Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack

Rugged Bullhide-and-canvas construction protects your valuables, while ample storage options keep things organized and easily accessible when on the go. Lined with our signature plaid, our backpack features a arge main compartment with a padded laptop pocket and business card slots. An interior zippered pocket and slash pocket keep small items secure. A leather-trimmed front bellows pocket houses a neoprene pocket sized for an iPad® or similar device. An exterior zippered pocket is perfect for a mobile phone. Other features include double-knotted leather zipper pulls, locking zippers on the main compartment, and a leather-trimmed grab handle. A convenient slip pocket allows the entire bag to be securely placed over the handle of a rolling suitcase. A side bellows pocket is easily accessed via a brass stud/flap closure. In tan/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Spot clean. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 38(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Review 1 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Backpack,
July 16, 2014
By: 05051955
from Bakersfield,Ca
"I travel 10-15 days per month, in and out of airports. The bullhide and canvas backpack is perfect. I have plenty of room and it is comfortable to carry. There is plenty of attention to detail and look is appropriate to carry into meetings also."
Review 2 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tremendous purchase.,
July 15, 2014
By: Wrightman
from Denton, TX
"Great flexibility and many zippered pockets. Good buy!"
Review 3 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic backpack for college students,
May 20, 2014
By: KristinMcP
from Southeast MO
"My son carried this backpack last year at college and it still looks great! It's extremely durable and roomy! Purchased another one for a special graduate because I was so pleased with this product."
Review 4 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 19, 2014
By: mtlk
from Montana
"I had previously purchased the matching Weekend Duffle as a gift for my husband. He LOVES it and is equally pleased with this item - the look, the options and the qualify."
Review 5 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rare Quality,
April 1, 2014
By: Marcel14
from Brisbane, Australia
"I spent a considerable amount of time researching for this purchase. Finding something that fit my admittedly very high expectations seemed unlikely.
Discovering Orvis was a stroke of luck.
I could not be more happy with this product.
Brilliant!"
Review 6 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Business use,
February 3, 2014
By: Buster43
"Seems to be working fine. A couple of the pockets on the side as a little hard to use due to the deep pockets."
Review 7 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bullhide & Canvas Backpack,
January 29, 2014
By: Okiedater
from Oklahoma
"The overall quality of this product is amazing. I especially like the broad shoulder straps and the convenience of the exterior pockets and the utility of the design. It appears to be tough and durable for years of heavy use. A highly recommendable pack."
Review 8 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with purchase,
January 24, 2014
By: scorpio
from St. Louis, MO.
"Bought the backpack for my son for his now college prep school days and future collegiate life. I had the bag embossed and it is very beautiful, sturdy and spacious, I feel confident this bag will last for quite some time. My son is able to get a laptop, 4 big books and other school supplies in backpack with no problem, while looking very stylish. Thank you Orvis for living up to your reputation. You have satisfied me a frequent shopper and won over a new customer- my son."
Review 9 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classy way to travel,
January 21, 2014
By: sparty79
"Love the space, the attention to detail, the craftsmanship. My only complaint its that it's just a bit larger than I'd like to fit under the airline seat but it fits overhead just fine."
Review 10 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compliments,
January 16, 2014
By: MnLawyer
from Minnesota
"This is a great backpack. Very well made and I have received several compliments even though I have only had it a few days. Very rugged and solid construction. My only criticism, and its more of a question, is the purpose of and open flap on the back side that has a closure at the top and is open on the bottom. I would highly recommend this backpack"
Review 11 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Work & Travel Backpack,
December 2, 2013
By: DefenseTraveller
from Viginia Beach, VA
"I received the backpack 2 weeks ago and am a VERY frequent international traveler. The main compartment is easily large enough for a laptop, power cables, earphones & books or folders. It also has a hard-sided holder for glasses/sunglasses & a place for business cards. The phone slot on the side easily takes my iPhone 4S and would handle the larger 5 series. The lower front compartment will take an iPad, e-reader, etc & still leave plenty of room for other stuff. The smaller front zippered compartments on the top flap & on the front DO NOT have slots for pens, etc, which is disappointing, but not a huge deal for me. There is also a large open pocket on the back for a folder for travel documents that I find handy - I don't have to open the pack to get what I need while moving through the airport. There is a nice side pocket for holding an umbrella AND a large mesh pocket for a water bottle or travel mug that you cannot see on the picture but which are great features. I've had no trouble with the straps slipping that I read on earlier reviews. They hold & the whole thing is very comfortable & stylish. I've received several compliments already. If you travel a lot, then the investment is well worth it for this quality & good looks."
Review 12 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Fit,
November 20, 2013
By: RoverRiley
from Plano, TX
"After extensive research and trialing (and returning) seven backpacks from seven other brands, I purchased and retained the Orvis Bullhide and Canvas backpack for a two week wilderness trip to Alaska. The Orvis backpack best fit all of my criteria, primarily a large outside pocket for my 22 x 50 binoculars. For the most part, I concur with other reviewers' comments regarding unique design, comfort, quality material and construction with one exception: the mesh fabric used for the exterior water bottle pocket. The mesh fabric pulls away from the elastic binding at the top of the pocket, snags easily and once loosed, quickly unravels. I returned two of these backpacks to Orvis due to the same problem with the mesh fabric. Naturally, Orvis promptly replaced both packs with new ones without question or hesitation. Hopefully, the design team for this pack will note these concerns and incorporate a more rugged material for the water bottle pouch as is typically found on other back packs of lesser quality. One other minor issue: the laptop sleeve is too large and sloppy for most modern day laptops such as my Mac Air. At least provide some means to cinch in the excessive material and hold the machine fast. On the plus side - the outside cellphone pocket is perfect for storing the pack's rain cover; my cigar case fits nicely into the rigid pocket on the inside right side; the covered pocket on the outside right side is just right for a water bladder or a two way radio. Overall - I love this pack and would highly recommend it to anyone with similar needs."
Review 13 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 14, 2013
By: DonNova
from Staten Island, NY
"Great Quality. Lots of room to pack numerous items but not too big. The canvas material looks and feels very strong and the straps make it very easy on the back and shoulders."
Review 14 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canvas vabckpack,
October 12, 2013
By: Michiel
from Hambledon, Surrey, UK
"This is a superb product. Sturdy canvas, well made, and beautiful design !
Michael
"
Review 15 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best business backpack available,
September 27, 2013
By: DowntownBrown
"Beautiful, with plenty of space. Not sure why I'm surprised- it is Orvis. Looks great casually and as business casual. My new go to bag from here on out."
Review 16 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roomy,
September 15, 2013
By: pneph
from Minnesota
"Worked as was intended...back pack as a carry on along with my carry on suitcase.
Could use a couple of internal zipper pockets to help organinze the small stuff. Agree with previous comment that the cell phone pocket needs to be a bit bigger to accommodate the newer cell phones/smart phones.
"
Review 17 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Backpack,
August 31, 2013
By: Olryder
from Los Angeles, Ca
"The workmanship on this backpack was excellent. I was also impressed by the plaid lining. The pack is quite comfortable while bicycling and I'm looking forward to using it for a cross country flight to hold personal items in addition to my iPad & eReader."
Review 18 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Backpack Ever!!,
July 31, 2013
By: GRob
from San Antonio, TX
"This product is not only attractive but well designed & durable! After 'suffering' over the years my spouse ordered this for me after tiring of the complaints & shoddy quality of previous examples. I travel extensively & it fits my needs PERFECTLY without reservation. More compliments & questions from fellow travels than anyone would have ever expected."
Review 19 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, but have reasonable expectations,
July 10, 2013
By: James79
from Bozeman, MT
"I have had this backpack for two years now. I bought it because I prefer a backpack to a briefcase, so that's what I use it for. I like to have my hands free in the airport or can throw it on my back when I bike to work instead of driving. It carries my laptop and essentials to the office and works well on flights. However, it is not very big - so keep that in mind. Great for laptop, as I said, a notepad/portfolio, a book and that's about it in the main compartment. It looks like they made the "cell phone" pocket on the upper side bigger - which was a must if it was truly for a cell phone as an iPhone wouldn't fit before. The reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because of the shoulder straps. The shoulder/padding part is just fine, but (you can barely see them in the pic) the straps are easily adjusted by a gold ring to loosen or tighten the straps. They don't hold, they slide all the time. It's not a big deal to me, makes it easier for putting it on - however, I would expect them to hold in place once I do put it on and they slide down all the time. Since there is weight in the pack, I don't know why they don't hold in place, but they don't. Many reviews I saw when I bought it mentioned the zipper on the main compartment, it does have to go down, over and up. Again, just be aware of what you're getting. It's a very nice pack, but not all that big, the straps slide and the top zipper is slightly unusual from other day size packs. I would recommend a side zipper for laptop access, would make life much easier when going thru airport security. But, again, it's a nice backpack as a whole."
Review 20 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typical Orvis,
April 17, 2013
By: Swoop
from Houston, TX
"I hadn't bought a backpack since highschool. Two years after after finishing college and seven countries under my belt all while hauling luggage about, I had reached a conclusion. That being, I needed a backpack again. With a trip to Rome and Nice two months away I searched high and low and finally settled on this. Everything I will be needing for day excursions fit perfectly with room to spare. As others have commented I was surprised about the dainty spring loaded hooks that attach the straps. We shall see how they hold up in the upcoming vacations. Otherwise completely satisfied with my purchase and already considering the matching weekend bag. I did go with the engraved name and it is perfectly centered in the bullhide leather. In conclusion, my satisfaction with this purchase has become typical of all of my Orvis selections."