Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts

You'll want a pair in every color—they're that comfortable. Garment dyed and prewashed for a thoroughly broken-in look and feel, these soft, brushed-twill shorts for men go on easily and adjust with a convenient, integrated web belt. Roomy side-seam pockets, drop-in back pocket. Twill shorts for men are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(32-34), L(36-38), XL(40-42), XXL(44-46). Shorts inseam 9".
Average Customer Rating:
4.122 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
1
40 of 49(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Review 1 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple is Best,
June 22, 2015
By: TASJR
from San Diego
"Simply step in 'em. I own five pair. Cool but tough outer fabric and good pockets. Loosen belt when sitting then tighten with a yank. Maybe the best feature for active guys: ...you never have to check the fly!"
Review 2 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sizing issue,
April 12, 2015
By: Jeanliv
from Garnet valley, pa
"These shorts were huge... Have ordered this size from you many times but this time they didn't even come close to fitting. I hate having to return, so will hesitate before ordering similar items in the future."
Review 3 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect fit,
February 16, 2015
By: snyder
from BROCKPORT NEW YORK
"purchased for upcoming trip to Aruba. as always the sizing was just right. fabric was broken in which I like. as always top notch product"
Review 4 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good looking and comfortable...,
February 9, 2015
By: LivinLargeinFL
from Tampa, FL
"Look like a beach bum and feel good in the bargain. Weathered look, well constructed. One problem is with built in belt. When you tighten it, the end hangs down, as there is no belt loop to hold it up! If you like the swinging free look, that might be a plus, but I prefer my belts tucked away. A good pant nevertheless."
Review 5 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice shorts, but....,
October 13, 2014
By: Hockman
from Norther NJ
"just didn't feel right on me. This is one of those garments that you often keep because you convince yourself you'll wear it, but you know you won't.. Returned.
Nice quality though, just not right somehow."
Review 6 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome shorts,
October 10, 2014
By: hairlessdog
from Seattle
"These are great shorts. Easy to get on and off and they look good. Only thing I would add is I wish they had a zip fly - would be much more convenient. I now own 2 pair."
Review 7 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Look and Fit,
October 8, 2014
By: JSlocomb
from Woodlands Texas
"I purchased two pairs of these shorts and found them to be a perfect fit and to look great. I'll certainly add another pair in the near future. Thanks for this wonderful product."
Review 8 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Favorite,
September 6, 2014
By: fphp
"We purchased multiple pairs of these shorts for family members. They are sturdy, comfortable and the right length! Great bargain, even when not on sale! A zipper fly would make them excellent..."
Review 9 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Fishing Must,
September 4, 2014
By: mjfarrow
from Houston, TX
"Perfect weight and length! Dries fast and can take a beating!"
Review 10 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great casual shorts,
September 2, 2014
By: blshuler
"These shorts are one of the best quality casual shorts I have. Comfortable and sturdy material. Should last a long time."
Review 11 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Solid",
August 26, 2014
By: JohnnyReb
from Memphis, TN
"I'll sum these shorts up in one word........."Solid"!"
Review 12 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Alright purchase,
August 11, 2014
By: Jori
from Savannah , ga.
"I like the shorts , they are comfortable & I wear them often. It's a good thing I have 2 pair though , because the seams in the crotch in one pair already has holes in it. I haven't had them long enough for the crotch to wear out.
I might order another pair but if the crotch gets holes in it I will never order another pair.
"
Review 13 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good shorts,
July 22, 2014
By: LVKBILL
from Campbell, Ca
"Bill- The shorts are very comfortable. Only 2 drawbacks if they are important to you, 1) The drawstring hangs downs 12 inches when pulled tight. 2) No zipper to go to the bathroom. possibly a 3rd, side pockets are sewn so small that you can't put anything in side pockets."
Review 14 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
July 21, 2014
By: Tmb10
from Oxford, MS
"These are another good product from Orvis. They're comfortable and they look good. The only con is the lack of a zipper. Other than that, I'd recommend them to anyone."
Review 15 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the stream Comfort,
May 12, 2014
By: BioMan
from Concord,Ohio
"The Trout Bum Packsaddles Shorts came already broken-in. They are comfortable, fit just right, and are the length I like my shorts to be. I can't wait to get in my kayak with them on this summer. They wee a good buy too."
Review 16 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
April 5, 2014
By: Grannah
from NY
"Fit well in the butt and legs. Great pull strap belt."
Review 17 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Nonsense Shorts,
April 4, 2014
By: scottylamb
from Louisiana
"Comfortable, sturdy, lots of room! If you want shorts that will stand up to sliding across rocks and tree trunks, and not make you look like a fashion hipster - you want these shorts! I'm getting more!"
Review 18 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2nd pair,
March 17, 2014
By: Fugg
from Texas
"Great shorts for a lazy day around the house or for any activity outdoors. Ordered a pair a year ago and decided it was time for another pair."
Review 19 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No Fly,
March 14, 2014
By: Takhatpur
from Frankfort, MI
"I'm the buyer for my minimalist husband. These looked comfortable. Arrived, tried, no fly
returned. Shouldn't the description
say no fly ?
"
Review 20 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Be careful,
March 10, 2014
By: bearsfan804
"Make sure you know that in addition to a draw string there is no front fly on these shorts. They are more like a bathing suit than "shorts." Quality is great!"