Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Easton Bay Panama Hat

There's simply no substitute for the original. Woven in Ecuador—a country famous for shade-producing solutions—this hat's genuine straw construction keeps you cool while the 23⁄4" brim helps cut the glare. Classic fedora style is shaped, blocked, and finished in Fall River, MA, at one of the last remaining hat factories in the USA. Moisture-wicking sweatband; oil- and water-repellent Teflon® coating. Two-toned genuine-leather hatband with antiqued brass Orvis pin. Men's Panama hat in natural. Made in USA.Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞). 4½" crown.
Average Customer Rating:
3.808 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
20 of 26(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Review 1 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Best Hat,
October 15, 2014
By: cartorres
from California
"Size is perfect, fresh, light and elegant look, a gift for Price."
Review 2 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hat Ever,
October 13, 2014
By: ggl1
from Hollywood, Calif
"I 1st saw this hat on an older gentleman while @ the doc's ofc. I quietly asked his wife where did he purchase it I liked it so much She told me Orvis in Pasadena. I came home & went to the internet & made my purchase. I like it even more on my head, & have gotten many compliments."
Review 3 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very stylish chapeao,
September 8, 2014
By: Vian
from Newtown Square, PA.
"Absolutely love the hat, one that will certainly get a lot wear. Always wanted a Panama Hat for warm weather use."
Review 4 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Heads Up...,
August 5, 2014
By: MrOrvisian
from Hollywood Hills, California
"Now here's the deal... Ahem, for those of us "highly intelligent" Orvis shoppers, our big heads may bump the inside of this hat when you wear it. I read the reviews and could not believe it when I first tried the hat on. The inside was lower and the top of my head touched the top. This made the hat sit a tad higher on the head and I knew darn well it would blow off in a breeze. So I thought about it, and tried slightly pushing up the crease inside the top rear portion. VOILA! Tried it on and the hat fit perfectly. You hardly notice the raised crease towards the rear. For us XL heads, try this trick and you'll find the hat fits well. It's really nice looking."
Review 5 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
July 21, 2014
By: jeffna
from Denver Co.
"The hat is just as I hoped and as described. Top quality materials and workmanship.
Perfect hat for summer.
Color and shape both well represented in the photos."
Review 6 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great hat for the summer sun,
July 15, 2014
By: Alharinck
from Denver, CO
"This is the ideal hat for sun protection. It is light weight, breathable, comfortable, and good looking. I have had comments on it's appealing appearance, asking from where I had purchased it."
Review 7 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Panama Hat,
June 26, 2014
By: Upstateman
"Of the many hats I own this is by far one of the best. Well constructed, looks and fits great. If you are looking for s superb summer straw, this is it!!"
Review 8 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat,
June 3, 2014
By: GeetsRomo
from Brooklyn, NY
"I have to stay slightly protected from the sun. Not much - spf30 and a wide brimmed hat. Not a cap, but a genuine mans fedora. This hat fills the bill - no pun intended. A 2&3/4 inch brim and nice pinched crown add to its dashing good looks. If you think you won't look good in this hat you are greatly mistaken. This is the best value this side of genuine Montecristi panamas. And it has a nice hatband. Make sure you properly measure your head and it comes with liners to size you correctly. You'll look great and feel great when the sun is bright and the weather really gets warm."
Review 9 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Previous reviews were, sadly, correct,
August 29, 2013
By: riversidedriver
"Previous reviews of the Easton Bay Panama Hat mentioned that the crown came down so low inside the hat that it touched the top of the wearer's head. I really liked the appearance of the hat and it was not available in my local Orvis store so I called Customer Service and asked that the distance, inside the hat, from the crown to the brim level be measured. The response said that the crown was 4.5" from the brim so I bought the hat online. Turned out it was about 3.5" and the crown touched my head before the hat was properly seated. The problem could be easily fixed when the hat was originally blocked by pushing up a dimple in the crown. That's the way my old hat was made. I was able to return the hat but I'm very disappointed that Orvis has not responded to the earlier comments about this problem."
Review 10 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
August 8, 2013
By: Kathy117
"This hat exceeded our hopes. It fits perfectly and the construction is outstanding"
Review 11 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
hats,
July 22, 2013
By: haboob
"it is a great looking quality hat but the sizing is way off to the large side. so other than it doesn't fit, it appears to be a quality product."
Review 12 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice quality hat,
July 15, 2013
By: Howdo
"This hat came with some unwanted dents near the band. The box may have been too small. Also the crown crease is quite deep and makes the hat sit high. To remedy this, I boiled some water in a pan, held the hat over it to steam it a bit. The dents came right out and the crown was easily adjusted for the perfect fit. The fiber has a nice amount of stiffness. I think it will hold up well."
Review 13 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
unfortunate fit,
June 18, 2013
By: Wrigs
from Laval Qc
"I was really excited to get this hat, unfortunately, it did not fit well on my head. I hit the top before it could get a good grip. that was to bad 'cause I really liked the hat. I was a little surprised at the stiffness of it, but that was fine too"
Review 14 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A bit disappointed,
June 5, 2013
By: HatReviewer
from Illinois
"With the reputation of Orvis has for quality I was disappointed in a couple of areas. The first was the fact that the sizing runs large, knowing this they provide what they feel is a solution, foam inserts. The second was the band, for the price of this hat I feel they could do better than use a plastic glued on band ."
Review 15 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still collecting bravos,
June 4, 2013
By: Ryland
from Kinston, NC
"I have worn the hat twice and both times the compliments were wonderful. I feel like the "Southern Gentleman" of days gone by. I will get much pleasure wearing the hat."
Review 16 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not What I Expected,
May 13, 2013
By: OlyWa
"My brother has a nice Panama hat. I wear it when I go to Miami. I noticed it is an Orvis hat. I bought this one thinking it would be great. It wasn't sized properly and the top of the hap hit my head so it never came down close to my ears. It blew off in any kind of wind. I returned it, and of course, had to pay for shipping both ways. :-("
Review 17 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classy Hat,
May 9, 2013
By: Nikishka
from Cochise County, AZ
"This hat is an almost exact replacement for my favorite which I mashed and gashed on a low hanging tree limb. Build quality is very nice and the interior band quite comfortable. It does ride a little higher above the ears than most Panama hats but I'm assured by the young lady that it still looks great. The only down side is that setting high makes it a little more prone to wind lift. So, I just hang on!"
Review 18 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor size and design,
March 15, 2013
By: molyneux51
from Maine
"hat sits way up high on the head due to indented crown, unless you grew up standing on your head for 2 hours a day and had a very flat head it won't sit down far enough to be secure or fit correctly .. the 7 1/4 - 7 3/8 hat I got for my 7 1/4 size head had at least 1/2" of play all around it and would have fit someone with a size 8 + head .. back she goes."
Review 19 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sits too high on the head.,
October 31, 2012
By: stringman
from Riverside, CA
"I was really looking forward to getting this panama. Expensive, but I like my hats. I didn't like this one, though, because it actually didn't sit down on my head the way a hat is supposed to. It was the right size, too. The design just perches on top of your head with too much space between the hat and your ears. Poor design. I returned it within a couple of minutes."
Review 20 for Easton Bay Panama Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat,
July 23, 2012
By: MainSale
from Cape Cod
"This one seems to be a cut above. I tend to crush the front of my Panamas in about a year. This one is reinforced in that area so I'm expecting it to last longer. The hat band is also a cut above the rest. I get lots of positive comments about the hat."