Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt

With the soft, broken-in feel of a favorite shirt you've been wearing for years, this pure cotton polo shirt for men is a perfect answer to summer weather. Pigment dyed for rich coloration and then garment washed for exceptional softness and a vintage look, the 5.9-oz. jersey-knit fabric feels great against your skin; attention to detail provides a handsome look. Self-fabric collar and side-vented hem with a longer tail that stays tucked in when you reach. Polo shirt for men in pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.401 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
27
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
8
156 of 177(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Review 1 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought another one!,
March 10, 2015
By: Emsworth
from Upper Midwest
"This is my fourth surfwashed polo. It's a perfect golf shirt for warm days. Roomy fit, lightweight cotton, well-made. I also very much like the washed (faded) colors, but that's just a matter of taste. What's not debatable, though, is the tariff, which is most reasonable -- it's half the price of plenty of polo shirts that aren't as well-made as the surfwashed polo."
Review 2 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy,
March 4, 2015
By: Thinkpad12
from Grandville, MI
"Love this shirt!! Second one I have purchased and it won't be the last. I wear these shirts out!! When I was thin enough I could throw on a t-shirt most every day I wasn't in the office but as I've aged, t-shirts are simply too much 'exposure'...if you know what I mean. This shirt looks and feels comfortable whether I tuck it in or leave it hang. Awesome!!"
Review 3 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
February 27, 2015
By: River
from Bellevue, WA
"Comfortable, great fit, with a broken in feel. A great shirt, just what I was looking for."
Review 4 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 26, 2015
By: bridgee
from saskatoon Canada
"comfortable...not too heavy.
Bought 2...one came with a tiny hole in the material ...but customer service was awesome to deal with.
Colors are great.
"
Review 5 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis is the best!,
February 26, 2015
By: Stumpy1
from Naples, ny
"Super casual polo, nice for everyday use but nice enough for going out to dinner."
Review 6 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these shirts!,
February 9, 2015
By: ErieCobeagleman
from PA
"This is my third purchase of the surf washed polo shirts. I love these shirts because they are not thick and they are soft plus they don't shrink. A very comfortable shirt to wear."
Review 7 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
comfortable but doesn't hold up,
January 23, 2015
By: poloholo
"I liked these shirts and bought two of them 7 months ago. they tear and a hole develops right in the stitched area on the front even when washed on gentle cycle and treated with care. both my shirts were worn once every two weeks, one of them was thrown out last week after a 1/2 hole appeared at the stiching and my other one has a 1/8 inch hole in the same spot. The shirts are comfortable but don't expect long life out of these.For the money I would expect significantly higher quality ."
Review 8 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great quality,
November 14, 2014
By: dallmag
from Birch Vale
"the items I have bought from Orvis are always a good fit and superior quality backed by very good service"
Review 9 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surf washed polos,
November 13, 2014
By: Rgbjr1944
from New Bern NC
"These are the most comfortable best fitting polo shirts I've ever worn."
Review 10 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality,
November 13, 2014
By: Scouch
from Edinburgh
"Nice and soft feel against your skin stylish and can be worn any where."
Review 11 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent buy,
November 13, 2014
By: Gotlieb
from Sacramento, Ca.
"very comfortable, easily laundered, I get a lot of complements."
Review 12 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
October 28, 2014
By: MSguy
from Jackson, MS
"I love these shirts, ordered a whole bunch of 'em and plan to get more. I live in Mississippi, and it's a perfect weight for our hot, humid weather, which often runs from March till December. Shirt has a full cut for us older guys who carry around a few pounds. Great shirt!"
Review 13 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I found it,
October 13, 2014
By: Crosby
from Buffalo, ny
"The moment I tried on this shirt, I knew I wanted it and several more of the same. I like the muted sun washed shades and the softness of the 100 percent cotton. My wife likes that they do not shrink and need little pressing. She also encouraged me to buy several as they are the most comfortable shirts I have ever purchased. I also appreciate the helpful and friendly associates.
PS. Please help me to buy more of
your other quality clothing.
"
Review 14 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality,
September 24, 2014
By: 2BOBROB
"The Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirts were just as expected true colour as, soft and super fit.The same standed as all my other shirts and jeans that I buy from Orvis very good value for the price."
Review 15 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 16, 2014
By: Kuhn
from Old Lyme, CT
"nicely made, soft material, washes well. the red color bleeds so use a color catcher."
Review 16 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Loose dye,
September 3, 2014
By: rrich
from Guildford UK
"Have no complaint about other colours of this shirt but I really don't expect to have to wash a garment before wearing it. Even after a pre- wash, dye poured out of the weathered red. It really has to be washed on its own to avoid pink stains on other clothes,which for a polo shirt which is worn a lot is not really a practical option. Surely it must be possible to fix the dye better and pre wash it in the manufacture."
Review 17 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product,
September 1, 2014
By: TedS
from Cape May NJ
"Quality craftsmanship, generous sizing, nice colors - this is a terrific casual shirt! I use it in place of t-shirts - same comfort, slightly nicer appearance! Thank you for an excellent product!"
Review 18 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby loves these shirts,
August 21, 2014
By: Crlobx
from FL
"Very comfy cotton shirt - has 5 of these. Hope Orvis keeps them in the catalog."
Review 19 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
favorite polo shirts,
August 19, 2014
By: Marian515
from Illinois
"I purchased several of these shirts. last year for my husband and he loved them. I just ordered additional shirts as they seem to be his favorite go to casual shirts. They are very lightweight and soft and perfect for his golf games in the Midwest heat and humidity. My only complaint is that last year's version most of the shirts got small holes near the placket after several washings. I hope this year's version holds up a little better. If not for that I would give this shirt 5 stars"
Review 20 for Surfwashed Short-Sleeved Polo Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality comfort shirt,
August 1, 2014
By: fishtalker
from Retired Wilmington, NC
"I now own 4 of these in weathered green, blue, red and persimmon. They exceed my standards which are high because I worked hard for my $$ and which Orvis products generally meet or exceed.
Pros: Quality built, soft cotton, extremely comfortable, stay tucked in long tail, unique collar design , great range of color choices. Great to combo with either casual or dress slacks, shorts too and under a blazer or sports coat, good price point at retail and great value when on sale. Orvis guarantee.
Cons: the dye color is not set in by design to supposedly enhance the weathered look over a number of washings. So if the washing instructions are NOT followed it could result in the dye color bleeding and thus staining some other clothing that may be washed with them. I recommend to Orvis that the original weathered dye colors be set to avoid further bleeding of dye onto other clothing which will conserve wash water and electricity thus becoming more eco friendly not to mention a cost savings to the owner.
Obviously, not a deal breaker but it would in my opinion a better eco option.
Catch and release,
fish
"