Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller

Roomy enough for everything you need, small enough to conform to international carry-on standards. Our carry-on suitcase features generous main compartments trimmed in Orvis signature plaid, which are outfitted with two zippered pockets to keep smaller items secure. Outside, you'll find knotted zipper pulls guaranteed to stay on, a compartment for a laptop and smaller devices, and a pocket perfect for stashing a light jacket. Clear 8" x 10" TSA-compliant bag for liquids and luggage tag included. Rubber bumpers all around protect from impact. Locking main compartment, telescoping handle, ball-bearing rubber wheels. 22"H x 14"W x 9"D; 2,750 cu. in. This carry-on suitcase is made from genuine leather and canvas. Spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Review 1 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rolling suitcase,
August 15, 2014
By: Luis1786
from Nashville, TN
"I recently purchased this case for business trips. I'm very pleased with the quality and the warranty of the product. It's a nice addition to the duffle that I already have!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Durable!,
August 7, 2014
By: KMDC
from Washington, DC
"Great product! Very durable and light. Holds up well in travel. Compact. Great carry-on."
Review 3 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fell apart quickly,
April 28, 2014
By: Chris1952
"I travel a lot and this bag only lasted 3 trips before the bottom separated from the sides. I usually have to gate check my bag because I'm on smaller planes that won't allow roller bags on. The United bag handlers can be rough, but still . . .
My last bag (made by somebody else) lasted 4 years and I wanted to get 3-4 years out of this Orvis one. But no luck with that. Now I need to buy another bag, again made by somebody else.
Bottom line: looks nice, but it's not sturdy enough for the frequent air traveler who frequently gate-checks on commuter flights."
Review 4 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great size and style,
February 8, 2014
By: DrRockChalk
from Winchester, VA
"Great looking bag. Worked well for a week of clothes for grand parenting. I can't imagine it being too large for international flights but I haven't tried it yet."
Review 5 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rollin' Rollin' Rollin',
January 3, 2014
By: Iamhappy
from Blair, NE.
"Keep that Bullhide Rollin.
Excellent craftsmanship makes a handsome gift. I may have to buy one for myself!!"
Review 6 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PRESENT FOR GRANDSON,
December 27, 2013
By: cha1
from Dodge City, KS
"he is difficult to find things for - and we were pleased with the fabric, color and construction of this product -- and are looking forward to adding to the set for him -- he was delighted with it!!"
Review 7 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Choose for Grandson,
December 27, 2013
By: cha1
from Dodge City, KS
"We purchased this item for our grandson who is very difficult to buy anything for--we and HE were so pleased with the fabric, color and construction -- look forward to adding to this for him."
Review 8 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Correction,
July 24, 2013
By: GMB1
from Chicago, IL
"I wrote the review (below) about my broken zipper and the frustration with repair. I called customer service and they said: No! We want you to return it and we'll ship you a new one. I went to our nearby Orvis store, the clerk was amazing, he didn't have a replacement in stock so he called it in and I received free 2 day shipping.
This is a wonderful ending to the story. Orvis' customer care is first rate. My new Carry-On came in two days and I'm all set to use it tomorrow on another trip.
"
Review 9 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sadly disappointed?,
July 21, 2013
By: GMB1
from Chicago, IL
"I love the look of this luggage. Its design is outstanding. I bought it 1.5 yrs ago and have used it on about 6 trips. But two things: the zipper broke this summer -- and the extended handle works with difficulty. Apparently my only option now is to pay $30 to Orvis to have it repaired. I have a 10 yr old carry-on from Samsonite. Not pretty; but it is actually built tougher and has lasted longer. Go figure."
Review 10 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
April 17, 2013
By: BBQFAN
from Gainesville Fl.
"Excellent bag. Was a able to roll down isle of the plane. Enough room for 2 night and 3 days in Vermont. Fit perfect in overhead storage. Great bonus bag for gels and liquids to get through TSA security."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved, loved, loved!,
December 28, 2012
By: MrsThomas
from Glennville, Ga
"My husband totally loved this carry on... He needed something for business trips that was durable and this was a perfect fit. It also is a great compliment to the bullhide collection. The only downfall is that there isn't a hanging bag..."
Review 12 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crazy Love for this Bag!!!!,
September 5, 2012
By: Jhadlian
from Florida Keys
"The bag is wonderful! Love the craftsmanship,look and feel. Perfect for a short trip."
Review 13 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
5-star product rated 4-stars for one reason only,
June 4, 2012
By: HardcoreRoadWarrior
from Geneva, Switzerland
"I've had this bag for 2 years and I travel every year over 150K air miles so this bag has been put through its paces from Europe to Africa to Asia on everything from 1st class to bush planes. It has lasted better than any bag could be expected to last under my travel conditions.
So why did I rate it 4-stars? Simply put, for international carry-on requirements, this bag does not qualify as it is too large (unlike advertised). Good in the sense that it carries a lot of gear but bad in the sense that it does not work for carry-on luggage internationally.
So if you will check it, how does it last? Brilliantly (I've always had to check it as it is too big for carry-on so more wear and tear). I have to replace mine now because the canvas has worn through, the wheels have 'blown out', zippers disintegrated but I would bet that most won't put it through what I do travelling. The fact that it has lasted two years is unbelievable in my case!
Needless to say as a testament to how hardy this product is, I will be getting the same product but in the larger Expandable case since if I have to check it I might as well have everything and the kitchen sink in it!
This review might sound harsher than it is but I don't want someone to think that it will work as a carryon everywhere if you really depend on it when it doesn't. That being said, maybe in the USA it works size-wise?
Other details, I don't use the suit carrier as folding works better and if you are a larger person the space isn't enough; and let's face it, road warriors know that these amenities don't ever keep wrinkles out (even though we always hope they will!).
Happy travelling."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
re-purchase,
May 10, 2012
By: gradywhite
"This bag fits my needs very well. Holds enough for a week trip. I bought a similar bag about 10 yrs ago, wore it out, and bought another.
Fits well in overhead and is easy to manuver around.
"
Review 15 for Bullhide-and-canvas Carry-On Roller
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carry On Roller,
April 30, 2012
By: MullyMD
from Charlotte NC
"Used it for the first time this weekend. Worked great, fit great end-on in the overhead bin, and most importantly - looked great! Works well with the Bullhide and Canvas backpack."