Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt

As warm and inviting as sweatshirts get. We created this new Donegal fleece, with its soft heather gray ground and flecks of black—and this new pullover sweatshirt—with cold winter days in mind. The double-layer shawl collar secures with a horn button and fiber cord loop. The rib cuffs and hem band work in tandem to help keep the heat in. Pullover sweatshirt for men in heather gray. Cotton/acrylic. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.711 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
5
25 of 38(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Combo,
April 7, 2014
By: SEC45
from TX
"Old grey sweatshirt meets stylish sweater! Excellent combo!"
Review 2 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt,
March 14, 2014
By: trainguy31
"I like everything about the sweatshirt. The styling and the fit are great."
Review 3 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not what I expected,
March 6, 2014
By: temora
from Utah
"Maybe the name threw me off but I expected an much heavier weight sweatshirt. Looked good but not what I expected!"
Review 4 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
unbelievable comfort,
March 5, 2014
By: MKLindsey
from Maryland
"The fit was perfect for a casual sweater designed for warmth. Is nice and provides movement for outdoor (fly fishing) activities. The most important feature is the feel and texture of this garment. It takes soft to a whole new level. Order it now !!!!"
Review 5 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
To loose for me,
March 1, 2014
By: Feeley
from Santa Barbara ,CA
"I didn't care for the sloppy stile of the fit. I thought it was going to be like the sweatshirts in the catalog. It is not. So I returned it."
Review 6 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm,
February 25, 2014
By: mclemen1053
from Anamosa, Iowa
"This sweatshirt is made with quality and is warm and fits perfectly. It upholds the Orvis name and I will always refer it to everyone."
Review 7 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casual and Comfy,
February 21, 2014
By: AmyF
from New Tripoli, PA
"Bought for my husband and he loves it! Wears it over his flannels and other shirt! Fits true to size and it looks great on him!"
Review 8 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite pullover,
February 17, 2014
By: logbook
from Tupelo, MS
"What an awesome pullover. Fit is great and the material weight is perfect for the early spring and fall. I highly recommend this pullover"
Review 9 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance is deceiving,
February 13, 2014
By: MOLB
from Mid-Missouri
"Material lacks structure. The name "Shawl" should have told me that the garment fits like a shawl you would throw around your neck. The collar lacks shape and stands too high. The front button gathers the neck opening too tight. The waste hangs and provides little to no elasticity. The material overall is lightweight and thin. I was expecting a garment more substantial with better shape than this provides. Look around for something else. It appears stylish in the catalog until you get it on. Must be a close-out item."
Review 10 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just OK,
February 9, 2014
By: volsfan
"The shirt is not as thick or as warm as hopped for. It does not wash well. Appearance is sloppy when worn. Although the shirt is somewhat comfortable it is rather pricey for the quality."
Review 11 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
January 31, 2014
By: DPMit
from Suffolk, VA
"I was hoping the sweatshirt would fit. It felt great. I wear a XXL. It fit everywhere except in length. Not cut proportionately. Returning it today."
Review 12 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality Control Issues,
January 23, 2014
By: Ymo45
from Milwaukee, WI
"I love Orvis designs, the store I know and its professional staff, but this sweatshirt fails the quality control test. I returned this item the day after it arrived. This is the third item that I have returned, in addition to not buying several garments in the store because of issues of fit and tailoring.
In the case of this sweatshirt, the waist band didn't have enough elastic. So, the back of the shirt hung straight down and did not cling to the waist line.
"
Review 13 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Awful,
January 23, 2014
By: cashelane
"So disappointed in this top! So out of shape and for a top so expensive it was not worth buying. It looked great in the ad but a shapeless shirt and the button fell off!
Always had luck in other purchases with Orvis but not this one!
"
Review 14 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really nice sweater,
January 18, 2014
By: VicA
from eastern PA
"I especially like the way the collar is designed. great sweater to wear around the house if you keep the inside temperature low"
Review 15 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A better fit is needed,
January 16, 2014
By: Gotclothing
from Greenville, NC
"I like the shirt but the cuffs and waistband could fit better. I would also like to see this product without the large button."
Review 16 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A "Keeper",
January 16, 2014
By: kandkfox
from New Mexico
"I am very pleased with this shirt. I wear it while shooting Sporting Clays in the early morning and the shawl collar is not only warm but comfortable without being too bulky.
If I could have two wishes, I would like to see this available in more colors and in a TALL size.
"
Review 17 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth the money,
January 9, 2014
By: Christine1234
from Atlanta
"Poor quality. Short in the length. Barely touches the belt. I paid how much for this(!!) and gave it as a gift....embarrassing. It is going back."
Review 18 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 3, 2014
By: Kat2
"Loved this sweatshirt! Perfect fit and weight. Color is excellent."
Review 19 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Style,
January 2, 2014
By: Lansingjack
from ithaca,NY
"great style and fit was good but I was disappointed in the quality of the material. I expected better from an Orvis Product.
Orvis did do a great job in their customer service -the first shirt that was shipped never arrived at my home. Orvis immediately shipped another and made sure I had the second package in time for Christmas - Great a job!!
"
Review 20 for Donegal Shawl Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top notch!,
January 2, 2014
By: tonado
from Northern New Jersey
"I have more than a dozen tops from Orvis currently in my wardrobe.
Last year I received an Orvis sweater that had leather elbow patches. I loved the sweater so much I bought all the other colors!
The Donegal is, like all the other Orvis sweaters I own, top notch in all respects. Would very much recommend this sweater!
"