Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants

Direct from Murray's Toggery—a Nantucket fixture for more than a half century—these Nantucket Reds are standard-issue summer wear. Breathable, long-wearing pure cotton canvas offers remarkable comfort in warm weather. Traditional fit with a zip fly; quarter-top pockets and besom rear pockets (left with button-through closure). Men's pants in Nantucket red. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-44. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.405 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
37 of 42(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Review 1 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nantucket Redux,
June 28, 2015
By: MicMac
from New Haven, CT
"Every thing I expected! I have always enjoyed these slacks."
Review 2 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
June 18, 2015
By: Keydet83
from Columbia, SC
"Look like a million bucks and wear like iron! They get better and better with each inside-out washing. Straight from Massachusetts, but every Son of the South should own a pair!"
Review 3 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Fit,
June 18, 2015
By: JMCLKW
"Product arrived quickly, fit and looked great. Would buy again."
Review 4 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Original,
May 12, 2015
By: Intrepid1
from Nichols Hills, OK.
"The first thing to realize is that these are not manufactured by Orvis, but are the real deal directly from Murray's Toggery, a Nantucket icon.
Depending on your size, they may be too bulky in seat and leg width. It is worth it to have a good tailor take the seat in, and narrow the leg width, if needed.
If you don't, these will soon go in the back oof the closet. It is worth it to have a perfect pair of Murray's originals. They hve been coppied endlessly, but no one else comes close.
The same can be said for the Nantucket red shorts. Get the legs narrowed, and shortened. 9 1/2' inseam is too long. Go for it. Both the trousers and shorts. You will treasure them for years."
Review 5 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good but expensive,
May 9, 2015
By: godsown
from Northamptonshire
"Good quality but products from ORVIS come very expensive"
Review 6 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love rthe Color Hate the Fabric,
April 15, 2015
By: windycity1490
from West Des Moines, Iowa
"As the title says, the color is spectacular. The fabric, however, is like canvas...not a soft cotton if that is what you like. If you do not mind the feel, this is a great pair of slacks for you.
In short, a bit disappointed given the quality and softness I have experienced with Orvis' shirts."
Review 7 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved,
April 14, 2015
By: Renato
from Sao Paulo - Brazil
"I loved my Nantucket Reds Pants. A pair of beautiful color and high comfort, every time I put recall the wonderful vacation that years ago I spent in the New England region: New Haven, Boston, Stockbridge (with fabulous museum Norman Rockweel), Newport. Hyannis, Provincetown and more"
Review 8 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor styling,
April 2, 2015
By: Swapet
"Great fabric and colour wasted on poor styling. Too much material in seat, high waist. Very old fashioned."
Review 9 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please identify country of origin,
March 5, 2015
By: BREvans
"Unfortunately the quality of the fabric and the fit are both substandard for Orvis. Additionally, the country of origin figures into this review but cannot be mentioned without vitiating the review. Suffice it to say, I strongly advocate that Orvis clearly provide the country of origin for all of its products, thereby allowing consumers to make a more informed decision!"
Review 10 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor cut spoils good product,
November 14, 2014
By: pds888
from Putney, England
"I was looking forward to getting these trousers but I was disappointed by the cut. They are cut with a very high waist and a baggy seat and I would say are not suitable for anyone under 70. Unfortunately I had to return them. They are in a great cloth and colour and have heritage but they need a more contemporary style."
Review 11 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always wanted a pair,
November 14, 2014
By: bellringer
from Baldock, Herts.
"Pleased with the Nantucket Reds, good stout material and I love the faded colour."
Review 12 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The standard boat pants,
October 3, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"These are great for evenings on the boat, especially in early and late summer when it's a little colder on the water. A New England classic."
Review 13 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class,
September 3, 2014
By: Comart80
from A Z
"This was a gift
Quality product
Very we'll received
"
Review 14 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always perfect,
July 29, 2014
By: Busky
from Studley,Va
"The nantucket reds always look sharp with a white shirt and navy blazer. Let's make that a Orvis navy blazer and of course loafers and no socks."
Review 15 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants!,
June 27, 2014
By: JBNewYork
"These pants are great. A real New England look with the "Nantucket Red" color. Great weight of cotton, and very soft to the touch. Looking forward to sporting these pants out for the evening, or on the beach at a clambake!"
Review 16 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High Summer Style,
June 18, 2014
By: TheGC
from East Lansing, Michigan
"These pants are perfect for a summer evening when shorts are too casual. Style is always in fashion."
Review 17 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly as expected,
June 13, 2014
By: Ree24
from Laguna Beach, California
"Loved the color in the brochure and hoped it would be true to the picture. Not only was it, but the canvas quality was even better than expected. Great pants. I live on the west coast and these will get lots of beach time, especially in the fall when a little color is even more fun."
Review 18 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
What shape are Americans,
June 11, 2014
By: starnie
from Scotland
"I am a fairly small Scotsman who has shopped with Orvis for a few years. I have bought mostly shirts from you and have y been pleased with these purchases.,but when it comes to trousers I am amazed at their shape. I have just returned a pair of Nantucket Red Pants,not because of their colour but because although they fit round the waist they are extremely baggy in the thigh area which at my height makes me look like something out of the 1930's. If you are selling to the European market, I think you must seriously think of changing your tailoring.
I have one of your leather jackets which I love.
"
Review 19 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Pants,
May 28, 2014
By: Good1
from Denver, CO
"Great summer pants in a really cool color. Also lots of colorful Orvis shirts available to match."
Review 20 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatile summer pants,
May 27, 2014
By: Woodsywalker
from New England
"I was worried that these would have a clunky fit and a lurid color. I was wrong on both counts. The cut is timeless, and the color is a subdued yet rich summer tone that will go well with a range of formal or casual pairings."