Orvis Ratings and Reviews

French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt

Plush garment-washed French rib cotton is as cozy as can be. This casual zip-front sweatshirt has a stand collar and twill tape trim. In paprika only. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 26" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.894 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
8
67 of 85(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Review 1 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just as I had hoped,
March 20, 2014
By: Bunnell
"I was specifically looking for a sturdy zip-up sweatshirt that could be worn either alone or as a jacket. This one turned out to be just what I had in mind. I haven't yet washed it, but based on the feel, it's good quality fabric that will wash/wear well. The description that it's "generously cut" is accurate. I fall between a small and medium size. I ordered the small and the fit works well whether I wear it alone or layer it over a tee or turtleneck."
Review 2 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
perfection,
January 11, 2014
By: graciemarie
from bay area
"It isn't the easiest garment to find but Orvis hit the ball out of the park with this one. The fit was divine & the color perfection. This is not always the case for me with Orvis. I'm pretty small and have lots of issues buying clothes. I was very pleased that this item worked."
Review 3 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Color!,
December 21, 2013
By: Fishlover
"I read a few of the reviews for this item before I made the purchase, so I knew to get one size smaller, and I knew that the color might not be right. But, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and I absolutely love this color, which is sort of terracotta/ persimmon. I normally wear a medium, so the small was right for me.
I do agree with several other reviewers who mentioned that this sweatshirt needs pockets. But because the color is so wonderful and the fabric and fit are so nice, I can forgive this shortcoming.
"
Review 4 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect out and about item to wear,
December 9, 2013
By: Paquita
from Austin, TX
"Just love the style, feel and color
of this sweatshirt. Just wish I could
pair it with a tee like yours. Have
managed to hook it up with other
items in my wardrobe and it looks
great. Highly recommend this shirt.
"
Review 5 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice cotton jacket,
August 7, 2013
By: mable
from Annapolis MD
"This is a nice, substantial quality cotton jacket that doesn't pill. Good length in the body (I'm tall). Amazingly, a bit long in the sleeves but they can be rolled up if desired."
Review 6 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good for layering,
May 2, 2013
By: farmerg
from Alberta
"A bit larger than I expected (for a large size) and more orange than paprika, but it will do as an over layer to some other sweaters."
Review 7 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Summer jacket,
April 30, 2013
By: Faithfulfriend
from London
"Put it on and wore it immediately. Lovely. Agree slip in pockets would have been a bonus. Sleeves are too long, but tuck up ok. Long sleeves may look 'cool' for youngsters, but are a nuisance e.g. when cooking, and wear quickly thus reducing how long garment will last."
Review 8 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this sweatshirt,
March 6, 2013
By: dids
from Hilton Head Island, SC
"I am very pleased with this item. The fabric is a great weight for a medium jacket in chilly weather, but also can be layered under a fleece or heavier coat for very cold weather. The slightly fitted drape allows this jacket to go from sporty to casual dress. Ideal for a weekend away. I am 5'8" and the sleeves are perfect."
Review 9 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cozy fleece,
February 16, 2013
By: teehappy
from MI
"Perfect Sweatshirt. Fits beautifully and keeps me warm. I was a little disappointed in the navy blue. It looked washed out."
Review 10 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt,
January 24, 2013
By: geriB
from Ormond Beach FL.
"I am quite pleased with this purchase, although the sleeves tend to wrinkle. The fabric is much nicer than I had anticipated."
Review 11 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweatshirt,
January 16, 2013
By: grammieinnh
from nh
"After getting the sizing right, usually wear a Large but it was too big. Med fit perfectly. Like the paprika color will go with a lot of earth tones. Well made. Warm."
Review 12 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good value for the money,
December 28, 2012
By: Eggfoo
from British Columbia, Canada
"Reasonable quality for the price but the only con is lack of pockets."
Review 13 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Go-To Sweater,
December 9, 2012
By: katmommy
from KY
"This sweater is versatile...one you'll reach for every time. The weight is perfect. I hope that more colors will be available in the future."
Review 14 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
polished and casual,
December 3, 2012
By: Gailen
from CT
"I bought this top for myself last year and love it for its quality, comfort and looks. I'm always being told it has great lines. This year I was asked for one gift by someone: a top exactly like mine. So now I've bought one as a Christmas present and know it will become as much a uniform for her as mine as has been for me - great looking, polished and comfortable to boot."
Review 15 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Color wrong; return great!,
November 2, 2012
By: terrace23
from Sugar Land, TX
"I ordered it in paprika; too orange;
sent it back (easy to do!) and reordered navy. It has come and I love it. Have worn it. Good quality material and sewing!
"
Review 16 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable and Attractive,
October 15, 2012
By: Satis
from Alaska
"Really like this Sweater. Bought the orange one first then the navy. Didn't give it 5 stars because it does not have pockets. I am a big pocket fan!"
Review 17 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
very disappointed,
October 5, 2012
By: Maxine3
from Marblehead, MA.
"I was so looking forward to wearing this sweatshirt. I ordered one in navy last year.The paprika product didn't have pockets, my navy one does. What happened? I consider pockets very important. I'm sending this back and am sad not to be able to keep this."
Review 18 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hopes dashed,
October 1, 2012
By: janiemac
"This looked like the perfect little jacket/sweatshirt but not so. It is completely boxy - no shape what soever and the deal breaker is no pockets. For the price it might be well constructed, but no style at all."
Review 19 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
zipper problem,
September 21, 2012
By: Gaelic2Garlic
"Zipper sticks and is difficult to zip up. Then the jacket bulges out because the zipper is stiff and bulges out. It does not lie smoothly and I find this very uncomfortable. I am going to return it to you, as a matter of fact!"
Review 20 for French Rib Mock-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No pockets,
September 18, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Temecula, CA
"My wife ordered this product which was advertised in the catalog as having "side-seam pockets". It didn't have pockets, so we returned it."