Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Fish Tailer Landing Glove

Handle fish with ease while protecting them. Slip-free handling of larger saltwater and freshwater gamefish. Dual-layer mesh protects outer slime layer on all fish. Clip lanyard attaches anywhere you need, keeps fish handling glove at the ready. Stretch lanyard for long reach. Ambidextrous. One size fits all.
Average Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
20 of 23(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Review 1 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
September 16, 2014
By: Tony716
"Great service. Product met expectation with what was advertised."
Review 2 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
to big,
April 8, 2014
By: keenan
from Illinois
"Yes the glove is to big I was surprised that the glove was so much larger, I have large hands. at least I thought so.[ surprise]"
Review 3 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easily accessible,
February 17, 2014
By: Bryz
from California
"Easily accessible and always at hand with the attached leash. Prevents the loss of that monster catch."
Review 4 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice,
January 22, 2014
By: Kregger
from Medford,OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"purchased this for my hubby, He is strickly a catch and relese guy. This is a great tool for such a thing. Ordered a 2nd glove for a friend."
Review 5 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Landing Glove Review,
December 30, 2013
By: Tknesek
from Aurora, IL
"Ok need to be honest I haven't used the Landing Glove yet, that being said. In March of 2013, a guide from Rivers Edge outfitters in SC, let me use his. Over a two day period I used the glove about 8 times to land and handle rainbows in the 22 to 28 inch size range. It made controling and releasing the fish alot (I mean alot) easier than attempting to use only my hands, and so says the guide it also reduces stress on the fish increasing survival rates. I loved it thats why I purchased one for myself."
Review 6 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
maybe not a great design,
November 22, 2013
By: Javatrout
from NY
"i bought 3 gloves, one for myself and 2 for buddies I was going steelheading with. Unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to use mine, but they both used theirs and mentioned that when dealing with their fish, quickly getting each finger in the proper finger of the glove was cumbersome. A sack, bag or mitt with a thumb would be a better design."
Review 7 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BREATHABLE AND DURABLE GLOVE,
October 21, 2013
By: countrychic
from southern pines, NC
"probably the best glove my husband has ever used.
he swears by it and has made sure it replaced several others in his gear bag.
we even bought another one within a week..it's THAT good !"
Review 8 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and Functional,
May 27, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"A landing glove should be a no-brainer for most fishers. The days of careless handling o particularly f catch and release fish should be long past
This glove works fine, it's weight is negligible and the stretch lanyard makes it easy to clip to practically anything."
Review 9 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Less trauma for catch & release,
April 23, 2013
By: 1Nelson
from Atlanta, Ga
"Excellent design to reduce the damage you might do while releasing your catch. Can't wait to try it!"
Review 10 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Idea,
April 10, 2013
By: Brassia
from Campbell River, B.C.
"Although I haven't tried the trailer glove yet I am certain that it will do the trick.
The only downside is the rediculous $20 handling and shipping charge. It is small enough and light enough to have gone by regular mail."
Review 11 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
January 2, 2013
By: Hakey
"This is as good as they get: nice quality landing glove. If you haven't tried one, get one!"
Review 12 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must Have,
December 28, 2012
By: ElCaminoGoat
from Genesee River, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This glove is great for tailing fishing and controlling them after the catch. Helps get them back in the water faster. I always keep it in my vest when fishing for trout and salmon. My buddies are always asking to borrow it, so the quick release cord is a nice feature."
Review 13 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fishing net alternative!,
December 26, 2012
By: MPS42
from Atlanta, GA
"I have had a large, mitten style version of this product for a quite a while that I use with with Salmon and Steelhead. This is more of a fitted glove and can be a little difficult to put on. I do have larger hands so a bigger cut would be nice. One size does not fit all. Overall, the product is great and I would go up to 5 stars if a larger size was offered."
Review 14 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 19, 2012
By: 6789
"Makes landing big trout and steelhead so much easier. Originally I couldn't imagine spending $25.00 for a glove - now I can't imagine fishing without it. Buy one. You won't be sorry."
Review 15 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
tight fit,
October 5, 2012
By: petro
"first one was great but i lost it, this one is tight hard to get off, i've found inconsistencys in stocking feet in your waders also, i retured them, kept the glove but not real happy with it"
Review 16 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 2, 2012
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"These kinds of gloves have been around in various forms for years now. This is - far and away - the best variation on the theme that I've used. The glove fits my large mitts well. Tailing large, powerful fish like salmon is made much easier using a glove that is cut as a glove and not a mitten. I will use this rather than a boga on large trout and steelhead."
Review 17 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
June 28, 2012
By: MarkerD
from Washington, USA
"I'm glad I found this glove. Finally a glove that gives a solid grip without harming the fish. A worthy purchase."
Review 18 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
big fish glove,
May 19, 2012
By: dentalboy
from Fort Collins, CO
"This glove is an excellent alternative to a net for salmon and steelhead. I have a similar product that is square without fingers that does not allow you to hold the "neck" of a tail nearly as well. I hang this hand like a net on my back and it is easy to find by running my hand down the lanyard. You can get in on without two hands since its oversized. Pricey, but not compared to a folding net or a hook catastrophe!"
Review 19 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish Landing Glove, what a Great Product!,
May 13, 2012
By: crabtruck
from Oregon
"recently received this as a gift and couldn't wait to try it. Just got back from a trout fishing trip on the Crooked River here in Oregon. My better half and I took turns using it and we both noticed the fish seemed much calmer as we handled them while using the glove than with a barehand and made hook removal much faster. And we noticed no slime on our hands which is great for the fish. Awesome product, Buying another one so we both have one!"
Review 20 for Fish Tailer Landing Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At last; the ideal tailing glove...,
April 18, 2012
By: troutbum89
from Oregon
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Since I began fly fishing for steelhead (and realized that a big, strong, slimy fish can be very hard to hold on to) I have been looking for the ideal tailing glove. I'm not surprised that it is Orvis that has produced it. The grip was like having a c-clamp on the fish's tail. Just as important was the ability to slip my hand into it while holding a rod with the other hand. I found it to be no problem. A great product."