Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Insta-Set Strike Indicators

A strike indicator that tells you where your fly and weight are located in the water column and indicates when you are at optimum dead drift. In yellow, fluorescent red. ¾", ½", 4 per pack. 1", 2 per pack. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Insta-Set Strike Indicators
Review 1 for Insta-Set Strike Indicators
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product,
June 29, 2013
By: HGill
from Bakersfeild, CA
"I'm pretty new to fly fishing. I've only been fishing for a little more than two years.
I would use the regular adhesive strike indicators, and using these for the first time I think I was able to notice the strikes better.
But the surgical tube of the indicator does not really stand straight up while dead drifting (although I was fishing low(knee high) water).
Over all, I liked the product. I noticed strikes better. And I like that how I can reuse them."
Review 2 for Insta-Set Strike Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trout indicator,
May 23, 2013
By: LyNcH
from Upstate, NY
"The 1/2" are the best indicators I have found for light trout fishing using a triple nymph rig. The work great on tapered leaders as well as hand tied leaders.
The key to rigging them is to pull the leaders section just inside the indicator by using the tubing material. I have never had them slip and would gamble the users from previous reviews did not pull the leader rig it properly. They do not kink your leader like the thingamabobbers."
Review 3 for Insta-Set Strike Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple & easy,
May 1, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
"As a strike indicator you will find these easy to apply and very potent for fast recognition of a hit."
Review 4 for Insta-Set Strike Indicators
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My go-to indicator,
January 3, 2013
By: ATLTed
from Atlanta
"I like these more than Thingamabobbers and much more than the many other indicators I've tried. I keep several in my vest and car.
Things that prevented me from giving 5 stars:
1. InstaSet indicators can still slide on the leader...I use bobber stops to prevent this.
2. The tubing position does not always give reliable feedback on your drift. In my experience, if the tubing sticks straight up my drift is good (the nymph is hanging straight down in the current). But, I've seen the tubing hanging off to the side with the nymph still hanging in a good drift position.
"
Review 5 for Insta-Set Strike Indicators
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Won't hold,
August 24, 2012
By: JMS43
from Westchester, ny
"Can get them to stay in place. They keep slipping after two or three casts. Almost lost one completely."
Review 6 for Insta-Set Strike Indicators
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not strong enough,
August 2, 2012
By: pringle84
"Came off of the line after only a couple casts. Rubber tubes need to either be bigger, or the hole in the float smaller. It just plain wouldn't hold"
Review 7 for Insta-Set Strike Indicators
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
May 14, 2012
By: troutman01
from Alabama
"I have not used this product yet but it seems like it will work well."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insta-Set Strike Indicators
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
operator error?,
April 30, 2012
By: JF518
"Tendency for the pink lanyard to pull through the indicator easily, almost impossible to reinsert.
Had one fly off while casting, leaving the lanyard attached to my leader.
Knotting it around both the lanyard and the ball kept it on, but made it almost impossible to adjust depth, etc.
I wouldn't recommend this one."
Review 9 for Insta-Set Strike Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome indicator,
April 20, 2012
By: LyNcH
from Upstate, NY
"I've tried them all and this is the best indicator I have used. The post indicates where your fly is in the column. Adjusting it is so easy when moving your way around the water with the ever changing depths. They do not kink or ruin your leader at all. All others will now collect dust."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.