Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack

Rugged Bullhide-and-canvas construction protects your valuables, while ample storage options keep things organized and easily accessible when on the go. Lined with our signature plaid, our backpack features a arge main compartment with a padded laptop pocket and business card slots. An interior zippered pocket and slash pocket keep small items secure. A leather-trimmed front bellows pocket houses a neoprene pocket sized for an iPad® or similar device. An exterior zippered pocket is perfect for a mobile phone. Other features include double-knotted leather zipper pulls, locking zippers on the main compartment, and a leather-trimmed grab handle. A convenient slip pocket allows the entire bag to be securely placed over the handle of a rolling suitcase. A side bellows pocket is easily accessed via a brass stud/flap closure. In tan/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Spot clean. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
60 of 60(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Review 1 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic backpack,
April 8, 2015
By: Zoeyyeoz12345
from Fort Myers, Fl
"I received this backpack 2.5 years ago as a gift and I have been using it as my backpack for school ever since. It can comfortably fit my 14.5 inch laptop, textbooks, and folders. It had held up unbelievably well, the only evident wear is the canvas at the bottom of the straps, below the metal attachments. Normally, backpacks last the school year before I have to retire them, but this one has proven to be reliable throughout my high school career, and i plan to bring it with me to college too."
Review 2 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Bag!,
February 10, 2015
By: outdoorguy21
from Boulder, CO
"Really like the upgrades, fits great, awesome pockets, cool look!"
Review 3 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice bag,
February 5, 2015
By: Kelly37
from Washington DC Area
"Recently purchased this bag for trip to Netherlands and Germany. Normally carry on a briefcase, but thought the backpack style would be easier. Bag looks great and is very roomy. Easily carried my Mac laptop and IPad along with many other items. Lots of pockets to keep things organized. Two complaints would be I wish it was easier to get access to the main compartment other than having to unzip all the way around. Some sort of snap buckle would allow quick access. Also more padding in the straps for a bag that holds so much would make it more comfortable"
Review 4 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quire Versatile Business Case,
January 1, 2015
By: Trinbago
"This item carries my pelthora of items without issue. Great design,"
Review 5 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Backpack,
December 31, 2014
By: AlaskanMom
"The backpack is very durable with thick canvas and leather. Very classy looking. The pocket features are wonderfully convenient. The backpack is well made, no loose frays inside or out. I would recommend this."
Review 6 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect in every way,
December 30, 2014
By: Flashgrrr
from Newport, RI
"My husband loves this Orvis Backpack. He has had a similar backpack for the past 30 years which has been with him constantly, to Afghanistan, Iraq, Pakistan, Dubai, Ecuador, Africa,Denmark, Iceland, England, France, Greece, Spain, Italy and very where in between. He has travelled far and wide for his military career and his backpack is his constant companion!"
Review 7 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
December 26, 2014
By: lrpbaxter
"I purchased this backpack for my son for Christmas! He was thrilled with it! I had it embossed with his initials and it looks great!
It has plenty of pockets and its roomy inside! Perfect for a businessman.
"
Review 8 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great masculine carry bag,
December 4, 2014
By: lb100m
from San Diego,CA
"very nice construction, handsome , durable and personalized. We will be using it on a safari and it amazing spaces to hold all sort of necessities"
Review 9 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great birthday gift,
November 26, 2014
By: Lisalucyb
from Deep River, Ct
"My husband, who is impossible to please,, loved this Orvis backpack. The quality is excellent and he expects that it will last a long time."
Review 10 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional quality,
November 17, 2014
By: RrichCFP
from Noblesville, in
"As with all things Orvis you pay a premium but receive quality. The back pack is featured filled and constructed to last plus it looks good. when I brought it home my wife immediately examined it and now wants one for herself which means I need to order another one for me! I also purchased the matching suitcase which again is exceptional quality with too many convenient features to describe."
Review 11 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
keeps getting better,
November 15, 2014
By: ericmarley
from silver spring. md
"the ease of use continues as a major plus. the location of the compartments, makes for quick and easy access. after several trips, it remains a handsome pack."
Review 12 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the cost- great bag,
November 15, 2014
By: HarperMac
from Georgia
"Looked at this and the businessman's backpack in an Orvis store. They were very similar but this one had a couple of inside features I liked better- such as two pockets that are ridged and stay open, making it easy and reach in and fish things out of them. I wish they would show an inside pic. It's amazing how much stuff you can get in this. Can easily be used as a weekend bag. Get it- you will not be disappointed."
Review 13 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product! Must have for anyone traveling,
October 28, 2014
By: SSMotoWorks
from Jacksonville, FL
"This is an awesome product! My father had one of these bags my whole childhood and used it as a briefcase essentially. I always admired it growing up. Now, 25 years later we have a matching pair. His is still in great shape, mine is just a little more stiff and has a lot fewer battle scars given that i have only used it a month for business travel. It fits a couple laptops, note pads, a couple books, my power cord collection and other travel essentials very well. The straps are wide enough that you can load it up and not worry about shoulder pain while traveling. The fabric cleans very well also."
Review 14 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Piece Added,
October 25, 2014
By: Beverlyjane
from Ohio
"I bought the companion tote bag for a gift for my husband last year, and when I saw this backpack in you catalog and just had to have it for him. He loves the tote and will be totally blown away with this backpack especially since I had his initials engraved on the leather. It's a Christmas gift, but I have started early to avoid last minute rushing. Thank you so much. I believe I saw a satchel out of this same material in one of your ads! H-m-m..."
Review 15 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Backpack,
October 22, 2014
By: MarkMalone
from Dallas, TX
"As a busy traveler having a well made and easy to carry Orvis backpack as been a smart purchase for me. I like how versatile the backpack and how I can use it for business (plenty of room for work files and my laptop) and personal travel. The straps are well padded for comfort in carry it over one shoulder or both - it has been ideal for me."
Review 16 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backpack,
October 13, 2014
By: jmspilot
from Long Island, New York
"This is a fantastic backpack. This is the second time I am giving it as a gift and it is very well received. It is sturdy, well made and very good looking. It's perfect for the guy on the go."
Review 17 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Backpack!,
September 8, 2014
By: rcallen
from Southeast
"wow, this thing is perfect, large enough to get everything in without feeling like it needs to be on wheels for going long distances between airport gates...built to last, ill get many years use out of this. typical Orvis, top quality product"
Review 18 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built solid,
September 4, 2014
By: Mebankman
from Maryland
"Nicely built. Great construction and large to handle your clothes for an overnight stay"
Review 19 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Casual Bag,
August 4, 2014
By: thill
from Atlanta, GA
"I bought this bag to carry my personal laptop, accessories, books, etc. Works great and looks very nice. Only one FYI to be aware of ... the computer compartment has an elastic strap with a velcro end tab to hold the computer in place. The strap isn't long enough to secure a 15" macbook pro, one of the most popular computers around. However, the strap isn't necessary - just provides additional security."
Review 20 for Bullhide-and-Canvas Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All 'Round Carry-On,
July 25, 2014
By: BeachJeeper
from Up and Down the East Coast
"Bought this backpack to use on new airline that charges for all bags except under seat. Although a bit larger then regulation technically, it still fits under seat if not too stuffed. I make frequent 1-3 day trips and dress informally. This bag can hold all I need. Material is very strong and holds up well overtime. Shoulder straps are comfortable. When full it will sit upright on the floor. Can't recommend it enough."