a combination of comfort, warmth without weight, and style."
Review 11 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wanted it for a long time.!,
February 7, 2014
By: doglover5566
from Nashville, TN.
"Finally bought it. Best coat purchase in years!. My daughter tried to take it back to college but I saw it in her back seat. May need to buy her one. Well made , warm but not stiff. Can work using it. Happy now for the rest of the winter."
Review 12 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Santa Fe Field Coat,
February 7, 2014
By: RJRDER
"Nice look,light weight.The lined arms are a major plus."
Review 13 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
classic outerwear,
February 4, 2014
By: Macsx3
from Richmond Virginia
"very attractive jacket,silky interior, you will get asked where to get one,at Orvis of course!"
Review 14 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat!,
February 4, 2014
By: MountainFisher
from Canada
"The coat arrived quickly and just as we were having a mid-winter cold snap. Not only beautiful, a great fit and light weight but very warm. Turn the collar up, hands in the warmer pockets - bring on the snow! Love the corduroy features, especially on the elbows - which tend to wear on any jacket. Design reminds me of my dad's old red and black plaid coat he would wear when working on the house or the car in cold weather. However, this coat would look equally good on the ranch in fall, on a fly fishing trip in the spring, or taking off the chill first thing in the morning on a mountain camping trip in summer. How about walking downtown in the city? Good there too. Thanks, Orvis - a quality product at a reasonable price - exactly as described. Proud to wear it."
Review 15 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Favorite Santa Fe Coat,
January 30, 2014
By: LAFishmaster
from Lafayette, LA
"I live part time in Santa Fe. I can't tell you how many people stopped me and asked where I got my coat. Coat is very warm and is very comfortable."
Review 16 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
January 20, 2014
By: Wornout
from Waupaca, WI
"Just got this coat. Warm, stylish, and generously cut. I'm always leery about anything with acrylic as part of the fabric, so I will see how it holds up. Shipped quick and customer service was very helpful."
Review 17 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Could be better...,
January 17, 2014
By: JJ99
"I agree with a previous reviewer as to odd effect the random pattern placement has on the coat. Seems like a real missed opportunity-- something the competition out in Portland always makes sure of. Almost a dealbreaker for me, but not quite... although I wouldn't keep the coat if I hadn't gotten it on sale.
Otherwise, well-made, comfortable, and quite warm for a single fleece layer."
Review 18 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Coat,
January 16, 2014
By: sgoregon
from Portland, OR
"Orvis' Santa Fe Fleece Field coat is a refreshing take on the ubiquitous 'field coat' offered by many clothing retailers. The Indian blanket pattern is quite beautiful, and the satiny interior lining makes putting the coat on and taking it off quite effortless. As another reviewer noted, an interior pocket would have been a nice touch, but hardly a big concern to me. I would describe this coat as medium weight, and good for temps in the 30s and above. As a man who is 5' 10" and appx. 140 lbs. with a 40" chest, the Medium fits perfectly, with the sleeve length almost as if the coat was tailor-made for me. All in all, a nice jacket to have and wear here in Portland, OR for all of our seasons (excluding the heat of summer!)"
Review 19 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Southwest vibe,
January 15, 2014
By: chris10452
from Gallupville, New York
"I bought this jacket during a frightfully cold snap here in upstate NY and was a little surprised at its lightness. I am happier that it's light (my Orvis shearling has sub-zero beat) and this one will get plenty of service in 20 - 45 degree temps.
I especially like the full satin-y lining which lets it slide on over any combination of shirt/sweater/fleece/vest I might be wearing.
The print is bold and will draw attention but, like the southwest, it will be warm and accommodating. It's casual. But then, I'm casual. It is "fleece" but a very short knapp fleece that will pass as wool or wool blend but without the weight. In pounds and ounces, it's very light.
Button cuffs are a very nice touch."
Review 20 for Santa Fe Fleece Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Priceless beauty,
January 13, 2014
By: Menergy
from Campbell, California
"This Santa Fe fleece field coat has everything you want in a real man's coat. Functionally it is perfect for the coldest weather. Aesthetically it is a beauty with rich red and onyx black. The fit is perfect for a 2X-er such as myself, and I am overjoyed that for once the coat drops below the hips! This helps to keep air from creeping underneath the bottom hem. The double closure holds in the body heat perfectly. Realize that this coat is quite heavy, but for me, this is what I wanted -- no wimpy threads here!"