Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts

Renowned for centuries for its cool-wearing breathability in warm weather, pure linen is still one of the best summer fabrics you can buy—and is the clear choice in the world's hottest climates. Our short-sleeved shirts for men feature a hidden-button-down collar for a neat look. Short-sleeve shirts for men are made from pure linen. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.372 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
44 of 51(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Review 1 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Real nice linen shirts,
April 7, 2014
By: RandyGa
"I own a couple of these shirts. They are well made and look like they will last forever. The material is fairly thick for linen but still cool to wear. The only con is that they are sized pretty large. I normally wear an XL and even the large is roomy on me. If you double check the sizing chart for this shirt you will be fine."
Review 2 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Like Linen,
February 1, 2014
By: Timmers
from Royal Oak, MI
"This shirt is one of the finest Linen shirts I have owned. Love the fit. Love the Color. Great Summer Shirt"
Review 3 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what it is supposed to be,
January 1, 2014
By: ctdr
from WA
"M shirt fits me well, and I usually wear between a M and L. Attractive."
Review 4 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great item,
December 18, 2013
By: IRABj5
from Southern NJ Shore
"Nice Colors Will reorder in multiple colors for Spring 2014"
Review 5 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the best,
December 17, 2013
By: danf415
from Bakersfield Ca
"this is probably the best linen shirt I've ever owned. This is the real thing. Great fabric.Good fit. Good looks. I own several. They're that good!"
Review 6 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
September 4, 2013
By: GrandCO
from Colorado
"My husband ordered this shirt over a year ago. When I saw it, my first thought was "Oh no, it will need to be ironed." Well, I have loved how good he looks in the shirt that I grew to love ironing it. So much so, that when he got a tea stain on the old one, I was the one to order a replacement."
Review 7 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
heavy quality,
August 24, 2013
By: laxmom81
from Napa, CA
"Originally bought the large, but the cut was way too big. Exchanged, but had to change color, becsuse it was sold out. Heavy shirt will be perfect for our mild winters."
Review 8 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sizing wrong,
August 23, 2013
By: CEDinTX
from Plain-old-TX
"Ordered a Large, shirt that arrived was labeled Large, but was cut like an XXL. I have three other of these in other colors and they were cut properly. Quality control issue on this production run."
Review 9 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts,
August 12, 2013
By: AlvaroH
"A really cool wearing. 100% linen, highly breathable. It has a nice embroidery of a fishing fly a the bottom of the left side. Great summer shirt."
Review 10 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Production Values,
July 26, 2013
By: rodders
from Cambridgeshire, England
"Using top quality line , this shirt has been ,made to the highest standards,right down to the embroidered bird on the flare on the side tail."
Review 11 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Shirt,
July 19, 2013
By: LouisP
from Canada
"Very comfortable shirt well made and good quality. I little thicker material than I was expecting."
Review 12 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good summer shirt,
July 13, 2013
By: customeroflongdate
from Montreal, Canada
"The fit of this shirt is as loose as it gets. The material will puff out like a spinnaker around your middle, which is no bad thing in summer clothing: after all, the more space for air between your body and the fabric, the cooler. On the other hand, it is unnecessarily sloppy in the shoulders. If you're borderline between sizes, drop down to the smaller one."
Review 13 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BBB = Big Bad Beautiful,
July 11, 2013
By: MrOrvisian
from Pasadena, California
"This shirt is really handsome in navy houndstooth. I ordered a medium and thought I'd be the lucky one to get one true to size — Nooo Way! The shoulders droop over 2 inches beyond and the sleeves hang down my arms. What were they thinking, or not thinking? Anyway, since the shirt inventory is completely wiped out in small... obviously we all jumped in the one remaining lifeboat together on this one and some of us go down with the ship. However, my wife sews a lot and she has agreed to tear the thing apart and rebuild it to my size. So I'll keep it."
Review 14 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool summer sport shirt,
July 11, 2013
By: customeroflongdate
from Montreal, Canada
"The fit of this shirt is VERY generous: it makes a vast billow around the torso, which is advantageous in hot weather, favoring circulation of air. The linen material is highly breathable. Though it is not strictly speaking no-iron, the crinkling that occurs on drying is slight enough that I personally feel no need to press it."
Review 15 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
generous cut,
June 25, 2013
By: beaudor
"Beautiful shirt but if you want a closer fitting look, you might want to order a smaller size. I normally wear a large - but feel like I'm swimming in this shirt. I wear it as an over-shirt. Can't be worn with shorts."
Review 16 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Great Shirt,
June 17, 2013
By: geno929
from Austin, Tx
"Orvis is know for producing a quality product and I proudly own many. The one drawback for me is their button placement. I find them spaced to far apart allowing the shirt to gap even on a person w/out a bulging stomach. Just enough to be noticeable.
This has not kept me from purchasing other items-I have my alterations people attach a snap at the gap between button 4 & 5.
"
Review 17 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casual with class,
June 14, 2013
By: javadog
from Chino Hills, CA
"Great material of cotton and linen. This shirt will make you stand out in the crowd."
Review 18 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size,
June 4, 2013
By: Threeup
from Dallas, TX
"I wear a "normal" size XL. I ordered two of these shirts in XL and was shocked at the size. It literally hung off me -way too large. Not wanting to get into a guessing game over the size, I returned both shirts for a refund. I'm a loyal Orvis customer so this surprised me."
Review 19 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
June 3, 2013
By: SylviaTM
from Unity, NH
"This shirt is great - heavy weight linen really hangs well, looks and feels great!"
Review 20 for Pure Linen Short-Sleeved Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Service,
May 31, 2013
By: Krogness
from Austin, TX
"Bought a medium in store--too roomy. Store arranged a return and exchange for a small. Shirt had some white flecks that were not right. Store arranged an exchange for a small white. The shirt arrived as promised and is great. Great products and great service."