Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Skips Turn-On Indicators

Reusable, again and again. Skip's turn on strike indicators can be attached or taken off the leader and easily moved up or down the leader without removal. Causes no leader damage or kink. One full turn is all that's required to hold it on a leader butt, and three turns will secure it to the finest tippet. 35% less dense than the original so they float higher and cast easier. 4 per pack. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Review 1 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great concept - Broke much too soon,
September 24, 2014
By: txoutdoorsman
from Plano, TX
"After only 3 or 4 times of use - the rubber portion broke - rendering it useless. I still have one more from the package which I will use. Works great...as long as it works."
Review 2 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A whole new world,
July 16, 2014
By: Owen3
from Yellow Breeches, PA
"I have been a dry fly fisherman for over 50 years. Nymph fishing is new to me, and the Orvis videos were a great help. They introduced me to the Skips Turn-On Indicators. I used a combination of the indicators with several Orvis beaded nymphs and caught two 14 inch browns and a 12 inch rainbow the first time out!!!!!"
Review 3 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Indicator,
April 26, 2014
By: KevinP
from Arlington, VT
"Picked these up for some early season nymphing on my local brook. Easy to attach, easy to adjust, easy to see on the water. I'll be picking up more of these."
Review 4 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strike Indicators,
October 8, 2013
By: Tom70
from Northern New Jersey
"No doubt these are the best Strike Indicators on the market. They are easy to use and ultra sensitive. Makes trout fishing more of a pleasure."
Review 5 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skips Turn-On Indicators,
June 19, 2013
By: shorttippet
from Barry Co., Michigan
"This by far the best small indicator I have used over spooky trout, I love the fact that it wont kink my leader and Its easy to attach, remove, and adjust depth on the smallest of tippet sizes."
Review 6 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product,
August 31, 2012
By: FryingPanT
from Basalt, CO
"This is an excellant, easy to use product and I have had good luck with it. The only thing that keeps it from being 5 stars is the durability. While none have cracked yet, it just seems like the will fail at some point."
Review 7 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Was it me?,
June 13, 2012
By: MudDiver
from NYC
"I don't know if it was my casting style, but I've never broken off a fly on a cast before using this product. While using this product I broke off approximately 4 flies within the 15th to 20th casts. The tippet always broke at the indicator causing me to lose both the fly and the indicator The tippet seems to be weakened by the twisting motion of this indicator. I wouldn't recommend this product for making lots of long casts but if your strictly drifting and mending you should be fine."
Review 8 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
April 25, 2012
By: Vettefan
from St. Louis, MO
"Used these indicators today for the first time. Very impressed with the ease and quality. Very easy to see and adjust for changing conditions. Will be buying more!"
Review 9 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
broke it,
March 13, 2012
By: dsarpen
from New Freedom,PA
"I tried attaching one of the indicators while I was at home just to see how they attach and it broke in three pieces; I didn't take the other three out with me to fish."
Review 10 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Improvement!,
March 2, 2012
By: Snukoms
from Missouri
"These are a great improvement for an already great indicator. They are lighter, cast easier, float higher, and stay on the line.
Check out Skip's Bomb-Proof attachment suggestion. Move the leader around the ends of rubber insert on each end of the indicator so the the leader is beneath the rubber insert. Then rotate the halves to lock it onto the leader. It can never come off!"
Review 11 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not user friendly,
February 23, 2012
By: troutski
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Have to say, this is the first product I bought, and I've bought hundreds, that I didn't care for. I love the twist on idicators and thought that this one with it's square lock design would be great, but I was mistaken. It seemed a bit more work to keep the line in place when twisting to lock line. After only a few casts, my line kept ending up coming out of half the indicator, thus having to fix it constantly. I have used the other twist ons for 20 years and never had this problem. I will say when I got them on, they weren't moving anywhere, but kept fouling up shortly after. I will go back to the old twist-ons. Don't worry Orvis, your still the best!"
Review 12 for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Effective Design,
February 23, 2012
By: dudeyak
from Ft.Worth TX
"Ingenious design - compared to all of the other football- or pill-shaped indicators out there, this one will stay put, and as per the directions, is adaptable to varying-diameter line, so there is freedom of placement on leader. If it proves to be durable, this one is a home run."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Skips Turn-On Indicators
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2