Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Herringbone Fleece Vest

A distinctive take on a fall-through-winter essential. The unique herringbone fleece we used in this vest offers up a traditional sporting look with an exceptionally soft hand—as well as just the right amount of warmth when worn over a sweater or under a sport coat. Rugged waxed-cotton trim sets off the shoulders, collar, and hem. Two front handwarmer pockets with zip closures, vertical zip chest pocket. Full front zip. Fleece vest for men in brown. Polyester/acrylic. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 26⅜" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
18
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
8
89 of 110(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Review 1 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Star Product,
February 20, 2015
By: Kinshasa1
from Norfolk UK
"The Herring Bone Fleece vest is a superb product that is both comfortable and practical. I have worn it both "out of town" fly fishing in the Falkland Islands and on a recent visit to London! The fabric and design are especially well suited for town and country alike. Hard wearing and washable it is one of the range of Orvis products that excels in performance and looks."
Review 2 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Best,
February 16, 2015
By: 30173017
from TX
"Vest is nice and I kept it, but I think the vest should be lined. Inside pockets get hung on items, but just looks unfinished especially when partially open."
Review 3 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
February 12, 2015
By: MajorMac
from Maine
"Very nice vest, warm and comfortable as well as quite stylish.
It really dresses up a pair of jeans for a casual night out for dinner.
"
Review 4 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
February 9, 2015
By: Larryw
from Augusta Ga.
"This is one of the nicest and warmest vest that I own.It goes great with jeans or khakis"
Review 5 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Should have believed the othe reviews!,
February 3, 2015
By: Bristol403nut
from Herefordshire
"Sadly this fleece is going back. This will be the first time I have had to use the returns facility. The cut is all wrong and must have been designed for a short and stout person not a 6'3" tall with 44" chest.
Never mind, it has not dented my faith in Orvis !
"
Review 6 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loved it but...,
February 3, 2015
By: hiker2by2
"My husband and I loved everything about this vest but it was too short for his 6'4" frame. Wish it came in tall because it looks great and he would have worn it often. Went with everything."
Review 7 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vest or waistcoat?,
February 3, 2015
By: Okapi
"Useful garment and I've worn it a lot. But it could have done with being a couple of inches longer to hang comfortably. Described as a fleece waistcoat when I bought it, but billed as a fleece vest on the latest communication from Orvis. A garment that's not sure what it is?"
Review 8 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
February 3, 2015
By: Londonguy
from London UK
"Fits very well and can be worn comfortably under a winter jacket. Coped well with sub-zero temperatures in Belgium!"
Review 9 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Designed for pot-bellies?,
February 1, 2015
By: JeremyHartley
"The gilet is of good quality but the cut seems to be designed for someone who is smuggling a basketball under their jumper. This makes it unwearable for anyone with a normal body shape. I'm 6'0 and 180lbs - pretty average build and it just does not fit."
Review 10 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not a good purchase,
January 29, 2015
By: rodf
"At first this vest looked great. But, within a month of wearing it it started 'pilling' on the front. The drawstring on the right side broke almost immediately. I would not recommend this vest."
Review 11 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
January 28, 2015
By: Goosehunter1
from Minnesota
"I am really pleased with this vest. I wear a lot of vests and this is a great addition."
Review 12 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Vest,
January 26, 2015
By: MNMAC
from Minneapolis, MN
"I love this vest. The feel is great, the fit is great and the quality is very high. Minnesota winters can get cold, but this vest is perfect with a casual sports shirt and Khaki pants for office casual or a casual shirt and jeans for happy hour."
Review 13 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't want to take it off!,
January 26, 2015
By: bvs820
from louisville, ky
"Wonderful garment. Very warm and comfortable, especially these cold winter days. So glad I bought it."
Review 14 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
January 26, 2015
By: Angus7
"Just what I was looking for. Way but not bulky and formal enough to be be worn just about anywhere"
Review 15 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmest Vest,
January 26, 2015
By: HJones
from Jackson, Alabama
"I first ordered the size medium and it was a little short. But we ordered the size large and it was perfect! It's great quality, and the colors look great. My boyfriend can not stop talking about how warm it is!!"
Review 16 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Slightly disappointing,
January 23, 2015
By: Lincs
"Although this is the usual quality I expect from Orvis, the style is a little shorter than I would have liked and the zip fastens on the opposite side than I am used to."
Review 17 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and comfortable,
January 22, 2015
By: Falaises
from Essex
"Arrived quite timely bearing in mind it was sent from the States. Very pleased with it as it is warm and just my fit."
Review 18 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not for the UK,
January 21, 2015
By: oldtyke
"This is a "tweed effect" jerkin, and the effect - close up - is naff.If it had been fabricated out of real tweed, it would have been a very good purchase; but as it is it just does not look right."
Review 19 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice, Practical Vest,
January 20, 2015
By: alabamadmd
from Birmingham, AL
"Great looking vest that is obviously better than your typical department store alternative. You'll find yourself wearing it quite often because it goes great with brown shoes/boots.
I wear a Medium in just about every Orvis product, but I had to bump up to a Large for this particular product."
Review 20 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the Job,
January 14, 2015
By: Meonfisher
from Fareham, UK
"I had been looking for a waistcoat to wear outdoors for some time.
When I saw the Orvis Herringbone Fleece I knew this would fit the bill.
I ordered a large as I am six foot tall and 165lbs. When the waistcoat arrived I was delighted, well made and good looking. The fit was generous allowing me to wear it over a shirt and jumper comfortably. The length was perfect. Just the job for the colder weather. Great buy.
"