Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater

Our original men's Mechanic's Sweater has been a fall and winter favorite for years. The only complaint our customers had is that they had to put it away for the warmer months. We listened, and here's the result. Cut to the exact same specifications as the original, this spring and summertime version is made from lightweight cotton with poplin at the placket and features burnt-horn buttons, woven elbow patches, and an allover textured stitch for added visual appeal. Rib trim finish at shawl, cuffs, and hem. Men's sweater in black. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Review 1 for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE PERFECT SWEATER,
October 23, 2012
By: bkoliver24
from Boise, ID
"After recently purchasing this handsome sweater I was worried if it would be too warm for me. (I'm the type that runs warm and many sweaters are too warm for me) The great color with contrasting elbow patches and the weight was perfect. i wore it to a party and didn't spend half the night sweating or looking for the patio door to go outside and cool off! it's been at least a decade since I could do that! This sweater has been moved to the front of the closet and is my first choice when we go out now that fall is finally arrived up here!"
Review 2 for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too Big,
October 2, 2012
By: mlerette
from Medford, MA
"I wear a large shirt in almost every brand I own. I'm 6'2", 185, and fit. This was much too large for me."
Review 3 for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Old School Winner !!!!!,
September 12, 2012
By: ralphg
from North Carolina
"This garment right out of yesterday is a great light weight sweater. Is great for a chilly casual evening. You can't go wrong with this one. Size is right on and the color is perfect."
Review 4 for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great loking sweater,
September 11, 2012
By: Pate
from Ford Cliff,PA
"A nice looking early fall sweater that fits well. I love the contrasting colors.
Great for evenings at the beach, lake, or walking the dogs.
"
Review 5 for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit and stylish,
June 11, 2012
By: Dunkin
from Alpine, WY
"This summer weight mech sweater is just right for the Wyoming mornings and evenings in the summer. Great fit and stylish. A must have!"
Review 6 for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase/Nice Quality,
May 18, 2012
By: Reef
"While this product was not available in the retail store outlet, the staff there was friendly and helpful without being too overbearing and assisted me with an online purchase in the store without shipping charges. I appreciated the help from the staff member in the store and delivery was more prompt than in the past."
Review 7 for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good weight sweater,
May 4, 2012
By: Stuartms
from Sealy, TX
"Great light weight sweater for the southern climes."
Review 8 for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cool in black,
May 3, 2012
By: universityadmin
from Indiana
"What attracted me to this sweater was the contrasting colors between black and tan. Lighter than a wool sweater (I love wool), this works for those warmer months when more than just a shirt is needed. The stitching is distinctive and the fit is excellent."
Review 9 for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great quality, great fit,
May 1, 2012
By: PatrickVA
from Fairfax, VA
"This summer sweater is exactly that. I wore it on a 65 degree day and it was perfect. Nice quality and fit too."
Review 10 for Summer-Weight Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive,
March 23, 2012
By: Robespierre1
from Calgary, Alberta, Canada
"I already own a regular mechanic's sweater and this was just the right weight I wanted for warmer weather. It fits well and is very comfortable.
I will be looking forward to it being available in other colors soon.
"