Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants

Direct from Murray's Toggery—a Nantucket fixture for more than a half century—these Nantucket Reds are standard-issue summer wear. Breathable, long-wearing pure cotton canvas offers remarkable comfort in warm weather. Traditional fit with a zip fly; quarter-top pockets and besom rear pockets (left with button-through closure). Men's pants in Nantucket red. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-44. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.516 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
28 of 31(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Review 1 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor cut spoils good product,
November 14, 2014
By: pds888
from Putney, England
"I was looking forward to getting these trousers but I was disappointed by the cut. They are cut with a very high waist and a baggy seat and I would say are not suitable for anyone under 70. Unfortunately I had to return them. They are in a great cloth and colour and have heritage but they need a more contemporary style."
Review 2 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always wanted a pair,
November 14, 2014
By: bellringer
from Baldock, Herts.
"Pleased with the Nantucket Reds, good stout material and I love the faded colour."
Review 3 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The standard boat pants,
October 3, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"These are great for evenings on the boat, especially in early and late summer when it's a little colder on the water. A New England classic."
Review 4 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class,
September 3, 2014
By: Comart80
from A Z
"This was a gift
Quality product
Very we'll received
"
Review 5 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always perfect,
July 29, 2014
By: Busky
from Studley,Va
"The nantucket reds always look sharp with a white shirt and navy blazer. Let's make that a Orvis navy blazer and of course loafers and no socks."
Review 6 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants!,
June 27, 2014
By: JBNewYork
"These pants are great. A real New England look with the "Nantucket Red" color. Great weight of cotton, and very soft to the touch. Looking forward to sporting these pants out for the evening, or on the beach at a clambake!"
Review 7 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High Summer Style,
June 18, 2014
By: TheGC
from East Lansing, Michigan
"These pants are perfect for a summer evening when shorts are too casual. Style is always in fashion."
Review 8 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly as expected,
June 13, 2014
By: Ree24
from Laguna Beach, California
"Loved the color in the brochure and hoped it would be true to the picture. Not only was it, but the canvas quality was even better than expected. Great pants. I live on the west coast and these will get lots of beach time, especially in the fall when a little color is even more fun."
Review 9 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
What shape are Americans,
June 11, 2014
By: starnie
from Scotland
"I am a fairly small Scotsman who has shopped with Orvis for a few years. I have bought mostly shirts from you and have y been pleased with these purchases.,but when it comes to trousers I am amazed at their shape. I have just returned a pair of Nantucket Red Pants,not because of their colour but because although they fit round the waist they are extremely baggy in the thigh area which at my height makes me look like something out of the 1930's. If you are selling to the European market, I think you must seriously think of changing your tailoring.
I have one of your leather jackets which I love.
"
Review 10 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Pants,
May 28, 2014
By: Good1
from Denver, CO
"Great summer pants in a really cool color. Also lots of colorful Orvis shirts available to match."
Review 11 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatile summer pants,
May 27, 2014
By: Woodsywalker
from New England
"I was worried that these would have a clunky fit and a lurid color. I was wrong on both counts. The cut is timeless, and the color is a subdued yet rich summer tone that will go well with a range of formal or casual pairings."
Review 12 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Pants,
May 2, 2014
By: LouK3
from Lynden, WA
"It's a fun pants to wear. People are most interested in it, especially when I tell them it's guaranteed to fade."
Review 13 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Summer look,
April 18, 2014
By: Katherinekc
from Ghent, NY
"I gave these as a gift to my husband. He loves them. Can wear them for dress down or up on weekends in the Summer. Good fit and fabric."
Review 14 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Pants,
April 16, 2014
By: HottyToddyFlies
from Mississippi
"I'm very glad that Orvis carries these pants from Murray's Toggery. They are constructed extremely well and look/feel great. Much like a Barbour jacket, they look and feel even better with age."
Review 15 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic,
April 10, 2014
By: wawsf
from colorado
"These pants are true classics in every sense of the word, from the color to the weight of the fabric. They do need some breaking in but a couple of washes does the trick. waste is slightly smaller than expected so one size up might be considered if on the borderline."
Review 16 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roy's birthday surprise,
April 8, 2014
By: beverlysouth
"My husband loved his birthday gift. I was worried that the red might be too bright but it turned out to be just the right shade. What I especially liked was being able to specify the length of the pants."
Review 17 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spring Fever,
March 25, 2014
By: 625GAN
from Oley,PA.
"I will wear the red pants I received in 2 weeks when I play the Wasington Duke golf course in Durham,NC.
The style,color,and fit are perfect.
Thank You Orvis.
"
Review 18 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the pink . . .,
November 8, 2013
By: dellabonna
from Norfolk, England
"As usual with Orvis products, these pink trousers are extremely well made, and the cut and fit are superb."
Review 19 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SOMETHING DIFFERENT,
August 23, 2013
By: Altadena
from California
"I wanted something besides the same old colors and ordered a pair for the summer. I had them cuffed. They arrived exactly as ordered. The label says to wash seperately in cold water, hang dry, and do not dry clean. They dry quickly and I had them pressed at the cleaners. They really hold a crease."
Review 20 for The Original Nantucket Reds™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Color ran out,
June 19, 2013
By: NAP1
from Annapolis, MD
"I have owned this pair of trousers for a number of years and have had them dry cleaned frequently.
Today when we picked them up at the same cleaning establishment, they were a mottled mess of colors and no colors. The manager said she had had one other pair of the same trousers do likewise. Given this sad event, I thought you should be aware that washing may well be the wiser cleaning recommendation.
"