Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip

One of our best-selling styles, the Mechanic's Sweater is an indispensable addition to any gentleman's wardrobe. We've combined this popular favorite with our Signature Softest Sweatshirt material to create this rugged, go-anywhere quarter-zip sweater. Lined with a contrasting cotton rib, it features mock suede on the shoulders to ensure comfort when carrying a bag or backpack, and a ribbed waist and cuffs to shut out chilly drafts. Handy jacket-style front pockets. Genuine leather zipper pull. Quarter-zip sweater for men in brown. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Review 1 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
April 24, 2014
By: Tailwinds
from Coeur d'Alene, ID
"This was a gift for my son and he just loves it! Says it's his favorite top now! He loves the softness inside and it fit true to size. Love the quality!"
Review 2 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Heavy Cotton Sweater,
March 5, 2014
By: CTDOC
from Novelty, Oh
"A bit heavier and bulky than I had expected. Would be more useful and less bulky without the "lining." Nice design"
Review 3 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Built,
February 1, 2014
By: supyakbowzoo
from Cecil County, MD
"This is the second "mechanics" piece of clothing I've ordered from Orvis and I am very pleased with the both of them. Both are heavy and will absolutely keep you warm; I have put them to the test. This particular item is lined in the sleeves so it feels nice over skin and yet insulates very well. It has a nice "down to earth" look."
Review 4 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome sweater,
January 31, 2014
By: Nordic
from Clifton, VA
"This sweater is the real deal...excellent quality."
Review 5 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WHY????????,
January 29, 2014
By: BCHBUM
from FORKED RIVER, NJ 08731
"WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG FOR THIS MOST COMFORTABLE MECHANICS COTTON SHIRT ? AGAIN, I RECEIVED A WINNER FROM ORVIS ! YOU HAVE NEVER LET ME DOWN IN ALL THE YEARS I HAVE BEEN PURCHASING FROM YOU ! SHIRT IS WARM , BUT WEARABLE FOR ALL OCCSASIONS , INSIDE AND OUT !REMARKABLE ! THANKS,,, BEACHBUM JERSEY SHORE !100%"
Review 6 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 29, 2014
By: Wheaton
from Chicago Illinois
"The sweater was both warm and comfortable. Nice fit and immediately felt like an old friend. A favorite during the past cold spell in Chicago."
Review 7 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Orvis Product,
January 27, 2014
By: Chivas6874
"As usual, another great Orvis product. Extremely warm and comfortable. Thanks, Orvis."
Review 8 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Sweater!,
January 18, 2014
By: AVJersey
"I ordered this sweater for my husband and he just loves it! There was a small hole in one of the pockets, which was disappointing, considering the quality normally received from Orvis. However, I was able to quickly sew it and it is perfect now! The fit is great and the color is as described!"
Review 9 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Favorite,
January 9, 2014
By: CTCustomer
from Southeastern CT
"This instantly became my favorite sweater. It is lined, which stops the wind, and it is comfortably heavy. Yet, you don't get too hot."
Review 10 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality and Service,
December 31, 2013
By: mr59
from Washington DC
"I ordered this sweater for my husband for the holidays. Ordering was easy and the delivery was right on time. The sweater was beautiful and he loved it. The quality was superior. Thanks for making holiday shopping so easy."
Review 11 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Fashion and Function,
December 29, 2013
By: Hechler
from Yonkers,NY
"This sweater fulfills the role of providing remarkable warmth, while at the same featuring an excellent fashionable statement."
Review 12 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High Quality and Warm,
December 26, 2013
By: ChasC
from Atlanta, GA
"Very nice sweater. Thick and warm. Fits perfectly. Love it!"
Review 13 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the line purchase!!,
December 25, 2013
By: Shore66
from Manasquan NJ
"Wow!!!! What a wonderful sweater this turned out to be! Heavy weight cotton and smooth soft leather. Feels like it will last a lifetime! Thanks Orvis once again!!"
Review 14 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another winner from Orvis,
December 24, 2013
By: beard
from Toledo,Ohio
"My wife gets me the perfect gift again,goes with my mechanic's full zip sweater & mechanic!s vest.
What more can I say excellent quality and fit.Wearing it to midnite
Mass tonite. Merry Christmas!
"
Review 15 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OUTSTANDING,
November 13, 2013
By: TBONEJTOWN
from JAMESTOWN, NY
"ANOTHER GREAT SWEATER FROM
ORVIS- EVERY MECHANICS SWEATER I HAVE PURCHASED LOOKS SHARP, IS WARM, AND VERY VERSATILE- WEAR THEM
WITH JEANS OR KHAKIS- A LOT OF
COMPLIMENTS. THESE ARE A GREAT VALUE
"
Review 16 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanic Quarter-Zip,
March 28, 2013
By: CavScout
from Hershey PA
"I have only had it a short time and have already worn it three times. It is on its way to being the best sweater I have ever had. Great look and comfortable. Perfect for late winter early spring."
Review 17 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All winter long,
February 17, 2013
By: Kingcrab
from Anchorage, AK
"I live in Alaska. This is my third lined sweater from Orvis. I have another Mechanics sweater in cardigan style. These sweaters can't be beat for warmth, comfort and great styling. In a land of cheap sweatshirts, I stand out in these functional and well-made sweaters. I spent this past weekend in Barrow at Kivgiq, and wore this sweater under a shell at 20 below. Toasty warm! It's all I need to look great and stay comfortable."
Review 18 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mechanics jacket,
February 7, 2013
By: jlflaggman
from Kalamazoo, MI
"Overall, I wasnt pleased with this item but it was truly amazing quality and that is why I would recommend it to a friend. The length was a little short for me as I have a long torso."
Review 19 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More Than a Sweater,
February 1, 2013
By: Mainiac
from Dixmont, ME
"This is a great sweater. I love the color and the style. Beyond that, the sweater is lined and it makes the sweater toasty. Although it is lined, the sweater breaths and you stay warm, without getting overheated. I would recommend this to anyone who likes the style, wants to a little more to stay warm, or anyone who likes outside activities."
Review 20 for Cotton Mechanic's Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater I've ever owned,
January 25, 2013
By: Henk
from Aurora, IN
"This sweater keeps you warm when it's cold outside and isn't too warm when worn inside. Very good product."