Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Plaited Wool Crew

Pair this luxurious wool crewneck sweater with one of our tartan shirts for a great look that'll keep you warm from fall through the holidays. Knit in complementary tones of gray in an allover rib design, with the lighter shade plaited on top, it's finished with rib trim at the neck, cuffs, and hem. Men's wool sweater in heather gray. Pure lambswool. Hand wash or dry clean. Imported.Sizes: XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plaited Wool Crew
Review 1 for Plaited Wool Crew
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks Good,
May 2, 2013
By: KCee
from N W Texas
"I've only had this sweater for a short time (but it's been unseasonably cool) and I've had time to wear it. I've gotten a number of favorable comments and no unfavorable ones. The sweater is warm and the lambs wool is very comfortable. It's an all around good sweater at a reasonable price."
Review 2 for Plaited Wool Crew
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Wear,
April 24, 2013
By: 1goldentrout
from Clovis, CA
"Living in Ca it is difficult to find quality wool sweaters for fly fishing in the elements. Found this sweater at Orvis. Quality gear that keeps you warm in cold wet weather."
Review 3 for Plaited Wool Crew
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 22, 2013
By: Qualitybuff
from Brookline, MA
"This is an excellent sweater that I would not have gotten had I not seen it in the store as the website picture makes it look very different. The photo shows a sweater that might appear soft and light.
However, this is in fact a really warm, heavy knit sweater for cold winter days. The contrast vertical ribbing in light grey and dark grey is striking and looks somewhat like a contemporary version of harris tweed. It looks great over a dark turtleneck or collared shirt.
It was on sale at the Orvis store closest to my house and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a thick winter sweater that is sturdily made."
Review 4 for Plaited Wool Crew
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Absolutely Not As Advertised,
January 4, 2013
By: 356fan
from San Francisco Bay Area
"Actual product does not even resemble the photo in the catalog; wrong colors, striping too prominent and, when examined in person, poor "make" that should embarrass Orvis for charging so much for it."
Review 5 for Plaited Wool Crew
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific sweater!,
December 28, 2012
By: stan2
from Chicago, IL
"I am a real sweater guy and I really like my new plaited wool crew neck sweater. It fits great and is thick, warm, and comfortable. This is a real winter sweater, good to take the chill off no matter how cold it gets. I like, too, that looks good with khakis or cords. I especially like the unusual weave; I've never seen anything like it. I would recommend this sweater to anyone, plus it would make a great gift."
Review 6 for Plaited Wool Crew
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The way sweaters should be,
December 25, 2012
By: woolywill
from Calgary, AB
"The Plaited Wool Crew from Orvis is exactly how sweaters should be constructed. Great fit, fantastic quality, not scratchy, heavy duty, and great looking country style. I expect to get many seasons of wear from this very well made sweater."
Review 7 for Plaited Wool Crew
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
He ain't heavy, he's my sweater,
December 16, 2012
By: Shades
"Could wear it a lot more often if it was about half the weight. A nice, but heavy sweater."
Review 8 for Plaited Wool Crew
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
smart & warm,
November 13, 2012
By: mjp1
from Bellingham, WA
"Very nice jumper and just the right weight for chilly days"
Review 9 for Plaited Wool Crew
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy Winter Sweater,
October 8, 2012
By: Seattlite
from Seattle
"I sent this one back. It is a well made heavy winter sweater, not what I expcected based on the picture. I wanted a much lighter monotone sweater. The sweater has sort of a striped or houndstooth appearance. It is made for casual, outdoor use, and should keep you warm in very cold weather."