Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Jam-Stop Thingamabobber

Inspired by western guides, the Thingamabobber combines all of the best strike indicator elements in one simple design; highly visible, ultra sensitive, casts well. Easy to attach and adjust yet stays in place. Never sinks and requires no floatant. Use looped or as a straight line connection. Remains in place on small diameter lines. In multi colors. Sizes ½", ¾".
Average Customer Rating:
4.707 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 of 41(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Review 1 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
like a dream,
February 26, 2015
By: Luckyjuan
from New Mexico
"These work lust like a dream. Easy to use and very effective!"
Review 2 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
January 6, 2015
By: MsSh
from Lynchburg
"My boyfriend loves them. He says they aer exactly what he expected."
Review 3 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well,
December 16, 2014
By: Jerry99
from Central Oregon
"I much prefer this to the original because the jam-stop really holds the float in place."
Review 4 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jam-stop isn't great,
August 20, 2014
By: Paul0808
from Lynn, MA
"While they cast relatively well and are easy to see, every third or fourth cast these will slide down the leader to the fly. I even went to the manufacturer's website where I followed their tips, but nothing has solved this problem."
Review 5 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Indicator out there,
July 23, 2014
By: Trout23
from Edwards, CO, USA
"The Jamstopper indicators are great for quick depth adjustment. They are non-slipping and best of all don't put kinks up and down your leader or tippet. Orvis online is now the only place I can find them. It seems all the fly shops have stopped carrying the Jamstopper."
Review 6 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jammer Option Nice,
July 14, 2014
By: JakeCA
from OC, CA
"I can quickly adjust on the leader when fishing a lake."
Review 7 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
May 28, 2014
By: Mattb479
from White River, Arkansas
"Finally a strike indicator that 1) Always floats 2) easy to see 3) easy to adjust depth 4) is durable. Would definitely recommend."
Review 8 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great,
April 30, 2014
By: JustinErrickson
from Howell, NJ
"I have been buying these for years, they work great. I even use them on my spinning gear as bobbers while drifting salmon eggs."
Review 9 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks like a winner,
April 18, 2014
By: WRXMN
from Minnesota
"Simple to rig easy to cast with what more needs to be said."
Review 10 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well,
April 8, 2014
By: LonesomeYC
from Wenatchee, WA
"These indicators work as advertised, but I still had issues with a double fly set up getting wrapped around the indicator, which is probably a tribute to my casting more than the product (although a simple corkie and toothpick works better for me)"
Review 11 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What's not to like?,
February 2, 2014
By: Nathaniel
from Newburyport, MA
"A great solution that let's you get the most out of nymph fishing days! I nipped the jam stop off of mine because they lock in place so well without them.
Putting them on, moving them on the leader, and taking them off with cold fingers after sunset are all a piece of cake.
I try to use the smallest size for the conditions, but in big riffles or tough light, the larger ones keep you fishing!"
Review 12 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Indicator!,
January 20, 2014
By: TroutGuy1
"I am not a fan of indicators but as far as indicators go, this one I found to be the best. The Thingamabobber stays in place and I never loose them unlike some other twist on kind."
Review 13 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great indicators,
December 31, 2013
By: Redbone13
from North Carolina
"Unless you are able to go without an indicator theses are great"
Review 14 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very handy,
December 11, 2013
By: Virgram
"Haven't got these wet yet. I have trouble working with very small item, these should help."
Review 15 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well,
September 28, 2013
By: Flygolf
from Washington
"I have used thingamabobbers for years. The addition of the jam stop works well."
Review 16 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Improvement on previous model,
September 17, 2013
By: acricky
from Rickmansworth, UK
"I finally managed to get a bit indicator that wont fall off or slip down the cast.
Excellent product."
Review 17 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Improvement,
July 27, 2013
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"I like to use Thingamabobbers as strike indicators when I need a little wieght to get my nymph down because they float so well. The only drawback with the old style is that they leave a kink in your leader. The Jam-Stop Thingamabobbers eliminate that problem and still allow for quick and easy depth adjustment. A positive improvement."
Review 18 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff,
July 16, 2013
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"The Jam-Stop Thingamabobbers are nice. They float well especially when using weight and do not kink your leader the way regular Thinamabobbers do. Worth having a few assorted sizes in the vest."
Review 19 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I've Used,
June 3, 2013
By: FishingEngineer
from Southeast PA
"I have tried many indicators over the years. The thingabobber is the best. I like the small ones for the streams I fish mostly, but I also keep a package of the larger ones in my vest as well."
Review 20 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Strike Indicator,
May 29, 2013
By: Finlay
"Really happy with the performance. Easy to see even in fast water and they NEVER sink."