Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants

Direct from Murray's Toggery—a Nantucket fixture for more than a half century—these Nantucket Reds are standard-issue summer wear. Breathable, long-wearing pure cotton canvas offers remarkable comfort in warm weather. Traditional fit with a zip fly; quarter-top pockets and besom rear pockets (left with button-through closure). Men's pants in Nantucket red. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-44. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
45 of 50(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Review 1 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these pants,
July 23, 2015
By: Antiochian
"Gorgeous look and comfortable feel. They're a perfect fit for a guy of my build: tall (34" inseam, high-waisted, needing relaxed fit."
Review 2 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Proper pants,
July 22, 2015
By: audri1
from Bugtussle, OK
"My husband saw these pants and had to have them - reminiscent of his home growing up in Virginia, They are great. I do not think he will take them off ever. Great quality material, all options in lengths and cuffs or straight. I will probably order another pair for backup. Looks great with a seer sucker jacket and 3 button polo"
Review 3 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nantucket Reds,
July 17, 2015
By: Don123GA
"Great fit and looks. Good addition to my Orvis collection."
Review 4 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NanReds,
July 16, 2015
By: TeeTime635
from Grand Rapids, MI
"Great look, feel and fit. The perfect summer slack for any occasion. Thanks for another wonderful item."
Review 5 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trousers,
July 15, 2015
By: Nickwill
"Stylish and superbly made trousers with a traditional fit and colour that even my wife likes. Makes a change when I pick trousers."
Review 6 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what i expected,
July 13, 2015
By: sailingisfun
"Been looking for the true Nantucket red for a long time and finally found them here."
Review 7 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pants, lousy cuffs,
July 12, 2015
By: ThunderbirdDC
from Potomac, MD
"i ordered these pants and they are great. The problem is that I had Orvis cuff them. Cuffs, not plain bottoms. 1 1/2 inch cuffs are the norm I thought. Arrived with 1 1/4 inch cuffs which frankly look ridiculous. i wish they would have stated that somewhere. I would have just ordered unfinished. The pants fit so well otherwise, I was afraid to exchange them."
Review 8 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kentucky Red,
July 4, 2015
By: Reb6
from Wales
"A1 in evesizery respect . UK pourchaser take care sizes are generous I would have preferred a smalle size."
Review 9 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nantucket Redux,
June 28, 2015
By: MicMac
from New Haven, CT
"Every thing I expected! I have always enjoyed these slacks."
Review 10 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
June 18, 2015
By: Keydet83
from Columbia, SC
"Look like a million bucks and wear like iron! They get better and better with each inside-out washing. Straight from Massachusetts, but every Son of the South should own a pair!"
Review 11 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Fit,
June 18, 2015
By: JMCLKW
"Product arrived quickly, fit and looked great. Would buy again."
Review 12 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Original,
May 12, 2015
By: Intrepid1
from Nichols Hills, OK.
"The first thing to realize is that these are not manufactured by Orvis, but are the real deal directly from Murray's Toggery, a Nantucket icon.
Depending on your size, they may be too bulky in seat and leg width. It is worth it to have a good tailor take the seat in, and narrow the leg width, if needed.
If you don't, these will soon go in the back oof the closet. It is worth it to have a perfect pair of Murray's originals. They hve been coppied endlessly, but no one else comes close.
The same can be said for the Nantucket red shorts. Get the legs narrowed, and shortened. 9 1/2' inseam is too long. Go for it. Both the trousers and shorts. You will treasure them for years."
Review 13 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good but expensive,
May 9, 2015
By: godsown
from Northamptonshire
"Good quality but products from ORVIS come very expensive"
Review 14 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love rthe Color Hate the Fabric,
April 15, 2015
By: windycity1490
from West Des Moines, Iowa
"As the title says, the color is spectacular. The fabric, however, is like canvas...not a soft cotton if that is what you like. If you do not mind the feel, this is a great pair of slacks for you.
In short, a bit disappointed given the quality and softness I have experienced with Orvis' shirts."
Review 15 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved,
April 14, 2015
By: Renato
from Sao Paulo - Brazil
"I loved my Nantucket Reds Pants. A pair of beautiful color and high comfort, every time I put recall the wonderful vacation that years ago I spent in the New England region: New Haven, Boston, Stockbridge (with fabulous museum Norman Rockweel), Newport. Hyannis, Provincetown and more"
Review 16 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor styling,
April 2, 2015
By: Swapet
"Great fabric and colour wasted on poor styling. Too much material in seat, high waist. Very old fashioned."
Review 17 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please identify country of origin,
March 5, 2015
By: BREvans
"Unfortunately the quality of the fabric and the fit are both substandard for Orvis. Additionally, the country of origin figures into this review but cannot be mentioned without vitiating the review. Suffice it to say, I strongly advocate that Orvis clearly provide the country of origin for all of its products, thereby allowing consumers to make a more informed decision!"
Review 18 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor cut spoils good product,
November 14, 2014
By: pds888
from Putney, England
"I was looking forward to getting these trousers but I was disappointed by the cut. They are cut with a very high waist and a baggy seat and I would say are not suitable for anyone under 70. Unfortunately I had to return them. They are in a great cloth and colour and have heritage but they need a more contemporary style."
Review 19 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always wanted a pair,
November 14, 2014
By: bellringer
from Baldock, Herts.
"Pleased with the Nantucket Reds, good stout material and I love the faded colour."
Review 20 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The standard boat pants,
October 3, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"These are great for evenings on the boat, especially in early and late summer when it's a little colder on the water. A New England classic."