Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt

With the soft, broken-in feel of a favorite shirt you've been wearing for years, this pure cotton polo shirt for men is a perfect answer to summer weather. Pigment dyed for rich coloration and then garment washed for exceptional softness and a vintage look, the 5.9-oz. jersey-knit fabric feels great against your skin; attention to detail provides a handsome look. Self-fabric collar and side-vented hem with a longer tail that stays tucked in when you reach. Polo shirt for men in pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (169 reviews)
5 stars
117
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
7
149 of 169(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Review 1 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great quality,
November 14, 2014
By: dallmag
from Birch Vale
"the items I have bought from Orvis are always a good fit and superior quality backed by very good service"
Review 2 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surf washed polos,
November 13, 2014
By: Rgbjr1944
from New Bern NC
"These are the most comfortable best fitting polo shirts I've ever worn."
Review 3 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality,
November 13, 2014
By: Scouch
from Edinburgh
"Nice and soft feel against your skin stylish and can be worn any where."
Review 4 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent buy,
November 13, 2014
By: Gotlieb
from Sacramento, Ca.
"very comfortable, easily laundered, I get a lot of complements."
Review 5 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
October 28, 2014
By: MSguy
from Jackson, MS
"I love these shirts, ordered a whole bunch of 'em and plan to get more. I live in Mississippi, and it's a perfect weight for our hot, humid weather, which often runs from March till December. Shirt has a full cut for us older guys who carry around a few pounds. Great shirt!"
Review 6 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I found it,
October 13, 2014
By: Crosby
from Buffalo, ny
"The moment I tried on this shirt, I knew I wanted it and several more of the same. I like the muted sun washed shades and the softness of the 100 percent cotton. My wife likes that they do not shrink and need little pressing. She also encouraged me to buy several as they are the most comfortable shirts I have ever purchased. I also appreciate the helpful and friendly associates.
PS. Please help me to buy more of
your other quality clothing.
"
Review 7 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality,
September 24, 2014
By: 2BOBROB
"The Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirts were just as expected true colour as, soft and super fit.The same standed as all my other shirts and jeans that I buy from Orvis very good value for the price."
Review 8 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 16, 2014
By: Kuhn
from Old Lyme, CT
"nicely made, soft material, washes well. the red color bleeds so use a color catcher."
Review 9 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Loose dye,
September 3, 2014
By: rrich
from Guildford UK
"Have no complaint about other colours of this shirt but I really don't expect to have to wash a garment before wearing it. Even after a pre- wash, dye poured out of the weathered red. It really has to be washed on its own to avoid pink stains on other clothes,which for a polo shirt which is worn a lot is not really a practical option. Surely it must be possible to fix the dye better and pre wash it in the manufacture."
Review 10 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product,
September 1, 2014
By: TedS
from Cape May NJ
"Quality craftsmanship, generous sizing, nice colors - this is a terrific casual shirt! I use it in place of t-shirts - same comfort, slightly nicer appearance! Thank you for an excellent product!"
Review 11 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby loves these shirts,
August 21, 2014
By: Crlobx
from FL
"Very comfy cotton shirt - has 5 of these. Hope Orvis keeps them in the catalog."
Review 12 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
favorite polo shirts,
August 19, 2014
By: Marian515
from Illinois
"I purchased several of these shirts. last year for my husband and he loved them. I just ordered additional shirts as they seem to be his favorite go to casual shirts. They are very lightweight and soft and perfect for his golf games in the Midwest heat and humidity. My only complaint is that last year's version most of the shirts got small holes near the placket after several washings. I hope this year's version holds up a little better. If not for that I would give this shirt 5 stars"
Review 13 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality comfort shirt,
August 1, 2014
By: fishtalker
from Retired Wilmington, NC
"I now own 4 of these in weathered green, blue, red and persimmon. They exceed my standards which are high because I worked hard for my $$ and which Orvis products generally meet or exceed.
Pros: Quality built, soft cotton, extremely comfortable, stay tucked in long tail, unique collar design , great range of color choices. Great to combo with either casual or dress slacks, shorts too and under a blazer or sports coat, good price point at retail and great value when on sale. Orvis guarantee.
Cons: the dye color is not set in by design to supposedly enhance the weathered look over a number of washings. So if the washing instructions are NOT followed it could result in the dye color bleeding and thus staining some other clothing that may be washed with them. I recommend to Orvis that the original weathered dye colors be set to avoid further bleeding of dye onto other clothing which will conserve wash water and electricity thus becoming more eco friendly not to mention a cost savings to the owner.
Obviously, not a deal breaker but it would in my opinion a better eco option.
Catch and release,
fish
"
Review 14 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt!,
July 31, 2014
By: Butch19
from Cleveland, Ohio
"Very comfortable and fits perfectly..... high quality shirt and fabric recommend this to everyone!"
Review 15 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A serviceable polo shirt,
July 30, 2014
By: JimC12
from NH
"The shirt fit properly and the color was as shown. I had to wait a few months to get it because it was back ordered, so that was annoying. There is nothing particularly distinctive about the shirt. There is an embroidered design inside the back collar, which could have been put on the front to give the shirt more flair. I thought it was overpriced for what it is."
Review 16 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these shirts,
July 28, 2014
By: FlyfishermanAndHusband
from Valley Forge
"These shirts are incredibly comfortable. They feel like an old friend on day one and just get better. I was so happy with the first one I bought that I ordered a second color a couple weeks later"
Review 17 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic and handsome!,
July 28, 2014
By: Libby2
from Villanova pa
"Bought my husband two of these and then a third. Fit perfectly at XL, and stays nice looking after washing. Recommend hand washing especially for the red colors!"
Review 18 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
satisfied with item,
July 26, 2014
By: rchat
from Hampton NH
"Like weathered clothing and was very satisfied with the like items purchased from orvis"
Review 19 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
July 24, 2014
By: Bob4u
from Phoenix, AZ
"This is a great shirt very comfortable
and very cool. I have 4 of these shirts and love them
"
Review 20 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stain sensative,
July 16, 2014
By: 3657
"I really like these shirts. These are the third and fourth I have purchased. However, I will be exchanging the orange one because I spilled salad dressing on it , and it didn't come out in wash. So I used a mild stain remover, made for clothing, and it took the color out leaving a white spot. I still like and wNt to exchange, but they do stain easily"