Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sailcloth Pants

Pure cotton sailcloth canvas—a timeless square-woven fabric renowned for its sturdy feel and long wear—lends these sailcloth pants for men rugged looks and breathability perfect for summers at the seaside. Classic details throughout, including side-seam pockets, concealed watch pocket, and two button-secured rear pockets, one with flap. Sailcloth pants for men in white. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-44. Pants available cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sailcloth Pants
Review 1 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Won't find them in stores...,
February 21, 2014
By: RamonAntonio
from Puerto Rico
"YEP...! Eons ago these or similar were elsewhere and "a la mode". Paired with the venerable Hush Puppies before they were labeled "chukka's" they were used, cleaned, used, cleaned till someone without a heart threw them out. Ouch!
Till now, as a blast from the past from Orvis. Now, I'll check the laundry and everywhere else where a suspicious white trouser that defies age and death is headed to oblivion again. Or maybe I'll laundry it myself to be sure...
Looking for a replacement clone very soon...
"
Review 2 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Smart Cruise Wear,
February 20, 2014
By: PrincessElite
from The Villages, Florida
"Ordered 2 pair for husband to wear on cruises. He also boards with white pants and navy blazer with brass buttons and saddle shoes!
Hate to worry about shrinking, so ordered inseam 1 1/4 longer than needed. Chat told me max shrinkage would be 4%. or 1 1/4 in. for 31 in. inseam. So washed them in hot water, and put into hot dryer. Inseam ONLY SHRANK HALF INCH!. Perfect.
Even if had shrunk the 1 1/4 inch, still would have worked. Can also put them in cruise ship laundry that we get free, and they use hot water, believe me. Beautiful pants. Ordered 42 waist which actually measures 43, great, allows for tuck in shirt.
Sailcloth fabric is lovely, 8 oz, chat told me, no worry about see though. Very substancial fabric. Don't even have to iron them. Put in dryer alone, dry, put on hanger, and ready to wear!!!
"
Review 3 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slacks,
February 13, 2014
By: Yarrow
from Wisconsin
"Great slacks. Fit is accurate. Quality material and appropriate for warm weather. Ordered a pair cuffed and loved them and immediately ordered a pair un-cuffed for more casual settings. Both look great with white bucks and Sperrys. Can't wait for summer!"
Review 4 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer pants.,
February 8, 2014
By: Canalwalker
from Cape Cod,Ma.
"These pants were bought for spring and summer wear. Great looking with shirt alone or with shirt and blazer. The are very comfortable and feel and look great."
Review 5 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
NOT 44 WAIST LIKE IS SAYS,
February 4, 2014
By: bottle
from MARION IN
"CAN'T BUTTON THEM UP TAG SAYS THEY ARE 44 BUT I CAN'T BUTTON THEM !!!"
Review 6 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product at great price,
February 3, 2014
By: retiredangler
from Okotoks, Alberta Canada
"I waited in the hope that this product would sometime be available at a sale price. My wait paid off and I am appreciative."
Review 7 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pants,
February 3, 2014
By: spotgerber
from ct
"even though I have not wore them they fit right and look good"
Review 8 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look and feel special,
January 21, 2014
By: RedTempledog
"These are the perfect summer trousers. Crisp and cool, casual but elegant enough for evening wear. Perfect with golf shirts and sandals or with dress shirt, tie and jacket."
Review 9 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
White Pants,
September 3, 2013
By: ADMS
from Phone order
"Very nice pants; however, the sewing department at Orvis didn't follow the shortening instructions and the pants are too short!!!!!"
Review 10 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent quality,
June 25, 2013
By: MrBill535
from Napa Valley, CA
"These are just as advertised. I'm considering a second pair."
Review 11 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort,
June 4, 2013
By: jfitz
from vancouver bc
"These pants give a guy what he most wants...comfort,style and a product which will last forever."
Review 12 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome summer pant,
April 2, 2013
By: Cogswell
from Minnesota
"I was a bit concerned before buying these pants because I thought they might be on the heavy side like Murray's Nantucket Reds. Instead, they are a nice lightweight summer pant. The texture from the weave of these pants is very pleasing to the eye. Easy to dres s up or down. A bought a second pair with no cuff to wear with sneakers and pools."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looking for very best summer pants?,
March 25, 2013
By: MWShropshireLad
from England
"Having booked a Summer Holiday - I needed a new pair of pants. Found just what I wanted in these high quality sailcloth canvas pants and paired them with the Navy italian braided belt from Orvis. Now I can promenade with the best of them."
Review 14 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sailcloth Pants,
May 30, 2012
By: Pope
from Richmond, VA
"These pants look even better in real life than they do in the magazine. They fit right, are comfortable, and have a nice feel to the cloth suggesting you can count on them. I love them."
Review 15 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We need more tailored trousters,
May 30, 2012
By: Orviski
from Aspen CO
"The sizing of the thighs was huge. Unfortunately there does not appear to be a more tailored slimmer version. I am returning because wife says it looks like I'm wearing a tent."
Review 16 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream summer pants,
May 22, 2012
By: gent
from Watervliet NY
"These pants are great. The material is ideal for all summer occasions. The fit is comfortable, a traditional fit. And the color is a rich white. I am very pleased."
Review 17 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pants!,
May 15, 2012
By: samboat
from San Luis Obispo, CA
"These are so beautiful on my husband. He's a perfect 34 waist - 33 inseam ( just what he ordered) and they fit like a dream. Great for golf or any casual occasion. The white is really white. Please don't buy cheap imitations."
Review 18 for Sailcloth Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No 1s!,
May 1, 2012
By: Tabard
from Monmouth
"I have recently taken delivery of this extremely smart pair of sailing trousers which look immaculate when worn with my Orvis Blazer.
I cut a real dash, in fact.
Superb quality.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sailcloth Pants
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3