Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket

A four-season rain jacket cut to the perfect length to wear over anything. Constructed with a technologically advanced, breathable, weatherproof fabric and completely seam sealed, this jacket blocks wind and rain in any season so you stay dry and comfortable when sightseeing or walking around town. Drawstring waist, storm flap, and hook-and-loop windproof cuffs. Two bellows pockets with two hidden handwarmers. Two zip chest pockets. Hidden emergency hood folds into collar. Two-way zip. Fully lined interior with three security pockets (one with zip closure, two with hook-and-loop closure). In fieldstone. 100% polyester with 100% polyamide lining. Washable. Sizes: L(42-44). 32" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
22
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
85 of 90(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Review 1 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What He Wanted,
January 15, 2014
By: SeptArtist
from NE Maryland
"My friend wanted a medium weight jacket that would go over sweaters, etc. and keep him warm and dry while watching outdoor sports. He has enjoyed it and likes the color."
Review 2 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
August 23, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Edmonton, Alberta. Canada
"I haven't had the opportunity to wear the Year Round Rain Jacket as of yet. I'm sure I'll be ordering another item in the coming months.
I especially like the inside pockets.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for me...,
August 14, 2013
By: aew1
from Columbia, MD
"It is a pretty large cut for size, but arms were proportional. I felt it was much too bulky as a travel rain jacket, and too large of a cut for me. I'm 5'10" and 170 lbs. If you have a gut, it might be a better fit. It is nice looking, which is why I ordered it, but I returned it. I found something not as elegant looking, but more packable. Overall, I love Orvis! Don't often return anything..."
Review 4 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good rain jacket,
August 10, 2013
By: Willyam
from Springfield, MO
"I had overlooked that the jacket was made of nylon. I thought it was cotton. But, my mistake! It IS well made! A little on the large side! But that allows for layering beneath. I got a large -- in some things I get an extra large. Glad I didn't!! It is plenty roomy!
I would recommend the jacket to a friend!"
Review 5 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Excellent choice,
May 25, 2013
By: badweathertraveler
from Connecticut may 2013
"Own this jacket in 2 colors purchased in past 6 years Great for New England winter weather over a sweather, and can also wear it over a business suit. No complaints. Excellent quality. Light enough for spring and summer rain showers."
Review 6 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy it!,
May 16, 2013
By: Unclewaad
from WNC
"Grat jacket! Light weight, very comfortable. Plenty of pockets to hold most things one would travel with and want at a hands reach! Excellent price for the quality, feel and look."
Review 7 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Jacket,
April 17, 2013
By: RMBSTL
from St. Louis, MO
"Coat runs very big, had to reorder a size smaller. Good all weather jacket. Very happy with the purchase."
Review 8 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soo Goood,
April 1, 2013
By: Traveler78
from Charlton,NY
"In the short time that I have enjoyed the use of this year-round rain jacket I have found it to be most serviceable and reliable. It is light weight,ideal for travel, extremly comfortable,and very dependable in handling the severe weather of tthe North East"
Review 9 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy Rain Jacket,
February 13, 2013
By: DoubleH
from north carolina
"I live in the Southeast and find it to be very versatile, because I can wear it alone open over a shirt or zipped up when its cold and damp over my upland sweater. It blocks the wind and sheds water effectively. It hangs comfortably . Its light weight is perfect for mild days and its confortable when layered. The pockets are large enough for gloves and my small flashlight. I saw my father admiring my upland sweater and my rain jacket so I got him both for christmas. I washed & dried it tonight for the first time complying with the instructions and hung it up. Looks good as new. I am very satisfied and would purchase another if it were offered in a darker color."
Review 10 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for,
February 6, 2013
By: prhelm
from Allentown, PA
"Good fit, right color, lots of pockets, waterproof, windproof, not too heavy, will fit well over sweaters or sport coat - very versatile and functional. This is just what I was looking for as I get equipped for a spring trip to the Middle East."
Review 11 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
February 6, 2013
By: Ideaman
from Bridgehampton NY
"Love this jacket,.....except.... It would be perfection if it was produced in other colors - the fieldstone color is handsome, but prone to discoloration and staining with wear. If it was offered in some darker colors - black, deep green or olive, navy - that would be amazing."
Review 12 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent in all 4 seasons,
February 3, 2013
By: FrankW
from Utica, NY
"at 5' 8" I usually wear a 42 or 44 coat size. The Large size Orvis Rain Jacket is sized properly to wear over a sport coat, sweater or just over a shirt, giving it great versatility.
The pockets are excellent placed inside with zippers or velcro to keep things safety held when the jacket is off. It is very rainproof - I do recommend an occasional application of the proper waterproof agent recommended by Orvis.
The high collar and storm flaps keep the wind out very effectively.
I recommend this for all seasons and all type of weather. I live in Upstate NY."
Review 13 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I was looking for,
February 2, 2013
By: Akita1man
from SE Michigan
"I've been looking for a lighter weight, watterproof jacket. I had seen this one in the catalog and when it went on sale I ordered one. The material and workmanship is what I've come to expect from Orvis. The fit is as advertised. And, so far, based on one outing in a major downpour it is 100% waterproof. Great deal, especially at the sale price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for San Antonio winter,
January 24, 2013
By: BGinTX
from San Antonio, Texas
"This coat is great for the cool to cold wet winter days in San Antonio. It's loose enought to wear over a fleece jacket or sweater on cooler days. By adjusting the waist, you can take out the slack and wear it over just a shirt when it's warmer. I bought it on sale, but now that I have it I would recommend it at any price."
Review 15 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 9, 2013
By: Bedford
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Overall fit and quality are excellent, however, ordered a Large and the drawstring at the waist is about 4" above my waist. If I were tall it might be expected but I am only 5'7". Considering the postives out weigh the negatives, I will learn to live with it."
Review 16 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top notch jacket,
January 9, 2013
By: treefarm
from NW, NJ
"Fits and looks well for many situations where a mid weight wind rain jacket is needed. Lighter than my Barbour jackets (which can be to heavy at times) and fits better layered when extra warmth is necessary. Overall pretty darn good value for the money --"
Review 17 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All Time Favorite,
January 3, 2013
By: Grumpster
from Boxford,MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Not only does it look good but it performs better than advertised. I purchased this item late last summer as an all-around jacket for a trip to Europe last fall. It took me to Oktoberfest in Munich, a Mozart Concert in Vienna and a day hike in the Swiss Alps. I wore it over a sport jacket on New Years Eve and I'm using it now for cross-country skiing and snow-shoeing. It has pockets galore that can be zippered shut to protect passports and other valuables if that's your choice. The two-way front zipper is top quality and a huge advantage when you need to take a break and sit a spell. The hood stores easily in the collar. This is my first time writing a review and I think it's important to wait a period of time. This jacket is promoted as a four season garment and it truly is."
Review 18 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor service,
January 1, 2013
By: Darn
"recieved this product as a gift, but was wrong size, I followed directions the rep gave me to exchange it. Sent it back and haven't heard a word from anyone since, nor do I have the exchanged product."
Review 19 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything Good,
December 26, 2012
By: wirey
from Lawrenceburg, Ky.
"I was concerned that the fabric might be stiff and noisy. Not at all. Very comfortable in every way. Pockets are all well placed and just the right size/depth. The hood is the best featured ever. All zippers and closures are top notch. Good all around weight. Can be layered over other garments for extra cold wear. Mostly bought for weatherability and all around good looks.It lives up to the catalog description.Love this coat."
Review 20 for Waterproof Breathable Year-Round Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
December 8, 2012
By: SeanD
from columbus, oh
"Bought this jacket at a recent store grand opening. Felt it was a bit big in a large but they did not have a medium, at the time. Came home and read the review comments regarding sizing. Called store a few days later and had them hold a medium. This is a MUCH better fit and I am thrilled I made this purchase. It is perfect with a sweater or fleece vest underneath. Have worn in light rain and wicks the water and provides great wind protection as well."