Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts

You'll want a pair in every color—they're that comfortable. Garment dyed and prewashed for a thoroughly broken-in look and feel, these soft, brushed-twill shorts for men go on easily and adjust with a convenient, integrated web belt. Roomy side-seam pockets, drop-in back pocket. Twill shorts for men are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes S(28-30), M(32-34), L(36-38), XL(40-42), XXL(44-46). Shorts inseam 9".
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
1
33 of 40(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Review 1 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Favorite,
September 6, 2014
By: fphp
"We purchased multiple pairs of these shorts for family members. They are sturdy, comfortable and the right length! Great bargain, even when not on sale! A zipper fly would make them excellent..."
Review 2 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Fishing Must,
September 4, 2014
By: mjfarrow
from Houston, TX
"Perfect weight and length! Dries fast and can take a beating!"
Review 3 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great casual shorts,
September 2, 2014
By: blshuler
"These shorts are one of the best quality casual shorts I have. Comfortable and sturdy material. Should last a long time."
Review 4 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Solid",
August 26, 2014
By: JohnnyReb
from Memphis, TN
"I'll sum these shorts up in one word........."Solid"!"
Review 5 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Alright purchase,
August 11, 2014
By: Jori
from Savannah , ga.
"I like the shorts , they are comfortable & I wear them often. It's a good thing I have 2 pair though , because the seams in the crotch in one pair already has holes in it. I haven't had them long enough for the crotch to wear out.
I might order another pair but if the crotch gets holes in it I will never order another pair.
"
Review 6 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good shorts,
July 22, 2014
By: LVKBILL
from Campbell, Ca
"Bill- The shorts are very comfortable. Only 2 drawbacks if they are important to you, 1) The drawstring hangs downs 12 inches when pulled tight. 2) No zipper to go to the bathroom. possibly a 3rd, side pockets are sewn so small that you can't put anything in side pockets."
Review 7 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
July 21, 2014
By: Tmb10
from Oxford, MS
"These are another good product from Orvis. They're comfortable and they look good. The only con is the lack of a zipper. Other than that, I'd recommend them to anyone."
Review 8 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the stream Comfort,
May 12, 2014
By: BioMan
from Concord,Ohio
"The Trout Bum Packsaddles Shorts came already broken-in. They are comfortable, fit just right, and are the length I like my shorts to be. I can't wait to get in my kayak with them on this summer. They wee a good buy too."
Review 9 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
April 5, 2014
By: Grannah
from NY
"Fit well in the butt and legs. Great pull strap belt."
Review 10 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Nonsense Shorts,
April 4, 2014
By: scottylamb
from Louisiana
"Comfortable, sturdy, lots of room! If you want shorts that will stand up to sliding across rocks and tree trunks, and not make you look like a fashion hipster - you want these shorts! I'm getting more!"
Review 11 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2nd pair,
March 17, 2014
By: Fugg
from Texas
"Great shorts for a lazy day around the house or for any activity outdoors. Ordered a pair a year ago and decided it was time for another pair."
Review 12 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No Fly,
March 14, 2014
By: Takhatpur
from Frankfort, MI
"I'm the buyer for my minimalist husband. These looked comfortable. Arrived, tried, no fly
returned. Shouldn't the description
say no fly ?
"
Review 13 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Be careful,
March 10, 2014
By: bearsfan804
"Make sure you know that in addition to a draw string there is no front fly on these shorts. They are more like a bathing suit than "shorts." Quality is great!"
Review 14 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Trout Bum -- A Bummer,
March 5, 2014
By: IB6535
from Manotick, Ontario, Canada
"Shorts, in the large size are not cut well. Constricting, tight and do not measure up to the Orvis standard!"
Review 15 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cotton short pants,
March 4, 2014
By: livestoflyfish
from somewhere on the South Holston River
"Nothing spectacular about them. They are well made khaki shorts. They will be my "go to" shorts for bumming around the river(s) this summer. I got them on sale so they were a good value."
Review 16 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
March 1, 2014
By: Dwight25
"Great pair of shorts for just about any activity. Materials and cut is super comfortable."
Review 17 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy shorts,
February 28, 2014
By: Diverbob
from Olympia, WA.
"They feel durable and comfy to wear. Can't wait for summer."
Review 18 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep Your "Trout Bum" Dry,
November 9, 2013
By: FlyFishViking
from Scottsdale, AZ
"I went with the 'navy' Packsaddle Shorts, goes great with a 'bleached blue' Zipneck Casting Shirt"
Review 19 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rippin' good times!,
September 26, 2013
By: JohnnyStriker
from Austin TX
"I have a pair of these shorts in all available colors, but have had to return three pair now because they have all ripped along the inner leg. I'd love to say that I was doing something really adventurous when the rips occurred, but it was usually as simple as kneeling down to take a picture or pick up my son. Very thankful for the 100% satisfaction guarantee!"
Review 20 for Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable Fishing Shorts,
September 21, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased the Trout Bum Packsaddle Shorts in size medium; they comfortably fit my 32” waist. Good fabric, construction and integrated belt. There is no place to clip-on tools, but the deep pockets suffice."