Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dog Blanket

Help your dog beat the cold in an easy-to-use fleece jacket styled in the fashion of a traditional horse blanket. Made from cozy fleece, it goes on quickly, requiring only two hook-and-loop fasteners (chest and belly) to achieve a snug, comfortable fit. Fleece dog jacket in gold. Measurement reflects neck-to-tail length. To determine the correct size, measure from the base of the neck to the base of the tail. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
89 of 93(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dog Blanket
Review 1 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish Dog,
October 9, 2014
By: BLT0614
from Longmont, CO
"Bought this dog blanket for our Golden Doodle, Cooper. He LOVES it. We put it on and he immediately went to his bed to take a nap all nice and cozy. Too cute. Very stylish too."
Review 2 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great!,
September 29, 2014
By: aowam
from Centreville, VA
"The only reason this is not 5 stars is that it doesn't fit my greyhound very well. I bought an XL for my boy who runs about average as far as male greyhounds go (75lbs, 27" neck to tail base, 29.5" at the shoulder). The length is perfect, but the rest is too big. I'd have to add more Velcro for the belly strap and the chest to make it fit well. Maybe I can use it to layer coats when it gets very cold.
Otherwise it is perfect! Verywarm. I had had a hard time finding another horseblanket coat. Only wish it came in different colors. It seems to be imported from Ireland?"
Review 3 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great dog blankets,
February 28, 2014
By: louella
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"These are the best. Finally a dog coat that fits my athletic, large chested, long legged English Pointers."
Review 4 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect canine wear,
February 18, 2014
By: Hounddog
from Livingston, NJ
"Just rec'd our boy's jacket and I'm not sure who loves it more me or him. It's stylish, fits perfectly and doesn't shift like some of his coats do. An excellent product!"
Review 5 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cutest Dog Blanket,
February 13, 2014
By: bib311
from Kentucky
"I looked for dog coats, sweaters, etc, but this "blanket" is the cutest ever! It's very warm, washable, and looks so sharp on my boxer. He has gotten lots of compliments on his little 'horse blanket", and he seems to actually enjoy wearing it. I really recommend this blanket."
Review 6 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog coat,
February 10, 2014
By: julienola
"I'm really pleased with this item, which looks like a miniature horse blanket... for a dog. Many of the jackets and sweaters I looked at online were either silly and/or not really designed to hang well and keep the dog warm. My airedale, Thelonious, seems quite happy with his. Not only is he warm, he's "stylin'"!"
Review 7 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My mom is the best,
January 24, 2014
By: ziggyblue
from Southampton NJ
"My mom had been looking for a warm coat for me that was comfortable and stylish. Even tho she doesn't exactly know how old I am, she knows I'm a senior but I still like to show off for the ladies. She spotted this coat in the catalog and thought I'd like it. Boy was she right! Fits me like a glove, and I'm warm during our daily walks. I've gotten lots of compliments and can't wait to show off in front of that classy little poodle that just moved in around the block. Thanks mom!"
Review 8 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Loves It!,
January 22, 2014
By: Gimlet
from --
"Great coat--warm, attractive, well made--clearly will last longtime. Only wish I had caught the Orvis listing of Dog items earlier.
--Gimlet 6"
Review 9 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multicolored Horse Blanket,
January 20, 2014
By: newdogowner27
"Live in the Northeast so cold and wet. Blanket is a nice weight. We have a few Orvis coats and love them all. This coat we use for cold days like 30 degrees. It fits very well Velcro around neck and another that goes under dog to side. Keeps him very snug and warm. We have washed it a few times and put in the dryer. Looks brand new, did not shrink or lose its colors. Our Dog is @ 90 lbs, a Coonhound and size XL fits great. What I would like to see Orvis do is give you an option of having a slit put in so harness hooks can come though. We have brought all our coats to a tailor to solve this problem, But Great product. we are very satisfied."
Review 10 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Outerwear,
January 16, 2014
By: Iinka
from Seekonk, MA
"If you are looking for a jacket,sweater, anything to keep your best friend warm while he is out in the elements this"Dog Blanket" is your answer! It is not bulky like a jacket - It doesn't stretch like a sweater. It's great - My dog is used to being outside every day -all day-until I come home from work. I tried the sweater - stretched & ripped. When I bought the blanket he gave me a look like "Here we go again." After a couple of days he was looking forward to his new blankie. Buy it - You won't be sorry!"
Review 11 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lovely sweater,
January 16, 2014
By: sandpile
"It is beautiful but since we had not yet seen our new rescue grandchild we ordered the wrong size.for Christmas gift. The process of returning it and the attitude of the personnel on the phone was so very much appreciated."
Review 12 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog/horse blanket,
January 16, 2014
By: Jessie1
from Chicago
"Our golden retriever loves this blanket and she has been sleeping in it during the Polar Vortex! The large size fits her well - she is 57pounds. Cosy and well made"
Review 13 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Horse blanket for large dogs,
January 1, 2014
By: mbell
from Lanham, MD
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This product is absolutely perfect! I have an 85 lb Great Dane/Lab mix who I take out in the cold. I really felt she needed something and was thrilled to find this. I use a prong collar with a quick release mechanism and had to find something that wouldn't interfere with the collar or release. Since she doesn't like anything over her head this definitelly filled the bill. I wouild recommend this to anyone. It is easy to put on and when I wash it I just hang it over the curtain rod in the bathroom."
Review 14 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Blanket,
December 31, 2013
By: PelicanMan
from Bloomfield, MI
"What a beautiful Irish dog blanket. Very colorful and very soft. Only problem...our dog refused to wear it. Tried three times and every time he sat down outside our garage and refused to move! Don't blame the Orvis blanket, blame the dog."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Runs very large,
December 28, 2013
By: JanDinNY
from New York
"Nice looking, warm and durable, but it runs very large. I had to return the size L in exchange for a M for my Lab. Returns are easy, but best to pay close attention to measurements and sizing when ordering."
Review 16 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality & Usability,
December 23, 2013
By: GusT
from Edina, MN
"Top Quality dog jacket that is easy to put on and take off. Materials are excellent and colors are true and vibrant. Be cautious sizing--likely need to go down one size from chart recommendaton."
Review 17 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
December 21, 2013
By: Sammy1324
from Enfield, CT
"I recently purchased this blanket for my dog Sammy. The quality is excellent and I would recommend it to any dog owner battling the cold winter months here in Connecticut. It's very stylish and we have had many compliments. It runs big so be sure to look for the breed of your dog before ordering. Worth every penny. He loves it. Very durable."
Review 18 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Coat,
December 11, 2013
By: scoutie
from Woodbridge, NJ
"I purchased this coat for my 8 1/2 year old Golden Retriever. It really is made to cover his entire back and chest area. Good Fit and looks terrific in him. He likes to wear it on these cold wintery days. Good for when it snows. Easy to put on and off. Excellent Velcro closings."
Review 19 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase,
December 10, 2013
By: TheChief
from Wisconsin
"This blanket runs large but still works for my Shiloh Shepard. It is great as it is below zero with wind chill factors well below that; but, the dog still stays warm when outside albeit for very short times."
Review 20 for Dog Blanket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Breezy...,
December 6, 2013
By: JamieK
from Amagansett, NY
"Simple and easy to put on and take off, the blanket keeps the pooch warm for the long walks on cold days. Highly recommended. Runs big (size small fits a 35lb shepherd mix)."