Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller

Roomy enough for everything you need, small enough to conform to international carry-on standards. Our carry-on suitcase features generous main compartments trimmed in Orvis signature plaid, which are outfitted with two zippered pockets to keep smaller items secure. Outside, you'll find knotted zipper pulls guaranteed to stay on, a compartment for a laptop and smaller devices, and a pocket perfect for stashing a light jacket. Clear 8" x 10" TSA-compliant bag for liquids and luggage tag included. Rubber bumpers all around protect from impact. Locking main compartment, telescoping handle, ball-bearing rubber wheels. 22"H x 14"W x 9"D; 2,750 cu. in. This carry-on suitcase is made from genuine leather and canvas. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 of 25(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Review 1 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality,
October 21, 2014
By: Mountainman1
from East Tennessee
"This bag is top quality and the design is well thought out. I could not find a bag that compared including bags that cost much more. It is made with heavy duty canvas and strong YKK zipper so it should last for many years of heavy use."
Review 2 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Design and Exceptional Value,
October 6, 2014
By: Kirk7
"I purchased this as a matching piece for the Bullhide and Canvas Backpack I bought last year. Having come to thoroughly enjoy the backpack, I was certain the rolling carry-on would deliver. Like the backpack, it offers some clever features I haven't found in many other bags. I pack light to get through airport security lines as quickly as possible - so both the exterior padded laptop pocket and the removable liquids zip pouch makes that much easier. Initially I was concerned about space, but it's surprisingly roomy given the external pocket design. The handle extends further than many bags in the same class - and surprisingly this makes a real difference. The plaid interior and leather trim adds some extra class to an already handsome and durable bag. One of my better purchases."
Review 3 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Twice as Nice,
September 22, 2014
By: sheba
from West Chester, PA
"This is the second one of these suitcases that I have purchased! The first one is still going strong, so I decided to buy another for those times when I need to pack more. A larger suitcase is not the answer for me - too hard to get in and out of the car and up on the overhead racks. The two of them attach and roll together nicely. My only wish is that the wheels were 360 degree rollers, but other than that, it is great."
Review 4 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Carry-on bag,
September 20, 2014
By: DrTonyB
from Pennsylvania
"I purchased your Bullhide and canvas Carry-on Roller for my recent trip to the Big Horn. What a great bag. Lots of pockets on the inside and outside. Even a padded one for my laptop computer. This certainly helped me remain organized and it was very helpful to find items while in-flight and between. It's thankfully not black so it was a breeze to find on a loaded baggage carousel."
Review 5 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag,
September 16, 2014
By: Frbritt
from Jacksonville, fl
"An excellent bag with all the usual Orvis quality."
Review 6 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Service,
September 16, 2014
By: BB86
from The Woodlands, TX
"I purchased this while on sale, and see the value in the craftsmanship of the luggage. While I have not yet used the Carry-On Roller, I see where it will serve me well for many years."
Review 7 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for International Travel,
September 10, 2014
By: LSU4EVR
from United States
"I travel internationally on a constant basis, often to remote locations. On more than one occasion I have had checked luggage lost. This carry on is the perfect size for carrying a few changes of clothing as well as critical work equipment on board the aircraft. Easy to use and excellent construction. Very sturdy yet simply a beautiful piece of luggage."
Review 8 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Replacement Bag,
August 29, 2014
By: DanFjr
from Galveston, TX
"I have had a Battenkill carryon for nearly 20 years, but it is beat up so I decide to replace it. This bag is closer to 21x13x8, which is significantly smaller than the old one (22x14x9). I returned it. I am now in search of a big enough replacement."
Review 9 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rolling suitcase,
August 15, 2014
By: Luis1786
from Nashville, TN
"I recently purchased this case for business trips. I'm very pleased with the quality and the warranty of the product. It's a nice addition to the duffle that I already have!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Durable!,
August 7, 2014
By: KMDC
from Washington, DC
"Great product! Very durable and light. Holds up well in travel. Compact. Great carry-on."
Review 11 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fell apart quickly,
April 28, 2014
By: Chris1952
"I travel a lot and this bag only lasted 3 trips before the bottom separated from the sides. I usually have to gate check my bag because I'm on smaller planes that won't allow roller bags on. The United bag handlers can be rough, but still . . .
My last bag (made by somebody else) lasted 4 years and I wanted to get 3-4 years out of this Orvis one. But no luck with that. Now I need to buy another bag, again made by somebody else.
Bottom line: looks nice, but it's not sturdy enough for the frequent air traveler who frequently gate-checks on commuter flights."
Review 12 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great size and style,
February 8, 2014
By: DrRockChalk
from Winchester, VA
"Great looking bag. Worked well for a week of clothes for grand parenting. I can't imagine it being too large for international flights but I haven't tried it yet."
Review 13 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rollin' Rollin' Rollin',
January 3, 2014
By: Iamhappy
from Blair, NE.
"Keep that Bullhide Rollin.
Excellent craftsmanship makes a handsome gift. I may have to buy one for myself!!"
Review 14 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PRESENT FOR GRANDSON,
December 27, 2013
By: cha1
from Dodge City, KS
"he is difficult to find things for - and we were pleased with the fabric, color and construction of this product -- and are looking forward to adding to the set for him -- he was delighted with it!!"
Review 15 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Choose for Grandson,
December 27, 2013
By: cha1
from Dodge City, KS
"We purchased this item for our grandson who is very difficult to buy anything for--we and HE were so pleased with the fabric, color and construction -- look forward to adding to this for him."
Review 16 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Correction,
July 24, 2013
By: GMB1
from Chicago, IL
"I wrote the review (below) about my broken zipper and the frustration with repair. I called customer service and they said: No! We want you to return it and we'll ship you a new one. I went to our nearby Orvis store, the clerk was amazing, he didn't have a replacement in stock so he called it in and I received free 2 day shipping.
This is a wonderful ending to the story. Orvis' customer care is first rate. My new Carry-On came in two days and I'm all set to use it tomorrow on another trip.
"
Review 17 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sadly disappointed?,
July 21, 2013
By: GMB1
from Chicago, IL
"I love the look of this luggage. Its design is outstanding. I bought it 1.5 yrs ago and have used it on about 6 trips. But two things: the zipper broke this summer -- and the extended handle works with difficulty. Apparently my only option now is to pay $30 to Orvis to have it repaired. I have a 10 yr old carry-on from Samsonite. Not pretty; but it is actually built tougher and has lasted longer. Go figure."
Review 18 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
April 17, 2013
By: BBQFAN
from Gainesville Fl.
"Excellent bag. Was a able to roll down isle of the plane. Enough room for 2 night and 3 days in Vermont. Fit perfect in overhead storage. Great bonus bag for gels and liquids to get through TSA security."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved, loved, loved!,
December 28, 2012
By: MrsThomas
from Glennville, Ga
"My husband totally loved this carry on... He needed something for business trips that was durable and this was a perfect fit. It also is a great compliment to the bullhide collection. The only downfall is that there isn't a hanging bag..."
Review 20 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crazy Love for this Bag!!!!,
September 5, 2012
By: Jhadlian
from Florida Keys
"The bag is wonderful! Love the craftsmanship,look and feel. Perfect for a short trip."