Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt

Luxurious, refined, yet practical—a perfect answer to the arrival of fall weather. We take the same best-selling blend of 80% long-staple Pima cotton and 20% soft, warm Australian merino wool that you've loved for years, intimately blended, spun, and woven into a special 7.2-oz. fabric to make a button-front shirt that's remarkably comfortable and warm. Button-down collar. Patch pocket. Two-button adjustable cuffs. Please note: In order to achieve optimal color, the fabric-content percentage for the charcoal-colored shirt is 90% cotton/10% wool. Washable. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Tall sizes 3" longer in sleeves and 3½" longer in body.
Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (235 reviews)
5 stars
193
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
5
217 of 235(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Review 1 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Itchy Wool,
January 27, 2015
By: BobFlyboy
from Glenwood Springs, CO
"with out a tee shirt layer you could feel the wool itch on skin"
Review 2 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Casual Shirt,
January 26, 2015
By: GoBears72
from Central California
"The colors and patterns in these shirts are both unusual and very nice combinations. The fabric is cotton-wool, making them warm and soft. They are slightly scratchy, but still quite comfortable. They need a cool-iron touch-up for semi-casual use."
Review 3 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality and Appearance,
January 19, 2015
By: GlendaV
from Aiken, SC
"The look and feel of the fabric of the shirt is fantastic and it looks wonderful on. The fit is good. The sizes run true. I would purchase again!"
Review 4 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Understated Style,
January 15, 2015
By: Tim1ygtn
from Youngstown, NY
"This cotton/Merino shirt fits generously, wears comfortable and will compliment both a blue blazer or jeans. In a quiet and demonstrative way it is "style"."
Review 5 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 14, 2015
By: Ann15tx
"Beautiful fabric and workmanship.
True to size.
Will need light touch-up with iron.
"
Review 6 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great look!,
January 6, 2015
By: tykesmom2
from Tallahassee FL
"shirt looks great..already washed it and turned out fine! love all the colors."
Review 7 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
softer than i thought,
January 6, 2015
By: insuranceman8
from Hanover,Mi
"I ordered this shirt hoping it would not be scratchy , it is not. This shirt feels good in the wind, does away with that dress shirt chill. This shirt is my new go you shirt this winter."
Review 8 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He Loved It,
January 5, 2015
By: JoyInOK
"Purchased this for my father-in-law, and he loved it. High quality, and fit was correct based on the size chart. On screen picture looks more yellow than the actual product, which has all the colors nicely balanced."
Review 9 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is in love with this shirt!,
January 3, 2015
By: Christine312
from Central NY
"My husband has wanted a new houndstooth wool/cotton shirt for a very long time.
I was finally able to find it in your catalog.
The price is really way too high but whatever; we are just passing through so why not buy it
"
Review 10 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shirt,
January 2, 2015
By: Jasmine1dog
from Alabama
"My husband loves these shirts. My only problem is finding the in stock in his tall size. He owns three of them but he'd own more if we could get them in his size."
Review 11 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than expected!,
January 2, 2015
By: seester12u
from Parma, Mi.
"Wow! The shirt looked nice in the catalog along with the fabric description...but not as nice as when I opened the box to check it out. Beautiful "hand" and so well made! this was my first purchase from Orvis and I am hooked! Thank you!"
Review 12 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shirt my husband has ever had,
January 1, 2015
By: ContrayM
"I bought this shirt for my husband for Christmas and he said it ws quite possibly the favorite shirt of his lifetime. I would say the is a pretty awesome review as he is a bit picky.."
Review 13 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More comfortable than flannel!,
December 31, 2014
By: MDJ57
from Charlottesville, VA
"A warm very well made comfortable shirt. Handsome Buchannon tartan in a great casual shirt. Fits great wears well."
Review 14 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks and Feels Great!,
December 31, 2014
By: SiestaKey
from Southington, CT
"Got this as a gift for Christmas and am very pleased with this shirt."
Review 15 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
December 30, 2014
By: JeffofPennsWoods
from Northeast, PA
"Finally, a shirt of some quality. I got the dark gray check with the red (or maybe orange) window pane plaid overlay. It's a really nice, button-down shirt that can be worn casually with jeans or with a dress pair of wool flannel pants for the office. I also bought a flannel shirt that was over 8 oz. It also had a nice black and gray plaid that was not too tight of a plaid; not too busy. I would really love heavy weight flannel in solid colors of black, gray, navy, brick."
Review 16 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Shirt,
December 29, 2014
By: Jenejane
from Santa Fe, New Mexico
"I love this shirt and so does my husband. The colors are so bright & true. He will wear it for many years since all Orvis products are such high quality and the colors never fade."
Review 17 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
December 29, 2014
By: PattyMcb
from SF Bay Area
"This shirt lives up to the name "luxury". This is the second shirt I've bought for my husband as he fell in love with the first one and wears it more than his other shirts. It's truly worth the price, and holds up well. Great colors."
Review 18 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
December 26, 2014
By: SCH229
from Boston, MA
"A beautiful shirt, great fit, looks expensive, excellent quality material, I ironed out the wrinkles easily and quickly. A nice weight too, not like flannel, but definitely heavier than an ordinary shirt, and a little darker in color than in the catalog, which actually pleased me."
Review 19 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shirt,
December 24, 2014
By: ddchemist
from Lake Villa, IL
"This shirt has a good feel and my husband loves the colors."
Review 20 for Luxury Cotton & Merino Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
unique shirts,
December 22, 2014
By: JMar49
from Houston, TX
"I love the color selection and the quality. You are not going to see everyone else wearing one of these shirts. Holds up well and does not wrinkle. It is great that it is machine washable even though it is part wool."