Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Montana Kit Bag

This rugged shooting bag holds everything you need for the clays course or in the field. Large main compartment features a U-shaped zipper for quick access. Front slash pocket with Velcro® tab and six loops for chokes. Front pocket has padded sleeve for glasses. Open side pocket holds loose shells, while zip-close pocket fits muff-style ear protection. Snap-close leather wrap on handles. Rear zipper pocket. In tan/brown. 9"H x 19"L x 12"W. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
 out of 
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
23 of 26(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Montana Kit Bag
Review 1 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this Bag!,
November 28, 2015
By: TankCoop
from Massachusetts
"I've been using this bag for a few seasons of hunting/training and it works perfectly. Plenty of room in this kit for all the accessories and backups (Bells, Collars, Leashes, Whistles, Multi Tool, Starter Pistol etc etc) for two dogs and still space left over. I've had no issue with zippers, or button and this bag gets a lot of use. I wish the battenkill kit hadn't been discontinued years back, so it matches all my gun bags, but that's just the OCD in me. Buy this bag and enjoy."
Review 2 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 17, 2015
By: GAWingshooter
from Deep in the Georgia Pines
"Wow, what a great bag, and great buy. Much larger than it looked online, so pretty thrilled about that. But, frustrating that Orivs discontinued the Montana Gun Case. I would like to buy the matching Gun Case but it looks like Orvis discontinued it about 6 months ago and when I asked they said they weren't sure they were bringing it back. Looks like they are discounting a lot of their hunting/shooting supplies, which is unfortunate."
Review 3 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
w-end bag,
May 12, 2015
By: lwcihunt
"great w-end carry-on,or day shoot
goes well with BARRON'S UK luggage,
very well made.
Review 4 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed,
March 7, 2015
By: Sportingclays7
from Chicago area
"I was looking for a shooter's bag with lots of pockets including a pocket to hold small items I carry such as my skeet tokens, target card for sporting clays, hearing protection, etc. I was also looking for a well made and good looking bag. This one seemed like the solution. However, the very first day I took it home I packed it with my gear and closed everything up. Perfect. But the first time I opened the top snap (under the Orvis badge) it broke. I returned the bag. Store clerks were understanding that I did not want a replacement. Anyone considering buying this better look closely at quality (or lack of) of zippers and snaps. On a bag like this they need to be first rate. I really like Orvis products in general, but In my opinion, they need to do a re-design for the money they are charging on this product."
Review 5 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Functional bag,
March 3, 2015
By: 1fishon
from Santa Rosa, CA
"I agree with others, this bag was pricey. I was disappointed that the top snap and one handle snap broke almost immediately...top snap should just be eliminated. However I do like it and thought it was not worth the hassle to return it. Quality is good except for the snaps."
Review 6 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not a good range bag,
February 18, 2015
from St. Louis, MO
"I felt this was not a quality bag for the price that had the Orvis name associated with it. Not enough pockets, the main cover snap felt like it would fail over time, this should have just been a magnet closure. The large side pocket should have either a pull tie or flap. I would have liked a heaver material. I ended up sending it back for a refund."
Review 7 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Much less than expected.,
January 27, 2015
By: mokki
from Reno, NV
"The second time I used the bag the closure button on the front of the bag broke. Rather than send the bag back I chose to install a magnetic closure system. This is the only product purchased from Orvis that did not meet my total satisfaction."
Review 8 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Every Hunter Needs One,
January 20, 2015
By: JADBirdHunter
from Charlotte, NC, USA
"I love the field bag. It is classy and holds a lot of gear, as well as boxes of shells. I gave it 4 stars only because the top flap snap broke off because I overstuffed the bag."
Review 9 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift for father,
January 4, 2015
By: HappySonOhio63
from Gates Mills, Ohio
"Ordered online and had not seen product before. Orvis did not let me down. very nice bag, great quality and my father loved it !"
Review 10 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multi-purpose gear hauler,
December 31, 2014
By: ChaseChurchill
from Western NYS
"Shooting gear is easily stored and transported. This bag is incredibly helpful with getting back and forth to the clays course. There is plenty of room for all of my gear as well as an extra layer in case the weather gets a bit brisk. It’s not cheap but as is often true, you get what you pay for with this one."
Review 11 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Shooting Bag - Ever,
December 30, 2014
By: DER2015
from Texas
"Very roomy, with plenty of compartments for all my gear"
Review 12 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So functional,
December 20, 2014
By: Ginger1234
from Tx
"This bag is a great size for my quick 1-2 day get aways to hunting sites. Thanks for creating the bag"
Review 13 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommended,
October 31, 2014
from Florida
"I ordered the Montana Kit Bag and it was delivered promptly. The design and craftsmanship of this bag is excellent. It is certainly inline with other Orvis hunting products. I would highly recommend this bag...it is a must for sporting clays."
Review 14 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great bag,
October 22, 2014
By: FelixD
from Northern Illinois
"This was a gift to replace my last bag that finally died after 41 years. It doesn't look as if I'll out live this one because it is so well constructed and well thought out. It has space for shells, ear muffs and all the stuff we accumulate in decades of clay shooting. It is what I expect for the price."
Review 15 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 3, 2014
By: APShooter
from North Yorkshire
"The Montana Kit Bag is a quality bag which has been well thought out. With many pockets of varying sizes, good padding to protect the contents and made from quality materials I am confident I will get many years of service from it.
No bag is perfect for everyone so I would change some small details like the location of the choke holder and would like some additional features such as feet on the base of the bag to help protect it but I would not hesitate to recommend or purchase this product again.
Review 16 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for travel too!,
May 9, 2014
By: FrankNZ
from New Zealand
"Pack diary, tablet, flashlight, toilet gear, razor, small toolkit, medication, tickets, book, camera - all the 'base camp' needs when travelling in a tough, go-anywhere, easy-access and very masculine bag, and there's still room for sleepwear to stop any rattles. Great purchase, a pleasure to use."
Review 17 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
March 27, 2014
By: awpearson
from Bangor,Me.
"Yes this was a little expensive but you get what you pay for.
Holds all my clay gear with room to spare.
Quality the best that I have seen .
Review 18 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shooting gear bag,
January 22, 2014
By: dopey1
from Edmonton Canada
"Just received my Montana gear bags absolutely delighted with the quality...looks as though it will last a lifetime."
Review 19 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great field bag,
November 5, 2013
By: 5stand
from Vancouver, BC
"I am going to use this as my sporting clay field bag. It has all the room I need and is the right overall size"
Review 20 for Montana Kit Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana Kit Bag,
August 14, 2013
By: jimboy62
from Eastern PA
"Just received the Montana Kit Bag. Well constructed, large enough to fit lots of shooting accessories and ammo. Like most Orvis products, this should last a long time."