Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Herringbone Fleece Vest

A distinctive take on a fall-through-winter essential. The unique herringbone fleece we used in this vest offers up a traditional sporting look with an exceptionally soft hand—as well as just the right amount of warmth when worn over a sweater or under a sport coat. Rugged waxed-cotton trim sets off the shoulders, collar, and hem. Two front handwarmer pockets with zip closures, vertical zip chest pocket. Full front zip. Fleece vest for men in brown. Polyester/acrylic. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 26⅜" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
4
53 of 67(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Review 1 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 19, 2014
By: hillrider27
"This was a present for my dashing 6 foot son, never short of lady friends and rather particular about his attire. The fleece vest was an instant success and a favourite garment ever since ."
Review 2 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome purchase,
November 18, 2014
By: sfletchervpmaer
from Charlotte, NC
"This is an incredible vest. Great looking and just the right weight. Incredible"
Review 3 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made My Dad smile.,
November 14, 2014
By: Cakefactory
from Sussex
"I bought this as part of a birthday gift for my dad, he is not a one for jumpers but he has rarely been anywhere without it since.
It's smart, easy to care for and extremely practicable, it's perfect for his needs.
I may need to get one for myself soon.
"
Review 4 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit and Warm,
November 13, 2014
By: Bill502
"Typically have trouble finding the right fit, normally need tall sizes. This fit perfectly and is really warm as well. Highly recommend."
Review 5 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quaility product,
November 11, 2014
By: 56Cowboy
from Amarillo,TX
"Received prompt, fre shipping and discount from Catalog. Enjoying wearing the prduct!"
Review 6 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
November 10, 2014
By: Stoneybrook
from Southeast, MO
"Far exceeded my expectations. Very comfortable and perfect fit. I'm Not very tall so the length was just right"
Review 7 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Herringbone Vest,
November 10, 2014
By: OrvisMikeS
from USA
"Excellent Quality, Lightweight yet warm. Good looking too."
Review 8 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Pleased,
November 6, 2014
By: fisherman08
from Lancashire
"I am made up with this item, quality 100% fits like a glove, was worried because some reviews said the item was short in fit. However it fits me very well and just the job for a brisk sunny Autumn Days walk"
Review 9 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY,
November 3, 2014
By: koiman
from taunton england
"Top quality fleece waistcoat as expected from Orvis.
Superb Value for money
"
Review 10 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
huge,
November 3, 2014
By: davido67
from london
"I purchased a large and in my opinion it was at least xl and would have fitted some one with a huge beer belly returned and did not request a smaller size as I thought the medium would have been similar"
Review 11 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
October 28, 2014
By: NewEnglandGuy
"I have been an Orvis customer for years, this vest just does not meet the quality & appearance standards that I expected. I returned the vest to an Orvis store and purchased an different one (same price)."
Review 12 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lightweight (but warm) fleece vest,
October 3, 2014
By: Hampsteader
from Near Philadelphia, PA
"I've been looking around and trying on similar vests from several brands and this one is by far the nicest in terms of material, styling and trim, quality of manufacturing and fit.
So many fleece vests are really poorly put together and made of that awful feeling cheap fleece that reminds me of a cheap acrylic sweater.
This one has nice, soft texture and some waxed cotton trim pieces, as well as a decent zipper. It's lightweight and not bulky, but warm.
The cut is standard - not slim fit nor big and baggy. It is a bit on the short side, which suits me fine because I'm not tall.
I bought the plainer brown one of the two colors/patterns even though both are labelled Herringbone for some reason.
Hope it lasts for as many years as the Orvis watch I wear everyday.
Will be great for all but the coldest of days."
Review 13 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vest is a winner,
March 12, 2014
By: Margebirdwatcher
from Missouri
"This was a gift that was very much appreciated. Recipient said he loved it. It was very comfortable and looked great."
Review 14 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed,
March 3, 2014
By: tm123
from NY
"I ordered an XXL and the width was big enough but the length was much too short."
Review 15 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not a Good Fit,
March 2, 2014
By: daamtx
from Texas
"Very classy looking, but made too short in length."
Review 16 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vest with Style,
February 28, 2014
By: JimOG
from Shawano, WI
"The herringbone fleece is an older style. I think that is a very attractive look. I am glad I bought it. The only negative that I would have (the entire line) is that it should be offed in tall sizes."
Review 17 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No silver lining,
February 28, 2014
By: KarmaKing
"I received this and returned it. I felt it was overprice given it wasn't lined with anything on the inside."
Review 18 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, very good.,
February 17, 2014
By: shoveler
from California
"As others have said, it's a bit on the short side; otherwise a winner."
Review 19 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too short,
February 8, 2014
By: TheDogPad
"I should have trusted the reviews I read. The vest was too short and had to return."
Review 20 for Herringbone Fleece Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
To Short,
February 6, 2014
By: abcd123
from UK
"Much to short!
Full collar suggests its an outer garment but being so short you need a top layer to cover your back and this is uncomfortable over the waistcoat collar."