Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket

Weighted perfectly to function as a light jacket or a heavy shirt, this soft Sherpa-fleece jacket is the ideal answer when a winter day spent relaxing at home is punctuated by the occasional run outdoors to fetch wood for the fire. Donegal flecks lend a rich look. Lightly brushed inside for extra warmth and a great against-the-skin feel. Two button-closed pockets. Adjustable cuffs. Sherpa-fleece jacket in natural. Acrylic/polyester/cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
9 of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Review 1 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Beware. Way too big..!,
April 12, 2014
By: delrew
from Halifax, NS, Canada
"I was quite partial to this fleece shirt and read the reviews carefully. The tenor was that this one is really oversized and that one should order one size smaller. Good advice indeed, and out went my order .. M instead of the usual L. Turns out that the delivered shirt in size M was still way to long (but fit me otherwise). I had to shorten it by a whopping 4 inches, as this shirt is not to be tugged in. So I'm disappointed with the product description and out of pocket $12 for the alteration. Quality and workmanship is OK."
Review 2 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy on,
April 10, 2014
By: maga
from bowie, md.
"this shirt jacket is perfect for spring or fall - it is easy to put on before going outside - very warm but lightweight it is ideal for driving as well as watching grandchildren outside for extended play"
Review 3 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Warm Sweater, and People Notice It,
April 4, 2014
By: Alphorn
from Calgary, Alberta, Canada
"Definitely not a summer weight, and more of a jacket than a shirt. The Donegal material attracts notice, so if you want to blend in this isn't the garment for you. The comments were good, but it is more for an evening on the porch of an upscale B & B - not a sweater I would wear to Walmart."
Review 4 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuzzy Wuzzy,
April 3, 2014
By: christianAlaska
from Sutton,Alaska
"This button up is Awesome! It's very comfortable and warm. It is sized generously which is good,it allows you to layer up under it and wear as your main shirt/jac. I live in Alaska and its the beginning of spring for us ,so our mornings are still chilly ,25 deg. I love this product,its soft and fuzzy! Men your woman will not let go of you when you wear this shirt. Trust me on this one. I wear mine as much as I can. Enjoy, Christian-Alaska"
Review 5 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved the look but WAY oversized,
March 20, 2014
By: maxren17
from Gaithersburg, MD
"I wear XXL and XL in some designs. I know Orvis shirts run large so I ordered XL. The XL fit like a 3XL. So I based my re-order on that fit and ordered a M!!!! None of the reviews I read mentioned the oversized fit. Overall, once I received the M it fit perfect. Love the shirt."
Review 6 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marvelous shirt-jac,
March 6, 2014
By: 95ctyankee
from New Haven. CT
"This is a snuggly, warm, comfortable shirt/jacket perfect for the winter months, especially for those who live in or prefer slightly colder homes as I do. Well made
and pleasing, highly recommended. Initially I had ordered a size too large and received a replacement very quickly. Orvis also quickly notified me of their receipt of my returned garment..
"
Review 7 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Looking But HUGE,
March 6, 2014
By: maxren17
from Pasadena, CA
"The Fleece Shirt is great looking, but none of the reviews mentioned it was oversized. I normally wear an XXL and knowing Orvis shirts run large I ordered an XL. This shirt fit like a tent! Based on how the XL fit I probably should get a M. So, be aware that this shirt isn't just big... it's HUGE. The sleeves at least were a normal length but everything else is gigantic."
Review 8 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
February 10, 2014
By: mogo
from Bartlett Illinois
"Terrific shirt !!! Excellent customer service. Excellent RETURN and REPLACEMENT procedure.AAA+"
Review 9 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not so great,
February 7, 2014
By: Robs1
from San Francisco Bay Area, CA.
"It's more than a jacket than a shirt. In the past, you had a great shirt that doubled as a heavier shirt. This I thought was a replacement for that type of shirt. NOT... I have 2 of these shirts and they're great. You have not replaced them as a product to purchase.....maybe some day?"
Review 10 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donegal Fleece Shirt/Jacket,
February 3, 2014
By: Dick51
from Chicago, Illinois
"I wore this to a super bowl party. I was warm and recieved numerous compliments. The garment is functional and looks good. The finished hem allows wearing "out" versus tucked in. Much more comfortable and loose. It has been cold in Chiberia. One person commented that "I must be too old to be cold", to which I said yes...and I am warm. Five stars from me. Well done!"
Review 11 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More Jacket than Shirt,
January 4, 2014
By: BMcDoug
from Calgary, Canada
"I purchased a similar product from another retailer and was disappointed because it was too lightweight. This 'jacket' is much heavier and maybe a little heavier than my ideal, but I like it more than the lighter weight product.
The colour is as expected and the material although heavier is quite cozy.
If you are looking for more of a jacket than shirt you should be pleased with this item."
Review 12 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
January 1, 2014
By: leelea
"The fit and color were good however
I disliked the shedding of material."
Review 13 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
feece shirt misrake,
April 30, 2013
By: yardbird
from Bay Area, Northern CA
"This feece shirt doesn't look nearly as good in actuality as it does in the picture online, It does not seem like a quality item. It has an odd shape w/ somewhat short body but w/ long sleeves & the collar is huge, out of proportion huge. But to be fair I have to say there's no question that this would be warm in cold weather. Overall I didn't like it so I sent it back, but had to pay shipping both ways just to try it on. Not happy about that."
Review 14 for Donegal Fleece Shirt Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not for me,
December 3, 2012
By: gigi1947
"The material that the shirt is made of leaves a lot to be desired. The small black dots that are a part of the fabric detrack from the overall appearance of the shirt. Also, the fabric is very thick, much more than the picture portrayed."