Orvis Ratings and Reviews

River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot

The new Clearwater II fly-fishing boot's lightweight, yet rugged synthetic upper resists damage from rocks and debris as well as rot, mildew, and ultraviolet radiation. The boot is constructed from durable polyurethane and high-density nylon mesh to provide years of use. The toe cap and heel counter are wrapped in textured rubber to add additional protection in high wear areas. The Orvis-exclusive EcoTraX® soles have a proprietary lug pattern with sharp leading edges to afford the angler better traction. Comes with 20 pre-installed PosiGrip Screw-In Studs for added security in slippery environments. Screen-covered drain holes. In charcoal and tan. Men's whole sizes: 6-14. Weighs 4 lbs., 6 oz. in size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
3.942 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
6
39 of 52(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Review 1 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT BOOTS,
November 24, 2014
By: PETEROBBO
from NORTHAMPTON
"WITHOUT DOUBT THE MOST COMFORTABLE WADING BOOTS I HAVE EVER OWNED AND VERY SECURE GRIP TOO JUST AS GOOD AS IT GETS"
Review 2 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
November 14, 2014
By: marcbl08
"The clearwater boot is excellent quality and perfect fit! Thoroughly recommended."
Review 3 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
First disappointment,
November 13, 2014
By: NaeFish
from Aberdeenshire
"First item from Orvis that did not meet usual high standards. Appreciate that the boots were a bargain price, but numerous loose threads and a warped inner sole made them unwearable. Returned to Banchory store who were absolutely first rate in their customer service."
Review 4 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
October 9, 2014
By: FishingManiac
from Wisconsin
"My wife and I both purchased these boots. They are comfortable and the soles work great in the rivers we fish.
We bought a size up from our regular size to compensate for the wader booties.
"
Review 5 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Fit****,
May 12, 2014
By: Firecarpenter
from Staten Island
"Bought this pair, reasonably priced, fits well with the Orvis waders purchased earlier. Looks and feels well constructed. Expect to get years of service."
Review 6 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good boots,
April 9, 2014
By: SantiagoBirkner
"The boots are great!! Shipping was also perfect and fast."
Review 7 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
April 8, 2014
By: FlyFishingAcct
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Love the boots! I wear a 10-10.5 and got an 11. With my sticking foot waders and wool socks they fit perfect. Will get a pair of wading socks to ensure a good fit for summer wet wading.
The fact they come with cleats included was an added selling point.
I find the laces tough to snap into and out of the top metal hooks but discovered a work around. I just keep the laces in the hook as if they were loops. A few tries and it becomes natural to lace up and down. I almost would say it would have been better to just have holes at the top instead of the hooks.
The traction is great: waded in some really fast spring water and had no issues. A huge improvement from my boot foot neoprene cheapies.
Love the boots and would highly recommend!"
Review 8 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lightweight but very tough,
April 7, 2014
By: lov2bnh2o
from Bend, OR
"Comfort, lightweight, good traction, easy to add studs if necessary. Great product"
Review 9 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great boots,
April 4, 2014
By: Tbone69
"These boots are pretty awesome. They look good and are comfortable. They are also well built and durable."
Review 10 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My feet are smiling,
April 2, 2014
By: Robby065
from Texas
"Not only is this an excellent pair of boots, they are wide enough for my EEEE wide feet."
Review 11 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do Not Buy!,
March 24, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"A poorly designed boot that has absolutely no support on any level. Wearing these boots makes you feel as though you are wearing sneakers on the creek. I returned mine to the Rochester, Orvis retail store where I was insulted by the general manager who did not know the Orvis return policy posted on the Orvis website by the CEO Mr. Perkins. It states, " at any time, for any reason". I wore the boots for an hour. The General Manager displayed poor judgement, lack of knowledge in company policy and the ability to alienate and make customers feel unwanted during my return experience. Do NOT buy this product and do NOT go to the Orvis Rochester retail store."
Review 12 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product. Fair price.,
March 21, 2014
By: JTP14
from Texas
"Have used these in my size for last year. Good boots that have held up nicely. On sale for a great price so bought for my 18 yo as well. Certainly better boots are out there but these are hard to beat for value and wear."
Review 13 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good quality / price ratio,
March 5, 2014
By: Cristian
from Argentina
"I receive teh boots and looks very comfortable and well made.
I haven't tested it yet but I can't wait!
"
Review 14 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what you're expecting.,
February 14, 2014
By: Misledbuyer
from Arkansas
"When I ordered this product I was expecting the rubber boot with the metal studs in the bottom. Instead I got a felt bottomed boot. The picture and description does not match what you are getting."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bulletproof,
February 11, 2014
By: tcrosby2
from Southern Illinois
"I recently purchased these wading boots, they are incredible. I was really surprised and pleased with how lite they light they are in the water. Not to mention how incredibly stable and secure the traction was on the slippery bottom."
Review 16 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Boots,
February 10, 2014
By: TAFly
from Atlanta, GA
"Purchased these boots for $89 as a model Orvis was retiring. The boots are amazing. Comfortable for all day wear including small hikes to/from fishing spot. The grip, even on mossy rocks is great and allows you to feel stable in the river. They drain well and wash off easily at the end of the day. I wear a size 9 but purchased these boots as 10 for a perfect fit."
Review 17 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bad Product And Return Experience,
February 4, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"As a professional guide, I found the price of these boots hard to pass up even though I knew they were most likely not going to meet my needs. I was correct. The boot is very poorly constructed with little to no support on any level. The sole also showed signs of separation after one wear.
I returned them after one use to the new Orvis Store in Rochester, NY and was interrogated and made to feel ashamed about my return by the general manager. Unbelievable! The quality of the return experience was far worse than the quality of the boot.
"
Review 18 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
January 17, 2014
By: Phish
"The boot was not what I thought it was when I ordered it. The picture and description of the boot did not describe that the boots had a felt sole when I ordered them."
Review 19 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid boot, if you can find it,
January 16, 2014
By: Trefish
"These boots give room for big wader booties.
Comfortable and great to walk in."
Review 20 for River Guard™ Clearwater® II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have only tried on.....,
January 16, 2014
By: Drew1136
from Northbrook, IL
"Have not used on the river yet but the feel comfortable with the lightweight waders I plan on using them with."