Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket

Inspired by the iconic leather jackets worn by the men who built American oil and gas drilling sites in '30s and '40s. Made with the same attention to detail and quality reminiscent of the time when the finest materials were used in constructing clothing for rugged use. Vintage, broken-in looks. Straight bottom cut. Straight-cut cuffs. In brown. Vintage washed cowhide. 100% cotton lining; 50% viscose/50% acetate sleeve lining. Professionally clean. USA.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Review 1 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality jacket,
December 7, 2013
By: 1960
from So. California
"Like this jacket a lot. The sleeves don't cover my hands but they seem to be a tad longer than normal. My normal sleeve length is 34". It is definitely made from quality leather of good weight and feel."
Review 2 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No chimp.,
October 18, 2013
By: Casablanca
from Tucson
"Great jacket, excellent quality. If you're not a chimpanzee you'll have to spend extra to get the sleeves shortened."
Review 3 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Jacket,
August 6, 2013
By: Divad
from Upstate New York
"I bought this jacket last year. It was everything I had been looking for in a rugged leather jacket. I wear it with jeans, chinos, moleskin pants, tweed pants. As one reviewer mentioned, the sleeves were extremely long, my tailor took care of that, not a problem.
I love it.
"
Review 4 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally...,
April 9, 2013
By: HarryK
"...finally a rugged, cow-hide knockabout style - NOT the bomber I wore n USAF.
Straight cut sleeves with NO geeky "snaps". Straight cut bottom and true side-tab adjustments make the style distinctive and masculine.
Loved the color and texture as soon as I un-zipped the garment bag. The fit was perfect including sleeve length."
Review 5 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Star buy,
February 18, 2013
By: GreyOne
from Cork, Ireland
"This is the most expensive item of clothing I've ever bought but that fact has already receded into memory - it feels as though I've had it for years. It sits naturally on my frame (180cm & 80kg), a perfect fit in medium, with a comforting weight. I can see this being a favourite and stalwart for a long time to come."
Review 6 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost awesome,
February 1, 2013
By: Divad
from Upstate New York
"This is a very nice jacket except for the sleeves. I had my tailor shorten the sleeves and now........ it's awesome."
Review 7 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leather coat,
December 3, 2012
By: jdwtl
"I though that the coat I ordered was black as it appears black in the photo in your catalog. The ad does say it was brown, but it looked black. When I got it I really liked it. It is very high quality and I am fine with the brown color."
Review 8 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Leather Jacket!,
November 30, 2012
By: KPfor3
from Hoboken, NJ
"I was looking for the perfect jacket to give to my boyfriend for his birthday. He said that he didn't need a leather jacket but when I saw the Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Jacket on the back of my Orvis catalogue, I knew my search was over! The color, fit, and style was exactly what I was looking for and when he first saw his gift, his face lit right up. In fact, he wore it out to dinner that night. It fit him perfectly across the chest and was long enough in the sleeves and the body. The jacket is soft yet sturdy and has a heaviness to it that you can only get from high quality leather. He and I both love it and are so happy with our purchase! Seeing him in his new threads made it worth lugging it from my house in Wilmington, Delaware on the train, subway, and bus to meet him in Manhattan! Thanks for making my search for the perftect gift an easy one!"
Review 9 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fit & function,
October 1, 2012
By: nomad
from Chicago, IL
"While the look/style of this jacket is very nice, there were a few fit and function issues that I just couldn't live with. First, the sleeves are oddly long. My arms are 34" which is considered average, but the sleeves would need to be altered had I kept the jacket. Second, I had difficulty fitting my hands in the hand warmer pockets. Third, the side adustment tabs are extremely difficult to use. Finally, the jacket is unusually heavy. Not thick, just heavy as in poundage. When it arrived, our mail guy at work asked me if I ordered bricks! As always, the return process is user friendly."
Review 10 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dark Brown!,
May 29, 2012
By: Treed111
from Texas
"This is the finest made leather coat that I have ever seen (and I have several). Stunning quality. I'm 6' 180 lbs. and I like my coats to be roomy. Normally wear an XL but the Large would have been plenty roomy for me. XL was huge on me. Unfortunately, Had to return the coat because it is NOT black. it is DARK BROWN and I already have several Brown leather jackets. Orvis, a little better description please! Picture looks black on my computer."
Review 11 for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
March 15, 2012
By: ParisExpat
from Paris, France
"Have purchased a couple $2000 Orvis leather coats the last couple years. They were quite nice, of course; however, this one is perfect. Design details and quality of leather beat the others by a mile. Orvis large always a great fit. US-made, it's my now-favorite among countless leather jackets. (If Orvis could only get their international shipping costs in line for the expats over here...) Would pay three times more for this in Paris."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cockpit Oil Driller Tab Leather Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1