Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Herringbone Fleece Vest

A distinctive take on a fall-through-winter essential. The unique herringbone fleece we used in this vest offers up a traditional sporting look with an exceptionally soft hand—as well as just the right amount of warmth when worn over a sweater or under a sport coat. Rugged waxed-cotton trim sets off the shoulders, collar, and hem. Two front handwarmer pockets with zip closures, vertical zip chest pocket. Full front zip. Fleece vest for men in brown. Polyester/acrylic. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 26⅜" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
3
44 of 56(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Review 1 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lightweight (but warm) fleece vest,
October 3, 2014
By: Hampsteader
from Near Philadelphia, PA
"I've been looking around and trying on similar vests from several brands and this one is by far the nicest in terms of material, styling and trim, quality of manufacturing and fit.
So many fleece vests are really poorly put together and made of that awful feeling cheap fleece that reminds me of a cheap acrylic sweater.
This one has nice, soft texture and some waxed cotton trim pieces, as well as a decent zipper. It's lightweight and not bulky, but warm.
The cut is standard - not slim fit nor big and baggy. It is a bit on the short side, which suits me fine because I'm not tall.
I bought the plainer brown one of the two colors/patterns even though both are labelled Herringbone for some reason.
Hope it lasts for as many years as the Orvis watch I wear everyday.
Will be great for all but the coldest of days."
Review 2 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vest is a winner,
March 12, 2014
By: Margebirdwatcher
from Missouri
"This was a gift that was very much appreciated. Recipient said he loved it. It was very comfortable and looked great."
Review 3 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed,
March 3, 2014
By: tm123
from NY
"I ordered an XXL and the width was big enough but the length was much too short."
Review 4 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not a Good Fit,
March 2, 2014
By: daamtx
from Texas
"Very classy looking, but made too short in length."
Review 5 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vest with Style,
February 28, 2014
By: JimOG
from Shawano, WI
"The herringbone fleece is an older style. I think that is a very attractive look. I am glad I bought it. The only negative that I would have (the entire line) is that it should be offed in tall sizes."
Review 6 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No silver lining,
February 28, 2014
By: KarmaKing
"I received this and returned it. I felt it was overprice given it wasn't lined with anything on the inside."
Review 7 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, very good.,
February 17, 2014
By: shoveler
from California
"As others have said, it's a bit on the short side; otherwise a winner."
Review 8 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too short,
February 8, 2014
By: TheDogPad
"I should have trusted the reviews I read. The vest was too short and had to return."
Review 9 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
To Short,
February 6, 2014
By: abcd123
from UK
"Much to short!
Full collar suggests its an outer garment but being so short you need a top layer to cover your back and this is uncomfortable over the waistcoat collar."
Review 10 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great looking but too short,
February 4, 2014
By: Brad9988
from Fort Worth TX
"I really like this vest, but it is cut too short, so it looks funny on me. I'm only 6' tall. I actually ordered a second one in a larger size, and it is a little too big on me, yet still too short to really look right. I'm really disappointed. I wish they made a longer/taller version, but I can't really even use this otherwise cool vest."
Review 11 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A professional look,
February 4, 2014
By: jjjolley
from Dallas, TX
"This vest fits appropriately, Im a 16.5-35 and a large is just right. The look is sharp, received several compliments."
Review 12 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compliment getter,
February 1, 2014
By: supyakbowzoo
from Cecil County, MD
"I bought this vest in the herringbone style and its quality is top notch as one can expect from Orvis. I have not been disappointed and, apparently no one else is either, as it collects compliments wherever it goes. Very pleased overall."
Review 13 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
goo buy,
January 30, 2014
By: mjbr
"Great looking vest and quite unique. The fleece is very soft. Fits true to size. It gives a nice warm look on a really cold day."
Review 14 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smartly styled vest,
January 22, 2014
By: donieJ
from Chatham, New Jersey
"I love my Orvis herringbone vest that I purchased for myself. It is a classic style, perfect fit and I wear it to work on casual Fridays. I think I may have to purchase one in another color."
Review 15 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vest,
January 16, 2014
By: Beth2222
from Knoxville, TN
"My husband looks so handsome in this vest. I love the herringbone look. The vest is also very soft and very warm. Well worth what we paid!"
Review 16 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and cosy,
January 16, 2014
By: kmglasgow
from Abbotsford BC
"Unlike other vests made of wool, this one is warm and cosy without becoming itchy as it warms up. The pockets are well placed and great for keeping hands warm. Good value!"
Review 17 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas present,
January 16, 2014
By: Shaver23
from Shaver Lake, CA
"My husband loves this vest. Fit is perfect and it is warm without being heavy or bulky."
Review 18 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking vest,
January 16, 2014
By: McNasty
from Washington DC
"The size was perfect. The pattern is great. I get lots of compliments on the vest. very unique item to have. Remember, its a fleece material with the herringbone pattern in it, not actually the herringbone material. Very happy I bought it and I hope they stop selling it so I'm the only one I know who has it!"
Review 19 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful but disappointing,
January 15, 2014
By: heddi
"In the packaging, the vest looked great and was of a very high quality. Unfortunately, even though my husband is only 5' 11" and of a reasonably slender build, the vest was not long enough, and, therefore, did not look good on him. We had to return it."
Review 20 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A change of pace ...,
January 13, 2014
By: DickieDoo
from Hood River, Oregon
"Fleece and fleece vests are certainly not a new category of mens clothing.
But fleece that looks like a nice old-fashioned herringbone tweed? Now that is a kick in the pants!
Here in Oregon, a fleece vest is a neccessary item over or under whatever else you may have on. Practical. but invisible.
Here is a retro herringbone vest that can look good over a shirt and tie if that happens to be your style, or no tie if that is the occasion, A snap-back to 'preppy' before that word was used. A tip-of-the-hat (and I wear an Orvis fedora) to a time before 'casual Friday'.
The vest is well-cut and tailored. And it is fleece, a fabric that works in a region where a Subaru is the common car,"