Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Soft-top Jacket

Timeless style. Legendary looks. This is the one travel jacket that should accompany you on every trip. Ideal as a layer for cooler days, it also won't overheat you on warmer days thanks to its cool poplin construction. Squared-off collar with two-button closure. Rib-knit waist and cuffs. Mini-tartan lining. Two exterior, two interior pockets. Polyester/cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
95 of 102(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Soft-top Jacket
Review 1 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft-top Jacket,
August 3, 2014
By: Riches
"This jacket is well made and fits perfectly! It is great for cool evenings in the 50's and looks good after washing."
Review 2 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
soft top jacket,
July 31, 2014
By: sureshot64
from beckely wv
"very nice and is as advertised. reminds me of throwback to what I wore as a kid.."
Review 3 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
July 24, 2014
By: Murv
from Mendocino, CA
"This jacket is a terrific asset to my wardrobe. I live on the northern coast of California and wear it almost daily. It is warm in the coastal winds and very durable. Thanks for the opportunity to share my thoughts."
Review 4 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jacket,
July 21, 2014
By: donet
"Had to replace a jacket for my husband. He is very happy with this one. It's well made and the plaid lining adds color."
Review 5 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Mid-Season Jacket,
July 16, 2014
By: Ed644
from Staten Island, NYC
"You will appreciate this PERFECT JACKET in your closet for those "iffy" kind of days, you know, the kind of days that are not too hot or not too cold makes this jacket the ideal item to reach for when you go out. The material used, the attention to detail, the smart colors and the true to size fit all go together to make this jacket a real joy to wear."
Review 6 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
July 15, 2014
By: GrandyB
from Near Lake Tahoe, Cal
"Size, material, pockets, all as advertised, now for a real test in Scotland next month, where climate changes come every 15 minutes.
Thanks, Orvis.
"
Review 7 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
July 10, 2014
By: pawsmollydaisy
from New York State
"Fit true to size - great quality - fantastic for between seasons. A truly comfortable jacket. Would highly recommend."
Review 8 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for top down cruising,
July 2, 2014
By: LeftyS7
from Reno, NV
"I got this for driving my roadster. I needed a light weight, windproof, jacket with a stand up collar to protect my neck from drafts. I also wanted it to zip so I can regulate temperature easily while driving, and have knit cuffs and waistband to fit snugly.
This filled the bill and I could not find any other jackets by any manufacturer with similar features.
The jacket in a Large has long enough sleeves that my wrists are covered when I'm driving, and I take a 35" sleeve length.
On the downside, it is very plain, it would be nice if it came in a wider assortment of colors. Also the pockets are not very deep."
Review 9 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy!,
June 27, 2014
By: KAPE
from Troy, MI
"Great looking jacket at a price much lower than similar jackets found elsewhere."
Review 10 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket,
June 17, 2014
By: sherwin14
"jacket was exactly as described in your catalogue, light weight yet lined providing proper level of warmth for travel to France in October
Very Pleased
"
Review 11 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
June 14, 2014
By: Maineports
"This is a GREAT 3 Season Jacket but could be made better (I think) by including a larger pocket either outside or inside to carry larger items; visitor center pamphlets, et. al.
Not Heave Items, just informational kinds of pamphlets.
"
Review 12 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Right,
June 13, 2014
By: Billy246
from Monroeville, Al
"This jacket is just right for those cool
mornings and late evenings when
a light weight jacket is required for
confront . It's good looks also passes inspection when worn on any informal occasion.
"
Review 13 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Almost but not quite,
June 12, 2014
By: TomTom1wlf
from Albany, Or
"Received the jacket and opened it it looked great. Tried it on liked the look and feel of the coat then I found a hole / seam in one pocket that had been missed. Then I realized that the pockets were at least 1-1/2 inch shallower than my other jackets. The pockets barely covered my hands. I returned the jacket."
Review 14 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A TRIP BACK IN TIME,
June 10, 2014
By: Quarterdeck
from Kalamazoo, MI
"This is as close as I could get to the jackets I wore through the 50's, 60's and 70's. The fit, overall quality and look are splendid. Two nice-sized interior pockets make this a most versatile jacket."
Review 15 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another great jacket,
June 10, 2014
By: jimmahj
from Columbia, MO
"This jacket is number three from Or vis. All Orvis items I have purchased have been exceptional. I will buy again."
Review 16 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
June 6, 2014
By: OBGO
from New York
"I was looking for a long time for a wind braker blend in with cotton
Took me some time and I fond it ORVIS
Cut well excelent buy
Just a little note to the designers
I saw it only in 2 colors it will boost sales if it will run in fe different colos too"
Review 17 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been waiting for this!,
June 3, 2014
By: Babs242
from Woodstock, VA
"I have a jacket which I have worn for many years. I didn't want to replace it while it was still wearable. It no longer was so I did. I like it!"
Review 18 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
June 1, 2014
By: Mekgrk
"Purchased this for my husband for his birthday to replace a jacket that he had for a long time and just wore it out. He is a very simple dressing type of guy. I looked all over for a jacket that somewhat looked like the old one and came across this jacket. I had heard that Orvis products are very nice and thought I would give it a try. Both of us were very happy with the look and quality of this particular jacket. The order was easily placed and arrived right on time. Thank you Orvis I will for sure order from you again."
Review 19 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classic,
May 29, 2014
By: maxcoec
from Somerset MA
"Love this jacket. Reminds me of the Barracudas I had as a teen in the early 80's. I'm a men's large and the fit is perfect."
Review 20 for Soft-top Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classic summer jacket,
May 29, 2014
By: Al02345
from Plymouth, MA
"This light weight jacket has been a mandatory member of my wardrobe for years. Crisp straight forward good looks. Easy to maintain."