Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Fish Tailer Landing Glove

Handle fish with ease while protecting them. Slip-free handling of larger saltwater and freshwater gamefish. Dual-layer mesh protects outer slime layer on all fish. Clip lanyard attaches anywhere you need, keeps fish handling glove at the ready. Stretch lanyard for long reach. Ambidextrous. One size fits all.
Average Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
24 of 27(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Review 1 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
save a fish get a glove,
March 4, 2015
By: Kregger
from Medford,OR
"Bought 2 gloves in tha past and because the product is so great , we gifted the gloves to fishing friends. now we need another one for ourselves."
Review 2 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saves time,
February 19, 2015
By: EmirFlyfish
from Toronto Ontario Canada
"I always practice catch and release and i am minimalist i don't like to much stuff to carry especially net for steelhead. This glove helps me to keep the fish steady for couple seconds so i can take hook out and let it goo. It is especially handy during winter days when is hard to land the fish close to bank and you are in the middle of river."
Review 3 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefull item,
January 16, 2015
By: AK1965
"Typical Orvis product, well thought out and well built."
Review 4 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great salmon holding glove,
December 25, 2014
By: MissJudith
from Pennsylvania
"An excellent glove to remove salmon by the tail from your net and to hold briefly without harming it to get a picture."
Review 5 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
September 16, 2014
By: Tony716
"Great service. Product met expectation with what was advertised."
Review 6 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
to big,
April 8, 2014
By: keenan
from Illinois
"Yes the glove is to big I was surprised that the glove was so much larger, I have large hands. at least I thought so.[ surprise]"
Review 7 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easily accessible,
February 17, 2014
By: Bryz
from California
"Easily accessible and always at hand with the attached leash. Prevents the loss of that monster catch."
Review 8 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice,
January 22, 2014
By: Kregger
from Medford,OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"purchased this for my hubby, He is strickly a catch and relese guy. This is a great tool for such a thing. Ordered a 2nd glove for a friend."
Review 9 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Landing Glove Review,
December 30, 2013
By: Tknesek
from Aurora, IL
"Ok need to be honest I haven't used the Landing Glove yet, that being said. In March of 2013, a guide from Rivers Edge outfitters in SC, let me use his. Over a two day period I used the glove about 8 times to land and handle rainbows in the 22 to 28 inch size range. It made controling and releasing the fish alot (I mean alot) easier than attempting to use only my hands, and so says the guide it also reduces stress on the fish increasing survival rates. I loved it thats why I purchased one for myself."
Review 10 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
maybe not a great design,
November 22, 2013
By: Javatrout
from NY
"i bought 3 gloves, one for myself and 2 for buddies I was going steelheading with. Unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to use mine, but they both used theirs and mentioned that when dealing with their fish, quickly getting each finger in the proper finger of the glove was cumbersome. A sack, bag or mitt with a thumb would be a better design."
Review 11 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BREATHABLE AND DURABLE GLOVE,
October 21, 2013
By: countrychic
from southern pines, NC
"probably the best glove my husband has ever used.
he swears by it and has made sure it replaced several others in his gear bag.
we even bought another one within a week..it's THAT good !"
Review 12 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and Functional,
May 27, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"A landing glove should be a no-brainer for most fishers. The days of careless handling o particularly f catch and release fish should be long past
This glove works fine, it's weight is negligible and the stretch lanyard makes it easy to clip to practically anything."
Review 13 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Less trauma for catch & release,
April 23, 2013
By: 1Nelson
from Atlanta, Ga
"Excellent design to reduce the damage you might do while releasing your catch. Can't wait to try it!"
Review 14 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Idea,
April 10, 2013
By: Brassia
from Campbell River, B.C.
"Although I haven't tried the trailer glove yet I am certain that it will do the trick.
The only downside is the rediculous $20 handling and shipping charge. It is small enough and light enough to have gone by regular mail."
Review 15 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
January 2, 2013
By: Hakey
"This is as good as they get: nice quality landing glove. If you haven't tried one, get one!"
Review 16 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must Have,
December 28, 2012
By: ElCaminoGoat
from Genesee River, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This glove is great for tailing fishing and controlling them after the catch. Helps get them back in the water faster. I always keep it in my vest when fishing for trout and salmon. My buddies are always asking to borrow it, so the quick release cord is a nice feature."
Review 17 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fishing net alternative!,
December 26, 2012
By: MPS42
from Atlanta, GA
"I have had a large, mitten style version of this product for a quite a while that I use with with Salmon and Steelhead. This is more of a fitted glove and can be a little difficult to put on. I do have larger hands so a bigger cut would be nice. One size does not fit all. Overall, the product is great and I would go up to 5 stars if a larger size was offered."
Review 18 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 19, 2012
By: 6789
"Makes landing big trout and steelhead so much easier. Originally I couldn't imagine spending $25.00 for a glove - now I can't imagine fishing without it. Buy one. You won't be sorry."
Review 19 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
tight fit,
October 5, 2012
By: petro
"first one was great but i lost it, this one is tight hard to get off, i've found inconsistencys in stocking feet in your waders also, i retured them, kept the glove but not real happy with it"
Review 20 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 2, 2012
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"These kinds of gloves have been around in various forms for years now. This is - far and away - the best variation on the theme that I've used. The glove fits my large mitts well. Tailing large, powerful fish like salmon is made much easier using a glove that is cut as a glove and not a mitten. I will use this rather than a boga on large trout and steelhead."