Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Bison Leather Harness Boots

An icon of American adventure seekers, the harness boot has been a longtime favorite of motorcyclists and anyone else looking for a rugged, great-looking boot that's built to go the distance. Elegant in its simplicity, it's constructed with a genuine American-bison-leather and cowhide leather upper, which sits atop a thick leather outsole with a solid rubber heel plug. Fully leather lined with a stitched leather welt. Leather harness strap goes over the foot and behind the heel and is secured with an antiqued solid brass ring.Leather harness boots for men in brown. Martinsburg, PA, USA. Whole and half sizes 10. 12½"H.
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bison Leather Harness Boots
Review 1 for Bison Leather Harness Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Right Size - Wrong Design,
May 13, 2014
By: Chee
from Cambridge, MA
"I wanted these to fit and despite earlier reviews bought them anyway.
It is impossible to get one's foot in these boots! The boot shaft is just too small!
"
Review 2 for Bison Leather Harness Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing Purchase,
March 27, 2014
By: Kaos3452345
"I bought these boots a while ago, and upon receiving and trying them on, I couldn't believe how small they are and look. I could barely wiggle my toes, and the fit is way, way too snug. Worse yet, the boots themselves resemble that of boys', girls' or women's boots, not men's. I now realize why all the biggest sizes were sold out. Like the aforementioned reviewer stated, you must go up a couple sizes larger than your normal size!
I doubt Orvis will re-stock more sizes any time soon. That may be the reason why this product is on sale or could well be discontinued."
Review 3 for Bison Leather Harness Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fitting boots,
September 24, 2013
By: Boomer1
from Oklahoma
"These are true to size and the leather looks great."
Review 4 for Bison Leather Harness Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bison Leather Harness Boots,
May 29, 2013
By: Bulldog1
from Upstate New York
"High quality and the fit is good. These boots are similar to the other harness boots I have purchased in the past except the boot has a texture which gives it a nice look over smooth cowhide. I expect these boots will last a very long time. I am very happy with this purchase."
Review 5 for Bison Leather Harness Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Try on in person,
February 4, 2013
By: 09876
"These boots are well made and they did look like the picture. I ordered them online and returned them. The pair delivered fit true size but the leather was incredibly stiff. It was very difficult to get my feet in and out of the boot. They may have broken in with use. I suspect the stiffness varies from pair to pair as the bison leather is not a typical shoe leather.
Try them on in person if possible. I would not recommend ordering online or catalog without first trying them on.
"
Review 6 for Bison Leather Harness Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
runs extremely small,
November 14, 2012
By: JMS43
from Westchester, ny
"While the boots look great, I could not get my foot in. When i returned them the guys at the store tried them, no one was able to wear them. I think i would have to order two sizes too big just to get my foot in."
Review 7 for Bison Leather Harness Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really 3.5 stars...maybe?,
November 5, 2012
By: Ihatenicknames
from Cary, NC
"For what you get I give these boots 4 stars easy, but the Orvis picture is a little misleading. The full grain that you see in the picture is not what I recieved. With any leather product the grain is always a little different, but the boots in the Orvis picture are a little nicer than what you get. I did treat mine with some Lexol and they look a goodly bit better and the leather is nice and thick. All in all I am happy, but this is the second pair of boots where the picture is a little too much "better than life". I would rather something more honest and I would have still purchased the boots."
Review 8 for Bison Leather Harness Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Boots,
November 3, 2012
By: 58hawken
from Long Island NY
"Received promptly, boots are exactly as they appear on line. I've worn them several times; they've been extremely comfortable from the very first wearing. Stylish, sturdily constructed, fit very well and comfortable - a very good value and all that could be expected, as has been everything I've purchased from Orvis."
Review 9 for Bison Leather Harness Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Boots But Slippery Sole's,
October 25, 2012
By: PatsRaw275
from Virginia Beach, VA
"These boots are visually appealing and are easy to break-in. The bison upper is thick and durable. I'm having a rubber half sole put on the bottom. They come with a rubber heel cap, but the leather sole is too fragile and slick for such a boot. I hope that the rubber half sole will provide a little more traction and extend the wearable lifespan of the boots."