Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts

You'll want a pair in every color—they're that comfortable. Garment dyed and prewashed for a thoroughly broken-in look and feel, these soft, brushed-twill shorts for men go on easily and adjust with a convenient, integrated web belt. Roomy side-seam pockets, drop-in back pocket. Shorts inseam 9". Twill shorts for men are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(28-30), M(32-34), L(36-38), XL(40-42), XXL(44-46).
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
1
22 of 29(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Review 1 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
April 5, 2014
By: Grannah
from NY
"Fit well in the butt and legs. Great pull strap belt."
Review 2 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Nonsense Shorts,
April 4, 2014
By: scottylamb
from Louisiana
"Comfortable, sturdy, lots of room! If you want shorts that will stand up to sliding across rocks and tree trunks, and not make you look like a fashion hipster - you want these shorts! I'm getting more!"
Review 3 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2nd pair,
March 17, 2014
By: Fugg
from Texas
"Great shorts for a lazy day around the house or for any activity outdoors. Ordered a pair a year ago and decided it was time for another pair."
Review 4 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No Fly,
March 14, 2014
By: Takhatpur
from Frankfort, MI
"I'm the buyer for my minimalist husband. These looked comfortable. Arrived, tried, no fly
returned. Shouldn't the description
say no fly ?
"
Review 5 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Be careful,
March 10, 2014
By: bearsfan804
"Make sure you know that in addition to a draw string there is no front fly on these shorts. They are more like a bathing suit than "shorts." Quality is great!"
Review 6 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Trout Bum -- A Bummer,
March 5, 2014
By: IB6535
from Manotick, Ontario, Canada
"Shorts, in the large size are not cut well. Constricting, tight and do not measure up to the Orvis standard!"
Review 7 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cotton short pants,
March 4, 2014
By: livestoflyfish
from somewhere on the South Holston River
"Nothing spectacular about them. They are well made khaki shorts. They will be my "go to" shorts for bumming around the river(s) this summer. I got them on sale so they were a good value."
Review 8 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
March 1, 2014
By: Dwight25
"Great pair of shorts for just about any activity. Materials and cut is super comfortable."
Review 9 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy shorts,
February 28, 2014
By: Diverbob
from Olympia, WA.
"They feel durable and comfy to wear. Can't wait for summer."
Review 10 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep Your "Trout Bum" Dry,
November 9, 2013
By: FlyFishViking
from Scottsdale, AZ
"I went with the 'navy' Packsaddle Shorts, goes great with a 'bleached blue' Zipneck Casting Shirt"
Review 11 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rippin' good times!,
September 26, 2013
By: JohnnyStriker
from Austin TX
"I have a pair of these shorts in all available colors, but have had to return three pair now because they have all ripped along the inner leg. I'd love to say that I was doing something really adventurous when the rips occurred, but it was usually as simple as kneeling down to take a picture or pick up my son. Very thankful for the 100% satisfaction guarantee!"
Review 12 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable Fishing Shorts,
September 21, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased the Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts in size medium; they comfortably fit my 32” waist. Good fabric, construction and integrated belt. There is no place to clip-on tools, but the deep pockets suffice."
Review 13 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect shorts!,
September 16, 2013
By: Wendaful
from Pasadena, CA
"Purchased for my husband. These shorts are true to size with great material and quality stitching. We ended up buying them in every color."
Review 14 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout Bum Summer Style,
August 28, 2013
By: FlyFishViking
from Scottsdale, AZ
"Pair these with a drirelease® Casting Tee and you'll have it made in the shade"
Review 15 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice unless,
July 18, 2013
By: jhwphd
from boulder colorado neuropsychologist
"they are just great, but i had to sew on a loop to hook my keys onto since the belt runs inside a channel all the way around. otherwise they are just great and others might not care about this."
Review 16 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durable fabric, runs large,
May 28, 2013
By: dentalboy
from Fort Collins, CO
"Nice shorts with integrated belt. Hits just above knee. I ordered a large but they were too big. My brother wears a 36 waist and the large fit him fine. Now he owns them."
Review 17 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
May 17, 2013
By: Izzybella
"Love the all elastic waist. Comfortable, good looking, ready for any casual occasion."
Review 18 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts!,
May 8, 2013
By: NoVaHiker
from Alexandria, VA
"These shorts were comfortable and sizing is generous. They seem to be durable and definitely do wash well, retaining their shape, texture, and color. There are ample pockets for my needs, and they are deep enough that I do not have to worry about things falling out when I sit. I liked mine so much that I ordered another pair as a back-up!"
Review 19 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shorts,
April 1, 2013
By: gofishingtoday
from Pittsburgh, PA
"High quality material. I have a 34" waist. I had to exchange Large for Medium for proper fit."
Review 20 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as expected,
November 30, 2012
By: 25thStreet
from Houston TX
"Ordered from catalog picture. No zipper fly and "Orvis" logo on leg. Returned."