Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Ventile Field Jacket

Ventile® is a densely woven, but unbelievably lightweight cotton fabric developed in the UK during WWII for use in flight suits. We used it to create the ultimate foul-weather lightweight hunting jacket, designed for upland game and estate hunting. Made of pure cotton, the Ventile hunting jacket is entirely wind- and weatherproof, but unlike jackets made from some synthetic materials, it remains breathable and light in any weather. Durable and silent, it's perfect for stalking skittish birds on foggy, wet mornings, but refined and casual enough to wear out on the town later that night. In khaki. Pure cotton. Imported.Sizes: XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ventile Field Jacket
Review 1 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ventile coat,
February 6, 2014
By: MrBiggles
from Oklahoma
"This coat is everything I hoped it would be. The large fits just right, and the weave is tight. It's a bit light for the weather we've been having, but it works well with a sweater under it. I like the cut and the fabric."
Review 2 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Coat,
January 3, 2014
By: BrianO
from Los Altos, California
"Yes the coat is a little oversized but I find that to be a good thing because you can comfortably wear it over a sweater or vest in cold weather without binding. The ventile material is wonderful, tightly woven cotton that functions as a breathable water barrier. Finish on mine was all good. Just wish I could buy more clothing made from ventile cloth!!"
Review 3 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got R Done,
January 3, 2014
By: Dave3
from Tionesta, PA
"As a hunter, I have been continually faced with the challenge of hunting on rainy days. this coat kept me bone dry after a whole day of walking in the rain."
Review 4 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Churchill's Legacy,
December 28, 2013
By: Unimpressed
from Hailey, ID
"During WW2, the RAF flew air support for convoys sailing to Murmansk, for the Russian Front. However, too many pilots were lost because rescue in the icy water was generally too slow.
So, British weavers, the world's best with cotton, created Ventile, a totally waterproof and breathable fabric entirely made from cotton.
Gore-Tex is good but Ventile is the hallmark. The trouble was, it was very expensive to make.
Orvis, however, has managed to create the ultimate field jacket at a reasonable price.
If you can only have one jacket, this is it.
No question.
"
Review 5 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best All Around,
December 26, 2013
By: Rich44
from Edenton, NC
"I ordered the Ventile Field Jacket having had years of use from the Ventile pants both single and double layer. The cloth is strong, does not snag on bushes and briars and sheds water to a degree. Very comfortable as well. The jacket is every bit as high quality as the pants, cut well for easy movement, pockets at the right level, a nice attractive lining with a waterproof layer inside around the seat which a portion of can be used as a bird bag or general carryall. I was so impressed I purchased a second jacket for my grown son as a Christmas present."
Review 6 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A Questionable Purchase,
December 24, 2013
By: dancer2
from Plainfield, NH
"I bought a ventile cloth jacket from Orvis a number of years ago. I still use it quite often.It was quite substantial, beautifully made in Europe. I thought I was buying the same thing as a gift for my son-in-law. However, the coat that arrived was certainly not the same, though the substantial cost was. The coat seemed flimsy and certainly not as well tailored. I was disappointed, as I like the other coat very much. It is not worth the price."
Review 7 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ventile field coat,
December 17, 2013
By: gusss
"The coat is very quality, but as others have said the sleeves are too long in the large for me and no way of adjusting or clinching them. The Jacket is rather bulky, there again with no adjustments. Also, some care and protection information for ventile should be included."
Review 8 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the original quality,
December 2, 2013
By: Demian
from Peterboro NH
"I have a beloved prior version of this jacket. Made in Europe. Pitard leather cuffs (buttonable) and collar, not corduroy collar and no-button sleeves. The material is wonderful in the original, consistently dyed tan, unlike some of the foregoing complaints."
Review 9 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ventile,
October 23, 2013
By: judojack2
from Darien, IL
"The material is great and the coat is well made, but it ran larger than most clothes I purchase, and did not fit me."
Review 10 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable Jacket,
October 21, 2013
By: Bhaijan
from Baltimore MD.
"I bought it in sale. Go for one size down. I wear Large but bought Medium and fits well. Very comfortable ad warm material. Happy with this purchase."
Review 11 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice coat,
October 8, 2013
By: Shortstop4
from PETOSKEY, MI.
"I really liked this coat from the first time I put it on. Quality feel with very nice materials. Sleeves are a bit long for the size. This will no doubt be a classic go to coat for me."
Review 12 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight field jacket,
September 26, 2013
By: bradp
from Ft Worth,Tx
"Excellent weight for a multi-use field jacket. The materal is more flexable that the standard field jacket thus it is more comfortable."
Review 13 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fabulous Fabric/Flawed Features,
September 25, 2013
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"I have several Orvis coats and jackets, all in size Large and they all fit, with the exception of the Ventile Field Jacket. The fabric is luxurious, but the sizing is from Omar the Tentmaker. The sleeves were over 4 inches too long and the body large enough for 1-1/2 of me. In addition, there is nothing on the sleeves to cinch them from the wind blowing right up your arm. There isn't a game bag, though there are cavernous pockets inside and out.
I hate to give negative reviews, but I'm not sure who this jacket would fit."
Review 14 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great fabric - faulty zipper design,
September 25, 2013
By: Rawlings
from Denver, CO
"When looking for a fabric which is water proof and field functionable, the sportsman is offered noisy synthetics, waxed cotton, or - Ventile - a wonder fabric as far as I'm concerned. I'm sending this coat back - a second time because of a faulty zipper design. I struggle to get the coat zipped because the zipper is too long and not within arm's reach. Too bad - great coat otherwise."
Review 15 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Long and Short Of It,
September 25, 2013
By: RKP444
from Lovells, Michigan
"I like the jacket except the sleeve are too long as mentioned in other reviews. Cuffs inside the sleeves would be a welcome addition. Fits well otherwise. Ventile is a great fabric for wind and rain. The jacket looks good and because the fabric performs so well in wind and rain it is very warm for its weight. A hunting shirt or sweater under the field jacket will take you a long ways into colder weather."
Review 16 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Made Field Jacket,
September 10, 2013
By: WiseBuyer
from Skokie, IL
"Ventile fabric has great water repellency, which is what attracted me to this jacket. It appears to be well made (in China) and is generously sized. My only reservation about the jacket is the color, listed as khaki, which is in the tann-ish family but tends toward a somewhat mustardy color. I'm considering this purchase at a sale price a good deal on a garment that I hope to enjoy for many years, just as I have my Barbour lightweight Beaufort."
Review 17 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Versatile Hunting Jacket,
September 3, 2013
By: Steve95476
from Near Yellowstone, MT
"The jacket is definitely light weight I bought it as an addition to mr Barbour Beaufort. I have long arms, but the sleeves are a little long, perhaps 1/2 inch. The Beaufort runs 32" long and this jacket is a longer. In the field, it should perform well and in town will easily fit over a sports coat. The Barbour is more fitted, slightly more refined."
Review 18 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So-So,
August 28, 2013
By: atreides3
from Delaware County, New York
"The garment is water tight and has commodious pockets. However:
the sleeves are too long; the dye is uneven and the collar arrived with an uncorrectable wrinkle. The jacket is suitable for working in the rain.
"
Review 19 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product in the Deep South,
April 14, 2013
By: Southron
from Deep South
"I bought this jacket, although it's pricey, because I wanted a nice bird hunting jacket which shed water, did not smell, was light, and breathed; I wanted it as an adjunct to my classic waxed cottons, which can be a little warm where I live when it warms up. Turns out it's more versatile than I figured; I wore it last weekend under my "ghillie suit" while turkey hunting in a chilly mist, and today I wore it in the spring cool rain to church [dress at our church is rather informal]. So far the water beads up on it, it sheds perfectly, it breathes well, and it draws compliments. All good. I e-mailed the maker of the cloth in the UK to find out how to PRONOUNCE it, and they are clear: "ven-TILE", like porcelin "tiles", not "ven-TEAL", like greenwing teal. They asked me to spread the word on that, and I promised I would. I keep my promises. Consider it done."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ventile Field Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 29, 2012
By: Javitts
"ought this item as a gift. Was exactly what I thought it would be.
Thank you
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.