Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ultimate Upland Vest

Constructed of Sahara Cloth, our 9-oz. 100% cotton poplin fabric is more substantial than that of our Plantation Vest for the thickest cover. Dry-wax finished to repel water and help keep you dry. The blood-proof rear game bag loads from front and rear for easy storage of birds, and zips open for simple cleaning. Hand-warmer chest-high pockets with zip closures. Bellowed main pockets with shell loops close with hook-and-loop strips. Mesh panel allows ventilation. Upland hunting vest in tan/blaze. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
27 of 31(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultimate Upland Vest
Review 1 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vest of a lifetime.,
October 24, 2014
By: JoeGreensburg
from Greensburg, PA
"This vest is constructed very well. This vest will last a lifetime. Only one downside the vest is about 80%brown and 20% Orange. It is a little on the heavier side but does great with plenty of room for shells and game bag area. Extremely easy to load your game into this vest. This vest is a bargain in my book. This is how they made them years ago. The vest protects you from briars and thorns. Perfect for any hunter!"
Review 2 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid necessity,
October 9, 2014
By: Carcar08
from Talbot Co., Ga.
"As a lifelong south ga. "Bird hunter" I decided to upgrade my (not so old) worn out vest and recently purchased a replacement. The ultimate upland vest is so well made that I know I have purchased the last hunting vest I will ever need.
Same consistent quality as all the other Orvis products I have purchased for the last 40+ years!!
"
Review 3 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Upland Vest,
January 28, 2014
By: DeadeyeVA
"I recently purchased this vest and wore it for a pheasant hunt. It worked perfectly. The design and quality are great. All pockets including the bird pouch offer easy access. The vest is well made and will last for years. This was my first purchase from Orvis in years and it won't be my last."
Review 4 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Heavy vest,
January 11, 2014
By: Pentax2
from Denver, CO
"This vest was very heavy and very large. I generally buy a large size in vests since they have to be worn over bulky clothes very often. However, this was significantly too large, and I returned it. It appeared to be very well made, but hte large size and significant weight were just not what I would be happy with."
Review 5 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vest for the ages,
December 27, 2013
By: CaliGuy
"Gave this to my son for Christmas. Very well made and thought out. I fully expect this will be his bird hunting vest for many years, perhaps for life. Its a great feeling to give him something he can use for years."
Review 6 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Gift!,
December 22, 2013
By: Lele5
from Laguna Niguel, CA
"I recently gave this vest to my employer for a Christmas gift. As soon as he opened it he was thrilled! It is ample in size, has all the pockets for storage, and is very well made. I couldn't have ordered a more perfect vest and it came quickly from Orvis. Thank you for always having such quality merchandise, I can count on Orvis!"
Review 7 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Bird Vest,
December 6, 2013
By: mikevette
from Texas
"I've been a upland hunter for a long time and have tried almost every vest and this is the one. Vented back easy front pockets, storage, color and weight is very good. Good construction. Very pleased. My last vest."
Review 8 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too Heavy,
October 4, 2013
By: ProfessorD
from Palos Verdes Estates, CA
"This vest is way to weighty...Needs to be more light-weight and flexible...
I would NOT recommend it!!
"....a bad review is better than NO review!"
As ever, Professor D"
Review 9 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 12, 2013
By: BobMcC
"Excellent! Vest is heavy duty and warm. Plenty of pockets and room for lots of birds."
Review 10 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable. Tough.,
May 29, 2012
By: BirddogSTX
from South Texas
"I have been very impressed with the Orvis Ultimate Upland Vest. The material is thick and tough enough to withstand South Texas Brush. I also like that the back portion unzips for extra breeze incase it gets hot outside. I am looking forward to busting brush this season with this vest. Another quality product from Orvis."
Review 11 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traditional vest w/ modern features,
May 27, 2012
By: SamH
from South Alabama
"I have been hunting quail for over 40 years and been wanting a traditional style vest like I had "back in the day"...This is it!...High quality , substantial cotton cloth with the advantage of mesh lining(for vetilation here in the south) and blaze orange for safety...this should be the last vest I'll ever need...Orvis has hit the nail on the head again with thier high quality and a modern touch!"
Review 12 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Purchase,
March 13, 2012
By: billyl
from Columbia, Alabama
"Great Vest, very well made. The XXL size could be a little larger but overall it is perfect."
Review 13 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hunting Vest,
January 20, 2012
By: SycamoreValleyScout
from Sycamore, Ks
"Great quality, nice features. Just a little bit on the heavy side but very well built."
Review 14 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Jacket,
November 26, 2011
By: notdonitisreally
"Excellent jacket, generous cut so room for coat underneath if required. Ventaltion panel at the back for warmer days and a lined game pouch. Difficult to find all these features in one jacket."
Review 15 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate is a Big Word,
November 23, 2011
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"If Ultimate means loaded with well thought out features, with nice materials and construction, Orvis has hit the nail on the head. Two-way front zipper, three ways to put birds in the game bag, easy access to shells and quality throughout. Got home yesterday from South Dakota and threw it in the washer on with cold water hung overnight and It cleaned up nicely. This is not a hot weather vest as it is quite substantial, but not overweight. Seems like the Ultimate to me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job,
November 21, 2011
By: OldOkie
from Southern Illinois
"My old vest gave out and I needed a new one quickly for an early season pheasant hunt. After on-line comparison shopping, I chose the "Ultimate Upland Vest" as having the best combination of features I was looking for along with the Orvis quality I have come to expect. As things turned out, it was a warm day in the low 60s and that is just about the maximum for comfort in this vest. The heavy cotton fabric is great for wind and briar resistance but walking in it can get a little warm. My only quibble is that--for the price--there were a few small details that should not have been allowed to pass inspection. The right-hand front game pocket was still basted together for about an inch; a zipper pull was sewn to the fabric, and there were a few too many loose ends of thread. None of this compromises the basic integrity of the garment but these are indications of hurried manufacture. I expect a bit more from Orvis."
Review 17 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the Price,
October 23, 2011
By: Tuscan1
from Aberdeen, SD
"Have started hunting again after several years and purchased this vest for pheasant hunting. Sized correctly, comfortable fit, plenty of pockets for shells and equipment along with easy access to bird pouch. Nice vest and highly recommend."
Review 18 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasts for Years,
September 27, 2011
By: HuntinFool
"I'm ordering my second vest, the first one lasted five years of very heavy use in all conditions. Darn good hunting vest!!"
Review 19 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
February 24, 2011
By: Frankly
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This garment hangs like a heavy tarp on the shoulders, so be prepared for a meltdown in mild weather. I took a chance on size XL (size L was on back order 'til next August) - it was cavernous. The front zipper jammed on first try, too. Well short of the mark for the premium price."
Review 20 for Ultimate Upland Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great vest but needs a little attention,
January 7, 2011
By: nybirdhunter
from NY
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The pros far out way the cons with this vest. It fits well, stands up to the toughest grouse cover. I like the pocket sizes, I keep all my shells in there. The hand warmer pocket is a thoughtful yet never used feature.
The game bag is plenty big and easily accessed. The main reason I bought this vest is because of the lack of snaps,zips and buttons on the front. My shotgun stock used to get marked up with other vests.
However, I am seeing an issue that another reviewer noticed, the snaps that keep the game bag closed have come off somehow. I am left with two holes in the material that make it look shabby. Considering the cost of this vest I am disappointed that this issue is even a factor.
"