Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt

Cozy and comfortable, this wonderfully soft, laundered all-cotton knit cardigan sweatshirt is just right for cool mornings and breezy days. Button front, front pockets, and a relaxed, boxy fit. Washable. Made in USA.Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12); about 25" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
6
14 of 27(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cozy,
February 1, 2013
By: Kailuan
from Kailua, HI
"Cozy, and love the dusty purple color. Size is a problem. The sleeves of my large ( my normal size) came beyond the fingertips. For some reason the cuff is edged in elastic, which makes rolling it up a problem. I exchanged it for a medium, which hasn't come yet. If necessary I will cut off the elastic and just stitch a hem. The body is also way too large. If a hot dryer doesn't shrink it enough I will stitch up the sides. Yet I think it still is worth this extra work"
Review 2 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed,
February 1, 2013
By: Sandykay
from Florida
"Very disappointed in the quality. It looks stretched out and does not look anything like the picture. Would have sent it back but after paying the $7.95 to receive it and having to pay $6.95 to return it, it's not worth sending back, I'll just give it away."
Review 3 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have 3 of these jackets,
November 6, 2012
By: springerjump
from Colorado
"This is my favorite to wear, it does seem like the pockets are getting smaller though. I wear this around the house to I can keep the heat a bit lower. Its a great cardigan, glad you got black in!!"
Review 4 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Made in USA,
October 12, 2012
By: ArmyUSA
"I love it. It is hard to find American made women's clothing. I was very happy to have found this. Big smile."
Review 5 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this cardigan,
August 22, 2012
By: Stanky
"This cardigan is so soft and comfortable and it holds up well in the wash. I would recommend ordering at least one size smaller than your true size. I'm a size large and purchased a small which fits me fine. I also like it because it's made in the USA."
Review 6 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor sizing,
August 14, 2012
By: ZRGA
from Bay City, MI
"View of the product online appealed to me as very versatile - useful for my purposes - attractively styled.
After reading the reviews I ordered a size smaller than I would normally. The smaller size was too large as well and there was no alternative as this was a small. Paying shipping for this item when inappropriately sized by the manufacturer was irritating to say the least. This will affect my consideration of future purchases.
"
Review 7 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not up to expectations,
August 7, 2012
By: Chicagolady
"I bought this for the color (smoky lavender of some such) and the color was OK. But the styling was not there and woven fabric was not appealing. Would have been better to put up a cardigan sweatshirt in varying colors and not try to make a couple of different items out of one. Stick with the basics, tsoft nice, comfortable sweatshir cardigan that is "honest"Will keep trying because when we hit it off I end up loving the items I've bought."
Review 8 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight cardigan sweatshirt,
August 6, 2012
By: KAS2
"This is a great sweater/sweatshirt but NOT true to size. I ordered the large and it fit as a XXL would fit. I ordered the medium and it fit as an XL would fit. Sizing is not on scale with what I would normally order but after ordering down two sizes, the fit was perfect & I have received compliments on this sweater."
Review 9 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
VERY disappointed,
July 30, 2012
By: Hedge
from United States
"There is no way this sweater is the same one pictured. It was wider than long (Relaxed fit? I don't think so). The color was washed out and EXTREMELY overpriced for the quality. Not up to Orvis' standards."
Review 10 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great in white, horrid in black,
July 17, 2012
By: HafKiwiNZ
from Cape Elizabeth, Maine
"I've got 2of these in white, too big the first order, so went down a size in reorder. Ordered in black-huge disappointment. Different fabric than the white, hem was stretched out & it had a lousy shape. Will return it as soon as I have a moment."
Review 11 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for Me,
July 10, 2012
By: cyndon
from MA
"It was exactly what I wanted - informal, loose, - perfect to toss on over a jersey if the weather suddenly changed."
Review 12 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Orvis Quality!,
July 10, 2012
By: Happi
from Spokane, WA
"I love the style of this jacket and really wanted it, but the fabric shrank so much that the whole thing got wrenched out of shape. I think you knew it would shrink, too, because it was huge, way too big for a size small. This was not the quality I've come to love about Orvis. Please let me know when you make this jacket with your good fabric, in your standard size!"
Review 13 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 9, 2012
By: Ellensburg
from Bellingham, WA
"I needed a basic black cardigan that would dress up or down. The material is soft & the style works. The only reason I gave the cardigan a 4 is the band at the bottom accentuates the hip area. Also adding an inch or two would help produce a longer look."
Review 14 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Orvis quality,
July 7, 2012
By: Thrifty
from NJ
"Unbelievably large. In the small the garment chest size is 42" and in the hips 44". The knit is limp, wrinkled and rather thin. Back it goes."
Review 15 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfy, Casual,
July 2, 2012
By: nickster
"This sweater is very comfortable with a nice soft cotton. Great to throw on when running errands. It does run a bit large though. Nice to be able to buy clothing made in the USA."
Review 16 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Several sizes too big.,
June 27, 2012
By: Pam2137
from Phoenix, AZ
"This sweatshirt is very comfortable but is several sizes too large. After reading the reviews, I took a chance and ordered it two sizes smaller than I usually buy. The medium is still a little too big but I'll wear it anyway.
It will be a nice sweater to thrown into the back of the car to use when we have cool nights.
"
Review 17 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 19, 2012
By: aleke
"fits good does not wrinkle easy and I like the pockets"
Review 18 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
purple cardigan sweatshirt,
June 8, 2012
By: Sue1
from GA
"I liked the color of mauve/purple, and the big buttons, and the fact that it was cotton. However, it runs very very big, and I am a larger woman, 190, so had to return it to get a large instead of XL. Good for a trip to Alaska. Sue"
Review 19 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not sized correctly,
June 7, 2012
By: jeno
from Michgan
"I've been watching this item waiting for it to go on sale. When I did order it I couldn't wait because it was just my style.
I ordered a size large and it fit like a 1X or even bigger.
Had to send it back and was not open to buy another size. It was that far off.
"
Review 20 for Lightweight Cardigan Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a lovely sweater,
June 4, 2012
By: mamanet
from New Haven, CT
"I have gotten so many compliments on this sweater. It is very nicely made. It IS boxy but I need a boxy fit. However, it is a nice weight. I wore it on a trip to Holland where the weather can be cool in the fall and it worked beautifully."