Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest

Incredibly tough buffalo hide—thoroughly washed for a softened vintage-military look—makes this leather vest for men durable enough to stand up to the hardest use. Military-inspired design cues, such as epaulets and a full complement of pockets, including a zip-secured chest pocket, and a pair of snap-flap lower pockets with side-entry access. Full-zip front. Knit waistband ensures a great fit. Green-plaid lining. Interior chest pocket. Locker loop. Leather vest for men in brown. Genuine buffalo leather body; rayon blend lining. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
8 of 15(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Review 1 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice enough, but...,
February 14, 2014
By: streeteb5
from Delaware
"I have 2 issues with the order of this vest:
1. There was 1 vest left in Large at a store. The online operator assured me it wouldn't be an issue getting the last Large. They shipped a medium.
2. (Is a matter of personal taste) in my opinion, they over distressed (or aged) the vest. The seams are far too light compared to the color of the rest of the vest. It looks unnatural.
Otherwise, the material and quality are up to Orvis' normal standards.
"
Review 2 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Stiff as a board,
February 3, 2014
By: summer12
from portland, oregon
"This renditon of tanned buffalo is ver stiff and the leather is extremely wrinkled esp on the back. Did not look lke photo in ad.
I have the Spirit Vintalge vest by Orvis with a detachable sheariing colllar and have had many favorable comments from people. This vest is more like a bullet proof vest.
Returned item.
"
Review 3 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overpriced Even on Sale Plus Plus Twenty Percent,
January 30, 2014
By: socoma
from New England
"First of all the vest is wrongly sized. I own more than a few leather vests and take a medium. Always! This vest i couldn't zipper. I knew this as soon as I eyeballed it out of the box. Secondly it is grossly overpriced at its regular price. At its sale price plus 20% is just really overpriced. I found the leather rather pedestrian for its price point. Also the front pockets were completely encased in sewn thread. why it was sewn there I haven't a clue. I gave it a two because I like the style. However the vest was poorly executed."
Review 4 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality, comfortable, good value,
January 16, 2014
By: WillW
from Houston, TX
"I've got some other Orvis cool/cold weather gear, and this is just right for days in the 50's and 60's where it's too much trouble to bundle up but you still need something..."
Review 5 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Leather Vest!,
September 3, 2013
By: Investig8r
from Rancho Cucamonga, CA
"I've purchased other Orvis leather vests, but this one has become my absolute favorite! This vest has a casual but rugged look about it. It appeals to the adventurer side of my personality. The vest is perfect for wearing in cooler temperatures, when a coat or jacket is too much. The buffalo leather is thick but supple and the weight does not make it uncomfortable to wear. I like the position of the hand warmer pockets and that it also has a zippered breast pocket. Some vests do not have an inner pocket, but this one does! The size I purchased which is an "XL" was great for me, ( I normally wear a size 44 R coat)."
Review 6 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Vest,
April 17, 2013
By: NickCayman
from Cayman Islands
"I received this vest three days ago and I must say it is one of the best piece of clothing I have ordered in many years. The leather is very good, I will outlast me, the workmanship is high quality and the fit was perfect. I would be wearing it every day however the weather is too hot at the moment."
Review 7 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Very Good Vest,
March 5, 2013
By: WestCoastGuy
from West Coast
"I read derogatory reviews on this vest but mostly good to excellent reviews before I bought this vest. The liberal return policy at Orvis removed any issues with being stuck with an expensive (for me) clothing item I might not get much use from.
The order was received, promptly shipped as promised and arrived in perfect condition on the promised date.
This vest is the nicest piece of leather clothing I own. The quality of the hide, the stitching and detail work is excellent. It is substantial in weight which will limit the temperature range I can wear it in, but who wants to wear a leather vest in summer?
I have worn it under a rain jacket and as outer wear during this west coast winter/spring. The pockets are sized just right and the lining is of a substantial material that will probably last as long as the outer leather.
I bought the largest size and it fits me very well. I normally take a 2X shirt and was concerned the vest would be too tight, but I can wear a lighter weight wool sweater underneath and fully close up the zipper and still be comfortable.
I am a very happy Orvis customer and feel this was a very satisfactory purchase."
Review 8 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 30, 2013
By: SMC12001
from North Fork, CA
"When I first saw this vest I wanted to order it. But the reveiws were negative. Staments like thin leather, not up to the quality of Orvis caused me to not order the product. Well, I must have received a different leather vest because the vest is excellent quality, the fit is perfect, and the look is outstanding. The leather is top notch quality. Great product. I love the vest. It is rugged yet professional . Very comfortable. I am glad the other person who wrote the review that said she almost didnt purchase also wrote in because I agree 100% with her. This is an excellent product. I am thrilled with it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heirloom gunners vest,
December 16, 2012
By: Sandymalcom
from Monroe ga
"Quality is the best. It's a lot heavier than I imagined but feels good on. A little mor patina than I would have preferred but ok. I'm glad I bought it"
Review 10 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Casual Leather Vest,
December 10, 2012
By: airborne37
from Atlanta GA
"The vest seemed poor quality leather. It did not fit, look cheap and was really disappointing. Not representative of Orvis quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this vest!,
December 5, 2012
By: puglady
from Southern California
"I almost did not order this vest after reading some poor reviews, but I'm glad I did anyway because it's exactly what I wanted. I'm a woman but this vest had all the features I wanted that I could not find before like all the pockets and zipperclosing. I'm 5'5" and a size 6/8 ordered a size small and it fits beautifully. I could not be more pleased."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BAD QUALITY,
November 1, 2012
By: DIRTDOBBER
from CHERRYVILLE,N.C.
"COULD NOT WAIT TILL I RECEIVED VEST..THEN I WAS SO DISAPPOINTED OF THE QUALITY..LEATHER SEEMS TO BE BAD QUALITY FOR THE PRICE"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cheap feel and look,
October 15, 2012
By: Buickeight
from Raleigh North carolina.
"Not up to par with which Orvis is known for. Thin and unimpressive leather. The collar was wrinkled and did not lie flat. Stitching clashed with the rest of the garment. Worth wore like a 99 dollar vest. returning to the store was hassle free."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit for the Fall,
October 13, 2012
By: Steve777
from Amherst, VA
"Weather finally got right to break in the new vest. Excellent! Six roomy, intelligently placed pockets...roomy fit...and EPAULETTES. The only "caveat" is that it really looks "veteran"...like its been on 30 of its 50 required missions. Personally, I just think it adds to its rugged character."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heirloom Leather Gunner's Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value questionable,
October 8, 2012
By: danielb
from Hickory, North Carolina
"I ordered and waited for this terrific looking (in he catalog) vest with great anticipation. When the vest arrived, I opened the well packed box and, if you were looking, I'm sure that you would have seen the disappointment on my face. Product, in my opinion, is not as shown in the catalog, Pockets & other welts were "outlined" by the hand distressing and the leather was thinner and shined more than expected. In short, this product seemed considerably less expensive than the price charged. Most products from Orvis, and I've purchased many, have been well represented in the catalog and I am truly sorry to have had to file this complaint."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.