Orvis Ratings and Reviews

River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot

The new River Guard Clearwater® II studded wading boot's lightweight, yet rugged synthetic upper resists damage from rocks and debris as well as rot, mildew, and ultraviolet radiation. The boot is constructed from durable polyurethane and high-density nylon mesh to provide years of use. The toe cap and heel counter are wrapped in textured rubber to add additional protection in high wear areas. The Orvis-exclusive EcoTraX® soles have a proprietary lug pattern with sharp leading edges to afford the angler better traction. Comes with 20 pre-installed PosiGrip Screw-In Studs for added security in slippery environments. Screen-covered drain holes. Studded wading boots in charcoal and tan. Imported. Men's whole sizes: 6-14. Weighs 4 lbs., 6 oz. in size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
6
36 of 48(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Review 1 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Fit****,
May 12, 2014
By: Firecarpenter
from Staten Island
"Bought this pair, reasonably priced, fits well with the Orvis waders purchased earlier. Looks and feels well constructed. Expect to get years of service."
Review 2 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good boots,
April 9, 2014
By: SantiagoBirkner
"The boots are great!! Shipping was also perfect and fast."
Review 3 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
April 8, 2014
By: FlyFishingAcct
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Love the boots! I wear a 10-10.5 and got an 11. With my sticking foot waders and wool socks they fit perfect. Will get a pair of wading socks to ensure a good fit for summer wet wading.
The fact they come with cleats included was an added selling point.
I find the laces tough to snap into and out of the top metal hooks but discovered a work around. I just keep the laces in the hook as if they were loops. A few tries and it becomes natural to lace up and down. I almost would say it would have been better to just have holes at the top instead of the hooks.
The traction is great: waded in some really fast spring water and had no issues. A huge improvement from my boot foot neoprene cheapies.
Love the boots and would highly recommend!"
Review 4 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lightweight but very tough,
April 7, 2014
By: lov2bnh2o
from Bend, OR
"Comfort, lightweight, good traction, easy to add studs if necessary. Great product"
Review 5 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great boots,
April 4, 2014
By: Tbone69
"These boots are pretty awesome. They look good and are comfortable. They are also well built and durable."
Review 6 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My feet are smiling,
April 2, 2014
By: Robby065
from Texas
"Not only is this an excellent pair of boots, they are wide enough for my EEEE wide feet."
Review 7 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do Not Buy!,
March 24, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"A poorly designed boot that has absolutely no support on any level. Wearing these boots makes you feel as though you are wearing sneakers on the creek. I returned mine to the Rochester, Orvis retail store where I was insulted by the general manager who did not know the Orvis return policy posted on the Orvis website by the CEO Mr. Perkins. It states, " at any time, for any reason". I wore the boots for an hour. The General Manager displayed poor judgement, lack of knowledge in company policy and the ability to alienate and make customers feel unwanted during my return experience. Do NOT buy this product and do NOT go to the Orvis Rochester retail store."
Review 8 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product. Fair price.,
March 21, 2014
By: JTP14
from Texas
"Have used these in my size for last year. Good boots that have held up nicely. On sale for a great price so bought for my 18 yo as well. Certainly better boots are out there but these are hard to beat for value and wear."
Review 9 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good quality / price ratio,
March 5, 2014
By: Cristian
from Argentina
"I receive teh boots and looks very comfortable and well made.
I haven't tested it yet but I can't wait!
"
Review 10 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what you're expecting.,
February 14, 2014
By: Misledbuyer
from Arkansas
"When I ordered this product I was expecting the rubber boot with the metal studs in the bottom. Instead I got a felt bottomed boot. The picture and description does not match what you are getting."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bulletproof,
February 11, 2014
By: tcrosby2
from Southern Illinois
"I recently purchased these wading boots, they are incredible. I was really surprised and pleased with how lite they light they are in the water. Not to mention how incredibly stable and secure the traction was on the slippery bottom."
Review 12 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Boots,
February 10, 2014
By: TAFly
from Atlanta, GA
"Purchased these boots for $89 as a model Orvis was retiring. The boots are amazing. Comfortable for all day wear including small hikes to/from fishing spot. The grip, even on mossy rocks is great and allows you to feel stable in the river. They drain well and wash off easily at the end of the day. I wear a size 9 but purchased these boots as 10 for a perfect fit."
Review 13 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bad Product And Return Experience,
February 4, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"As a professional guide, I found the price of these boots hard to pass up even though I knew they were most likely not going to meet my needs. I was correct. The boot is very poorly constructed with little to no support on any level. The sole also showed signs of separation after one wear.
I returned them after one use to the new Orvis Store in Rochester, NY and was interrogated and made to feel ashamed about my return by the general manager. Unbelievable! The quality of the return experience was far worse than the quality of the boot.
"
Review 14 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
January 17, 2014
By: Phish
"The boot was not what I thought it was when I ordered it. The picture and description of the boot did not describe that the boots had a felt sole when I ordered them."
Review 15 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid boot, if you can find it,
January 16, 2014
By: Trefish
"These boots give room for big wader booties.
Comfortable and great to walk in."
Review 16 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have only tried on.....,
January 16, 2014
By: Drew1136
from Northbrook, IL
"Have not used on the river yet but the feel comfortable with the lightweight waders I plan on using them with."
Review 17 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boots, great fit,
January 15, 2014
By: EllynR
from Charlotte, nc
"Bought these boots for my boyfriend for Christmas. He wears 11.5-12, and the 11.5 fits perfectly. Would def recommend!"
Review 18 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Boots,
January 15, 2014
By: Tickety
from Western Washinton
"Perfect fit, great traction, lightweight, and worth the money!"
Review 19 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Plenty of Support, Solid Choice,
January 13, 2014
By: STrutta
"Well-made boot with sturdy support for my ankles. Good choice for the value-conscious angler. One note: I wear size 11.5 shoes and I am always torn between ordering a size up (12) or down (11) when purchasing boots online. I called the help line and they suggested I order down. Good call. They fit perfectly, however, they would be too tight if I needed two pairs of socks such as a steelheading trip or winter fishing. So these boots are relegated to my standard spring, summer and early fall excursions."
Review 20 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good, Solid Boot,
January 6, 2014
By: swimcoach
from Houston, TX
"I have a pair of the Sonic Zipper Waders. I bought a pair of Korkers boots because of the features they have. I got one size up, and the bootie wouldn't fit. Too snug. So, I returned those, and bought these two sizes larger. With the wader bootie and Superior Wading Socks, the boots fit great. They are very easy to put on, and I have plenty of room. I look forward to wearing them fishing."