Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Magnifier Snips

Don't snip the wrong end of the 7X tippet you just tied to your size 22 trico. Fly-fishing nipper with magnifying glass, fly threader and hook-eye ream. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magnifier Snips
Review 1 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snips,
December 18, 2013
By: ChagyFalls
from ohio
"I bought this for my son who is an avid fisherman and does a lot of fly fishing in particular. He absolutely loves it and finds the magnifying glass especially helpful."
Review 2 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usefull Product,
May 3, 2013
By: dmac1
from Dallas tx
"Nice to have extra magnification as eyes start to fade."
Review 3 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
February 19, 2013
By: UrbanFlyVentures
from SoCal
"Ordered this product with the thought that it would be just the ticket for aging eyes trying to tie on small flies in fading light. Was very pleased with the modifications to the location of the threader wire (With older units it was possible to snip off the threader if you weren't paying attention) Unfortunately the protective sleeve or tube guiding the threader wire broke free after only one day of use and the guide wire base popped out of the slide mechanism. It's all fixable (we fly-fishers are, after all, a resourceful lot) but a little disappointing for an Orvis product and an annoyance considering the price."
Review 4 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
help for poor eyes,
January 31, 2013
By: Socrat
from SW VA
"Extremely helpful for those of us with weak eyesight and unable to carry three pair of glasses on the stream or lake."
Review 5 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tool.,
December 29, 2012
By: Aruba
from Bethlehem Pa
"Easy to use. Great for not the best eyesight. Good price."
Review 6 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thread a midge,
December 15, 2012
By: cherry5
from Great Falls, MT
"The small flies and leaders need a good light and view to tie together. The lens is small but works when aligned up. Takes some practice."
Review 7 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what expected,
April 27, 2012
By: Andyfisher
from Westchester NY
"I thought i would be able to use this instead of having to use my glasses but it does not work for me. Nice gadget but hard to use one handed in order to use the magnifying glass and tie a fly on. I will return this item for something that I can use."
Review 8 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best 'snips',
September 9, 2011
By: Ezra
from New York, NY
"These clips/snips are superb. Also the other features such as magnifier and knot threader are added bonuses if you plan to use. I have snipped countless lines/leaders and these are still as sharp as day one. Highly recommend."
Review 9 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
always have an extra,
August 14, 2011
By: BillTri
from Atlanta GA
"Nippers are nippers, yet this has some extra bonuses. Very nice when dealing with flies 16 and smaller. Can't hurt to have an extra nipper in your vest."
Review 10 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Magnifier Snips,
July 31, 2011
By: mayfair44
"I like these snips, particularly the fly threader that extends out for use and retracts back when not in use. Very convenient! The magnifier isn't as powerful as I would like, but the worst thing is that the magnifier can get scratched very easily. Product would be better if there were a cover over the magnifier that you could fold out of the way for use."
Review 11 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not just for old men,
August 8, 2009
By: Thom
from Buffalo
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The magnifier nipper is a very nice tool, but the magnifier is NOT the best feature in my opinion. The best feature is that on the back of this nipper is a slide out fly threader. That is right, no more fumbling around for a threader for that small fly, or the one that has too much elk hair over the eye to thread the line through. It is very nice to have both the nipper and threader right on you vest and I like this feature very much and would recommend this tool just for that convenience."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poorly constructed,
October 5, 2008
By: Bilbo
from Steelhead Alley NW Pennsylvania
"Looked like a nice idea purchased 3 one for each of my son's and one for myself. We expected a lot more for the money and the name. Threader just bends or retracts you coundn't thread a size 2 hook with it. Just poorly designed the threader was why we liked this item. The nips are nice and sharp the magnifier is nice clear works well. But You can buy a set of nice nips for 1/2 the cost. Sorry but I wouldn't recommend these to much money to little quality."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 9, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the customer was not satisfied with the quality of this item. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 13 for Magnifier Snips
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
magnifier snips,
August 12, 2008
By: golfer1
"I love the idea of this product, but I have had to return it at least 3 times because the threader keeps breaking, or gets bent to the point that it no longer works. I would buy it again because it in the best of its kind that I can find"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Magnifier Snips
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4