Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Jam-Stop Thingamabobber

Inspired by western guides, the Thingamabobber combines all of the best strike indicator elements in one simple design; highly visible, ultra sensitive, casts well. Easy to attach and adjust yet stays in place. Never sinks and requires no floatant. Use looped or as a straight line connection. Remains in place on small diameter lines. In multi colors. Sizes ½", ¾".
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 30(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Review 1 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well,
April 8, 2014
By: LonesomeYC
from Wenatchee, WA
"These indicators work as advertised, but I still had issues with a double fly set up getting wrapped around the indicator, which is probably a tribute to my casting more than the product (although a simple corkie and toothpick works better for me)"
Review 2 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What's not to like?,
February 2, 2014
By: Nathaniel
from Newburyport, MA
"A great solution that let's you get the most out of nymph fishing days! I nipped the jam stop off of mine because they lock in place so well without them.
Putting them on, moving them on the leader, and taking them off with cold fingers after sunset are all a piece of cake.
I try to use the smallest size for the conditions, but in big riffles or tough light, the larger ones keep you fishing!"
Review 3 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Indicator!,
January 20, 2014
By: TroutGuy1
"I am not a fan of indicators but as far as indicators go, this one I found to be the best. The Thingamabobber stays in place and I never loose them unlike some other twist on kind."
Review 4 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great indicators,
December 31, 2013
By: Redbone13
from North Carolina
"Unless you are able to go without an indicator theses are great"
Review 5 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very handy,
December 11, 2013
By: Virgram
"Haven't got these wet yet. I have trouble working with very small item, these should help."
Review 6 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well,
September 28, 2013
By: Flygolf
from Washington
"I have used thingamabobbers for years. The addition of the jam stop works well."
Review 7 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Improvement on previous model,
September 17, 2013
By: acricky
from Rickmansworth, UK
"I finally managed to get a bit indicator that wont fall off or slip down the cast.
Excellent product."
Review 8 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Improvement,
July 27, 2013
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"I like to use Thingamabobbers as strike indicators when I need a little wieght to get my nymph down because they float so well. The only drawback with the old style is that they leave a kink in your leader. The Jam-Stop Thingamabobbers eliminate that problem and still allow for quick and easy depth adjustment. A positive improvement."
Review 9 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff,
July 16, 2013
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"The Jam-Stop Thingamabobbers are nice. They float well especially when using weight and do not kink your leader the way regular Thinamabobbers do. Worth having a few assorted sizes in the vest."
Review 10 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I've Used,
June 3, 2013
By: FishingEngineer
from Southeast PA
"I have tried many indicators over the years. The thingabobber is the best. I like the small ones for the streams I fish mostly, but I also keep a package of the larger ones in my vest as well."
Review 11 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Strike Indicator,
May 29, 2013
By: Finlay
"Really happy with the performance. Easy to see even in fast water and they NEVER sink."
Review 12 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Float my rig beautifully,
January 3, 2013
By: Fishbaydoc
from Richmond, VA USA
"Well made products that suspend my two medium weighted tungsten headed nymphs. They don't slide along the leader with the little stopper but looping on can be a little tricky."
Review 13 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jam stop a huge plus,
November 28, 2012
By: jct133
from Pawlet, VT
"I never used indicators until recently and I can't even begin to imagine how many fish I've missed in the past. The 1/2" size works great for small nymphs and minimal casting disruption, the 3/4" size is better for large tandem rigs or streamers. The jam-stop feature is so helpful, I've used the kind without the jam-stop before and you constantly have to readjust them."
Review 14 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only indicator you'll ever need,
October 30, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"There isn't a better indicator out there. These ones with the jam stop give you the added option of looping your line directly through and then pushing the jam in place to keep in held in place. It is great for small diameter lines that like to allow the indicator to slide and also avoids kinks in your leader from the usual method."
Review 15 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great -- I just ordered some more,
October 16, 2012
By: DevonTX
from Dallas, TX
"These float high and are easy to see. I have only used the 1/2" size, but they were large enough to keep in sight. I cut off the little arm thingy, and just looped my line around it. Stayed in place very well.
If you cut the arm off yours, make sure you don't cut it too close to the body. If you cut it too close, a small hole is formed and it will not float well."
Review 16 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thingamabobbers,
September 18, 2012
By: jlsflafido
from Merritt Island, FL
"Have not used these yet, but thkey are soooo easy to attach. Great idea!"
Review 17 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A no brainer,
August 31, 2012
By: FryingPanT
"This is a solid, durable product that is a no brainer to use. Feeding the leader through the loop will cause a kink, but its not too bad."
Review 18 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very useful,
August 27, 2012
By: OliverW
from Greenwich, NY
"I do a lot of nymphing and this is perfect. No need to add floatant like those wool strike indicators, this one rides high and dives right down at subtly little takes from mountain brook trout.
I got a package of 5 and 4 were great but one had some waste plastic from the manufacturing process. This caused the Thingamabobber to slip on my leader but with a quick wrap of my line around the stem and we were back in business.
I would recommend this to anyone who fishes Nymphs."
Review 19 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Bad,
August 19, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"The thingamabobber is arguably the best strike indicator on the market with the sensitivity and floatability that it offers. The jam-stop is nice so it stays securely on the leader but in my experience with it, the stopper doesn't stay in very well and it just adds another "thing" that the leader can get hung-up on. If I have to buy these, I just cut the stopper off at the base and use it like a standard thingamabobber."
Review 20 for Jam-Stop Thingamabobber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beware of kinks,
July 27, 2012
By: ADKtrout
"I bought this product recently hoping that the new jam-stop would solve the kink problem I had with the old thingamabobbers. It is a great improvement over the old version, but it can still put kinks in very fine leaders, so be careful. Despite the small issue with with the occasional kink, this is a well-made product that will never sink and is clearly visible in all light conditions."