Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts

You'll want a pair in every color—they're that comfortable. Garment dyed and prewashed for a thoroughly broken-in look and feel, these soft, brushed-twill shorts for men go on easily and adjust with a convenient, integrated web belt. Roomy side-seam pockets, drop-in back pocket. Twill shorts for men are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(32-34), L(36-38), XL(40-42), XXL(44-46). Shorts inseam 9".
Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
1
48 of 58(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Review 1 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great BUM Shorts,
August 23, 2015
By: FJK11
from California
"Really nice colors and so comfortable out of the box. Perfect pocket arrangements plus a belt to keep my bum in the shorts. I want MORE!"
Review 2 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth it,
August 22, 2015
By: Kapyrick1
from Minneapolis, MN
"Good weight material, fits true. Worth the clearance price, not full price."
Review 3 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pick for my husband!,
August 22, 2015
By: Murphie
from Atlanta, GA
"He really loves these shorts. They fit great and the color is vibrant too!"
Review 4 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts,
August 21, 2015
By: JRRSOX
from Mechanicsburg, PA
"The Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts are versatile, comfortable and stylish! They are literally beyond compare!"
Review 5 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Winner!,
August 20, 2015
By: AGuyInBoston
from Boston, MA
"The Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts are a terrific product. Not because they make your bum look like a trout but because of their comfort, color, 2 side and 1 back pockets and built-in belt. The soft cotton feels great without underpants and the red didn't run in the wash and ruin my wife's white blouses. They save marriages too! I'm buying another pair soon."
Review 6 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Everything fine But.......,
August 18, 2015
By: 111188
from Southern California
"Orvis products are usually excellent quality but the elastic in these shorts was very poor. No stretch or give at all. Sent them back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
August 10, 2015
By: Vicki7
from Pineville, LA
"Last year we got these shorts in kahki too. Wish they had that color this year. Great uniform shorts. The red look really nice on my son."
Review 8 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice!!,
August 6, 2015
By: TrailBum2
"Love the feel of the material. Fits well and didn't bind at all on a very long trip. Will probably buy another pair!"
Review 9 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple is Best,
June 22, 2015
By: TASJR
from San Diego
"Simply step in 'em. I own five pair. Cool but tough outer fabric and good pockets. Loosen belt when sitting then tighten with a yank. Maybe the best feature for active guys: ...you never have to check the fly!"
Review 10 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sizing issue,
April 12, 2015
By: Jeanliv
from Garnet valley, pa
"These shorts were huge... Have ordered this size from you many times but this time they didn't even come close to fitting. I hate having to return, so will hesitate before ordering similar items in the future."
Review 11 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect fit,
February 16, 2015
By: snyder
from BROCKPORT NEW YORK
"purchased for upcoming trip to Aruba. as always the sizing was just right. fabric was broken in which I like. as always top notch product"
Review 12 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good looking and comfortable...,
February 9, 2015
By: LivinLargeinFL
from Tampa, FL
"Look like a beach bum and feel good in the bargain. Weathered look, well constructed. One problem is with built in belt. When you tighten it, the end hangs down, as there is no belt loop to hold it up! If you like the swinging free look, that might be a plus, but I prefer my belts tucked away. A good pant nevertheless."
Review 13 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice shorts, but....,
October 13, 2014
By: Hockman
from Norther NJ
"just didn't feel right on me. This is one of those garments that you often keep because you convince yourself you'll wear it, but you know you won't.. Returned.
Nice quality though, just not right somehow."
Review 14 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome shorts,
October 10, 2014
By: hairlessdog
from Seattle
"These are great shorts. Easy to get on and off and they look good. Only thing I would add is I wish they had a zip fly - would be much more convenient. I now own 2 pair."
Review 15 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Look and Fit,
October 8, 2014
By: JSlocomb
from Woodlands Texas
"I purchased two pairs of these shorts and found them to be a perfect fit and to look great. I'll certainly add another pair in the near future. Thanks for this wonderful product."
Review 16 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Favorite,
September 6, 2014
By: fphp
"We purchased multiple pairs of these shorts for family members. They are sturdy, comfortable and the right length! Great bargain, even when not on sale! A zipper fly would make them excellent..."
Review 17 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Fishing Must,
September 4, 2014
By: mjfarrow
from Houston, TX
"Perfect weight and length! Dries fast and can take a beating!"
Review 18 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great casual shorts,
September 2, 2014
By: blshuler
"These shorts are one of the best quality casual shorts I have. Comfortable and sturdy material. Should last a long time."
Review 19 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Solid",
August 26, 2014
By: JohnnyReb
from Memphis, TN
"I'll sum these shorts up in one word........."Solid"!"
Review 20 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Alright purchase,
August 11, 2014
By: Jori
from Savannah , ga.
"I like the shorts , they are comfortable & I wear them often. It's a good thing I have 2 pair though , because the seams in the crotch in one pair already has holes in it. I haven't had them long enough for the crotch to wear out.
I might order another pair but if the crotch gets holes in it I will never order another pair.
"