Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife

The Black Prairie of Mississippi is an incomparable place with picturesque views, quaint towns, and home to Prairie Wildlife, the conservation-driven sporting estate in West Point, Mississippi. For years, initiatives to restore this unique area have been underway and Prairie Wildlife's decade-long efforts have brought back the native grasses, the valuable pollinators, the habitat, and the irreplaceable wild bobwhite quail.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Review 1 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding experience,
March 11, 2014
By: Fortunesmiled
from Silver Spring, MD
"We were thrilled with our experience at the Wingshooting School and Prarie Wildlife and highly recommend both to anyone looking to improve their shooting skills at a comfotable and welcoming lodge.
Four of us attended the school, three of whom were novices. All instructors worked with groups of three students and we spent time rotating between the instructors. Each one knew their craft and taught us something new or reinforced what another instructor said. They did so in a comfortable and easy going manner which really helped the novices. We also shot plenty, enough so that by the end of each day, we were tired and needed a break. All agreed we improved our shooting skills significantly and left the school with renewed confidence.
Prairie Wildlife manager, Harry Pasisis, runs a first class operation. He and his staff could not have been more accommodating. Everything from rooms to meals and service were outstanding. Everyone went out of their way to be of assistance whether it be picking us up at the local airport, running to the drugstore to get a few items we left at home or taking us on a tour of the facilities.
In the end, it we had an outstanding weekend of shooting instruction in a completely relaxed environment surrounded by wonderful people."
Review 2 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific experience,
February 26, 2014
By: Joets
"Thanks to Bruce Bowlen, John Rano and Harry Pasisis for great instruction in a pleasant setting, with wonderful food waiting at the lodge. I learned a vast amount of shotgun lore and skill. I met some fine folks. I stayed around and shot some quail. I'll be back."
Review 3 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old Dog learns new tricks,
February 21, 2014
By: Drjwt3
from West Point
"Excellent food and lodge! The instructors were great and the whole
experience exceeded my expectations. I definitely plan to return to Praire Wildlife in West Point! Thanks to orvis for fun time.
"
Review 4 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'll take a double helping!,
February 19, 2014
By: TDave
from West Point, MS
"Wingshooting School. Excellent experience for novice to experienced wingshooters. Instructors are expert in shooting techniques and delivery of information to benefit the students. Great tune-up for a quail hunt on the same property. Prarie Wildlife facilities offer great views from a beautiful lodge and the staff delivers Southern hospitality others just talk about."
Review 5 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the South,
February 17, 2014
By: Wgmdiver
"My son (40 years old) and I came to the Orvis school at Prairie Wildlife and stayed for a quail hunt. The school was excellent and the accommodations, food and hunting were the best possible. Every single person was helpful and hospitable. We could not have had a better time. I would recommend this to anyone interested in a first class hunting experience. I am somewhat of a "foodie" and the food was gourmet quality. I loved it."
Review 6 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It does't get better than this,
March 25, 2013
By: jstike
from Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
"I visited Prairie Wildlife for the purposes of learning to improve my shooting and to get fitted for a shotgun in a beautiful setting. These goals were not only met, but were exceeded.
I must say, the people and staff at Prairie Wildlife made this experience truly special. The Orvis Shooting Instructors, John Ranos and John Skinner, were professional and fun to be around.
Lodging is first class, cuisine is outstanding and the hospitality unparalleled.
I highly recommend the shooting course as well as the trip to Prairie Wildlife."
Review 7 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect couple weekend getaway,
February 25, 2013
By: Bigdolan
from Jackson, TN
"I am an avid duck hunter and my wife is a "girlie girl". we have been trying to find a common interest. I finally convinced her to try wingshooting with me. We just finished our 2 day course and absolutely loved it. The staff was awesome and really are committed to you having fun while learning how to properly wingshoot.
My wife had never even held a gun, much less shot at clay targets. She was nervous to say the least. Kevin took her the first morning and she was hitting targets that first session.
I have been shotgunning for years, but wanted to learn to shoot better. I absolutely loved it as well.
We did not stay at the prairie wildlife lodge, that was a mistake. It was beautiful and the staff was first rate.
We will go back again to hunt quail the next time.
Heck, I even bought a gun while I was there!"
Review 8 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Shooting School,
January 17, 2013
By: chzheadPylut
from Prairie Wildlife, MS
"This was the best weekend. From start to finish, it was a class act. Lodging, meals, instructors, atmosphere were ALL awesome. I was made to feel at home from the time I walked in the door until hugs were exchanged at the end of our stay.
I would highly recommend you make the journey to Prairie Wildlife; enjoy the top notch instructors, relax on the porch with a drink, and make yourself at home. You will not be disappointed."
Review 9 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fantastic Experience!,
January 14, 2013
By: Wisconsin3
from Wisconsin
"I began this two day course as a novice and left shooting doubles from a low gun position! This course is superbly run by a highly skilled and personable staff. The setting couldn't be better. Prairie Wildlife is a beautiful and peaceful lodge and the acommodations and service were superior. The food was gourmet and matched the standards of the entire experience.
I would return tomorrow if I could!
"
Review 10 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would give it six stars if they would let me!,
March 8, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Starkville, MS
"Orvis Shooting School
I just finished my first wingshooting school at Prairie Wildlife in West Point MS.
I would give it six stars if they would let me!
I learned more about my particular style of shooting in 2 days then I ever expected.
They fixed many of my bad habits and educated me on things that I thought were universal truths that are not the best practices for wingshooting.
I can not say enough nice things about both the Orvis staff members and the Prairie Wildlife staff, facilities and food.
I really enjoyed it and would recommend this class to anyone wanting to learn more about the instinctive shooting method.
Thanks to the staff of Prairie Wildlife and the Orvis instructors."
Review 11 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth Every Penny,
February 14, 2012
By: firelake
"The Orvis wingshooting school at Prairie Wildlife is a great outdoor experience and a must for anybody that enjoys the shotgunning sports. The instructors are very professional and knowledgeable, the lunches are at gourmet level. and the facility is outstanding. Everybody involved at Prairie Wildlife bends over backward to make the two days as enjoyable and informative as possible."
Review 12 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Wingshooting School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
January 23, 2012
By: RDRK
from West Point, Ms.
"The wingshooting school at Prairie Wildlife was a great experience. The instructors were consumate pros, the facility was top-notch and challenging, the food was excellent and the hospitality gracious (everything one would expect in the Deep South). The two day course was informative, productive and fun. There was extensive personalized instruction and plenty of shooting. The gun-fitting was also informative and sure to be helpful. I would recommend this to any avid shooter, especially those who cherish the tradition of shooting sports."